Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Prime Day Lead Up nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Get 4 months of Amazon Music Unlimited for $0.99. Prime member exclusive. New subscribers only. Just $7.99/month after. Terms apply. Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Prime Day modern furniture and decor Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon $1.99 rentals for Prime members 1.99 rentals for Prime members 1.99 rentals for Prime members  Echo Devices Starting at $29.99 All-new Show Mode Charging Dock Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now STL18_GNO



on October 22, 2017
Very cool! Got it today and installed it. Took about 25 min, but I took my time through the instructions. Had to use the separate instruction sheet for Apple phones. Looks like it was a process to join the hubs wifi in order to enter my wifi router's info. I was going to give it 4 stars since it was $100, but then I started playing with the app and it has some pretty cool settings. I like the warning beeps and light flashing to warn anyone the door is closing - smart. Learned I have a Lift Master door opener - 5 years in the house and never looked up to notice.

UPDATE: So this is what I set up in the app after a some playing around -
- Tell me when the door is opened or closed - pops up on my phone, also saved in history list
- Warn me that the door was left open longer than 15 minutes - in case we forgot to close it
- automatically close the door every night at 10:30 - so our door won't be open all night (has happened)
163 people found this helpful
|44 comments|Report abuse
on October 14, 2017
This is a very cool gadget to an existing garage door!
The reason I give it a 4-stars and not 5 is because the installation guide and instructional video are missing a crucial step that slowed me down...

The "hidden" essential step was to open a browser and go to: setup.myqdevice.com this will help you connect the MyQ Smart Garage Hub to your home WiFi

I hope this review helps and will save you ~15 minutes wait time for their support line :)
198 people found this helpful
|44 comments|Report abuse
on October 15, 2017
+ Easy install and setup. From the time I opened the box until it was fully installed and setup was about 1 hour. (i.e. skimmed the quick start guide, downloaded the app, programmed the hub, mounted the hub to the ceiling, mounted the sensor to the door, programmed my garage door opener, cleaned up).

+ Intuitive app. Walks you through hub setup, sensor testing, garage door opener programming. Once setup up, easy to navigate between different devices and settings. Options to setup alerts for each time the garage is opened or close, schedule the door to open/close at a specific time of the day. Displays elapsed time door has been opened or closed.

- pre-closing warning tone is louder than I'd prefer... no obvious way to adjust the volume

- would be better if you could monitor/control the door via a website and not just the app
69 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on October 12, 2017
They have subscription fee for connecting to Google home or IFTTT!!!

After spending hours to set and install this device I noticed that Chamberlain has monthly or yearly subscription fee for connecting to google home or IFTTT !!! While Google and other company provide their service for free for all smart devices this company is charging for this interface, I haven't heard of any other company to have subscription fee for connecting to Google or Amazon.

Don't buy this
726 people found this helpful
|1818 comments|Report abuse
on December 4, 2017
So I tried to buy this used from Amazon Warehouse, bad idea. Really bad idea. Until a future update is pushed out these are locked to one account forever and can't be reset for a new user. Kind of pissed Amazon even wasted my time by selling it to me.

Chamberlain's customer service was really kind and understanding but didn't mince words about me not being able to use my used unit in the immediate future. So I got a new one and had it set up and working in under an hour.

The guide is very specific about how to set it up, and you really need to follow it if you want to avoid any hassle or trouble. For instance. The sensor unit needs to go on the top panel of your garage door. No ifs, ands, or buts. And the hub unit needs to be mounted very near where the garage door stops when in the lifted position.

I like trying to use my own easier configurations all the time, and I really hate heights. But after messing around with some ideas that didn't require me to get on a ladder I decided to play it by the book and now it works perfectly 100% of the time.

Seriously, everything the little quick start booklet says needs to be followed as closely as possible if you want this to work properly. Two bars of wifi, cieling mounted hub unit, sensor on the top panel, all of it.

My one mild complaint is the seemingly excessive safety measures taken when you close the door. The alarm is, well, alarming. And the flashing lights tend to frighten people who aren't expecting them. I've seen Craftsman smart garages that just close like normal. I'd really prefer to not have a small light show announcing my door is closing every time.
review image
43 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on May 30, 2018
You’re looking for a solution to open your garage door from a remote location. Package deliveries, the housekeeper, your tool-hoarding neighbor. This is one of several products out there that will do the trick.

If you’re a garage door tech, move along. You know this already. If your a DIY homeowner with grand plans, you must read on - This is what Chamberlain should tell you about their system but doesn’t.

While generally easy to install, without an Introduction or Basic Principles of Operation as a preamble, you will likely have the same issues I did. Read on for the lessons I learned and tips that will save your hair. I will explain each of the major elements of the system and provide suggestions to improve your probability of a successful installation.

The Door sensor: This sensor communicates with the smart hub using Bluetooth to indicate door operation and open/ closed condition. During installation it is paired to the smart hub which is best performed with the unit attached to a closed door between 3’ and 10’ from the smart hub. By design, Bluetooth distance is limited to 33’ but don’t count on consistent operation at this extreme end of the range. Consider this distance during installation and future operation.

Your 2.4ghz cordless phones, baby monitors, etc., can cause Bluetooth interference. Get them out. If your wireless router has a setting for Bluetooth coexistence, enable it.

Your Wireless (Wi-Fi) Network: The Chamberlain documentation says that 2 bars of 2.4ghz WiFi signal is enough for consistent operation. This can be checked by looking on your phone. I say, your mileage may vary. I installed a dedicated access point for the smart hub as I couldn’t get the system to work reliably. A wired connection is also supported.

Configure the smart hub with a static IP Address on your wireless network. This will help ensure the Chamberlain service can reach the smart hub quickly and easily when you activate the door. The additional time for the router or server to lookup a dynamic IP Address and establish a connection could create timing issues.

The Smart Hub: The smart hub includes a Bluetooth receiver for the door sensor, a 2.4 ghz radio to connect to your wireless home network for the system to communicate with Chamberlain’s servers on the internet, and a radio frequency (RF) transmitter to send HomeLink rolling codes to your garage door opener (on a channel in the 300-400mhz range depending on your garage door opener) - just like your remote clicker.

I discovered that the RF transmitter in the smart hub is fairly weak. While your car can transmit a signal a half block away, the smart hub can't. The instructions make a recommendation for placement of the smart hub but will make an explicit statement here - install it within the 4-6’ “recommendation”. Consider this when planning your installation. Apparently, orientation is important for maximum reach. If it doesn’t work reliably, flip it 180 degrees on its mount. Finally, like other garage door remotes, if it loses power you might have to re-program the system with the garage door learn button. They don’t tell you this so I will.

Finally, the smart hub needs to be located where it can communicate with; 1) the door sensor (Bluetooth), 2) the garage door opener (RF) and, 3) your wireless (WiFi) network to work consistently! Each has its own distance limitations so placement of the hub is critical.

Your garage door opener: You obviously have one to which you are adding this system. Do your homework and make sure it’s compatible before you buy. If you’re not positive, call or email them with your make and model numbers in hand. Mine is a Craftsman (Chamberlain) made in 1999 with the door sensors so I was good to go. NOTE: Garage door openers have a limit to the number of remotes they can support. My Craftsman supports 4 remotes. With two HomeLink-connected cars, the remote door opener, and the smart hub I am now at the max allowed by my opener. As a result, I had to decommission my "clickers". Do your homework and factor this into your plans.

The Phone App: A basic, functional, app with a few frills. It works well enough though some settings are best changed on the web site (that I didn’t know about). When installing the smart hub your phone will need to be on your 2.4ghz wireless network to complete the setup. After that, it doesn’t matter what your phone is connected to - your home network or a cell connection. The system can be setup entirely from your phone. I set up an open alert, a close alert and a 10pm door not closed reminder. The alerts can be sent to you via Text or email.

The Chamberlain service: Does not support Alexa or IFTTT (without a fee) and that’s fine for me. I always have my phone handy and I don’t need the security concerns that come with IFTTT. Also, multi-user accounts are not (yet) supported. I just program the wife’s phone with the same username/ password and off we go.

The system is fairly rudimentary and in my opinion could use some added intelligence. If the system components exchanged more status information it could probably avoid situations where the “door [is] not responding” or better error status information could be presented to the user. Sometimes I think it’s just that Chamberlain's servers are slow.

LED & Florescent lights: I hear you asking “why is this important?”. Both can emit radio and electromagnetic interference that can mask the signal between the smart hub and your opener. If you experience unreliable operation - out they go. The last thing I did was remove an LED lamp from a motion sensor fixture nearby and replaced it with a standard incandescent. Since the light is only on for a few minutes I’m not worried about the power usage if it means the garage door will close when commanded.

I give Chamberlain credit for trying to make the install easy. Considering the different operating environments and variables, it’s a challenge to cover all the bases. Unfortunately, a quick start guide simply isn’t enough in this case and the online instructions are no better. They have made some assumptions about what you need to know (or don't need to know). The above precautions should be spelled out to avoid customer frustration and reduce the number of calls to their help desk (and returned product).

The good news for me is that after 2 months of trial and error and multiple calls and emails to their help desk, I think we may finally have all the issues cleared up. My fingers are crossed.

Now you know everything Chamberlain should tell you but doesn't. Best of luck!
15 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
on December 3, 2017
It's really a simple device and easy to install. I installed it and got it up and running in less than an hour. No hubs or anything else is needed -- other that a wi-fi signal. Works as expected and I will buy the second sensor, soon.

When you open or close the door remotely, the unit beeps pretty loud and the light flashes about 5 seconds before it actually moves. That's a bit annoying. But if you think about it, that makes sense in the scenario where someone is in the garage and they have no idea the door is about to move. Besides, you're rarely activating it while inside the garage.

The wireless sensor is powered by an included battery (CR2450). No idea how long it's supposed to last, but the app is supposed to notify you when the battery lets low.
review imagereview image
23 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on January 22, 2018
Awesome wifi garage opener and very easy to setup! I was up and running in 15 minutes hooking this up to my 15 year old Craftsman garage door opener. The package contains one hub and one sensor to control one garage door. The hub can control 2 doors, so if you have 2 doors, you will have to buy an additional sensor(https://www.amazon.com/Chamberlain-G821LMB-Sensor-Garage-Sensor-Myq-G0301/dp/B078C95181). If you have more than 2 garage doors, you will have to purchase an additional kit with a hub and sensor(https://www.amazon.com/dp/B075H7Z5L8). Few pointers:

1. Make sure the location of the hub will have a good wifi signal. This is extremely critical and I feel like this is one of the main reasons for many peoples' frustration with the kit
2. Make sure you attach the sensors on the top panel of the garage door with a clear line of sight to the hub
3. There is a small insert with instructions. Follow them closely
4. Once you power on the hub, you will have to connect to the hub's wifi and go to setup.myqdevice.com. This step is needed to connect the hub to your home wifi network
5. Once you get a confirmation that step 4 is successful, install the MyQ app and follow instructions there. Be sure to select the proper values for your garage door opener and the color of the learning button inside it. This will make setup extremely easy and pain-free!
review image
21 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on May 23, 2018
POS randomly opens my garage door instead of closing it at the scheduled time. When it does this the app gives an error message: "The door cannot be controlled because of too many failed attempts. Please operate the door locally to reset and allow unattended operation." I've done that and also completely reset the device several times under the instruction of their tech support. It works a couple of weeks and then it happens again - and of course, I don't find out until the next day that my garage door has been open all night!!!
review image
12 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on May 23, 2018
Pros:
Works for showing if your garage door is open/closed.
Can control garage door remotely with MyQ App.
Cons:
No geofencing. Not having this feature pretty much the device worthless.
Requires an extra piece of hardware (LiftMaster MYQ 819LMB which is almost $100) to use with HomeKit.
Requires $1 monthly or $10 subscription to use with Google Home or IFTTT.
11 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse