Industrial Deals Best Books of the Year So Far Our favorite denim: shop women's jeans nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo All-new Show Mode Charging Dock Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now STL18_GNO


on September 16, 2017
I absolutely love this game. I have never played anything like this, no XCOM style games, no games at all really except for just really easy stuff, games that don't require much thought, like Mario Kart. I didn't think I would like this one, but I gave it a try. I'm 37 years old if that makes a difference, but I would say that this is a family-friendly game. There is some potty-humor, some flatulence and sometimes Beep-O (the leader that looks like a robotic vacuum) has an attitude and he may swear but the swear words are in this form - #%&$! - and it only happens 2, maybe 3 times. I think that would just fly over a young child's head. There isn't any blood or gore and it's not incredibly violent - sure, you're "shooting" and blowing up characters, but it's tasteful - they just sort of disappear instead of piling up around you. Some of the puzzles are surprisingly difficult, or maybe I'm just not nearly as smart as I thought I was. I had more trouble figuring a few of those out than I would like to admit, lol.

I was frustrated at first, even though looking back the game starts off incredibly easy. I just had no idea what I was supposed to be doing. It definitely gives you a chance to learn the ropes, so if you are like me and have never played this style game, you CAN easily pick it up. It does get increasingly difficult, and pretty quickly. If you are skilled at these types of games, I wouldn't worry about it being too easy altogether. Once I got the hang of it I could not put it down. I just beat the final boss last night and I was thrilled to find that there was more to the game after that - you can go back and do more things and find hidden "Ultimate Challenges".

The animation is fantastic. The scenery is beautiful, the characters are adorable, the bosses are really cool. Rabbid Peach is my favorite - she's a social media obsessed diva. She's always stopping to take selfies of herself with her cell phone and when the team loses a match or challenge she yanks off her wig and crown (off camera) and throws them towards the other 2 team members. It's just really cute, I found myself laughing out loud a lot during gameplay. The soundtrack is marvelous.

I have come across a couple of glitches in the game - the "A" button sometimes stops working and I can't do anything - I can bring up the menu with the "+" button but it's just scrolling through really quickly, I can't select any of the options. All I can do is close the software and start again at the last saved point. During the last few chapters of the game I had some trouble with the software closing on its own - an error message that said something like this software has encountered an error and needs to close. Hopefully, those things are fixed with future updates or patches, if that's possible.

I am very happy that I went outside of my comfort zone and gave this game a try. I hope there are more like it in the future. I give it a 10 out of 10. :-)
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
47 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on December 12, 2017
(M.K.Lake's Son): I am a HUGE tactical game fan.. I started with Final Fantasy Tactics Advance and have been in-love with them since.. This is a very very interesting game, its a lil short but I would rather Quality over Quantity.. There isn't a huge plot there is no huge drama like most..Its honestly the plot of a Mario game you'd expect.. Go here do this etc etc.. But the simplicity is honestly a great change (For tactics games) and one of the beautify that is the Mario series..While this wasn't developed by Nintendo internally..It's got the silliness and goofiness that makes it fun for all ages. The combat is modified from Xcom1/2's award winning formula that is pretty deep, but its also slimmed down so younger audiences can enjoy which makes it feel a tad shallower but nothing I would want to complain about.. I'm just putting everything out there so people can enjoy..The only serious gripe I have..again I said it earlier I prefer quality over quantity is the games length.. BUT I will honestly be replaying it again. It's worth every penny....I will be looking forward to Mario+Rabbits 2...OH! ONE.LAST.THING! Rabbids..I have not really been overly fond of them, but I rather like the ones that you get on your team and some of the zany antics they do during the game. When this game was announced I rolled my eyes bit its lent its self well to the great games for the switches first-year...So honestly its pretty darn awesome. :)
review image
10 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on September 3, 2017
To begin with this game maybe a hit or miss depending on who's playing it. This game is surprisingly fun and easy to get into, yes it is simpler version of other strategy games. If you have played xcom before then you will be pretty familiar with how this game runs, but in a much simpler pace. The game is not trying to become something that it's not, it's not as serious as xcom when it comes to mechanics, upgrades and stuff. It's still a fun game to get into, explore the world and its colors. Check it out if you have a switch and if you like this kinds of game or you could wait for a sale if you don't feel like spending $60.00 on a game like this. It's good to know that the switch is getting 3rd party support in some ways, we also have to support the developers who spend money on a system with limited catalogs as of right now.
4 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on December 20, 2017
This game came far out of left field. Mario and crew with guns? In a tactical rpg a la x-com or jagged alliance? What were the designers smoking when they thought of this? Nevertheless, it's executed flawlessly. No RNG frustrations, no save scumming necessary. Lots of little nods to various Mario lore and history. Challenging scenarios, solid skill progression where I never felt over nor under-powered, and great artwork. The plot is horribly contrived but who cares. My 3 year old was riveted with every battle and she'd be the one composing the team. Lastly, Rabbids came before Minions and it's a crime that Minions have become so popular.
4 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on November 16, 2017
For those of you that like the Fire Emblem series, I recommend giving this game a shot. It’s good, plan and simple. Now for those of you that are skeptical, I’ll do my best to try and convince you to join the cause to save the Mushroom Kingdom.
Now as a veteran gamer the first thing that would turn me off to this game are the Rabbids themselves. I’m here to tell you not to worry. They are nowhere near as annoying as they were in the old Rayman raving rabid games. In fact they are actually funny from time to time. It’s still slapstick humor, so don’t expect high brow jokes. As soon as you reach the first gameplay section, it’s apparent that the graphics are nothing short of stunning, especially the levels themselves. They are filled with such detail and personality, my favorite being the vines that play the music in the spooky kingdom. And in the battles themselves the animation work is also top notch, although there are a few caveats I need to mention, the most troublesome in my opinion is the camera, you don’t have control over it as much as I’d like. It can only be moved in 90 degree angles I’ve lost a gun fight or two because I couldn’t get a good view of the battle field. Now In a close second, is a gameplay mechanic. Those of you that are Fire Emblem vets will share my pain. In FE you get into a habit of moving your characters close to the enemies in order to see how much damage you will inflict on your foes, If it’s not to your liking you will simply tap B and warp back to where you were correct? Well in this game once you move your character and press A your locked in, so it’s a little tough fighting an urge that was second nature in FE. Other then that every character( a total of about 8) has a special ability and a specific role to play in your team(e.g sniper, healer etc.) Mario however is a permanent fixture so I recommend buying better gear for him as soon as it’s available to you. The game also won’t hold your hand so be prepared to be in for a tough time if you get careless. There is also a Co-op mode but I recommend playing it with a friend once you’ve beaten the game, as that will unlock all the levels. Oh and stay away from any Hard challenges that you get by clearing a map in story mode, unless of course you like fighting the urge not to stab your Switch in the face repeatedly. The bottom line is I can’t wait for a sequel, Ubisoft really set a standard for 3rd party development on this one. Stay behind cover and good luck out there.
2 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on November 10, 2017
Nothing here that will blow your socks off, except Rabbid Mario's blaster, but the game looks and plays well. Get's a bit repetitive but is always fun to play. Battle mechanics and upgrade system aren't overly complicated but also not too basic either. If you complete the challenges after each world, the game is easily 40-50 hours long. That's not including all of the co-op missions that can be completed with a friend (local only). I would recommend Zelda and Mario Odyssey first but this is a great game to pick up if you are looking for another big Switch game to play.
3 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on October 1, 2017
I played this game for a month. I thought it was a joke at first, but I was very wrong.

The entire gameplay did surprised me with tactical ideas. The plot felt engaged throughout with thrown-in humor. The characters, especially Rabbids, were so much fun to see bonding together in a big adventure. The music was outstanding and easy to listen into. Finally, it was so difficult to complete but paid off in the end.

It's was one of the best Switch game I ever experience, and I will highly recommended it to any fans of strategy games.
2 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on September 2, 2017
At first I was confuse, but the more you play the more it gets enjoyable.
5 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on January 12, 2018
Love the game...I was under the impression I would get a North American copy not an EU version. I know it does not matter insofar as game usage (as Switch is region free) however, insofar as continuity, it makes my collection incomplete because of that big green PEGI flag emblazoned on the front...As I said, not a big deal but worth mentioning for collectors.
review imagereview image
2 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on November 29, 2017
A very good strategy with all the polish you would come to expect from Nintendo (I know Ubisoft made the game but there is a reason Nintendo allowed them to use Mario characters). The game starts off easy enough and gets more challenge as you progress. The game is appropriate for kids but young children may get frustrated with it as some of the end game fights can be challenging. Spent roughly 35-40hrs playing through the game.

Pros:
- Nice graphics
- Just the right amount of challenge
- Good mix of charm and humor

Cons:
- Run out of coins really fast
- Not much point to completing end game challenges
One person found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 68 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here