Industrial Deals Beauty Ghosted Shop women's shoes nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. New LG V35 ThinQ | $699.99. Save with Prime Exclusive Phones. Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry modern furniture and decor Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now SWMTVT18_gno



on December 21, 2017
I am a 70 year old struggling to keep up with technology because, well it's important. Like many my ability to check out new tech with the systems administrator or a Millennial colleague came to an abrupt end along with my final paycheck. Since I think it's important that you know the perspective with which a review is written let me briefly tell you what this Sonos One was meant to replace.
Our basic music needs were being met by a 10 year old Sony "shelf system"; a radio tuned only to the local classical music station with a CD player that no longer worked. We have access to Amazon music and recently bought a little Bluetooth speaker that worked very nicely. The downside here is that my wife has no notion of how to use the app to make Amazon music work. We have Sirius XM in the car, love the variety and often wished we could get that at home.
Based on the specs and reviews it looked like Sonos One had the potential to be our new best music friend.
Out of the box the set up was VERY easy. I dread the day when I buy a new piece of tech and have no clue how to make it work. That was not a problem for this guy. Download the app and follow the simple steps. The only exception here is in a tuning process that involves waving your iPhone while you walk around the room. It kept failing, telling me I was making too much noise. My wife actually has this same complaint and, as with my marriage the app eventually suggested we just move on.
The Sonos app connected seamlessly with Amazon Music. We had discovered that Sirius XM now offered an app based streaming version of their service which also connected easily with a little switching back and forth between the apps. And the biggest bonus, our local classical music station is among the many radio stations that can be added.
The sound is spectacular. Keep that perspective thing in mind. We are obviously not audiophiles but to our aging ears the Sonos is a huge upgrade over what we had and fills our room with deep, rich sound.
The Alexa thing was our biggest surprise as both wife and I were skeptical and had put Alexa in the broad category of "things we will never have."
Alexa's default play for us will be something from Amazon Music. The more specific your request the better. There's a bit of learning curve in finding what gets Alexa's motor running. For example, after a number of fails we looked at the app and noticed that our local classical music station was titled Classical Public Radio. That worked and now my wife can get her old friend playing at 6am without using any apps. In the interest of fairness I must say that Alexa does not seem to recognize Sirius XM and even told me it was not installed. Of course all of the music can be accessed without problem on the app.
I have asked Alexa the time; asked her to set an alarm and to tell me a joke. I even told her I loved her. "That's sweet" was her response. I've read here that the Alexa function is not great on the Sonos, but again that depends on your needs and perspective.
The Sonos One with Alexa gets the Double Senior Discount Seal of Approval from this household.
612 people found this helpful
|1111 comments|Report abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
When I had just purchased a home, I was looking into having it wired for whole-house audio. Looking into multi-room systems on Amazon, it was apparent to me that it wouldn't be cheap: cost of the speakers, controllers, PLUS cost of running wires throughout the house. When I saw the SONOS PLAY:1 promotions, I found its wireless solution to be more cost effective, and with better speakers to boot. I have since tried the SONOS PLAY ONE speakers that were realized in late 2017. Below are the pros and cons that led me to decide for the Sonos system.

NOTE 1: a Sonos BRIDGE is NOT needed to use the PLAY ONE. See the INSTALLATION section of this review.
NOTE 2: the PLAY:1 is the same as the PLAY ONE without voice and touch integration. As such, the PLAY:1 is less expensive.

PROS
- Hi-Fi. Speakers sound better than the multi-room, wired systems I looked at for less than $500.

- Resale Value. Wired speakers don't add much resale value to your house. So, why spend $1000s, only to leave the audio system behind when you sell the property or move? With wireless, I could take my expensive speakers with me to my new home.

- Freedom to move around.
With wireless, you are free to take the speakers anywhere you want throughout the whole house. For neighborhood block parties, I could even hook up the speakers to an extension cord out to the street, and stream music from my home. Or take it outside to your backyard. They are moisture-proof, but I wouldn't use them as permanent outdoor speakers unless you enclose them in protective casings.

NOTE on wireless: each SONOS component is its own wireless client and repeater. Sonos wireless is a private, wireless "mesh" system, separate from your home WiFi. What does that mean to you? It routes music through its own wireless, leaving your home WiFi untouched. There's an additional benefit for that, as I'll explain after the installation note below. Most of the Sonos components (PLAY:1 and PLAY ONE are NOT one of them) have 2 network ports. This means, you can plug in the component into the network jack, and use the 2nd one on the speaker to connect your laptop.

- Alexa integration: the speakers now support voice control, though it is a work-in-progress. Sonos updates the capabilities via software updates over time. Google Assistant support is scheduled to come in 2018, making the PLAY ONE a more desirable option than having a Google Home and Amazon Echo in the house. I do get frustrated far more often with Alexa not understanding me or my request. My whole family enjoys Google Assistant's better answers and ability to understand us. We can't wait for Sonos to bring the Google Assistant to the PLAY ONE.

INSTALLATION: First, the tech talk. You need 1 Sonos component to be plugged in to your home network (any of the PLAY speakers, Soundbar, Bridge, etc.) So, as an example, you must plug in either the BRIDGE or the PLAY ONE to your network with a network cable. This turns that component into a wireless access point (or as consumers tend to call it, a "Wifi router".) All other Sonos components will now be able to wirelessly talk to that plugged-in device. No other Sonos component has to be plugged in, as long as it's within wireless range of the plugged-in one. Should a component in your house be too far away (say, your garage) from the plugged-in one, you can connect it to your network via cable, if available, or set up a Sonos BRIDGE (or any other Sonos speaker) wirelessly somewhere between the plugged-in one and the Garage speaker. The BRIDGE or other speaker strengthens the wireless from the plugged-in one, and extends the range to the one in the Garage. Each Sonos component is both a wireless client, and a wireless access point/repeater. Each component talks to each other in a mesh network. Think of a spider net. Any part that is touched vibrates to the rest of the net.

Tech-talk aside, think about this: One person (Person 1) is at a corner of the house. When he shouts, the person in the garage (Person 2) can't hear Person 1. The only way Person 1 can talk to 2, is to pick up the phone (talking over a wired connection, or plugging a distant Sonos component to the wired network) or having Person 3 stand between them (having a Sonos component physically be between both speakers) and relaying the information back and forth (what WiFi mesh would do). So, with each Sonos component/speaker, the Sonos wireless range gets extended.

With the Sonos wireless mesh, you could humorously place a few speakers into each house in the neighborhood, and suddenly play the same music through each home. Try that with Bluetooth speakers. You wouldn't be able to.

WiFi mesh TIP: if you have an Android device, you can Google "Android devices on SonosNet", and you will see instructions on how to use your Sonos wireless network ("SonosNet") to connect your Android phone/tablet. This allows you to use your mobile device further away from your home WiFi. This has disadvantages and advantages out of the scope of this review. I decided not to use SonosNet for my tablets.

NOTE: a Sonos BRIDGE is NOT needed to use the PLAY ONE. Just plug in the PLAY ONE to the wired network (ie your router), and it will work just fine. You still control it with the Sonos App from your mobile device. Once the PLAY ONE is plugged in, you can add other Sonos components to the system. A BRIDGE is NOT needed for that either. It's only needed if you want to extend the Sonos wireless range to a farther part of your house or yard for $50 vs buying another PLAY speaker for $100+)

- Small size. The BRIDGE is about the same size as an Apple TV/Roku/WD TV Live. The PLAY ONE is about 2-3 of them stacked on top of each other. The PLAY ONE has a fairly hefty weight, a good sign of the good sound coming from its components.

- Ease of Pairing. To pair other Sonos components (or with the Sonos Controller App), simply hit the Play/Volume Up button on the speaker, and the same combination on the other speakers. If pairing with the BRIDGE, hit the pair button on that component.

- LED. The Bright LED can be configured to turn on/off via the Sonos app.

- Ease of music sync.
You can use the free Sonos app for your Android, iOS (iPhone/iPad/iPod), Windows Phone, Mac/Windows laptop/tablet (sadly, no Windows Store app yet) to control how the speakers play: you can easily choose which speakers to pair/unpair into groups. Grouping the speakers allows you to play the same music on those speakers. You can have up to 32 separate groups. You can also individually control each speaker from the app. Each group's volume is controlled by the Sonos app. So, if Speaker 1 is set to 50% volume, and Speaker 2 is set to 25%, lowering the volume by 5% will lower Speaker 1 to 45%, and 2 to 20%.

Once music is playing, you can leave the house, and it will continue to play -- as long as the music source is not coming from that mobile device (meaning: if you're playing MP3s from your phone, and your phone leaves, it will stop playing. But if you started Pandora from your phone, or you told the speaker to play music off one of your network shares, it will continue playing since the source is coming from a device that's still at home.)

PARTIES: one cool feature is that once you download the Sonos Controller app and pair it to one of the Sonos speakers (which authorizes the app/phone to talk to your Sonos system -- this prevents unauthorized people outside your home from controlling your speakers), each device can control the playlist. So, if you have guests coming over, and each guest downloads and authorizes the Sonos app to your system, each guest can now add/remove songs from the queue. Everybody can now be a DJ.

- Stereo pairing for PLAY ONE.
You can take two PLAY ONE speakers and set them up as Left & Right channels for stereo output. WARNING: you cannot pair PLAY ONE and the older PLAY:1 for stereo. You either have to use two PLAY:1 or two PLAY ONE.

- Expandability.
Sonos did a smart thing. They released the less expensive PLAY:1/PLAY ONE to wet your/my appetite. As you use the system, you will likely buy more Sonos components to expand your sound system, resulting in more revenue for the company. You can add any Sonos component to your system, and they will all work in harmony. You can set up a complete home theater system that way too. I know, sounds pricey. It is. But it still is cheaper than having your whole house wired with nice speakers.

- Alarm/Sleep timer.
You can set up each speaker (or Group of speakers) to play music at a specific time, day, and volume (Alarm) from a specific source for a specified amount of time. Or you can also set a Sleep timer to play music for a specific number of minutes to ease you into sleep. I love getting waken up by mellow music (ie. Norah Jones) in the morning, and when I leave the home, I don't have to worry about turning off the speakers. It'll automatically turn off after the 45 minutes I set up for the alarm.

- Sound. Sound quality is quite good. I will leave you with the reviews by others to read more about that. With the Sonos app, you can control Bass, Treble, and volume. I have the speakers play between 15% to 25% volume in each room -- they are plenty loud enough. Setting them to 100% can be heard through the whole house -- and the potential for your neighbors to complain. Even at low volume, the sound is very good. It's definitely better than most Bluetooth speakers. If you put the PLAY ONE in the corner of a room, the sound seems a bit more muffled due to the amplification of the Bass by the walls on both ends. You can fix this by adding more Treble, or by moving the speaker away from the corner.

- Design. The PLAY ONE and BRIDGE are beautiful devices. They don't look out-of-place in my home. I bought the White ones.

- Capacitive touch control: works very well.

CONS
I couldn't find many cons with the PLAY ONE. But here are some that have annoyed me.

- Lack of screw hole for mounting onto stands like the PLAY:1. The PLAY ONE replaced the PLAY:1's screw hole with the power button. I have not yet found a speaker stand to mount the PLAY ONE on yet.

- Cost. The Sonos system is expensive. Just look at the price of the other components. Holy moly. Still, if you were to wire your house with Bose speakers, the Sonos system is comparatively inexpensive. Again, I chose Sonos because wiring the house won't add much resale value. I like the idea of being able to take my Sonos with me to my new home.

- Sonos App Interface. The app is clunky and looks outdated. It took me a while to figure out where to go to do what (and I love gadgets/toys. I'm a technology tinkerer!). It's not very user friendly.

- Music sources. Not all apps can play to the Sonos speakers. You have to use the Sonos App, add the approved source to it, then you can play from that source. I wish you could re-route any audio from any device to the speakers. Pandora, network shares (NAS), iTunes, TuneIt Radio (built-in), iPod/iPad/iPhone, media files on your own Android/Windows device are all possible sources. At one point (if I remember correctly), my not-so-tech-savvy dad was able to beam his iPad's YouTube sound to the speakers without using the Sonos App. I didn't get a chance to verify how he did it, but I did see the PLAY ONE being available as a target on his iPad. Perhaps it was playing via the DLNA protocol. Either way, that was neat.

- Input source. I wish that the PLAY ONE had a Line-in/Aux port so that you can connect any music source to it for playback, such as your TV or existing home entertainment system. Yes, the Sonos CONNECT takes care of that, but look at the price of that component! Even then, the CONNECT doesn't support SPDIF/Optical input.

Weren't it for the Amazon/Target promotions on Black Friday, I would have been EXTREMELY hesitant to buy these expensive speakers. I bought two PLAY ONE during the promotion. With that said, overall, I'm quite pleased with the purchase. It came out cheaper than wiring the house, and I get to control my music from any of the mobile devices. That's neat. Lower the prices of your other components, Sonos! I hope for increased competition in the market to drive the prices down -- as of today, I'm not aware of any good, alternate, wireless HiFi solution.

If you found this review helpful, please hit the "Yes" button to encourage me to write more. Thank you!
245 people found this helpful
|1111 comments|Report abuse
on January 22, 2018
I have a friend who owned 3 Sonos speakers, and I really enjoyed the sound profile at his home, so I bought one for myself.

I won't reiterate what everyone else has said, but I want to point out a feature that I did not know existed!

Inside the Sonos app on your phone, you can search Radio Stations. Many local stations have apps, that until now, we would stream to our bluetooth speaker. We thought we had lost the ability to listen to those after Sonos, after all they are not a streaming service per se.

We were delighted to find every local station that has its own app, is in the Sonos directory! We can search it and with one tap, begin to listen to that station from one central location (instead of many separate apps). You can also add your favorites to your My Sonos listing.

So between Spotify and Amazon and now Radio Stations, we are fully covered.

Very happy!
35 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on November 26, 2017
- Installation -

You plug the Sonos One into the wall and use the Sonos app to find and set it up. That part is easy. The voice control part is where it gets annoying. You'll have to do four things if you've never used Alexa before (like myself). It's all fairly straightforward, but you'll have to keep hopping back and forth between the Sonos app and whatever they tell you to do. First, Sonos will have you log into Amazon and allow Alexa access. Then they have you download the Alexa app (note: Log into the app with your Amazon account after installation. I didn't and the third step in Sonos will fail because it can't redirect you properly. Maybe it should really say "Install Alexa and login"). After that they have you Enable Sonos in Alexa. Finally you verify that Alexa is working.

- Using Alexa -

So now the Sonos One and Alexa is working. I can ask it questions and add stuff to my shopping list. Yay. The range at which Alexa can hear you clearly is something like 15-20 ft around a corner and 25-30 ft if you're unobstructed. Any more than that and you'll run into issues.

I have a pair of Play:1's in the kitchen as well as in the bedroom. The Sonos One is on a separate location in I've labeled "Nook". The intention was to have it play music from Spotify. You say "Alexa, play Foo Fighters radio from Spotify in the Kitchen" and Alexa will confirm what you want to do, but it only works sometimes. Other commands like "Alexa, pause the music in the kitchen" would also fail.

- What's going on? -

I believe it's related to a long-standing issue between Spotify and Sonos. If the Sonos app is in control, and you try to wrest control with the Spotify app (or vice-versa), it won't always work. They've gotten integration down pretty well now, but every now and then I'll run into a hiccup. With the Sonos One, you've now added Alexa into the mix, which complicates things. If you don't specify "from Spotify" in your voice request, Alexa will default to playing from Amazon Music. I believe the different music services have a little trouble taking control from each other, so it's not necessarily Alexa's fault.

- Impressions -

In the first hour of testing the system out, it seemed to fair poorly, and only worked 10-20% of the time. Alexa commands like "tell me a joke" would always work, but getting anything to play on my speakers via voice commands would fail. Within the Alexa app, you can see a list all your requests. I let Alexa know which ones were failing.

I gave it a rest and came back to it after all Sonos speakers had been quiet for awhile (maybe an hour or two). Alexa started working 90% of the time. My wild theory is I kept throwing requests at it over and over and some process was junking up the queue and needed to time out.

After the rest, the only failures were attributed to Alexa not understanding my playlist titles. Either the Sonos One or Alexa has difficulty understanding non-alphabetical queries. My recommendation is to say just a part of the playlist it can understand. For example, if you have a playlist in Spotify titled "10/10 headphone testing Mk II", don't bother saying the numbers, abbreviations, or special characters. Just say something like "Alexa, play headphone testing playlist from Spotify".

- Sound -

As far as I can tell, the Sonos One is most likely Play:1 hardware with voice controls added in. It's a good speaker. The chief complaint I hear is that you can't pair a Sonos One with a Play:1, so keep that in mind when considering your setup. A pair of Sonos One's will likely outperform a Play:5 in my opinion.

- Verdict -

I'd say it was a bit frustrating up front and I started this review with only one star, but things have gotten gradually better. With Spotify supported now, and (mostly) working I'm pretty happy. There are still some bugs in there, but they'll get hashed out over time.

Score: 7/10

Sonos setup:
Sonos Version 8.2.1
Pair of Play:1's in Bedroom
Pair of Play:1's in Kitchen
Sonos One speaker in Nook
76 people found this helpful
|33 comments|Report abuse
on October 28, 2017
To begin, the Sonos one isn’t any more expensive than a regular Sonos play one, and it has some nice updates so very worst case scenario you just bought another play one. Agree with all the wonky comments but this really is more a general status update on smart home stuff as a whole, and it seems to me that unhappy reviewers are just expecting something that shouldn’t have been expected. I always knew that the reason that it would be tough to link Alexa and Sonos is because, whether we realize it or not, there are about 20 different variables associated with each Music decision. There is the song, album, singer, playlist you choose, the speakers and rooms you want to choose it to play in (for me I think this is actually close to 1000 different speaker combinations), the music service you want to play from, the volume, and so on. So it starts off as a logistical nightmare. Having said that, I simply plugged mine in and logged into the account and said “play Shawn Mendes in bathroom”, and it worked. I have noticed that saying “Alexa pause” was not effective in stopping music. is a bummer that you can’t stereo pair it with another Sonos play one, I think that is an example of some over-educated sound engineer noting that one plays music at a slightly different level (that no human being whatever detect), and canning the whole stereo-pair project because he or less likely she wanted to stand on the moral high ground of being an audiophile, rather than just letting us do what works best in our lives and pairing a play one with sonos one as a stereo pair. It also really makes no sense because the one thing you don’t want are two devices in the same room to both respond to the word “Alexa.” The good news here though is that we have an excellent piece of hardware, and that both Amazon and Sonos have shown great efforts in terms of continuously offering free software updates that improve usability, and I have no doubt that they will be taking our comments and refining the project as time goes on, ultimately delivering the best possible software solution.
17 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on November 2, 2017
We have Amazon Echo & Dot devices throughout the house. The only negative I had was hoping for better audio quality. Was really hoping the next gen would have offered a better solution. The new Echo Plus is pretty much the same as the old Echo (barely noticeable audio improvement). The Sonos speaker seemed like the best choice in my particular case. I don't want to deal with plugging in and wiring a separate speaker.
Overall sound quality is good (not great in my opinion). It is louder and fuller but at high volumes (level 7-9) it seems a bit like music in a tunnel. My expectations may have been too high.
Setup was a bit quirky compared to plug and play Amazon devices. You have to download the Sonos app to begin setup. Then you bounce back and forth with the Alexa app. Approve Sonos on Alexa, Approve Alexa on Sonos. Add Amazon Music to Sonos (not on automatically), enable Sonos Skill, etc. Not a huge deal and you only have to do this once.
Sonos emits an audible chime when you say "Alexa" which is nice. Most of the time, we are not in line of site of Echo and are not sure it really heard us. I also like the subtle fade in and out of music when you say "Alexa" It's an elegant detail.
Love the finish, and build. There is no wall wart either- just a direct plug.
Some small gripes:
- Their are some small cutout dots on top on the left and right for volume and they are identical. So you can't tell which is up and which is down.
- Microphone seems significantly worse than Echo. With music on at level 7, I've stood 2 feet away shouting "Alexa" and it still won't hear me. This unit is in our master bathroom. With our old Echo, I could yell "Alexa" while in the shower and it would usually hear me with music at volume 7. Yes, the volume is loud to drown out the shower and fan in the large bathroom.

Overall, definitely happy with the Sonos One. I'm also excited about future support for Google and Apple. But if the microphone worked better, I would upgrade several Echo's throughout the home. Instead, I will keep waiting for a better solution and hope that Amazon comes out with an even higher end audio focused Echo. Maybe a $199 Amazon Echo HiFi.
14 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on December 6, 2017
Just killer good! Perfect for my bedroom! Bought one, wanted stereo so I bought another, and then... and then... I tried their TrueTuning technology and it's so amazing it dropped me dead! Killer! I've never heard a better stereo field!

Note that with competing products, you can buy two but you get two mono speakers. Sonos One pairs up for full stereo!

I got the Sonos 5.1 in my living room and pair of Sonos Ones in my bedroom and I ain't giving it back!
7 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on December 19, 2017
It's obvious that the negative reviews are for Sonos's Alexa voice failures. I'm coming fro the other side who's constantly annoyed by Alexa's voice responses which always fail for me.

Most of our Alexa use is to listen to music and we had the first generation Echo. That was a frustrating exercise, as Alexa has a hard time playing songs from our library or to play exactly what we ask her to play. Until Alexa's voice commands are 100% correct, there should be no shame in helping her out with the app, which Amazon refuses to enable.

Enter the new Sonos One. I find its voice recognition to be on par with the Echo devices, which is essentially useless for the random music choices we want to play. Thankfully, Sonos hasn't disabled its app in favor of total voice recognition.

Now instead of yelling at Alexa for 5 minutes to play the exact playlist from our music library that happens to have a similar title to another playlist, I spend 5 seconds punching in the playlist to play. Good luck asking Alexa to play your favorite podcast from July 2015.

Then there's the sound quality which is far better than the Echo.

So in summary, if you need a good sounding connected speaker with basic voice functionality that performs stupid Alexa commands, then this is for you. If you need it to control your life, look elsewhere.

For us it's a perfect unit.
19 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
VINE VOICEon December 6, 2017
 UPDATE Jul 6, 2018: AirPlay2 integration has just made the Sonos One much more usable. Previously, to use AirPlay with Sonos, you needed to connect an AirPort Express to a line-in port on a PLAY:5 (gen1 or gen2), CONNECT or CONNECT AMP. You then needed to configure the AirPort Express and Sonos.

What you needed to get started:
An AirPort Express
A Sonos product with line-in
An audio cable

AirPlay2 changes all that and you simply can use AirPlay2 to stream music to your Sonos One from your AirPlay2 capable device.

UPDATE: April 8, 2018 - The Sonos One does not fully implement the entire Alexa skill set. While it is true that it is not 100% capable the Sonos One is able to use Alexa to control many Smart Home devices in addition to many other Alexa skills. I have a Neato Botvac connected and working through the Sonos One. I also have several Smart Plugs and LIFX lights that I am able to use through the Sonos One.

UPDATE: Feb 8, 2018 - This is tough because I'm still liking the Sonos One a great deal but now that I've had it for two months I'm beginning to notice some acoustic limitations of the small woofer. I recently began listening to Justin Timberlake's new album "Man of the Woods" and some of the tracks have been mixed with extremely low bass frequencies that overwhelm the speaker. For instance the song "Say Something" just brings out the worst in this speaker. It sounds like the woofer is broken with fuzzy, distorted bass that completely overwhelms the overall sound. I've turned off the Loudness function and adjusted the Bass in the EQ to a neutral position. Even so, the speaker sounds distorted as it is unable to deal with the super low bass component of the music. And of course when listening to music that doesn't have such a bass heavy production quality then I must re-adjust the Bass EQ to get better sound. Frustrating. I'd also like to reiterate that the lack of AUX IN is a huge disadvantage in preventing you from directly connecting something like an MP3 player or output from another audio device. I am therefore reducing my rating from 4 stars to 3 stars to reflect my disappointment in the Sonos One to handle super bass heavy music without sounding distorted and over-driven.

UPDATE: Dec 27, 2017 - I've purchased two more Sonos One speakers since my original purchase of 2. I'm increasingly disappointed in the lack of an Aux In on the speakers though. I erroneously assumed that there would be an easy workaround to the lack of Aux In to be able to use these as external speakers for my HDTV. There is not. The only way is to pay nearly $700 for the Playbar or Playbase. NOT going to happen. They are great Alexa enabled speakers but they won't work with your HDTV out of the box. Very frustrating.

This is a review of the Sonos One – Voice Controlled Smart Speaker with Amazon Alexa Built In (Black).

I was very close to buying the new Amazon Echo with improved sound but was reallly excited to learn of the Sonos One speaker with Alexa integration built-in. So I bought two of them and could not really be happier. There are definitely some limitations to the Sonos One that do not diminish my satisfaction with the speaker overall which I will discuss.

A few months ago I purchased an Echo Dot for use in my Kitchen. Alexa is very useful to me and I love that I can connect to and play music using Spotify through the Dot. But as you probably know, the Echo Dot has a terrible sounding speaker in it. While it is OK for voice information, it is very poor for music reproduction. But still, it's useful in the kitchen for other purposes such as setting alarms and asking for measuring conversions, etc.

I happened to catch the Black Friday (or was it Cyber Monday) sale and picked up the Sonos One for 169. Awesome price for what I can now say confidently is a superb sounding speaker. Sonos has been around for quite a few years now and they are first and foremost a high fidelity speaker company. But they were always just too expensive for me. I think the Sonos Play 1 finally broke down the price barrier at 199 but the Sonos One with Alexa just adds so much more value that it's just awesome.

The speaker is relatively compact in size yet hefty. It immediately gives you the impression of quality. Setup was quite easy and took just a few minutes. You need to instal the Sonos App and the Alexa app on your smartphone since during setup you will be switching between the two apps to set up your music services and other details. It really was a very straightforward process and I did not run into any difficulties.

The Sonos One currently supports Spotify, I Heart Radio, TuneIn, Amazon Music, Pandora and more. Additional services will be added in the future.
I've not experienced any issues with connecting to Spotify as some others have complained. You do need to ensure that you have the latest updates for Sonos One installed. I was prompted during the setup process to upgrade.

The microphone array in the Sonos One picks up my voice commands in my living room just as well as my Echo Dot. Others have complained about the sensitivity of the Alexa controls but I've not had a single issue. Alexa always hears me perfectly and whatever I'm listening to is automatically reduced in volume during my voice commands. Actually Alexa is driving me crazy in my living room because everytime a commercial plays in which the actors say "Alexa" it causes my Sonos One speaker to wake and beep. I have to remember to turn off the microphone and turn it back on again to prevent this.

-Smart Home Integration
Smart Home Integration is present. I don't know if the Sonos with Alexa will control all smart home devices, but it works with my Neato Botvac.

-Skills
Not all Alexa skills will work through the Sonos One. For instance "Sleep Sounds" will not work for me on the Sonos One. Nor will :Ambient Sounds" or "Headspace: Guided Meditation for Everybody." On the other hand "Fart Sound Jokes" works (joy of joys) and so does "Daily Affirmation." I don't understand why some work and others don't.

The sound quality is quite good for many types of music. But as noted above, heavy deep bass in not handled well by the Sonos One. The speaker plays quite loudly. The Sonos App lets youcontrol the sound contour with Bass and Treble controls and you can optimize the sound for a room the speaker is in using the TrueTuning. But the EQ is basic and only offers crude tuning of Bass and Treble with no granular control of frequency bands.

So all is not perfect. There is no mounting thread on the back of the speaker although a wall mount is available. There is no Aux In, a big disappointment and no Bluetooth connectivity. Alexa is not 100% and misses a few features such as can't place calls, can't drop in, can't play ebooks (maybe in future), can't receive notifications, and can't change alexa wake word.

For me it's 80% about the sound quality and Alexa is just icing on the cake. The sound quality is good and Alexa is nearly complete. My biggest disappointment is the lack of Aux In.
219 people found this helpful
|1818 comments|Report abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on February 12, 2018
Been using the original Amazon Echo for a couple years now. While it's not perfect, it excels at hearing understanding your voice well the majority of the time. The Sonos with Alexa enabled just isn't able to pick up the "wake word" as easily as the Echo does. Solution: instead of replacing the Echo with a Sonos, I disabled Alexa from the Sonos, used it as a regular speaker, and kept Echo in the room for voice commands. The integration between Alexa and Sonos devices at that level is enough to get most everything done anyway. I can't recommend this product because the premium you pay for Alexa built in is a waste. If you have a super small and super quiet room, this may work well for you. My situation is a living room space with hardwood floors, and it doesn't cut the mustard. Money would be better spent catching a deal for the previous model and saving $50.
5 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse