Salon Beauty Best Books of the Month Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now SWMTVT18_gno



on March 2, 2018
Overall, the reviews of this product seem very positive; however, I am disappointed. I was especially influenced by the reviewer that said this circulator heated 2 gallons of water to temperature in 15 minutes. That is not true with the unit I received. The statement “to temperature“ is deceiving. The question is “what temperature?” I added exactly 2 gallons of distilled water to a large pot with the water level approximately 1/2 inch below the max fill line. The initial water temperature was 66°F. It took 48 minutes to heat the water to 140°F. After letting the temperature stabilize for 10 minutes, I measured the temperature with three different precision thermometers (accurate to ±0.7°F). Each indicated that the temperature was actually 143°F. I checked the water temperature every 10 minutes for the next three hours and the unit did maintain 143°F without varying more than 1°F. Also, that review were stated that the unit was a 1200 W unit. The unit that I received states that it is 1000 W. It is displayed prominently on the outside of the box.

If you have a precision thermometer to monitor the water temperature then this unit is certainly usable. It does seem to maintain temperature, but it is not as accurate as I expected. Many of the sous vide units advertise an accuracy of ±0.1°F.

UPDATE: I failed to mention that when I measured the power usage of this device it only registered 800 W (that could explain the long time needed to reach final temperature). However, a friend also ordered one of these units and he was kind enough to loan it to me for testing. I tested it and the power draw was slightly over 1000 W which would agree with the markings on the outside of the box. It also heated water much faster than mine. It only took 32 minutes to heat two gallons of water (starting at 66°F) to 140°F.

I still stand by my initial conclusion. You are probably better off considering a different brand. Given the different heating capabilities of the two units, I am a little worried about quality control. However, if you are willing to monitor the output temperature to determine that it is accurate, then this unit is certainly usable. So far, I have been able to successfully cook several dishes using this unit. I still stand by my initial rating, this unit only deserves two stars.
6 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on December 29, 2017
Just received my unit from UPS. Quickly read the setup directions, and placed some beef tenderloins in a freezer bag. I filled the cooler with hot water and plugged the SV in and she's ready to roll. I plan on reheating the tenderloin for supper. I'm very excited to learn and hopefully master my SV. I will update this review as I learn with the unit.
**UPDATE** I have used my SV for several days in a row. It is easy to use, set it and forget it. My longest cook so far was a prime rib, 9 hours. My unit has developed an issue. When I turn the unit on. a louder humming noise emits from the control area of the handle. The noise eventually goes away, not sure of the issue. I plan on returning the unit, I dont want it to quit in the middle of a job.
review imagereview image
One person found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on February 25, 2018
I originally bought one for a Christmas gift for my brother. Who promptly made me a steak, which necessitated me having one, to try and one up his steak.

Needless to say, but this thing is awesome! I can’t beat his steak with the cooking process, but I did with the sides! It doesn’t have a fancy app, but it’s easy to use. I recommend buying a pot or container big enough for it. Otherwise, follow the instructions or do a quick search for some Sous Vide cooking action.
|0Comment|Report abuse
on December 9, 2017
This is the second of these that I received. First must have been damaged in shipping, the circulator motor made an awful racket and the display showed E05 intermittently, which is a motor error. Returned it, got a second same day.

This one is much quieter, basically a whirring, faint chugging background noise. The larger the container and more water, the quieter it is. Also seems to get quieter the hotter the water gets.

Function is perfect, no complaints. 1200 watt heating element gets 2 gallons of water up to temp in less than 15 minutes and the circulator motor is very powerful and strong, Holds water temperature perfectly to the degree, verified with a professional kitchen thermometer. I use a $1100 Poly Science unit at work that's 800 watts and with a far less powerful circulator and takes a lot longer to heat water.

Easy to use, you long press the power button for a few seconds until it comes on, then use the jog wheel to set the temp. Then hit the Set button to change the two timers. One timer sets the delay before it turns on, the other sets the cook time. Each tap rotates between minutes and hours per display then you change the value with the scroll wheel. You can leave the delay at 00 to start immediately, and leave the cook timer at 00 so it keeps running indefinitely. If you set a cook timer value, the timer starts running once set temp is reached and it beeps. When the temp and timers are set, tap the power button to start it. You can modify the cook timer up or down after it's running but not the start time, since it's already running.

Anyway, the cost to performance ratio here is fantastic. Heavy duty cooker with a powerful circulator. Incredible price.
If you want to cook in a water bath, this is all you need. You don't need bluetooth or any other gimmickry. It heats water, circulates it and maintains temp perfectly.
BTW, this cooker is sold under several different brands here on Amazon at similar price points. I chose Westinghouse because I assume that warranty support might be better from a name brand and this was the best price.
4 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on January 14, 2018
This unit is simple in design, easy to use, and much less expensive than similar products with smartphone connectivity. Basically, this machine is a powerful aquarium water heater with a built-in water circulator. It's job is to keep water at a precise temperature for however long you want, and it does this very well. I love it.
One person found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on March 19, 2018
Temperature runs consistently 3 degrees too high (verified by two digital thermometers). Using the pod is fairly non-intuitive. Keep the directions handy because just getting the thing started is difficult.

Seems pretty powerful. I haven't tried it in a larger bath yet, but it brings my 9 quart container up to temperature really fast...I'm inclined to believe the 5 gallon claim.
|0Comment|Report abuse
on February 13, 2018
I love this. I have NEVER been able to cook a chicken breast or pork chop that didn't come out dry. This type of cooking is amazing. They come out juicy and flavorful. The machine works just as advertised. The only problem I have with it is that it can be hard to get the power button to activate.
|0Comment|Report abuse
on January 4, 2018
For the money, this cooker does exactly what I wanted. It makes fool proof cooked food, I'm no chef. Easy to set and forget. I bought this to make Egg Bites like Starbucks and it's a breeze. 5 minutes prep, one hour cook time and I've got breakfast ready to go in a jar after a warm bath. I've even made Chicken, so tender and moist. I just follow the temp and time from the myriad of recipes online. I love it!
One person found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on January 16, 2018
first time use with this thing and I already hate it, the clamp is atrocious, on any container with a lip it will not clamp and hold like the pictures show, it will cock it at an angle or you have to have a very tall container to clamp below the lip and have any usable water volume which rules out most stockpots as usable. the clamp is also weak so that while its running if it is clamped below the lip of the container it will slide down until it bottoms out. spend the extra $$ on one with a better clamp I sure wish I had

Update, after using this for almost 2 months a lot, water intrusion into the head has become a death blow, on a higher temp cook recently the steam intruded into the electronics and threw the temp readings way off, water temp went down to 80 and unit read 211, put it in a bag with rice and it worked again for a while but the same problem is back to stay it seems, past the return
review imagereview image
3 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on March 4, 2018
Liked the easy way it programmed but motor lock up the third time I used it. Contacted manufacturers waited 2 days before they got back to me so contacted Amazon no problem on refund. Very happy with Amazon I ordered another brand and I'm waiting on delivery
|0Comment|Report abuse