Industrial Deals Prime Book Box Men's Summer Sneakers nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One New Moto G6 64 GB | $299.99. Save with Prime Exclusive Phones. Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry modern furniture and decor Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo All-new Show Mode Charging Dock Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now STL18_GNO



on July 10, 2017
This is a truly great projector, but getting the most out of it takes some planning and additional expense.

I purchased this through Visual Apex, because of stock issues with Amazon. VA is an Amazon merchant, so at least there's that. We purchased this to replace an aging Benq W1070.

The Projector is a little larger than expected, but size is not really an issue, and is clearly listed in the spec sheet. I ceiling mounted this with the Optoma OCM818W-RU mount, and mounting the projector only took a little effort. I highly recommend the Optoma mount. It is more expensive, but sturdy. It is much smaller than it seems in the picture. Mounting the projector only took minutes. The top cover on the projector is a bit flimsy and not up to the standards of a $2k item. Fit and finish here could be better.

I had read a bit about HDMI cables and the need to buy "good" ones for 4k, HDCP, etc., etc. I also read many articles claiming that HDMI is HDMI and any High Speed cable will do.

My issue was a 35 foot run from Onkyo TX-RZ800 to the projector. Our Benq worked fine with a 50' cable at 1080p, but I was aware that length could be an issue with 4k. I had bought the highest quality reasonably priced (Kolife) cable that was "high speed" rated, and said 4k, HDCP 2.2, 18ghz, 24ga, 4k@60. I was using a Sony UBP-X800 as the 4k source. I used the Optoma-supplied "high speed" HDMI cable going from the Sony to Onkyo. While I was able to see a 4k signal, I couldn't do so reliably. There were picture artifacts, flashes, dropped signals, and general poor image quality. I ran the long HDMI cable directly to the Sony and the issues got worse. So, the Onkyo was actually helping things. I also tried a signal booster at either end of the long HDMI run. That didn't work, either. As it turns out, HDMI is a poor platform for 4K@60. But, that's what we have.....

After doing some research and finding out that HDMI cables DO MATTER VERY MUCH when considering long runs and 4k@60, I bought the RUIPRO HDMI Fiber Cable 33 foot cable. The fiber optic solution fixed ALL signal drops, so we are in business. Any HDMI cable will not do the job, especially if you are going many feet. You absolutely need to spend the time to find the right solution to fit your budget and specific setup. Also remember that there is a difference in running 4k@60 vs 4k@30 or 24. You will experience more issues with inferior cables at the highest data rates. A cheap short cable may work for you, but absolutely did not for me. I highly recommend the fiber optic solution for long HDMI runs. The Ruipro seems to have great reviews and it worked wonders for my setup.

As for the projector itself, setup was a breeze. The large amount of zoom will help you find optimal placement in your space. This projector lacks keystone adjustment, so you'll have to have the vertical placement figured out. It does provide (15%?) vertical lens shift. The fan noise is moderate to low. I only notice it in a very quiet room. Even normal movie dialogue is enough to drown out the fan noise.

Images are stunning, to say the least! Fantastic colors, good blacks in a dark room. Sharpness that is hard to find anywhere at this price. For $2k, you get as big a screen as you can handle at home in fabulous 4K. Really amazing! Remember that this is a projector, though. It performs best in a darkened room, and will never be bright enough to compete against lots of ambient light. It is slightly brighter than the W1070. (3000 vs 2200 lumens). Movies, games, and TV are all great with this projector. I think the lag time is better than the Benq, because everything seems more synchronized, and gaming is great!

There are plenty of menu settings to play around with. I like Ultra Detail, but found that Dynamic Black seemed to add a little bit of noise to the image. The HDR setting seems to be the best (to my eye).

For me, this projector has a few minor drawbacks:
1- No keystone adjustment, placement must be planned. At least there's some vertical lens shift. Not a huge deal, but keystone is nice.

2- No 3D - For me this was no big whup. Our family decided 3D was more trouble than it was worth. Just be aware there's no 3D.

3- Limited to 8bit when running 4K@60. Must slow it down to 4k@24 or 30 to get 10bit and 12bit. Now, I'm no techie. I don't fully understand if this is a limitation of HDMI, the Projector, or what. I have seen some color banding in some images (gradient sky, etc.). I also don't know yet if this is cable related between the source and Onkyo. (better cables ordered). I can just see that color banding improves some when the feed is limited to 4k@24 and have read that color banding could be related to color depth. UPDATE: Better cables helped some of the color banding issue and it is far less noticeable.

4- This does not have an RGBRGB color wheel. It's RGBCY. For me, this makes the typical DLP rainbow effect a little more noticeable, but it does help provide the extra brightness. A tradeoff. I like the brighter image, so for me this is a good choice vs. the UHD65.

We have also added a 4K@60 Roku Ultra, and it is having the same signal drops using a 6ft "High speed 4K 2160p, 3D, 24awg, gold connector" cable (Farstrider). Based on the above experience and experimenting with several cables, I KNOW it's the cable, and have ordered replacements. Again, ANY cable won't do at 4k@60. The Roku Ultra is all 4k@60 all the time. I'll report back on the AudioQuest cables.

To sum up.... This is a great projector, and is the best deal on the market today. It does have some minor limitations. Also know that 4K@60 is not exactly "plug-and-play." You'll be buying some cables and doing some research.

UPDATE: The addition of 1m Audioquest Forest cables solved the issue of signal drops with the Roku Ultra. Using the AQ cables also seemed to improve the image coming from the Sony UBP-X800. There seems to be less color banding and dynamic range artifacts. They SEEM to make a big difference, but it is hard to quantify.

