Industrial Deals Best Books of the Year So Far Men's Summer Sneakers nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Forest Blakk and Deepend New Moto G6 64 GB | $299.99. Save with Prime Exclusive Phones. Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry modern furniture and decor Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo All-new Show Mode Charging Dock Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now SWMTVT18_gno



TOP 50 REVIEWERon November 30, 2017
I'm going to be quite brief with this review.

INTRO This is purported to be "Six complete novels," by J. S. Donovan. In my mind, however, a more correct description might state this is "Two complete series, comprised of six novellas." It may seem a minor distinction, but my point is that each of the series is comprised of three stories. In other words, each series has a Book 0, Book 1, and a Book 2. Don't let that dissuade you, however, as the writing is excellent and, frankly, getting two novels for free is an outstanding opportunity.

BLUSH FACTOR No profanities in either story, so you should have no fear in reading to your 80-year-old grandmother.

CLIFFHANGERS No cliffhangers here, as the two stories are complete and stand-alone.

IS THIS A GOOD TIME TO GET THESE STORIES Absolutely. Rather than buy them individually, in which Book 0 and Book 1 leave you with cliffhangers, buying the super boxset helps you avoid the anguish that comes from reading an incomplete teaser.

Bottom Line

Excellent, compelling writing that will keep most readers turning the pages...

Five stars out of five.

Comments regarding your opinion of this book or of my review, whether favorable or unfavorable, are always welcome. If you buy the book based on my review and become disappointed, especially, I do want to know that and I want to understand how I can improve as a book reviewer. Just please be polite.

Thank you.
104 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on December 17, 2017
I enjoyed these stories,but I feel the main character is lacking some depth. I have a better feel for her partner than I do for her as far as personality goes. Having bought the books together, I found it aggravating to read the same descriptions over and over. A little variation would be welcome. Also, some better editing would help. I am a freelance editor by trade and some of the mistakes were embarrassing from a professional point of view. However, all in all a pleasant way to spend a couple of evenings.
12 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on January 10, 2018
I have mixed feelings on my review. On the one hand, the action, suspense and story line kept me riveted. But on the other, as other reviewers have said, the rampant grammar and homonym mis-use drove me crazy. Also the fact that the order of the books has no rhyme or reason. The first book throws you into the middle of Rachel's life and career and hints at the solution to the mystery of a later book (which should have come before the first book I read). Once I got to that book with that mystery, I pretty much knew who the serial killer was already. Then comes a book that I'm not sure where it falls in the series, then comes "the beginning" which answers a lot of questions I should have known about before. If I remember correctly, the last book in my kindle series bundle is called "Book 2". I'm so confused.
14 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
I agree with another customer about the order of the books—& it is the only reason I am giving it 4 stars instead of 5 stars. The last set of books should have been the first set and visa versa. So if you download this box set, be sure and read the last set first—it will make a lot more sense & you won’t know ahead of time who the bad guy is. The first set of these books at times mentions the past & in doing so mentions who the bad guy was in the past—thus, spoiling the next set because there is no mystery about who the bad guy is.

Other than the above mention, I loved these stories. I have always been a fan of the paranormal and of mysteries—and these books fit both categories. One thing that puzzled me and is different than most stories about spirits/ghosts, is that the ones in these stories are almost all angry with Rachel Harroway although she is the only one trying to help them. That did not make sense to me.

Rachel Harroway can see the dead and tries to find justice for them so that they can move on and “go home”. The only person who knows what Rachel can do is her detective partner Peck. Even though Peck is a skeptic about most things he comes to believe Rachel after the things she has seen helped them to solve their cases.

I won’t tell you the stories or why would you want to read these books if you knew everything that happened. Just know that if you like stories about spirits/ghosts, stories with a lot of action and suspense, you will love these stories as much as I did—just make sure you read the last box set first! There was no profanity or steamy sex scenes in these books—which I greatly appreciated. Now if I can only find a continuation concerning Rachel and a little girl (surprise!) I will be happy.
4 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on February 17, 2018
I really enjoyed the story line but. . . Someone needs to proof read the books! Too many errors. Also it would have been more enjoyable had it been in sequence instead of mixed up.
8 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on March 1, 2018
I don’t think I have ever experienced a more poorly written, poorly edited book. I bought the series and didn’t even make it through one book. Besides the fact that there were so many editing mistakes (words reversed, missing, wrong word), the writing was so poor it was almost funny. There were many times when I thought there was a mistake and entire paragraphs, if not chapters, were missing. Don’t even get me started on the story itself. Amazon, I’m beyond disappointed with your quality control.
6 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on December 1, 2017
This kept me totally absorbed.We need more books that clutch at your heart and make you wonder if they will be safe.
8 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on December 2, 2017
I have spent almost two full days reading this whole box set and I couldn't put it down.Fantastic, gripping story line that sucks you in and wouldn't let go. I rated this so highly because of her expert way of making it believable.
12 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on May 4, 2018
The series was an enjoyable read. I liked the Haunting books better than the orphan books. There were quite a few mistakes that I found distracting. The worst one was using "autistic" guitar player..... I think it should have been "acoustic" guitar player? It didn't make sense to me that Rachel didn't try to help her mother knowing what she had gone through. The mystery aspect of the books was well written.
2 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on January 11, 2018
Just finished the Rachel Harroway box set, great series & story lines. Interesting concept in crime solving, reminded me of the "Ghost Whisperer" TV series, lots of twists and turns, kept the pages turning throughout the whole series. Would definitely recommend reading. The only reason I couldn't give it 5 stars, would be the proofreading errors, some sentences had to be read 2 to 3 times to make sense (adding & correcting words I thought should be there) Overall, a great box set series!
2 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse