Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now STL18_GNO



on September 7, 2017
I spent quite a bit of time researching this price range of sous vide units, and had it narrowed down to this one, Chefman, and Razzori (Anova with Bluetooth seemed a bit much for a first timer). When I looked carefully at the Amazon reviews, I found that even though the customer service was responsive for the others, they had a lot of bad units that needed to be returned, and at the time of writing this review, there were none here for Gramercy Kitchen Co.

Outside of Amazon, they have a very nice looking blog and Facebook community presence. Additionally, the owner / seller has been super nice and engaging after my purchase, being very responsive and answering questions and helping me out. I really appreciate the hands-on approach they take- I can tell they are foodies who just want to share the amazing game changer that is sous vide cooking and what it can bring to your table. I am super happy with my choice to go with Gramercy's!

The unit itself- I'm including pictures because it wasn't clear to me from others I've seen whether the clamp was removable or not, and it is! Also, it was a bit bigger than I was expecting, taller than a wine bottle but a little smaller in diameter. I love the feel of the plastic handle, it's smooth and feels solid and well made. The metal housing that protects the element comes off for cleaning if something happens to leak, which is nice.

Choosing a time and temp is a breeze with the mousewheel-like roller interface. I like that it displays both the current and target temperatures at the same time. I'm still trying to figure out if the units can be changed to Fahrenheit or if Celsius is the only option and I'll need to convert cooking temps from here on out, will edit in if I do find out. (EDIT: Yes it can, just press and hold the Start button for 3+ seconds)

One of the reviews I ran across on the Anova unit was someone suggesting that you get a little Igloo cooler to be your sous vide container.
The benefits are:
1) It keeps the temperature steady because it's insulated. If you just use one of those clear plastic containers I see a lot of on here or a pot on your stovetop, you're going to lose a lot of your heat and waste energy that way.
2) If you cut a hole out of the top of the lid of the cooler (~2 3/8"), you can drop the immersion cooker unit directly into the cooler without needing the clamp, and you won't lose any water! So that means not having to buy those sous vide balls or keeping an eye on water levels over the course of a day's cooking. Win/Win all the way around.
(Specifically I got the Igloo Island Breeze Cooler, Diablo Red, 9-Quart, if you catch a sale here on Amazon they can be as low as $10, check out "camel camel camel . com" to track prices and get alerts by email if a price goes down)

So far I've only had it about a week and cooked corn on the cob for a picnic (cooked thoroughly in the cooler and then grilled for a few minutes to get a bit of grill flavor) and it turned out fantastic. Also just did Steak au poivre, which was my best yet! I love that the juices and spices get to thoroughly saturate the meat while it's cooking, and it can never dry out. It's amazing what a difference it can make. I've been using a reverse sear method with our toaster oven or grill up to this point, and while it's good, it's not as GREAT as doing it with the sous vide.

Anyway, very, very happy with my purchase so far, I highly recommend this unit.
review imagereview imagereview image
77 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
on August 19, 2017
 After years of cooking my steak the old fashioned way, I decided it was finally time to try something different. I was a little hesitant to jump into the new ways of kitchen tech, but I must say, after using the Gramercy Kitchen Sous Vide, I am sold on this technique. It took only minutes to get my steak from the butcher paper into the water to start cooking. It was nice that I could just leave the steak be while I continued to prep my jalapeno cream corn and salad. I let it cook for a couple hours. Once everything else was ready, I moved the steak to the grill for a few minutes to get a nice sear on the outside. The steak was perfect. I like mine on the rare side so it was great to know that it was at the perfect temperature. Once it was done cooking I threw it in the handy storage bag that it came with and slid it into the drawer. Very happy with my purchase and can't wait to use it again!
review imagereview image
70 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on January 14, 2018
Just getting started with sous vide but so far this has performed extremely well. We've done pork chops, steaks, salmon, carrots, chicken, and eggs. This unit heats the water quickly and maintains constant temperature. Hopefully it will last for a few years.

The biggest difference I noted in sous vide cooking is that the meat texture is quite different. So far i tend to favor the higher range of the recommended cooking temperature. But the pork chops and steaks have been outstanding.

The two leading sous vide immersion cookers I looked at both required some sort of wifi or bluetooth connection to a smart phone or tablet in order to operate the unit. At least one required that you sign up with an account through their website. Are you kidding me?! I just want to cook my food! Fortunately, this unit was available and did not require that kind of cumbersome electronic interface.

I have some concerns about cooking in plastic but the temperatures aren't particularly high, from what I've read the new plastic bags had had many of the more harmful plasticizers removed, and all of the meat I buy already comes wrapped in plastic anyways, so I don't know whether i'm significantly increasing the load of estrogen mimicking chemicals in my diet. I'll probably use this up to a few times a week mainly to provide some variety in our cooking.
13 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
This is a great unit for sous vide cooking. I have the Anova Culinary Bluetooth Sous Vide Precision Cooker, 800 Watts, Black which works great and I recommend that one. However if you are looking for a cheaper priced machine that does pretty much the same thing, go for the Gramercy. Has same features as the Anova: temp set and timers. The only difference is Anova has the phone app. Not sure about the Gramercy. Save money and get the Gramercy and start sous vide-ing EVERYTHING!!!!
8 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on August 23, 2017
Wow, what a great tool. It's been a great experience so far. We ordered it with 2 day shipping and it arrived the next day. The packaging is simple and effective, easy to open.

I've never used a sous vide circulator before, and was excited to try it out. The instructions that came with the circulator were extremely simple and clear, easy to follow. It even comes with a nice bag for storage.

I hopped online and found a recipe for eggs. Starbucks has sous vide eggs (delicious) and I thought I'd like to make them at home. I filled a pot with hot water, put in the circulator, set the temp and time according to the recipe, and 1.5 hours later had some of the best eggs I've ever eaten. It took about 5 minutes for the circulator to heat up from sink-hot water to the 145 degrees f it called for. I took a look every once in a while and it looked like it kept the water within a degree or less of the target temp. Sous vide cooking is low and slow, so it's good to have a tool that can keep the target temp and do it unobtrusively while you go on with your life.

This Gramercy Kitchen Circulator is extremely quiet, only noticeable when no one is talking. I sometimes think, "is the toilet running in the bathroom down the hall?" And realize it's the circulator just a few feet away.

I'm definitely excited to try more recipes sous vide, and extremely happy with this purchase.
review imagereview image
8 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on September 11, 2017
I recently received my Gramercy Kitchens Sous Vide Immersion Circulator. The quality, build and looks are excellent. We used it on the first day to prepare a tri tip roast, which would be seared afterwards. The unit performed perfectly. Once reaching the set temperature, the water temperature never varied, as verified by a separate electronic cooking probe. You will see some occasional slight temperature rises register on the unit as the heating element cycles on to maintain temperature. This will last for a few seconds, until the heating element goes off. The separate temp probe never varied. We did our preparation in a small drink cooler of about twelve quarts, as this would maintain the temp better than a plastic tub or metal pot. The results were just what we hoped for- a rare roast, ready for searing. We seared it over a kamado grill, going at full roar.

I had occasion to contact Gramercy Kitchens customer service. This was the most helpful and gracious customer service I have ever dealt with. They answered my questions promptly and fully. I communicated by email with Alex Mills, co-owner of Gramercy Holdings. He could not have been more helpful. I appreciated the hands-on approach to customer service by the ownership. Also, their website contains lots of helpful info, including temp and time recommendations for various meats, veg's, etc.

I am really happy with this tool, especially considering its great quality and price.
5 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on January 13, 2018
I researched several brands after my friend came over the holidays and brought hers. I was impressed with all the features of her product but after reviewing it had lots of issues. I found lots of complaints about it not working after just a few uses. I wasn't interested in paying $150 for something that may or may not work. Then I found the Gramercy Sous Vide and it was a perfect fit for me. The price was unmatched and it didn't have bluetooth etc which I didn't need, but I was skeptical was I going to "get what I paid for." After reading the reviews there was one that stuck out - I am a beginner why do I need a high dollar machine with all the bells and whistles that I didn't even know how to work." I have used this Sous Vide almost ever night for a week. My first try ended up really well. My second try better and now I feel like a pro. The device is EASY to use and the temperature is in celsius or farenheit. They provide you a link so you can look online for temperature and hours. I'm really excited about this product and am grateful I took a chance to buy the less expensive brand. It's high quality, looks great and works like a champ. I really am hooked on this way to cook delicious meat. I have only owned it a short time but so far no mechanical issues. One more thing, I was delighted to get an email from the owner giving me lots of valuable information. That really made me realize I was going to get customer service if I needed it unlike larger companies that seem to forget who is making them money by purchasing their products. Small companies are winning!!
5 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on March 8, 2018
I orded this Sous Vide based on feedback from other owners of this unit. I liked the idea of it being a simple, user friendly Sous Vide. I was not interested in a wi-fi/blue tooth operated unit. So this fit the bill for me.
While I have only had it a few days, I have used it to cook eggs, steak and tri-tip. Amazing results, and not noisy, I am very happy with my purchase. One of the great benefits of this Sous Vide, is the small business owner that sells it. I had an issue with the unit beeping when it was done cooking, and it would not stop beeping. I reached out to the seller, via email, and wow, he answered back quickly, wanting to help me in any way he could. That was wonderful. While the unit will beep when done, it continues to beep until you turn it off, as the unit stops heating and you need to remove your food. Ok, so I set a seperate timer to let me know when it is done, and I set the Sous Vide timer for a much longer time to hold the temp past the cooking phase. That is workable for me, and not a deal breaker.
If you are looking for a Sous Vide that is user friendly right out of the box, priced right and with great customer service then the Gramercy Sous Vide is for you.
review image
4 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on September 3, 2017
This immersion circulator is basically the same thing of the Anova. Design is almost identical, albeit larger. Heats the water similarly fast, both are the same wattage. Not sure if it was just my unit or not, but the device starts off in Celsius instead of Fahrenheit. There was no toggle button so I had to use the instructions to figure out how. The timer was a little more cumbersome than the Anova, but not horribly. The anova also has Bluetooth and an app, this does not. If you're looking for a no frills machine, this will do the trick.
14 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on September 20, 2017
First of all can you say AWESOME!!! This sous vide is easy to use and intuitive! What is a sous vide? Sous vide is a style of cooking where food is vacuum-sealed in a plastic pouch (think food saver/seal a meal) and then placed in a water bath for longer than normal cooking times (usually 1 to 7 hours, up to 48 or more in some cases) at an accurately regulated temperature much lower than normally used for cooking (typically around 55 to 60 °C (131 to 140 °F) for meat, higher for vegetables). The intent is to cook the item evenly, ensuring that the inside is properly cooked without overcooking the outside, and to retain moisture. So much better than your crockpot could EVER be! You season your meat or veggies and seal it pop it in the heated water and walk away! NEVER burn your food again! (Unless you like out that way. I have not seen any cons in the many times I have used it! I have cooked fish steak, chicken, veggies and even cheesecake! I love it and might even but a second one so Thanksgiving can be transformed too! The value is worth it if you've heard about them but don’t want to jump into $200-500 for other models! I have gone to a restaurant and their steak was good, just not sous vide good!
review imagereview image
4 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse