Oil month Automotive Best Books of the Month Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Country Heat GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy  Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now SWMTVT18_gno



on September 16, 2017
I absolutely love this game. I have never played anything like this, no XCOM style games, no games at all really except for just really easy stuff, games that don't require much thought, like Mario Kart. I didn't think I would like this one, but I gave it a try. I'm 37 years old if that makes a difference, but I would say that this is a family-friendly game. There is some potty-humor, some flatulence and sometimes Beep-O (the leader that looks like a robotic vacuum) has an attitude and he may swear but the swear words are in this form - #%&$! - and it only happens 2, maybe 3 times. I think that would just fly over a young child's head. There isn't any blood or gore and it's not incredibly violent - sure, you're "shooting" and blowing up characters, but it's tasteful - they just sort of disappear instead of piling up around you. Some of the puzzles are surprisingly difficult, or maybe I'm just not nearly as smart as I thought I was. I had more trouble figuring a few of those out than I would like to admit, lol.

I was frustrated at first, even though looking back the game starts off incredibly easy. I just had no idea what I was supposed to be doing. It definitely gives you a chance to learn the ropes, so if you are like me and have never played this style game, you CAN easily pick it up. It does get increasingly difficult, and pretty quickly. If you are skilled at these types of games, I wouldn't worry about it being too easy altogether. Once I got the hang of it I could not put it down. I just beat the final boss last night and I was thrilled to find that there was more to the game after that - you can go back and do more things and find hidden "Ultimate Challenges".

The animation is fantastic. The scenery is beautiful, the characters are adorable, the bosses are really cool. Rabbid Peach is my favorite - she's a social media obsessed diva. She's always stopping to take selfies of herself with her cell phone and when the team loses a match or challenge she yanks off her wig and crown (off camera) and throws them towards the other 2 team members. It's just really cute, I found myself laughing out loud a lot during gameplay. The soundtrack is marvelous.

I have come across a couple of glitches in the game - the "A" button sometimes stops working and I can't do anything - I can bring up the menu with the "+" button but it's just scrolling through really quickly, I can't select any of the options. All I can do is close the software and start again at the last saved point. During the last few chapters of the game I had some trouble with the software closing on its own - an error message that said something like this software has encountered an error and needs to close. Hopefully, those things are fixed with future updates or patches, if that's possible.

I am very happy that I went outside of my comfort zone and gave this game a try. I hope there are more like it in the future. I give it a 10 out of 10. :-)
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 12, 2017
(M.K.Lake's Son): I am a HUGE tactical game fan.. I started with Final Fantasy Tactics Advance and have been in-love with them since.. This is a very very interesting game, its a lil short but I would rather Quality over Quantity.. There isn't a huge plot there is no huge drama like most..Its honestly the plot of a Mario game you'd expect.. Go here do this etc etc.. But the simplicity is honestly a great change (For tactics games) and one of the beautify that is the Mario series..While this wasn't developed by Nintendo internally..It's got the silliness and goofiness that makes it fun for all ages. The combat is modified from Xcom1/2's award winning formula that is pretty deep, but its also slimmed down so younger audiences can enjoy which makes it feel a tad shallower but nothing I would want to complain about.. I'm just putting everything out there so people can enjoy..The only serious gripe I have..again I said it earlier I prefer quality over quantity is the games length.. BUT I will honestly be replaying it again. It's worth every penny....I will be looking forward to Mario+Rabbits 2...OH! ONE.LAST.THING! Rabbids..I have not really been overly fond of them, but I rather like the ones that you get on your team and some of the zany antics they do during the game. When this game was announced I rolled my eyes bit its lent its self well to the great games for the switches first-year...So honestly its pretty darn awesome. :)
review image
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 10, 2017
I was skeptical about this game at first, largely due to the Rabbids. Boy was I so wrong to prejudge. This game went far beyond my expectations, to the point where I find it difficult to put down! I normally dislike strategy games, but this one is so well executed that it has become one of my favorites. Far from being stupid (as I would have expected from anything Rabbids-related), the humor is refreshing and surprisingly witty- even at times sophisticated. The gameplay is paced just right, peppered with delightful little surprises throughout. The only drawbacks are the restrictive camera system, no way to upgrade already-equipped weapons and the lack of an overworld map of some sort. None are enough to really dampen an otherwise very enjoyable experience.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 20, 2017
This game came far out of left field. Mario and crew with guns? In a tactical rpg a la x-com or jagged alliance? What were the designers smoking when they thought of this? Nevertheless, it's executed flawlessly. No RNG frustrations, no save scumming necessary. Lots of little nods to various Mario lore and history. Challenging scenarios, solid skill progression where I never felt over nor under-powered, and great artwork. The plot is horribly contrived but who cares. My 3 year old was riveted with every battle and she'd be the one composing the team. Lastly, Rabbids came before Minions and it's a crime that Minions have become so popular.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 3, 2017
To begin with this game maybe a hit or miss depending on who's playing it. This game is surprisingly fun and easy to get into, yes it is simpler version of other strategy games. If you have played xcom before then you will be pretty familiar with how this game runs, but in a much simpler pace. The game is not trying to become something that it's not, it's not as serious as xcom when it comes to mechanics, upgrades and stuff. It's still a fun game to get into, explore the world and its colors. Check it out if you have a switch and if you like this kinds of game or you could wait for a sale if you don't feel like spending $60.00 on a game like this. It's good to know that the switch is getting 3rd party support in some ways, we also have to support the developers who spend money on a system with limited catalogs as of right now.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 16, 2017
For those of you that like the Fire Emblem series, I recommend giving this game a shot. It’s good, plan and simple. Now for those of you that are skeptical, I’ll do my best to try and convince you to join the cause to save the Mushroom Kingdom.
Now as a veteran gamer the first thing that would turn me off to this game are the Rabbids themselves. I’m here to tell you not to worry. They are nowhere near as annoying as they were in the old Rayman raving rabid games. In fact they are actually funny from time to time. It’s still slapstick humor, so don’t expect high brow jokes. As soon as you reach the first gameplay section, it’s apparent that the graphics are nothing short of stunning, especially the levels themselves. They are filled with such detail and personality, my favorite being the vines that play the music in the spooky kingdom. And in the battles themselves the animation work is also top notch, although there are a few caveats I need to mention, the most troublesome in my opinion is the camera, you don’t have control over it as much as I’d like. It can only be moved in 90 degree angles I’ve lost a gun fight or two because I couldn’t get a good view of the battle field. Now In a close second, is a gameplay mechanic. Those of you that are Fire Emblem vets will share my pain. In FE you get into a habit of moving your characters close to the enemies in order to see how much damage you will inflict on your foes, If it’s not to your liking you will simply tap B and warp back to where you were correct? Well in this game once you move your character and press A your locked in, so it’s a little tough fighting an urge that was second nature in FE. Other then that every character( a total of about 8) has a special ability and a specific role to play in your team(e.g sniper, healer etc.) Mario however is a permanent fixture so I recommend buying better gear for him as soon as it’s available to you. The game also won’t hold your hand so be prepared to be in for a tough time if you get careless. There is also a Co-op mode but I recommend playing it with a friend once you’ve beaten the game, as that will unlock all the levels. Oh and stay away from any Hard challenges that you get by clearing a map in story mode, unless of course you like fighting the urge not to stab your Switch in the face repeatedly. The bottom line is I can’t wait for a sequel, Ubisoft really set a standard for 3rd party development on this one. Stay behind cover and good luck out there.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 16, 2017
I'm not very good at platformer Mario because that requires right timing and I die often. This is totally different as it plays like chess and playing with different weapon and skill combos. You have to be a fan with turn by turn puzzles. Gameplay is really fun if you fall into this category. The cut scenes are really funny and will make you laugh more than once. Especially Rabbid Peach who acts like a preppy girl always taking selfies and acting like a typical 15 year old social media obsessed. When you're battling the world 1 boss, if you cross Rabbid Kongs path (which you will) then he picks you up and uses you as a butt brush. Brass classic Rabbid humor. Totally worth the 50 bucks for the time you'll spend (also offers season pass for future added story content)

For the people who say this is boring have to realise this is not a Nintendo Mario game. This is ubisoft with Mario IP. also you need to upgrade your weapons and can't be stingy with your coins cause you're just gonna lose. Maybe the people complaining never upgraded their weapons and kept dying. The game isn't that hard but enough to keep interest.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 3, 2017
Honestly I had my doubts when I first started it. I don't normally write reviews, but as a person who sometimes uses them I felt this was a good one to contribute to because of its uninquness. The game is great. Well thought out, takes a level or two to get use to but overall I would say this game is clearly #2 for me on the Switch. (Zelda #, best video game ever made)

Cheers happy gaming
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 2, 2017
At first I was confuse, but the more you play the more it gets enjoyable.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 10, 2017
Nothing here that will blow your socks off, except Rabbid Mario's blaster, but the game looks and plays well. Get's a bit repetitive but is always fun to play. Battle mechanics and upgrade system aren't overly complicated but also not too basic either. If you complete the challenges after each world, the game is easily 40-50 hours long. That's not including all of the co-op missions that can be completed with a friend (local only). I would recommend Zelda and Mario Odyssey first but this is a great game to pick up if you are looking for another big Switch game to play.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 63 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here