Echo Spot - Black
Color: Black|Configuration: Echo Spot|Change
Price:$129.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on February 4, 2018
 Alexa is looking better than ever! I love having this little screen besides my bed!
Asking her to show me movie trailers, set alarms, and make calles has never been better!
I made a video review on this little guys! Check it out and I hope this helps one of you interested in buying
Cheers
310 people found this helpful
|55 comments|Report abuse
PROS: Small (~4") Echo device with excellent voice recognition, color touch screen and camera is perfect for small places like bed-side table or kitchen counter. Good sound and image quality for such a small device. Constant software updates allow for almost limitless possibilities for uses now and in the future. In fact, many criticisms of early reviews have already been addressed and corrected.

CONS: Not many and those that exist are, for the most part, software related and fixable by Amazon in the near future or IMHO, minor. Keep in mind that although this can play music, display videos, and make phone calls, the Spot is not a high res TV, a large entertainment center, a high fidelity listening device, or a smart phone. Expectations should be based on the fact that the Spot is a 4" device with a 1.4" speaker and a 2.5" screen.

REVIEW UPDATE JULY/9/2018:
I still love the Spot. I use it for a bedside "smart" clock radio, and I am extremely happy with it.

What does it do? It wakes me up. It plays music. It displays the time. It answers questions, mostly about the current weather conditions.

I don't use it to teleconference, watch movies or videos, or call people's cell phones. I have the camera turned off. It's on my bedside table....Yuk! No always on camera, thank you!

As suspected, Amazon has added enhancements and fixed glitches with software upgrades. Complaints about the home screen clock face? Now there are a huge amount of customize able choices one can select. You can pick a background pattern, photo, or color, the type of clock hands or digital display, and whether there should be a tiny window for the date.

My biggest complaint is with the music it plays. I often have trouble getting Alexa to play the music I want. One has to ask Alexa properly, in the correct order. You have to say, "Alexa, Play songs by Bonnie Raitt." Or "Alexa, Play songs from my Modern Blues Playlist by Bonnie Raitt." Asking "Alexa, Play Bonnie Raitt" might just get a "Sorry! There are no songs called Bonnie Raitt" response. Things can get far trickier when you want to listen to a particular symphony by Beethoven.

Another issue is that "Shuffle" is not random. The shuffled songs are always played in the exact same order, every time they are played.

ORIGINAL DECEMBER 21, 2018 REVIEW:

THINGS TO KNOW:

1) The Spot has four types of controls, which often overlap in purpose and function:

a) Physical buttons on the top allow you to raise and lower the sound, turn the camera on and off.

b) Voice recognition: "Alexa, raise the sound," "Alexa, show me the current temperature," "Alexa, play modern blues,"

c) Touch screen:
---Swipe down to reveal a settings menu. Spend at least a few minutes exploring this menu and filling in important information like time zone and your location. By going through each setting, you will be able to customize many if not most of Spot's offerings.
---Touch the screen when music is playing to see title of artist, various play functions, and lyrics if available.
---Touch the screen for "snooze" when the alarm is going off.

d) The Alexa app which can be downloaded to your smart phone or tablet. This is not entirely necessary for the Spot.

2) If you want the Spot to do something, tell it to do it. If the clock is not showing on the screen, say "Alexa, show the clock." If you want to know the current temperature say "Alexa, what is the current temperature." If you want it to stop rotating the dopey "Trending Topics" screen say "Alexa, stop showing the "Trending Topics" screen."

3) The quality of the screen is pretty good but not so good that you will want to watch a full length video. It's good enough for video calling, looking at album art, reading lyrics, glancing at the temperature, following a recipe.

4) The quality of the sound is pretty good. If you consider yourself an audiophile and are looking for a top quality audio system to listen to The Emperor Concerto with Artur Rubenstein, the Spot is absolutely not going to do it for you. Also, the Spot does not sound like a Bose. If you want or need fabulous sound quality, get a Bose. If you want an all purpose, small device that sounds good, the Spot's for you.

REVIEW:
I've been looking for a bed-side clock radio for about a year and just couldn't decide on anything. Like Goldilocks, the choices were either too big/too small/or way too last century. The minute I saw the Echo Spot, my heart did a flip! It was perfect.

First of all, the Spot is darned cute...in a small, round, orb-stylish way. My bedside table has a rim around it, so I decided to purchase the Echo Spot Adjustable Stand - White which lifts the Echo up about 1 1/2" and allows the Spot to tilt forward and back.

Set up is a snap. You plug it in, and Spot comes to life. The touch screen lights up and Spot talks to you. You pick your WiFi from a list, enter your WiFi password, and wait a minute or so while the software updates. While waiting you stare at the Spot and admire its adorableness. When the software is updated, you answer a few questions and before you know it, you and Spot are going steady and Spot has become the boss of you.

To change settings you swipe down on the screen to see the settings menu. It is important to go into Settings and set your preferences.

For now, here are six digital and six analog clock face selections for the home screen. I picked an old fashioned analog clock face with a sweep second hand and a small window for the date. You can also use a photo for the home screen.

The home screen clock alternates with several other info screens. One shows the current temperature, the time, the moon phase, and name of your city/location. Another gives suggestions of things or "Skills" to ask Spot to do for you. Another, which I quickly turned off, announces trending topics. I just didn't find "Scientists find moth not seen in 10 years" something I needed to see or even know.

Tune In Radio (which is free) provides all the radio stations I like to listen to. I ask Spot: "Alexa, play 1010 WINS on TuneIn" and away we go.

My only complaint is that there is an obvious bias to sign one up for Amazon Music Unlimited. Some requests for songs bump up against an advertisement for this subscription streaming service. I have a Prime membership and an Amazon Music account. That should be enough for now.

For now, Spot and I are in our honeymoon period and nothing is going to get me down.
review image
613 people found this helpful
|77 comments|Report abuse
on December 23, 2017
I am not one for reviews but I just had to write this. This thing is a work of art. My whole house is a smart house from my locks to my thermostats. I have 1 Echo, 4 Echo Dots and now one Echo Spot. I love this. It works as expected. I am a total Apple Guy but I choose Alexa over Siri any day. Amazon has knocked it out of the park!
797 people found this helpful
|33 comments|Report abuse
on December 26, 2017
I have 3 Echo Dots in the house & mom & I really like them. When I heard about this a couple of months ago I jumped right on the pre-order train. It caught my attention because the Echo Show was interesting to me but it was just way to big. I wanted something that I could use as a clock by the bed, currently I was using my Moto 360 watch (it turns into a simple clock dial when docked). So this would replace two things on the stand (my watch as a clock & the Echo Dot). I absolutely LOVE it. / What I really wasn't fond of were the clock dials, all I wanted was a simple clock (all black background & white numbers), sadly that option isn't available as a choice... but there is a work around!

As you can see in the pics it's VERY dim at night when the lights are off & it's bright & clearly visible when the lights are on but still stays as a simple black & white clock.

For those that want to know how to achieve this:

1.) The main thing is to turn on the "Night Mode" "Nighttime Clock" (pic3) and set it to run 24hrs a day.

2.) Turn on the "Adaptive Brightness" & crank up the brightness, you can see how high I set mine in the pic (pic4), but you can fine tune this setting to your liking (this is the setting that actually controls how bright it is in the day & how dim it is at night).

3.) Choose the "Street Lights" or "Bokeh" digital clock.

4.) That's it, once you make those setting just wait about a minute for it to go back into standby mode and your "simple clock" will fade in.

Oh, for those that have an issue with the screen cycling through all the the displays non-stop (Clock-Weather-Things To Try, etc.) & just want it to stay on the clock face of your choosing, the way to achieve that is to go into Settings>Home & Clock>Home Card Preferences, click on "Rotate Once".

Hope this helps someone. ;-)
review imagereview imagereview imagereview image
244 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon January 8, 2018
I've attached a photo of my various models for comparison purposes. I have every possible variation of Alexa, 13 total even kickstarter devices that have not even hit the market yet. Alexa has become a routine part of my life in my home, at work, even in my car over the last 2.5 years. I really hesitated on buying the Spot after my disappointment with preordering the Echo Show (I gave it a 3 star rating). After watching the reviews and and interacting with people that owned the Spot I took the plunge and received my device today.

I won't waste anyone's time explaining what Alexa can or can not do. At this point everyone either owns an Alexa device or knows someone with one. I will warn you though that purchasing an Alexa device is like a gateway drug, You will be buying more and will find yourself investing in smart home devices and accessories.

Setting up the Spot was easy in fact I did most of it from the Alexa app before my Spot arrived. As soon as I plugged it in I was prompted to connect to my wifi. I easily typed in the password from the Spot's touch screen and was instantly synced with my other Alexa devices. All I had to do was some simple customization from the app and device once I received it. I wish that Amazon would give us complete control on the touch screen devices rather than still depending on an app for set up.

The only thing I actually couldn't figure out how to do on my own was set reoccurring alarms. Ironic since it's an alarm clock. To set a reoccurring alarm you say repeat alarm specific day of the week and time. This is great because my schedule changes every day. My alarm clock only let me set a weekday and weekend alarms with the same time on the week day or weekend. However the downside is if you wake up every day at the same time you still have to set a repeating alarm for every day of the week. Once the alarms are set you can fine tune them from the Alexa app. I wish it could all be controlled from the Spot's touch screen.

I was hoping for a larger variety of Alarm tones than what the other Echo devices already had, but that's not the case with the Spot. If you already own an Alexa device you can preview all the different alarms from the app.