UPDATE AGAIN: After spending a month with this projector, I've decided that some of the image artifacts may relate to how the image was coded, as well as some of the conversions from SD to UHD. On the Sony UBP800, SD up-conversion gets set to 4K@24. If the source is at a higher frame rate, it passes through. The Roku Ultra is all-4k@60 all the time, and there's no way to change the Roku to a lower frame rate. Hence, there are still more image quality issues and dropped signals with the Roku. It's just flaky. As soon as I can get HBO and STarZ on the Sony, the Roku goes away! Image quality with the Sony Blu-ray is much better and much more reliable. There are still a few image artifacts that I can't explain, some slight color banding in some scenes, where other similar scenes are just fine. I'm beginning to believe it's mostly the fault of the source material? So far, the Optoma is working like a champ. The projector is still not quite as nice as a good 4k LCD TV or OLED, but the SIZE!!! This is still the best option for affordable 4K in a size where 4K matters.
279 people found this helpful
|1010 comments|Report abuse
on July 22, 2017
The UHD60 produces an excellent 4k image but the best feature is the HDR. I use this projector for movies and gaming. Horizon Zero Dawn looks amazing on the PS4 Pro. I attached a photo with HDR off and HDR on. I also noticed that dark scenes are much better than my GT1080 projector that I replaced. I have no problem with 4k60 going through my Denon AVR-X3200W using the cable that came with the projector from my PS4 Pro to the receiver and I bought the RUIPRO 33ft Fiber HDMI cable to go from the receiver to the projector. Overall this is a great projector.
review imagereview image
99 people found this helpful
|44 comments|Report abuse
on August 28, 2017
Got my UHD60 a few days ago from Amazon. Buyer from Australia here. I’m no pro reviewer, but thought I’s share my thoughts here as it’s pretty hard to get feedback on them at the moment.
Cost was just under $3100 AU from Amazon, inc import duties and expedited shipping.
My last projector was Epson 9100, which I am keeping for 3D playback. My set up is on a Carson mechanised 110 inch screen, casting from 3.6 meters. Feed content through Panasonic UHD 900, PS4 Pro, and Chromecast Ultra.
I bought the UHD60 as I use projector not in a bat cave, but in a room which is fairly light controlled, but with some ambient light leakage. Also gaming is important, so the 60 was for me.
Overall, EXTREMELY impressed with this unit. Though of course, not perfect.
• Regarding set up…you MUST be able to align in absolute centre of screen, at either very close to the top, or bottom of the screen. You can only lens shift to 15 Degrees, and ONLY upwards if you are throwing from below, or only downwards if from ceiling mount.
• No power cord problems, uses standard PC power cord, so just use an Aussie one. No voltage issues.
• As everyone has noted, unit build is a bit crappy / plastic…but aesthetic I think is pretty good. All controls re lens are manual.
• Big tip…important how you get content to it – I re did my set up to have my Pana UHD 900 close to the unit, as well as my PS4..so Ididnt need to pay out hundreds for fibre HDMI leads.
• I also have the Sammy UHD 8500, and that was useless compared to the quality and control I got out of the Pana UHD 900 on the Optoma. NIGHT and DAY difference. PS4 Pro gaming works a treat, gets full HDR etc compatability in the video settings. Gaming in 4K is amazing on the Optoma. Wipeout, Horizon Dawn, Uncharted etc are just awesome, and lag is not an issue. However, video feeds from the PS4 are pretty crap, eg Netflix, Stan, Plex. If you can , get your video feeds from a dedicated player, as I have said, especially the Pana UHD 900. On that unit, Netflix 4k / HDR looks fantastic. It doesn’t have Plex, so I use Plex via Chromecast Ultra for 1080p files, which looks great, even though the HDMI 1.4 port. Plex on the PS4 Pro looked like arse. Seriously.
• Optoma upscales 1080p files and Blurays like a treat. Very impressed.
• I have NOT professionally calibrated.
• Optoma resolution is just great, so happy with it. 4K really is razor sharp, of course, blacks could be better. But by no means a dealbreaker, depending on how fussy you are. BIG TIP – use DYNAMIC BLACK…it really works well. And be prepared to spend some time trawling the forums for getting tweaks for diff types of content re settings, it really helps. When you are experimenting, pay close attention to colour gamut, as well as Gamma presets, they make a BIG difference.
• HDR generally works surprisingly well..especially with gaming, and my fave UHD discs, depending on the source material. Big tip here…if on a UHD disc source, HDR looks dodgy…strip HDR from the source player (Pana does it) and get straight 4K out put..solves a lot of problems. For example, the new Prometheus UHD look GREAT in full 4k / HDR…better than I was even hoping for. But…Alien Covenant…seems they somehow screwed the HDR on that, so I strip the HDR from it, to just 4K output, and it looks fantastic.
Overall, I am extremely impressed with this Optoma. As has been well reported, if you don’t care about gaming and want better blacks, go the UHD65. But either way…for this amount of money compared to the competition, I reckon Optoma have really hit it out of the park. I’m planning on keeping it almost as a stop gap for a couple years, till someone makes a great 4K native player that also does great 3D, and does not cost over ten grand. Like I said, I’m no expert, but hope this info has helped. Cheers
51 people found this helpful
|88 comments|Report abuse
on February 24, 2018
Overall an impressive projector. Time will tell on it but despite some of the quirks I listed below I do like it and it is the best of the 4 I've owned. At $1499 I can't see a better option. It does have its quirks but, again, for $1499 it's pretty good. If the UHD65 was around $1999 I'd probably get that one as you'd have the RGBRGB wheel, frame interpolation, and the larger TI chip which only does 2x pixel shifting.

I've owned a Acer H7850 (4K), Epson 2040, and an Epson 3500.

Of comparable projectors to this one I would slot it ahead of the BENQ HT2550, mostly due to the addition of Vertical Offset.

Setup is straightforward, the menus are simple and easy to understand. While both HDMI ports are HDMI 2.2 compliant I had issues with HDMI 1 vs HDMI 4K.

In the manual it shows a picture to hook up video game systems, Blu-ray players, cable boxes...etc. to HDMI 1 [It also shows to hook up cell phones (via MHL HDMI cable) to HDMI 4K]. However I had issues with my Roku Ultra and my XBOX One X with HDMI. Both devices would only recognize the projector as compatible up to 4k30Hz without HDR compatibility. I almost returned the product immediately upon discovering this. I unplugged the HDMI cable and plugged it in to HDMI 4K. That remedied the issue and both devices saw the projector as 4k60Hz HDR compatible.

The Good:

-4K HDMI sync. The projector will flash to recognize a source if the source material switches from 720p to 1080p to 4K or to HDR, but once it has it's resolution it is locked in. This was an issue I had with the Acer and I've seen other people having issues with other 4K projectors. This one is solid!
-HDR auto mode is fantastic. It recognizes HDR and enables HDR mode with a little HDR symbol for a couple seconds in the top right.
-The size is great, not too big. Easily mounted to my ceiling, be aware of how close together the 3 mounting holes are...I had to get creative and take the front foot off and use the bigger screw in my mounting kit to get it to work.
-The color is outstanding, easily the richest color of any of the 4 projectors I've owned. The accuracy is about the best I've seen in a projector.
-RBE, or lack there-of. The RGBRGB wheel is much better than the wheel used in the Acer I tried.

The Ok:

-Picture Quality. I was really looking forward to an ultra sharp crisp 4K image. While this picture was really good, it wasn't as good as the Acer H7850 which I had returned due to sync and fan issues. I'm attributing the good not great 4K quality to the fact that this projectors TI chip does a 4X pixel shift vs the Acer's which did a 2X pixel shift. While both are technically showing 8.3 million pixels, the pixels on the UHD50 are bigger which might be taking a little away from the image. Again, the picture was really good, and had I not seen the larger TI chip's 4K (the UHD60 and UHD65 use that chip) I would've been more than satisfied.
-Noise. Not too loud, not the quietest I've heard either.
-Motion. Lack of Frame Interpolation does affect the image and I did see it as noticable. This is something that higher models have and I understand not including it in the UHD50 due to the low entry price of this 4K projector.

The Bad:

-Light around the image. There is a 3-6" (depending on your screen size, my screen is 120") empty light bleed around the entire image. I don't have black borders on my screen (I have specially finished and painted wall) and the light ring is noticing and distracting. The Acer I had had this on the top and bottom but it was much much smaller.
-Light bleed above projector. There is a bit of light that is above the projector on the ceiling, with a black ceiling in a dedicated home theater this probably is no big deal. In my room with a white ceiling, it was annoying.
57 people found this helpful
|66 comments|Report abuse
on July 6, 2017
I got my UHD60 earlier this week. I had the Optoma HD37 1080p projector before this one. The difference is night and day.

First thing that struck me was that the UHD60 is pretty big. Honestly I was hoping for a bit smaller. Hopefully future generations of this product will yield a physically smaller case.

The first time I turned it on, aligned it and fired up a 4K Blu-Ray, I was extremely pleased. Optoma really did “hit it out of the park” with this one. The PQ rivals your local cinema. Very sharp, clear and bright. I had to actually step down to eco mode because the picture was a bit too bright. I did notice that SDR and HDR have different picture settings so you will need to calibrate both.

The blacks could be better. I will say, however, the dynamic black setting works pretty darn good. I never liked using that setting on previous projectors. On the UHD60, the dynamic black setting works perfectly and definitely helps with the black level without losing too much dark picture content.

The build quality on the case seems pretty cheap. Flimsy plastic door, knobs and buttons. It doesn’t really take away from the performance but still, it’s easy to tell where Optoma cut corners.

This projector is whisper quiet. I am sitting about 4 feet below the projector and can barely hear the fan.

As I mentioned earlier, 4K Blu-Rays looks great. 4K content from Netflix looks pretty good as well. Regular Blu-Rays also benefit greatly. Much smoother, detailed picture than on a 1080p projector.

I didn’t have any issues with setup. My projector shoots just below the top of the screen but I was still able to achieve and perfectly aligned picture using the offset. It’s tight but in my case, it works.

SDR to HDR conversion is horrible. I don’t plan on using it. The colors become too bright and the rainbow effect is horrible.

Haven’t tried gaming yet but I’m also not anal about lag so I couldn’t tell you about that anyway.

Overall, very much worth the money. I am simply amazed at what Optoma has done here at this price point.

EDIT July 8, 2017 - Just thought I would add a few things here since I've had this projector for almost a week. I did discover that any copper cable over 25 feet would not pass 4K HDR. I needed to purchase the Ruipro fiber HDMI cable. It's expensive but it works. 4K HDR requires a ton of data and copper just doesn't work if the cable is too long. If you do use fiber HDMI, just be sure you have the ends connected correctly. One end must be on the projector and the other at the source material. It won't work the other way around.
64 people found this helpful
|33 comments|Report abuse
on May 7, 2018
My first 4k projector and I will say it is very very nice. Primary function is gaming and movies and with the ps4 pro and xbox one x it looks amazing. I do have an LG OLED which by far is superior in picture quality, but the sheer spectacle of the projection set up is hard to resist. I find myself favoring it more often than not especially when playing God Of War and Horizon Zero Dawn which are deserving of the big screen. I have not had enough time to calibrate my projector that way I have the tv but out of the box it is very nice.
Pros:
Picture is clear, clean, and bright enough for a dark room environment. Color is very nice in both HDR and SDR, and the detail forthe image is fantastic.
Cons
Black levels are decent but not as good as you would get on a tv or higher end projector but still very serviceable. I got so used to the black levels on OLED that I found it off putting when black areas look grey at points. But aside from that it was a really easy adjustment due to its pure beauty overall.
I still have to tweak it and get it right where I want but overall it is definetly worth the price and I enjoy the picture it does present.
Note, the lines in the picture are due to creased screen which I have since replaced and is not representative of the projector performance itself.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
6 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on June 1, 2018
I've used projection as my main source of media consumption for the past 10 years. I've logged over 600 lamp hours on the Optoma UHD60 projector and I still catch myself saying "wow, look at that beautiful image". I love the Optoma UHD60! The image quality is remarkable and very bright! I also purchased a high-end OLED TV and compared content side-by-side from the same source (two xbox one x's). While the tv looked excellent, the projector performed as well in most scenarios or event better when it came to sports. Forza 7 looks a little better on the OLED, but it, and all games, still look incredible on the projector. And the overall experience of watching movies, tv shows, sports and playing video games is better on the UHD60, IMO. Even my wife who doesn't care about image quality and the latest electronics appreciates the beauty of the image this thing creates! Even with some ambient light in the room, the projected image looks fantastic. I constantly have guests tell me they can't believe it's a projected image. Optoma did very well with this unit. With over 600 lamp hours logged, it still works brilliantly and impresses me! AND upscaled blurays looks amazing! I purchased several 4K blurays and honestly can't tell the difference between the upscaled blurays and the 4k blurays.

A few things to note:

- #1!! Make sure everything connected in your set up is 4K capable (i.e. source device, AV receiver, and cables)
- Use HDMI cables that are capable of 4K. I use the Fusion 4K cables.
- Add an HDMI repeater for runs longer than 15-18 feet unless you're using Ruipro Fiber HDMI cables (they don't need it from what I've read, but cost a lot). My HDMI run is 31.5 ft. I had to add an HDMI 4K repeater to boost the signal for the image to appear. It looks just like an HDMI connector (female on both ends) and doesn't use external power. Just connect the two 4K HDMI cables. Here is the repeater I have and prefer https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B074Q99W5C/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&th=1
- It does take the projector about 10-30 seconds usually to find the signal. It may be faster with Ruipro Fiber HDMI cables, but I'm happy with my set up.
- Your 1080P only devices will need to be connected to the 1080P HDMI IN on the projector. They won't work over the 4k HDMI IN. Keep this in mind if you have several 1080P devices to connect in addition to 4K devices. You'll need two HDMI outs on your receiver. I only have one HDMI out on my receiver, but I only have one 1080P device (PS4) in my set up so I run it directly to the 1080P HDMI IN on the projector and run an optical audio cable from the PS4 to my receiver. The other devices are 4K (Xbox One X and Apple TV 4K). I have a 1.5 ft Fusion 4K HDMI cable that runs out of my receiver HDMI Out (which is also 4K/60p capable BTW) runs directly from my receiver to the projector.

Hope this helps anyone considering the UHD60. I'd buy it again without hesitation.
5 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
 Until now you had to spend $8000 or more to get a real 4K projector. Optoma has changed everything with the release of the UHD60 and UHD65. I had been anticipating the release of a reasonably priced 4k projector for the past 3 years so when I heard that Optoma these new models I couldn't wait to get my hands on it. After receiving my pre-ordered UHD60 and testing it I can say I'm truly satisfied.

Although the UHD60/UHD65 are certified 4K projectors, it should be noted that they only have 2716x1528 micro-mirrors but they use pixel shifting to display a true 4K image, unlike the Epson 5040UB, which is 1080p with pixel shifting. In short, you're getting real 4K with the UHD60.

Pros:
Price!!!!
Amazingly crisp image quality
Quieter than I expected
It's nice and bright!
Lots of input/output port options

Cons:
No negative vertical lens shift. (See video for more info)
No keystone correction
Only 1 HDMI 2.0 port. The other one is HDMI 1.4a
Rec. 709 - It's not a true HDR Projector, although it supports Rec. 2020 signals. (See video for more info)
Size - it's pretty big
Mediocre contrast ratio. Black levels could be better but image quality makes up for it.
review imagereview image
69 people found this helpful
|77 comments|Report abuse
on October 24, 2017
Let me tell you my expectations were blown away. First I started off with Xbox One S and the latest HDMI cable and the picture was amazing. Then when I started to play the game, there was virtually no visible lag, which was a huge plus to me. The speaker sounded ok, but really outside of maybe outside, I really find no use for it. UHD and HDR looked incredible in movies as well.

What I didn’t like about the projector is the zoom feature is mostly manual, it makes it really hard to put the lens on after you set it up. Adjusting the height of the lens is limited. Sharpness is very good, but if you are real close you there is some degradation in picture.

Price point, while seemingly $2000 is expensive it is worth it for what you get. I give it an 8 out of 10.
review image
6 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on February 22, 2018
Incredible! This is my 3rd Optoma Home Theatre projector. I had the HD20, HD27 and now the UHD60. I admit that even though I had become brand-loyal to Optoma, I had doubt as to whether this could deliver a real UHD picture, 2160P with HDR for less than $2,000. Not only was I not disappointed, this projector exceeded every single one of my expectations. If you are looking for a 4K home theatre projector, this will blow you away. I know it achieves 2160P using pixel shifting, but it makes absolutely no difference. This projector displays 8,000,000 seperate pixels and looks as good as the $7,000 Sony or $6,000 JVC. The specs are listed elsewhere on Amazon so I won't go into that, I will only say that this has the best picture I have ever seen outside of a theatre (and better than many theatre's projecting 4K) for any projector priced less than $10,000. The only weakness I can think of is its size, which is larger than the Optoma 1080P projector models, but it still mounted from the exact bracket I had hanging my Optoma HD26 (the QualGear PRB-717 offered on Amazon for $23.99). And the current price of just $1799 is a steal. This may very well be my best purchase i have ever made from Amazon, and i have made hundreds and hundreds of purchases, large and small.
If you own this projector, please submit your settings to this section. I always find someone with perfect settings for my tastes, and it saves me a lot of trial and error. But for now, HRD more is exceptional. I will only add that the movies I base this review on are: Jumanji (1995, the original with Robin Williams, on a 4K UHD DVD), Bridge on the River Kwi (1957, remastered and presented in stunning 4K UDH and Close Encounters of the Third Kind (1977, 4KUHD). I started buying my DVDs in 4K a year ago so I have a few titles to watch before I have to resort to buying new ones, but regardless they will look gorgeous on the Optoma UHD60 projector.
4 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse