Salon Beauty Best Books of the Month Women's Block Sandals nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Fire TV Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon theaffairS4 theaffairS4 theaffairS4  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now STL18_GNO


on May 9, 2018
I bought this sous vide to go along with my Joule that I have been using. Sous vide has become one of my primary kitchen appliances, my only downside is that it is only good at cooking one type of food at a time. This is my primary reason for searching for and buying the CISNO. It doesn't have all the bells and whistles and the price reflects this. I found that I don't really need the web connectivity that is offered with more expensive brands. It is nice being able to turn it on with manual buttons without having to search for my phone. The CISNO works just as I expected and has zero issues cooking my food to perfection. If you are new to sous vide this is a great starting point to determine if sous vide is right for you without investing as much money as some of the more pricey options. If you end up liking this style of cooking as much as I do, you can always upgrade in the future. Plus having two is useful if your family likes steaks cooked at different temps or if you want to cook multiple sides and entrees at the same time.
review imagereview image
5 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on June 3, 2018
There are so many things that I really like about sous vide cooking...

1. It does not heat up my kitchen when using it
2. I can not smell what is cooking in the bag until I open it (husbands fish).
3. It is super easy to use.
4. The meats turn out so moist and juicy.
5. It is super quiet, you don't even know its on.
6. Love that I can start my meats in this and go out and garden or do other things. (no stirring or turning over required)

The directions for this are super easy to read and understand, there are also pictures. The clamp on the sous vide does not mark my pans. It is very easy to just put water in the pan, hook up the sous vide to the pan. Make sure the water lever is in between the maximum and minimum markings. (may need to take some out if its too full after you put the meat in. Then you set the temperature and how long it will cook and start it. The water will heat up to the designated temp first and the correct temperature is met (it will beep) the count will start for how long you set it to cook. While the water is heating up, I use this time to put spices and everything on the meat and get it in the bag and ready to go. It starts at 1 and goes up. You can change the time and temperature while it is going very easily, without starting over. It will start beeping about 1 minute before it is done. This is when I start the broiler or get the pan ready. With brats I like to sear them on the grill or in a pan to get the crispy edges and with the turkey breast. I put that under the preheated broiler to get the skin brown and crisp.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
One person found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on May 14, 2018
 This sous vide is perfect for cooking out of a large stock pot or acrylic container. Attaches to side of container easily. Tested temperature stated on device with my own thermometer and was within 1 degree. So far I love it! You still have to sear steak afterwards to get it perfect but that is expected. My favorite part of sous vide cooking is how everything stays moist and has all of the flavors you added to the bag infused into it.
2 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on May 16, 2018
Cooking to perfection is easy with the this. I made veggies and steak at once. The veggies took about 2 hours, I added the steak after an hour. Both turned out perfect. Sous vide really enhances the flavors. You don't need a lot of spice, to make the favors come out. It attaches so easy to the pot and the direction are so simple to set the time and temperature. Sous takes a little while, but you don't have to stand over it and because you set the temp, it doesn't over cook. I beeps to tell you its done. Simple.
Also I received an email through amazon from the seller, they offered me a free gift of sous vide bags and an air pump to seal the bags. What a great surprise.
review imagereview image
One person found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on May 21, 2018
If you enjoy steak this device is must have. Everyone in cooking group rave about it so I got one to try out since I enjoy steak but I don’t buy very expensive meat and my steak usually tough to eat

The sous vide is easy to operate just set temperature and time. It takes a few trial and error to get that perfect done steak but this sous vide help make the steak soft and tender

I cook at 120 for 1 hour and 40 mins and sears both side for 30 second and it come medium since my rib eyes are thin 3/4 inch

It does take a lot of time but even the left over steak was still soft and tender

I used ziplock bag instead of Sous vide bag
review imagereview image
One person found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on May 16, 2018
 If you like slow cooking then this is for you. I tested this on poached eggs. It's definitely trial and error. The recipe I found could use some tweaking.

It was very simple to use this. Just stick it in the pot. Set your temperature you want it at. Then select your cook time and you're all set. Once the water reaches the temperature you set then the timer will start counting down. You can choose between Celsius and Fahrenheit.

The reason for 4 stars is because it's not accurate with the minimum water line. Apparently it has to be in between the minimum and max or it beeps constantly like it did in my video. And because you can't use normal sizes pans if you want it to attach on the side or fill the water higher. But besides that it works great. In the video I show attempting pouched eggs in the shell.
review imagereview imagereview image
3 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on May 27, 2018
Thanks to my brother-in-law who introduced me to Sous Vide. I am a health and wellness coach and always on the look out for proper nutrition to help people attain fitness goals. This is a game changer for me as I have to meal prep for the week! Now I can shop by bulk, prep, vacuum seal, keep fresh, and ready to Sous Vide! Saves us a lot of time in the week as well. The manufacturer has a website for recipes and they are simple to follow. Operation is so simple, great design, holds on to any pot, and best of all - easy to clean! Also, I am a poor at prepping steak in the grill but I think this will make me look like a pro!
One person found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on June 16, 2018
Works well. Accurate temperature. Heats fast. Simple to use. Quiet. Those are my first thoughts when using this sous vide immersion circulator. Something like this doesn't need any bling to work well. As long as it can get to temperature fast and hold it there without any problems, that's all that I want. Wifi, bluetooth and whatever gizmos and gadgets really aren't necessary. Use the internet to look up a recipe, set a timer and away you go. This unit's buttons are intuitive to use and the clip is safe on non-stick pots ie it won't scratch due to the silicone padding. The display is somewhat rudimentary but otherwise it's functional. I'm not interested in paying a premium for American marketed products like Chefsteps or Anova when they along with this is manufactured in China and do the exact same thing. Though I'm glad to see sous vide cooking becoming more mainstream. Cooking shows are using it and the price of these appliances have come down considerably. Here are some tips which I've picked up:
- My favorite is simply the 63 C egg. Cook for an hour and you'll have the creamiest egg yolk and softest egg white ever. Keep in mind that simply bringing the egg up to temperature isn't enough. Keeping it stable at 63 C helps the yolk gelatinize after about an hour or so.
- If you're ever questioning how much salt to put in, use an equilibrium brine - ie 1-2% of the entire bag in the meal as salt. So if you have a 450g steak and 50g butter, put 5-10g of salt total in the bag. We typically over salt a steak when we grill or pan fry it simply because the salt falls off. If you put too much salt in the bag to sous vide, it will stay within the meat. It's best to add more when you finish the steak on the grill or a hot cast iron pan.
- If you can afford it, get a chamber vacuum sealer. It works much better than the foodsaver type sealers. The bags are cheaper and you don't have to worry about sucking up the marinade or leaving air pockets in your bag as much. The downside is the cost, bulk and weight. How it works is that once you close the lid with the bag inside it sucks the air out of the whole chamber. Once done, the heat seal clamp will automatically engage and seal your bag within the chamber. After that normal atmospheric pressure will return and the chamber will open. The advantage is that it's faster, quieter, cheaper to operate (due to the cheaper bags), requires less attention (set and forget sort of process), less finicky on how you place the bag and it packages a better vacuum seal. A better vacuum seal means that you can store your food in the freezer longer without worrying about freezer burn. Foodsaver type vacuums simply suck the air out of the bag so having a liquid marinade will interfere with the process. You also have to use more expensive bags with micro-channels running through the length of the bag so air can keep moving. The process also has to be monitored for the most part. Basically I use this for sous vide some of the time but I store and freeze my food all the time (especially bulk stuff from Costco).
- If I have a large pot of water and i want to get it to temperature faster, I usually put everything over my stove to heat up concurrently. The thermometer on the sous vide lets me know the exact temperature of the water. It speeds it up tremendously. However it does require monitoring and because of that I never put food in it first. If I forget, I might actually boil the water accidentally. If I go over a few degrees, I can just put some cold water in to cool it back down. Otherwise, once it's close enough, I'll turn off the stove and put my food in. Let the sous vide cooker heat the last few degrees.
- I buy prime rib with the bone-in so I can remove it and make 2 separate dishes. Boneless prime rib (since bone really doesn't add any flavor) and then bbq beef ribs. I sous vide the latter in bbq sauce to finish on the grill. I've tried sous viding prime rib but it just doesn't have the right texture. It's best to cook it low and slow like a roast in the oven. With the beef rib, after sous viding, I just throw it in the freezer for another day if my primary meal is the prime rib. Good luck!
One person found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on June 16, 2018
I bought this CISNO sous vide cooker for the steak cooking competition at my neighborhood. It is not surprise my sous vide cooked T-bone steak won a prize for me. What I like the most is its 1000W PTC heating element. It heats faster and takes less time to reach set temperature. Yes, it is not as fancy as some others, but it costs much less and is easy to use. I don't need to connect the device to wifi, or pair it with an app. Simply clip it to the side of a large pot, add water between the maximum and minimum fill lines indicated on the machine, and place all ingredients in a sealed bag and into the water. Then, I am ready to go. An important tip for other users is long press the power button to turn it on first, otherwise all buttons will not response, although all lights are on.
|0Comment|Report abuse
on June 12, 2018
I tested cisno sous vide on carrot and broccoli just for the sake of a quicker test, I set it to 190f for 10 mins. I used a ziplock bag to test. Here are the few things I find,

1. it is very quiet.
2. it is easy to clean since it does not touch the food, just need to rinse it off at the sink.
3. The anti-skip clamp is nice to have.
4. I think I need to buy vacuum bag, veggies are so light, it actually floats, I had to use a dish to weight it down.
5. It is more useful for cooking meat.
6. It needs some practice to get the right temp and timing to achieve the perfect result.
review imagereview imagereview image
One person found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 22 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here