Industrial Deals Beauty Textbooks Shop women's shoes nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. New LG Stylo 4 | $249.99. Save with Prime Exclusive Phones. Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry modern furniture and decor Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now SWMTVT18_gno



on February 24, 2017
I'm a kindergarten teacher and go through thousands of sheets of laminate per year. This laminator is better than the Scotch brand one that I had previously. Although it is a little slower by comparison, it doesn't jam and even when the sheet starts to crinkle due to my aligning it carelessly, the machine still magically makes it smooth and functional when it comes out. Has never wasted or "accordioned" a sheet of laminate. It heats up very quickly (under 5 min) and can run for hours without overheating and shutting down. I laminated with it for 4 hours straight once and it worked beautifully. Works well with every brand of laminating sheet I've tried. Absolutely love this laminator and have converted from Scotch to Swingline for good.
300 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on September 7, 2015
The Swingline Thermal Laminator, Inspire Plus works great. It was quick and easy to use. I did read the directions but only to confirm what I thought I should do. Basically, you just plug it in, turn it on (mine came on as soon as I plugged it in) and determine if you want use the hot or the cold laminate feature. Then you just wait a short amount of time for it to warm up (the light turns green to let you know), put what you want to laminate inside one of the enclosed Laminating Pouches, put that in the slot. Within less then 5 minutes of opening the package, I had my brochure laminated! It is really that easy.

The difference between the hot & cold is you use hot for most of the things things you want to laminate and the cold for laminating your heat-sensitive materials using a pressure sensitive sleeve.

Although I am a product tester / reviewer and test several products each week, I purchased this laminator on my own when it was on sale. No matter which way I'm buying products, I always pre-test each item and give my honest & unbiased opinion.
review imagereview imagereview image
72 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on November 26, 2016
I bought this for my grandson at his request. It's no-frills, warms up in 4 minutes and does a great job at laminating. My grandson loves it.

Show is a picture of my 8 year old grandson laminating everything he could think of on his birthday this year. He is so thrilled with this (especially the blue color) he couldn't wait to plug it in and start laminating everything in sight.
review image
20 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on June 3, 2018
The woman who runs the lamination machine at my school isn’t the greatest at it. She often returns items with parts of the lamination bubbling up, or she cuts into the actual thing that was laminated when she is cutting off the extra lamination. There were a few times she laminated the sticky note with my name on it to the actual poster. So I got this. I wanted to be able to not have to go through her for my every lamination need that is larger than a standard piece of paper.

It works beautifully! At first, I was impressed at how quickly it heat up only to discover it took the lamination pocket and the paper through the machine without doing anything. I was pretty upset before I discovered there was a “cool” setting. I can’t imagine what that would be used for, but it was good to know the machine wasn’t broken.

It actually FIXED the messed up pieces I had laminated through the media center, which was incredibly nice. One poster was a little off track and it messed up the edges. I ran it through again and it smoothed out the edge and was more or less back to the way it needed to be. My old laminator had a tray that would help me line up whatever I wanted laminated prior to running it through. That was the only reason I deducted a star. Overall, a wonderful product!
8 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on September 1, 2017
I bought this machine to use it with Heidi Swapp Minc Foil and it worked perfecty! It heats really fast and I am very happy that I bought this and not Heidi Swapp Machine which is really expensive. I also used the big Heidi Swapp transfer folders and the size fits perfectly. This is a good optional machine if you don't want to spend too much money on the Heidi Swapp one
review image
27 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
on August 15, 2017
This is the first time that I've ever had a product issue with Amazon Warehouse. Except for a little bit of blue coloring on the corner it looked good. I turned it on, put my page in and it didn't come out the other side. As it turns out, it was jammed when I bought it. I just spent 2-1/2 hours messing with this thing to get all of the stuff out. I was even able to get mine out while there was still some of the original one in there and it's a darn good thing that I didn't electrocute myself in the process.
review imagereview image
37 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on January 10, 2018
Upon our very first use of this product it jammed, irreparably. I had read the entire manual first and followed all directions. It also ruined something dear to me; I suppose I should have done a test run and broken the product with a test? Lovely.
review imagereview image
16 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
on September 8, 2015
 I have always wanted a laminator at my house for documents or pictures that I wanted to save but never found one I liked. I was told about the Swingline laminator and bought it on sale. The laminator is very easy to use but only uses 8 x10 sheets so you can laminate multiple small items or one letter size item. The laminator is easy to use and has two settings hot and cold. Cold settings require a special laminating sheet. The unit can get hot if you are not careful so do no leave it plugged in when not in use. The items I have laminated have turned out great and I am happy to have it around the house for when I need one.
94 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on November 6, 2016
I have wanted a laminator for a while and I had a project due that required me to give some handouts. That was a perfect excuse to get one. I didn't want to spend a lot of money buy of course I wanted it to work well too. This thing did the trick and is so easy to use!! Just turn on and use. I laminated over 45 things back to back without a hiccup. Even when I messed up and put it in crooked and the edges were getting completely bent on one side going in, it came out perfectly normal! I don't know how it pulled that off but I'm so pleased lol. I bought the swingline laminating paper refills as well and they worked perfectly. Couldn't be happier with my purchase.
review image
8 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on July 5, 2018
I was so excited to finally purchase a laminator and even did research before purchasing. I mulled over this purchase for a month or so before finally deciding on this both for the price and size. I figured all products have some bad reviews and figured the good ones outweighed the bad. Since this is my first laminator I had nothing to compare it to so I was fine with waiting 5 minutes for it to warm up, but the unit gets extremely hot and has no grip at the bottom which meant I had to stabilize it while I slowly fed my laminating sheets through (didn't burn my fingers, but it wasn't a pleasant feeling.) I purchased this laminate items for my planner addiction and it worked.... until it didn't. One laminating sheet got too hot and curled in instead of feeding itself out the other end and when I went to take it apart so I could unjam it I realized that you cant and it had become melted into the rollers. The way the internal mechanism is put together you'd have to unplug the internal wires from each other to fully separate the rollers, and since I'm no engineer I had little faith I'd be able to reconnect them, so this went right into the trash and I ordered a more expensive laminator.

Comparing this to my new laminator (which is the Teji 13 inch 4-Roller Thermal Laminator LV-400) I can immediately tell the Swingline is a lower quality "craft occasionally" home office type machine and not meant for someone who laminates multiple sheets in one session. If you like testing out new ways to use your laminator I'd suggest investing in a different machine and not this one, don't be like me and purchase based off price thinking the bad reviews only happen occasionally.
3 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse