Prime Book Box Men's Summer Sneakers nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. New LG V35 ThinQ | $699.99. Save with Prime Exclusive Phones. Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry modern furniture and decor Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon outcastS4 outcastS4 outcastS4  Echo All-new Show Mode Charging Dock Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now STL18_GNO



on December 17, 2017
 My first Alexa enabled smart home device is woking like a charm. I bought two smart plug, one for Christmas tree light and one for main living room light. I agree to some of the review comments that its not that straight forward to set it up, but let me write it down here on how I did so that it might help someone. This is for iPhone users.
Step 1:
Install TuyaSmart app. Register
Step 2
In Alexa App, go to Skills, type Smart Life, Enable Skill, Use the user name / password you used to register in TuyaSmart App
Step 3
I was using a NetGear router. It was both 2.4 GHz as well as 5 GHz. (how you can find, type 192.168.1.1 for netgear, you can get these for Linksys etc from google). Type 192.168.1.1 and then enable only the 2.4 GHz ( You can change it to original once set up is done)
Step 4
If you do the Step 3 properly, your connection from App to Smart Plug would say its enabled. Otherwise, it will say failed and asked for retry. What I did ( not sure its needed or not) is, after step 3, I unplugged the power of the router, waited 10 seconds and reconnected.
Step 5
Ask alexa to search for device or go to alexa and search for devices. Once found, change the title so that you can add something like "christmas light".
Happy Smart Homing...
104 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on November 25, 2017
 Works flawlessly with Alexa.
I have it setup right now as Christmas Lights' turns the tree lights on and in a breeze!
91 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on June 18, 2017
I am just getting into smart home automation and I wanted to try out some smart plugs to do a few basic things like turn some lights on and off, or on a timer and or as needed without having to get up (or when I'm not home) and I wanted to get some that were not super expensive. I needed more than 1, so I found this 2 pack and decided to give it a try since it had some good reviews with steps on setup already posted and it was cheaper than some of the others I was looking at. I also plan on getting an amazon echo dot in the near future which can be used with these smart plugs for some extra voice controlled features which is a nice plus that its compatible with one of the more popular voice controlled smart hubs.

I did notice some reviews that said to check your email for an email about the correct application for your android or iphone device and so I checked and I did get an email with a link to download the correct app and after that so far so good with using the app on my android smartphone. I also was able to use a few of the reviews on here to help me get through the process of setting up/connecting and with the detailed steps in their reviews its not too complicated and gets even easier after an initial go thru/setup.

The plug itself feels well made, seems durable enough to last over time and is small enough that when you plug it in, it doesn't block the other plug (see picture) on a 2 plug wall outlet. I set one up to turn the lights on and off in my bedroom so I dont have to get out of bed to turn them off. The 2nd unit I set up to control a plug that my weed-eater battery is plugged into. I often forget to charge them each weekend before mowing and I don't like leaving them on the charger all the time (they get hot and also seems like a waste of electricity as it would vampire drain to just keep them topped off) so this works perfectly so that it can set up on a charge timer for 8 hours which the time it takes to charge the battery fully. My current way of doing this is to set an alarm on my cellphone for Friday night so that I can plug it in to charge overnight and Saturday I will mow and edge the yard, but sometimes I'll go out on a Friday night and forget to plug them in when I get home since the alarm already went off and I wasn't home to do it. So this will be an easy set it and forget it way to do it. That is the whole point of home automation, that it makes life easier and you can do things without having to get up and or be in the home to actually turn something on and or off.

I hope to get the echo dot soon and I will add to this review when I get more experience with these plugs and with setting them up and using them with the amazon echo dot.
review imagereview imagereview image
113 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on December 22, 2017
This is a fantastic product! It uses the Smart Life app, which is extremely easy to use on its own, and it also seamlessly syncs with Alexa (echo). I started using these with my Christmas tree and various Christmas lights in my house. I first set a timer in the app so they would come on at 5pm each evening and turn off at bedtime....never have to remember to turn the tree off again! Then I synced it with Alexa (really easy to do), and can also turn it on by saying "Alexa, turn on Christmas tree" and on it goes! I love the product so much, I bought a bunch more for other outlets in my house.
69 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on January 24, 2018
we love it! we have it connected through our Alexa and it's great because we can also use it through the phone app.
66 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on February 1, 2018
The initial wifi scan didn’t detect the plugs, but when I went to electrical plug in setup and entered the wifi password, it completed setup in about 10 seconds. It was also a plus that I didn’t have to re-enter the wifi password for a second plug setup. The plugs work perfectly, so far, and I am very pleased with them. The small size is a big improvement over the other plugs I have.
45 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on December 2, 2017
I am very impressed with these outlets. They were incredibly easy to set up and link to my Google Home. There are instructions in the box, but really all you have to do is install the Smart Life app on your phone (I have android) and go through the steps to connect your outlet to the app. It was a matter of pressing a button on the outlet, and I had no issues with either outlet. The whole process took maybe two minutes.

Then to connect it to my Google Home, I went to the Google Home app and opened the navigation pane. I selected Home Control > plus sign in lower right > Smart Life. Then follow the steps to add the Smart Life app to your Google Home. Then when you ask Google to turn on that outlet, all you have to say is the "OK Google, turn on "Outlet Name." I am using one for a Christmas Tree and I've named the outlet "Christmas Tree." It is pretty cool to say "OK Google, turn on the Christmas tree." And it is easy to go in and rename it for the rest of the year. :)

The only downside is that the plug takes up a little more than one slot on the outlet. You can fit a standard outlet plugin with it, but nothing that has the block plugin (which is most electrical items these days). A rectangular design would have been more efficient.
22 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on January 23, 2018
Works great!
23 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on June 10, 2017
Smart Plug, 2 Pack TanTan Wi-Fi Wireless Mini Socket Outlet with Timing Function, Works with Amazon Alexa, Remote Control Your Devices from Anywhere, No Hub Required

I purchased a Smart Wi-Fi Plug to confirm that the product works well with iPhone app and provides easy, reliable, secure app of plugged-in devices. Pros and minor cons are below.

After confirming that the Plug indeed works as expected, I was more curious about how and where operational data (supplied via the app) is stored and secured. That is, I'm not sure if all operational data is stored on-board the Plug in non-volatile memory in case of extended power outages and to secure such data locally.

How to connect my Smart Plug to my home network via “Smart Life”?

1. Downloaded the app name from Apple Store. The name of the app is “Smart Life” and Install the “Smart Life " app on your iPhone.

2. Open Smart Life App and register the device with the help of your phone number and you can input the text activation message on your App.

3. With your iPhone on a local 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi connection, open “Smart Life” and then: (a) plug Smart Plug into an AC outlet; (b) Add Device > SMART PLUG and follow the instructions; (c) which say to go to your iPhone's Wi-Fi settings and connect to the Smart Plug's Wi-Fi network; (d) customize your Plug -- with a unique name, etc.; and (e) connect the Plug to your local Wi-Fi and its done. This setup took me 10 mins initially for the first one and the next one took less than a minute.

Pros

• Good package and product design (both hardware and app).
• Setup relatively easy.
• App can be accessed without router configuration.
• 10A load max.
• Can unplug from anywhere without losing settings in order to relocate unit.
• Moderate price.

Minor Cons

• No support for 5 GHz Wi-Fi (okay as long as most routers are dual band).
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
19 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on March 22, 2018
I've tried numerous smart plugs, and these seems to work the best of any that I've tried. The setup is a breeze, the connection time is literally seconds, and they respond very well to Alexa voice commands or on-screen commands from the brand's own app.

I used these on a timer for my Christmas lights last year, and it was a total game changer. I no longer had to crawl behind the tree every night to turn the lights on, and I was able to sync multiple smart plugs and turn all of my Christmas lights on at the same time. It sounds stupid, but it was a pretty great feeling each night to be able to say "Alexa, turn on the Christmas lights" when I got home and watch the whole house light up at once (all while never having to crawl behind the tree again).

After Christmas, I now use these for lamps around the house, and have them on timed schedules. It's also a great feeling to set these to turn on right before I get home from work, so that I come home to a lit house. Sounds simple, but it's another great use for these plugs (and a great feature on the manufacturer's app that actually works!).

All in all, a great purchase, and the best performance of any smart plug that I've tried that isn't crazy expensive.
15 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse