Oil month Automotive Rebound Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now Start your Baby Registry

Assassin's Creed Origins - Xbox One Standard Edition
Platform: Xbox One|Edition: Standard|Change
Price:$34.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on October 28, 2017
I'm a few hours in, but I have a few thoughts. This is the first Assassin's Creed game I've played since Black Flag. The series for me has been hit and miss. I loved Black Flag, I thought AC 3 was garbage and felt really burned by the experience. As for Origins, I really like the game world and graphics, it's hard for me to put the controller down, which is a sign that it's pretty good. I haven't experienced any glitches yet, so this isn't a Unity-type fiasco. The story is a bit bland, but hopefully it will pick up as the game goes along. It's pure B movie sword and sandals pulp, complete with cheesy accents. In terms of game mechanics, it doesn't play or feel like a typical Assassin's Creed game.If I had to compare it to anything recent I'd say it feels more like the recent Tomb Raider game as well as Horizon Zero Dawn. All in all, pretty good.

As for microtransactions, they're right out in front, as you navigate the menus. I guess I land somewhere in the middle on the issue. They're distasteful, sure, and the way they push it in your face is a bit off putting, but they aren't mandatory to finish the game. I really don't know why anyone would pay money to progress in the game, but am I going to lose sleep if someone else decides to do it? No. By the way, the microtransactions absurdly labelled "time savers" -- absurd because, let's face it, a large open world game like this is all about wasting time.
11 comment| 100 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 8, 2018
This is the best Assassins Creed game I've played in a long while. The visuals are stunning, the map is huge, and they really have created a great world this time. They really should stick with the two year release time lines. The story is pretty good, though there is so much to do i've sometimes had a hard time remembering what the heck im doing a quest for.

They have done away with being able to go wherever you want, in Origins the map is divided into zones. Each zone has recommended levels. If you are level 5 and you walk into a level 20 zone, you are going to get destroyed, no matter how well you've mastered the fighting mechanics. Likewise, if you are lvl 20 and you go back to a lvl 5 zone, you are going to feel like a god. To add in some good measure in some zones they have added in Phylakes which are high level bounty hunters looking just for you. They add in a challenge when you think there is non and makes you always have to be aware of your surroundings.

The combat is also different, instead of just endlessly countering everything (which every good Ass Creed has used so far) which is a breath of fresh air. There are tons of different weapons, bows, and gear to use now. And they have different levels so you do change them fairly often. You have to charge your attack to break an enemies defense or shield. Gone are the days where if you're surrounded by enemies will only one attack at a time... They will all jump you now, and you will die.

Besides that you get a little eagle buddy, that can mark enemies for you ala Far Cry.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 9, 2017
The game is great and is a big improvement upon the previous games. Now, let's get serious. The beginning of the game has serious narrative gaps and leaves people very confused as to what you are doing. This moment gives audiences the false assumption that the rest of the game is going to be crap. Actually, you would be wrong! The game has tons of content, great story, and a massive map full of different points to explore and leveled enemies to analyze and learn to overcome. I do not regret getting this game.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 21, 2018
This game is absolutely incredible. Unity was extremely disappointing, and while Syndicate was an improvement, it just wasn’t as good as Black Flag. With all that being said, I’m extremely pleased with how Origins turned out. The map is huge, and the gameplay is outstanding. The loot system got a complete overhaul and it compliments the game nicely. I also liked the skill tree. You can choose whether or not you want to play stealthy or as a 1 man wrecking crew. The controls are a little different than the past, but given how much more you can do, it greatly improves the fighting mechanics. Overall, I give this game a 9.5/10. Definitely recommend it to anyone who’s a fan of the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 15, 2018
Great game, nearly forgot about the real world. Glad they made so updates on it, in particular the white question marks on a very light background can be very hard to see so glad they fixed that. I very rarely finish a game but this one I did and they keep adding new quest and items to get you to return. Have to admit the combat configuration has changed a bit compared to previous versions so it will take some time to get use to making it frustrating in the beginning.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 30, 2017
some of the gameplay/movement/fighting is clunky and can be aggravating, but visually the game is excellent and a welcome addition to the franchise. players not familiar with the AC genre may find this game monotonous, because it basically replays the same scenario over and over and over (go to location, recon enemies, fight enemies, gather treasure, level up).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 21, 2017
Ben-Hur baby! Charleton Heston would approve. I'm only on level 14 and just started chariot racing in the Hippodrome. Too much fun. This game is fantastic. I'm a professional day trader and as soon as the market closes for the day, I dive back in to the game. The game looks and plays amazing on my 65" 4k curved Samsung. Along with my 7.2 Yamaha receiver and Polk audio speakers, the Xbones One X delivers. If you own a 4k tv, do yourself a favor and invest your money in a One X. You won't be sorry. I'll never buy another game for my ps4, unless it's a ps4 exclusive. As for the game, I've only played two Creeds prior - the very first Creed and Black Flag. Black Flag was outstanding, but Origins, so far, is just great. There is so much to do with all the side missions and quests in the game. You never get bored. The game mechanics for hunting prey, fighting and slaughtering the Egyptian soldiers is extremely satisfying. You just need to make sure your blades are up to par as your leveling. You'll find your favorite weapons and you'll will want to keep and upgrade them as you go. If you're on the fence about getting this game, jump off and buy it!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 4, 2018
Great shipping! I got it so fast so that made me happy. I love the assassin creed games so of course I have nothing bad to say. The only reason why it’s not rated 5 stars is because in this game they basically changed all the controls. It’s way too different so I’m not liking it so far but it’s different in a decent way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 29, 2018
My husband adores this game. Got it for him for Christmas and he plays it almost every day to unwind. I love all the interesting historical facts that pop up or the characters tell you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 14, 2018
I know I put 5 on this. I bought the game when I bout 4 other AC games at same time. But I am sure it is a great game. I will return with a better review when I have played it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 64 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here