Reviewers have complained about the size of the digits for reading the time being too small. I found this to be untrue. I could easily make out the time from 12 feet away. Also if you have poor vision, or let say take your glasses off and can't see at night you don't even have to open your eyes to find out what time it is. Just ask Alexa what time is it? Some reviewers have said that the Spot doesn't support bluetooth, that's also untrue.

I don't think that the sound is much louder than an Echo Dot, it is much richer and has more bass making it sound better. I wish Amazon would create an adjustable equalizer in the app or on the touch screens of their capable devices.

One thing I do not like is if I am using my fire stick connected to my Spot by default all viewing commands go straight to the fire stick. I can't watch a Prime movie and use my Spot at the same time. The Spot will use my commands to control my firestick.

The dimming feature is much better than any alarm clock I've ever owned. Aesthetically the device looks very good, the resolution and display are vibrant, the touch screen is smooth and responsive.

The sound quality in comparison would be 2nd Gen Echo > Echo Show > 1st Gen Echo > Spot > Dot.

Loudness 1st Gen Echo > 2nd Gen Echo > Echo Show > Spot > Dot. So for volume and quality of sound the Spot sits in the exact same place 2nd to last. It's also worth noting that despite that it's the second most expensive variation of Alexa excluding the Fire 10 HD with hands free Alexa.

I kind of wished I would have bought another Echo Show for my bedroom when they were on sale for $149, but now that I have the Spot I can see why it makes sense having one in my bedroom instead of another Echo Show. It's great having all of the features of an Echo Show on a compact device that is visually more appealing and doesn't crowd my nightstand.

If I had to choose only one Echo device the Spot wouldn't be it for me. However if you are already invested in the Alexa ecosystem the Spot makes a great addition.
review imagereview image
299 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
on December 21, 2017
 I’ve had the opportunity to play with my Spot for just about 24-hours now, and I have to admit that I am pretty impressed so far! The display is very nice, the touch screen is responsive, the ambient light sensor does a great job of reducing brightness of the screen to adjust for lighting in the room, and the speakers are GREAT. (I really think that it sounds a ton better than the Echo Dots do!) I love being able to upload a personal photo to use as the “clock face” and the ability to schedule “night mode” is great. It’s just as nice as having the “always on display” on my phone, and it was dim enough during the night as not to bother me.

My BIGGEST complaint thus far is (what I consider to be) an EPIC failure on behalf of the Echo Spot’s development team. Why in the name of Pete would you NOT give users the ability to display a 24-hour time format??? ASIDE from the practical applications of the 24-hour format, there are HUNDREDS UPON THOUSANDS of military personnel, police, fire, ETC. that use the 24-hour time format as a way of life. I KNOW that it is probably more difficult than just being a “display issue” considering that timers, alarms, etc. are all based on vocal commands, but I somehow doubt that it’s beyond the realm of possibilities.

Aside from that, the only thing that I am a tad bit annoyed with are all the “Things to Try” messages that keep popping up on my screen. I’d like to be able to turn those off. This is a solid product and is HIGHLY recommended!
252 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
on January 1, 2018
This is a pretty cool device. The hardware seems really good. Screen quality is wonderful, auto dimming works great, audio playback and pickup is quite good for the small size and thumbs up for adding the 3.5mm output so that this device can be used with external speakers for multi-room streaming. Also love the photo slideshow.

However, you can't manually set the time, the alarms or anything else without being connected to wifi and generally using the voice interface. I'd love for most if not all features being duplicated as on-screen options so you don't have to talk to it and wake your partner up to set or modify an alarm. A larger clock option would be nice so you can read the time from more than 10 feet away. Also, if your internet or power cuts out this device basically turns into a pumpkin. Which I found out when my internet dropped out last night and the clock got stuck 6 hours off. So I didnt wake up on time today. See photo. Would like to see some sort of small backup battery and offline capability in the next gen to make sure that alarms still go off.
review image
169 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
on December 25, 2017
Aside from all the positives, including fuller sound than a dot, a crisp display and a perfect bedside form factor - it can also play videos of birds which my cat absolutely loves. I’ll probably be picking up a glass screen protector
review imagereview imagereview image
153 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on July 3, 2018
The physical product is great. Love it! BUT THE FIRMWARE NEEDS TO BE UPDATED!! "Things to try" needs to be GONE. The clock faces need to be more customizable. Like putting the weather on the clock face, more digital options, and dates. Different fonts. Ect...and a white noise option like the Google home has would be very nice. Rain, thunder, wind, and heavy rain.
23 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on June 20, 2018
This is an excellent smart device with one major flaw that makes it unbearable. There’s no way to deactivate “Things To Try”, which means you’re forced to watch on-screen tutorials of basic Alexa tips each time the Spot wakes up. It’s not possible to deactivate this “feature.”
review image
22 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 1000+ answered questions


Need customer service? Click here