Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Fire TV Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now Start your Baby Registry

The Incredible Hulk [Blu-ray]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$20.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on July 28, 2017
I do not wish for my review to sound biased or one-sided, but I still enjoy this film all these years later. I saw the 2003 Hulk, and although it has one or two good moments, the desert scene imparticular, it fell short. Dry story and an overly exaggerated and neon Hulk. I've seen the Avengers, and Mark Ruffalo just does not capture the struggle of being Bruce in my opinion.

Here, our movie starts of with Ed Norton portraying the titular character in Brazil (picking up where the 2003 story left off). He poor, depressed about not being able to go home, maintaining a very low profile to avoid the public eye at all costs; I felt for this version of Bruce Banner. I did his best to stay calm, but when push came to shove and then pushed some more, Hulk pushed back!!! The creators of this film said they wanted their Hulk to have a giant, green linebacker look, and it works! Hulk is intimidating, powerful, above all angry, and I still get chills hearing him speak for the first time from the shadows.

I would have preferred for Ed Norton to continue this role, but alas, Hollywood. The story for the film is not overly complex. It runs like a long episode of the old tv show. Bruce is trying to stay away from the army, he slips up, and they go after him again. The movie is excellent by itself but definitely ties into the early days of the MCU. If you have never seen this film, I highly recommend it!

Lastly, love the steelbook comic book design. Check it out in the photos.
review imagereview image
8 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on February 19, 2018
This is pretty solid film from the MCU. I would put it above Iron man 2 and Thor the Dark World. If you are looking for a sold film with some good special effects that hold up today. Then I would recommend this film. The best part of this film is the end fight between The Hulk and The Abomination, which is still one of the best fights in the MCU. The CGI from 2008 is still pretty good on the Hulk and Abomination fight. Of the older MCU film this is one of the better ones in terms of story and direction. I would get this to round off anyone's collection of the MCU.
7 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on February 4, 2018
This movie is and always will be a must have. It raises the bar of the Hulk series. With all the changes that the Hulk character has seen from the comic book to the screen, this one rocks. My only complaint is the shipping. It seems the vendor ran out of DVD envelopes, and used an oversized one instead. It didn't fit in my mailbox, and that forced me to go to the Post Office to retrieve it. But that's on me. Normally I would have my on-line purchases shipped to my office.
2 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
I really liked this movie. Story-wise it is way better than the Ang Lee version. BUT, believe it or not, I like the look of that Hulk better than this one. They tried to make this one look to "normal" in terms of head and face. It didn't look really good. But, I like the Hulk much better in the Avengers.

But, looks aside. This story is really done well. I like the way that the movie doesn't spend a lot of time explaining how he became the Hulk. The acting is done well. I like Ed Norton, but he did seem a bit out-of-place in this one. They should've gotten an unknown actor. I didn't think he'd stick around for the Avengers and any other subsequent Hulk movies.

The Blu-Ray edition looks good. Sound is really good as well. Overall, I like this movie. I would've like to seen a better looking Hulk.
5 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on December 16, 2013
The only reason this doesn't get five stars is because I think Edward Norton is a bit miscast as Bruce Banner. He does an admirable job, but having seen Mark Ruffalo as Banner in The Avengers, Norton just isn't quite right. All that said, it's a great movie. The scenes filmed in Rocinha are incredible - incredible that such a place exists and that they were able to film such a spectacular chase there. Stan Lee has his usual cameo. I recently saw the 2003 Hulk film on cable, and compared to this one, it's ridiculous and makes no sense at all. Kind of a one-weird-director interpretation and thankfully the franchise came back home and they made a much better do-over to fit in with the Marvel Universe continuity. I'll put in a plug here for all of the new Marvel films, especially Avengers and the Iron man series. I have them all but didn't purchase from Amazon so I can't review them here.
6 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on July 14, 2012
As a couple who grew up with comic book heroes such as Superman and Batman on TV and later watched Bill Bixby and Lou Ferrigno on their weekly Hulk series, we enjoyed the new movie, The Incredible Hulk. In comparing it to other movies of the superhero genre, we weren't blown away by it, but we had few complaints. It was a fun stay-at-home date movie, and something we wanted to watch prior to seeing the new Avengers film.

For us, personally, we would have liked to have seen the plot begin earlier in the Hulk's history -- to see how he became the Hulk. The beginning credits do a fairly good job of catching the viewer up by showing newspaper headlines and short video clips that depict that story in brief, so someone who had really never seen a Hulk story before wouldn't be totally lost. I think we're just used to the "typical" superhero movie spending more time on the creation story of each main character. I could appreciate by the end of the film why the producers chose not to spend unnecessary time on that aspect -- so this particular episode could bring us farther along in the story without making the film unbearably long. I guess it just felt more like a sequel to us. If you watch it with that idea in mind, I don't think you'll be disappointed.

The story line, acting, and special effects were all good. Again, we really had no complaints. Of course, it's not 100% believable, but I think that's to be expected with this type of film. One watches a superhero movie to be entertained, not educated, and to see good triumph over evil. The Incredible Hulk did not disappoint in any aspect of that formula. I'd say it was a "worth seeing" movie, but not necessarily a "must see" one.
3 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on March 19, 2016
Not the worst marvel movie. It's Edward Norton as Banner. Does a good job, but he doesn't have the likeability of Mark Ruffalo. But this was one of the early Marvel movies, and they were still finding their footing. The guy who plays Mr. Orange in Reservoir Dogs is the bad guy. I think Liv Tyler is really hot, but she is not good in this movie. Natalie Portman is almost as bad in the Thor movies, but at least she hangs out with Kat Dennings. Kat Dennings should've been Black Widow, and Scarlet Johannsen should've been Agent Carter, and Agent Carter should meet up with Liv Tyler and do an all female remake of Ghost. Can you imagine that clay sculpting scene with Agent Carter and Liv Tyler?
2 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on January 21, 2014
This could have been a great movie had the cast been chosen differently. Or maybe the cast was okay but the acting was bad? Edward Norton was fierce and real in Fight Club, but brought none of that to this role as the Hulk. Liv Tyler was the perfect Arwen, but in the Hulk, it was like watching someone in their first acting role. She sounded like a dimwit. Then there's Tim Roth--who didn't love him in Reservoir Dogs? But as the Abomination…oh my gosh he was a terrible choice. Why did they choose such wimpy-looking dudes to play these guys? There was no one to root for, no one that really stole the show.

The plot was the typical comic book movie plot -- guy gets injected with enhancement serum, turns into crazy hero/villain/monster, struggles with duty to use the newfound power responsibly, struggles letting his loved one see his new dangerous side. Extremely predictable. But that's about what I expected, so I can't really complain.
2 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on November 13, 2008
In an effort to redo the start of a potentially good franchise, Marvel Studios offers up a great story about the one character who doesn't want the power he has.

The Incredible Hulk starts the origins over with a bit of everything thrown into the mix. This movie is part comic book origin, part TV series origin and assumes most of the events that took place in the first movie still happened. Bruce Banner is the brilliant scientist who experimented on himself due to the confidence in his work and converted himself into the raging green giant that becomes The Hulk. His work was preliminary weapons research but he was not aware of it. He was lured into thinking it was research for making soldiers more resistant to toxins and radiation, but really it was for creating a new breed of soldier.

Ang Lee's Hulk that was released back in 2003 took a very deterred look at the Hulk and added elements of repressed anger and paternal gene splicing. In other words, the father messed with his own DNA and passed it on to his son, who then witnessed his mother's death at the hands of his father. Way too much existentialism added to what should have just been a man who had been given a power that came at a price. There is enough drama and character development in the basics of Bruce Banner/Hulk that you don't need to pull in sins of the father elements to make it more complicated.

This movie throws most of that into the trash and works with the premise that Banner (Edward Norton), now on the run, is hiding out and working to cure himself from a small town in Brazil. He is a fugitive, which draws on the serial plot of the original TV series. Bill Bixby's cameo is brilliant, BTW. Once he finds out that he must travel back to the US for a potential cure, the chase is on. Before he can pack up and start heading north, he is tracked down by General Thunderbolt Ross (William Hurt) and his squad of special forces led by Emil Blonsky (Tim Roth). They fail to capture him, but are successful at meeting The Hulk.

Blonsky finds himself curious as to the origins of the Green monster. When The General reveals to him that it was the result of experiments gone wrong (or right) he wants a piece of that power, which the General obliges. As Bruce makes his way to New York, he reveals himself to Betsy Ross, the Generals daughter, whom he was in love with before the accident. They find their way to Dr. Samual Sterns in New York for the ultimate cure and eventually the high end climax occurs.

The best thing Marvel did here was to just make a good movie. Too many times in Hollywood they make every movie the be-all-end-all...so how do your follow that up. Just make a good story. And this move does that. It's entertaining, it's got great action and a good script. Thank God Marvel has it's own studio to do their movies they way they should be done. All the actors perform well; Roth is a great villian (again), while Hurt shows a deep level of deceptive character that I've never seen before. Norton is well balanced as the brilliant scientist who wants no self pity and shows great determination to get rid of this rage driven curse. He and Tyler have good chemistry as well. And of course Stan Lee and Lou Ferrigno make cameos along with Bill Bixby.
|0Comment|Report abuse
on October 17, 2008
I wish I could explain eloquently how changed I am about an opinion on a film. Watching the BD is experiencing an entirely different and much better movie.

Technically, this is a 5 star product. I played it both on plasmas and LCDs over the last few days and it looks excellent. Paused well over 50 different scenes (motion and still scenes) and everything looks as it should for what they were trying to create. The filmmakers held an exclusive BD screening to show off their special effects and their pride in how the fx came across, so the resulting look is reasonably solid. The usual Universal menus and selection sounds are throughout, and all of the typical BD features are enabled/possible here.

The resounding difference here are the deleted scenes. There are over 42 minutes of all the best parts left for us to interject back into the film. The reason I did not give this a 5 star is they should have made the choice to have the BD be the 2 hour 35 minute cut. The majority of every gripe I have heard about this film is answered or fixed with these scenes. Christina Cabot (Major), Ty Burrel (psych boyfriend), and Peter Mensah (the other General) all had their characters ripped to shreds with this theatrical cut. There was actually a good side to Roth, there was actually tons of character development; all apparently cut (in my opinion) to dumb down the film. What a waste.

Be sure to have your speakers adjusted correctly because this sound mix can blow a sub or mids if you have them set to high. Great sounds, great clarity and plenty of features. Highly recommend as a purchase, and the only shortcoming is on the director for giving a 3 second intro to the deleted scenes that stated nothing of why he destroyed this film by cutting them.
One person found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse