Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now SWMTVT18_gno



TOP 500 REVIEWERon August 7, 2014
I want to help clarify the difference between the 2 affordable Harry Potter Blu-Ray series, to you all. I've been back and forth on which to buy for the last several months. When searching on Amazon for this set, you'll notice that there are 2 sets, both with all 8 movies, both with the same number of reviews. There is usually between an $8-$15 difference in price between the 2. These are INDEED different, regardless of how similar they are described. Here's why…

I'll start with the blu-ray that has 3 differently aged Harry's on the cover. You'll notice that it is bigger than the other collection being sold. What they don't tell you is that the discs are in 4 separate cases, 2 movies in each case. There are also 11 discs, not just 8. But to be clear on this, the 3 extra discs are just bonus content from the last 3 movies. All of the other movies have the bonus features on the same disc. There is a ton of extra content on each disc. You'll also notice, from a side view picture, the list of movies that are in the box. The first says, "The Philosopher's Stone", rather than "The Sorcerer's Stone". Don't worry, it's not a bootleg copy. It's the English (UK) version of the set. The U.S. version changed the name for marketing purposes and it doesn't affect anything about the set.

Now for the OTHER set being sold:

This set, with the cover being of the castle, is smaller and more compact. This is because it has an insert that unfolds with all movies attached to each fold. It's neater, takes up less space, and in my opinion, looks more like the set it should be. However, this set contains only 8 discs (1 for each movie), with NO Bonus Content discs. I know about this set because It is the same that I borrowed from a friend.
So, there's not much of a difference here. I bought the bigger looking box because of the extra content and it was cheaper. The other box looks more like a classic collection but lacks content. Still, any Harry Potter Collection is worth buying. You'll always have an urge to watch it again and again (I watch the series twice a year). The Blu-Ray makes a huge difference in quality over DVD, so if you have a good TV and a Blu-Ray player, you have to go Blu-Ray.

Hope this helped!

***UPDATE April 2017***

There's been a little more confusion because Amazon has added a couple other collections and newer Blu-rays of single movie of Harry Potter. It has been more difficult to search for collections so i've made it easier for you. Here are the links for the above mentioned collections that I reviewed:

"3 Faces of Harry" collection (currently $65 on Amazon) -- https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00AQNOCZ0/ref=cm_cr_ryp_prd_ttl_sol_0

"Hogwarts Castle Cover" collection (currently $60 on Amazon) -- https://www.amazon.com/dp/B005OCFHHK/ref=cm_cd_asin_lnk

Amazon has changed their Harry Potter supply lately. I'm not sure why, but Amazon has combined ALL reviews for different H.P. collections into one, leaving it difficult to distinguish between them all. Now it's hard to tell what any review is for. If my links are not highlighted, just copy and paste them.
***If you Search "Harry Potter Blu Ray Collection", it WILL NOT show you the "3 Faces" collection so please use the link that i've provided above***

***I would also like to make an important note of feedback from readers. There are versions that you need to be aware of that are MAY NOT be playable in the U.S. It's another collection that is European made and most of the time, the discs are not playable on North American Blu-Ray Players. Obviously if you're reading this and you live in Europe, it'll work for you. I've started to notice those little numbers on the cover that have an Octogon with a number in the center. It means Irish Film Classification Office. They're definitely European made discs. Buy at your own risk though. One reader wrote that they played on his Playstation but couldn't comment on a Blu-Ray Player.***

This should still help everyone.I will continue to update as needed in order to help you.
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them has created another buzz in the world of Harry Potter. If you haven't seen the movie, it is "Fantastic"! AND IT'S COMING OUT ON BLU-RAY SOON!!!!!!!!!

RIP Alan Rickman, aka Severus Snape! You are missed by all Fans.

Thanks for reading! If you liked this review, you may like my other ones on various products helpful as well. [...]. Thanks again!
6,242 people found this helpful
|5150+ comments|Report abuse
on December 19, 2017
When I purchased this set, there were 3 options:
Harry Potter 8-film collection (4kUHD) standard edition Blu-Ray for $169.99 (Blu-Ray labeled box) (16 discs)
Harry Potter The Complete 8-film collection for $54.98 (DVD labeled box) (8 discs)
Harry Potter Hogwart's Collection for $134.95 {Multi Format labeled box) (31 discs)

I purchased the 4kUHD set. This set has 8 4kUHD blu-ray discs, and 8 standard blu-ray discs.
The 4k blu-ray discs DO NOT contain any special features, I checked each disc.
The standard blu-ray discs DO contain some special features as follows:
Disc 1 (Sorcerer's Stone) has in movie experience with chris columbus and BD-Live, and includes the 159 minute length movie.
Disc 2 (Chamber of Secrets) has in movie experience with chris columbus and BD-Live, and includes the 174 minute length movie.
Disc 3 (Azkhaban) BD-live
Disc 4 (Goblet of Fire) has in movie experience and BD-live.
Disc 5 (Order of Pheonix) has in movie experience, focus points and BD-live.
Disc 6(Half-Blood Prince) has maximum movie mode, focus points and BD-live.
Disc 7(Deathly Hallows 1) has maximum movie mode, focus points and BD-live.
Disc 8(Deathly Hallows 2) has maximum movie mode, focus points and BD-live.

I do know what is included in the 31 disc multi format set called the Hogwarts Collection:
Disc 1: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone Theatrical Version + Extended Version + Extra Content (Blu-ray)
Disc 2: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone Theatrical Version (DVD)
Disc 3: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, Creating The World: The Magic Begins (Blu-ray)
Disc 4: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, Disc 2 from the Special Edition (DVD)
Disc 5: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets Theatrical Version + Extended Version + Extra Content (Blu-ray)
Disc 6: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets Theatrical Version (DVD)
Disc 7: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, Creating the World: Characters (Blu-ray)
Disc 8: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, Disc 2 from the Special Edition (DVD)
Disc 9: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban Theatrical Version (Blu-ray)
Disc 10: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban Theatrical Version (DVD)
Disc 11: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, Creating the World: Creatures (Blu-ray)
Disc 12: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, Disc 2 from the Special Edition (DVD)
Disc 13: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire Theatrical Version (Blu-ray)
Disc 14: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire Theatrical Version (DVD)
Disc 15: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, Creating the World: Sound & Music (Blu-ray)
Disc 16: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, Disc 2 from the Special Edition (DVD)
Disc 17: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix Theatrical Version + Extra Content (Blu-ray)
Disc 18: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix Theatrical Version (DVD)
Disc 19: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, Creating the World: Evolution (Blu-ray)
Disc 20: Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince Theatrical Version + Extra Content (Blu-ray)
Disc 21: Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince Theatrical Version (DVD)
Disc 22: Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, Creating the World: Magical Effects + Extra Content (Blu-ray)
Disc 23: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 1 Theatrical Version + Extra Content (Blu-ray)
Disc 24: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 1 Theatrical Version (DVD)
Disc 25: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 1, Creating the World: Story + Extra Content (Blu-ray)
Disc 26: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 1 (Blu-ray 3D)
Disc 27: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 2 Theatrical Version + Extra Content (Blu-ray)
Disc 28: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 2 Theatrical Version (DVD)
Disc 29: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 2, Creating the World: Growing Up + Extra Content (Blu-ray)
Disc 30: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 2 (Blu-ray 3D)
Disc 31: Harry Potter Hogwarts Collection Bonus Disc (Blu-ray)

While I would have preferred to have all the extra content of the hogwarts collection in the 4kUHD set, I can say that the 4k edition of the movies look absolutely phenominal on a 4k HDR television! I would have preferred some more details in the description of what you get in each package, and I hope that amazon does a better job seperating reviews from product to product as some of the reviews DO NOT apply to the 4kUHD set.
70 people found this helpful
|33 comments|Report abuse
on December 30, 2017
I really wish Amazon kept all the reviews separate for each format on movies so it was easier to read about the specific version I want to buy. I'm not going to review the movies. This review is just for the collection itself, and what's included. More importantly, what's not included. If you are buying this 4K collection only for the movies, you will not be disappointed. This is the best way to see and hear the movies. They look amazing and sound even better. However, I was surprised when I opened the box and saw only 16 discs, 8 for the 4K editions and 8 for the Blu Ray editions. If you were to buy the 4K movies individually, you get an additional 3rd disc which is where all the extras are. That 3 disc is not included for any of the movies in this collection. There are no extras included with this collection, except for one each on the Blu Ray edition; the in-movie experience. I previously owned the Blu Ray Ultimate editions, and I was really disappointed that the documentaries found on there are no where to be found in this collection. No additional scenes. Nothing. In addition, the previous Extended versions of The Sorcerer's Stone and The Chamber of Secrets are only available on the Blu Ray discs. The 4K disc only contains the Theatrical version. Had I known this before I bought, I would have waited for better 4K box set, or bought all the movies individually.
28 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on December 20, 2017
Delayed audio and inconsistent packaging! Wanted to enjoy the Harry Potter movies, but the product itself seems subpar in comparison to other DVD collection products (e.g. LOTR). The DVD collection seems to be a Frankenstein of other individually packaged movies (i.e. The disc for The Half-Blood Prince says “Disc 1 Movie” as if it comes from a 2-DVD set). Most importantly, the audio in the Deathly Hallows Part 1 was severely delayed for a good 20-30 minutes of the movie. I have not seen Part 2 yet, so I can’t vouch for that movie, but movies 1-6 were fine. Lastly, as someone who needs/enjoys subtitles, HP 1-6 do NOT have a DVD menu screen, so you don’t have an option to turn them on. Overall, I enjoy and love Harry Potter, but this disc set was much less than what I had hoped for.
review image
14 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
on December 3, 2015
I found that a lot of the other reviews for this product were a little confusing. I am writing this review because of that reason. I was terrified of ordering this and it not being what I thought it was. I am sooo glad I did order it! This is a product for the hard core Harry Potter fan!!! This is going to, hopefully, be a short, sweet, and to the point review. The review is also of the product itself; not a review of all the movies and special features like so many people of put on here.

To clarify, this product is the "Harry Potter Hogwarts Collection DVD+Blu-Ray" Amazon option "Multi-format" version (I think it is selling for around $150 right now...I got it for $90 as a Black Friday, or was is Cyber Monday?, special!)

Included in this Box set:

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone:
1. Theatrical and Extended Version on Blu-Ray
2. Theatrical Version on DVD
3. Special Features on DVD
4. Creating the World of Harry Potter Part 1: The Magic Begins on Blu-Ray

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets:
5. Theatrical and Extended Version on Blu-Ray
6. Theatrical Version on DVD
7. Special Features on DVD
8. Creating the World of Harry Potter Part 2: Characters on Blu-Ray

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban:
9. Theatrical/Only Version on Blu-Ray
10. Theatrical/Only Version on DVD
11. Special Features on DVD
12. Creating the World of Harry Potter Part 3: Creatures on Blu-Ray

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire:
13. Theatrical/Only Version on Blu-Ray
14. Theatrical/Only Version on DVD
15. Special Features on DVD
16. Creating the World of Harry Potter Part 4: Sound and Music on Blu-Ray

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix:
17. Theatrical/Only Version on Blu-Ray
18. Theatrical/Only Version on DVD
19. Creating the World of Harry Potter Part 5: Evolution on Blu-Ray

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince:
20. Theatrical/Only Version on Blu-Ray
21. Theatrical/Only Version on DVD
22. Creating the World of Harry Potter Part 6: Magical Effects on Blu-Ray

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallow - Part 1:
23. Theatrical/Only Version on Blu-Ray
24. Theatrical/Only Version on DVD
25. Creating the World of Harry Potter Part 7: Story on Blu-Ray
26: Theatrical/Only Version on Blu-Ray 3D

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Part 2:
27. Theatrical/Only Version on Blu-Ray
28. Theatrical/Only Version on DVD
29. Creating the World of Harry Potter Part 8: Growing Up on Blu-Ray
30. Theatrical/Only Version on Blu-Ray 3D

Bonus Disc:
31. Bonus Disc on Blu-Ray
(Includes "When Harry Left Hogwarts - Extended Version," "50 Greatest Harry Potter Moments - Definitive Version," "Designing the
World of Harry Potter," and more!

Along with this Box Set, you get the UltraViolet version of, supposedly, the entire box set! (I haven't downloaded my copy yet.) This offer is valid until March 4, 2016. So hurry up and buy this set!

Conclusion: With this box set, you get the Blu-Ray, DVD, and (until 3/4/16) digital copy of all 8 movies! As a bonus, you get the 3D Blu-Ray version of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallow Part 1 & 2, if you have a 3D Blu-Ray player, unlike me...but as I stated before I am a hardcore Harry Potter fan and would like to have those version if ever I do buy a 3D Blu-Ray player and appropriate equipment. This box set pretty much includes every single thing you could get on DVD about Harry Potter!

If you are NOT a hardcore "Pott Head" (get it!?), and just enjoy the movies, I would suggest just getting the 8 disc Blu-Ray or DVD set that only includes the movies and not all the nifty special features and bonus disc!
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
1,051 people found this helpful
|1717 comments|Report abuse
on March 11, 2017
This is for the 16 disc collection. Every movie seems to be working so far. I was also able to redeem the UV digital HD movies as well. All I had to was contact Warner Brothers and they added it to my library. Glad to finally own a set of the movies top watch when ever I want.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
164 people found this helpful
|1515 comments|Report abuse
on November 23, 2017
Just watched the first disk and the 4K UHD is a vast improvement. Overall color correction and improvement over the Blu Ray versions. The atmos soundtrack was fabulous! 100% improvement and imservasive. My 5.1.4 system provided a fantastic addition. Sound moving all around and the announcer during the quiddach match was right overhead. A great experience. If the other disks sound and look this good it was a great buy. Very well done.
17 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
on November 26, 2017
This review is about the set, not the movies. You either like Harry Potter or you don't. I assume that only the former is looking at this set.

Ok, THIS is how a boxed set should be. I've read some horror stories about other sets being mis-matched discs from previous releases (the X-Men collections) and I've seen the beauty that is The Lord of the Rings Extended Edition boxed set (another thing of beauty.) A truly cohesive production with original artwork on every disc. (When was it decided that Blu-ray discs didn't need artwork?)

In truth, I have only just opened the set and have not even inserted one disc into my player. But I wanted to post something now to get one piece of info out there... How to get your digital copy!

I'd read reviews about the codes being expired, so didn't have any expectations. Having bought the set at less than half price on Black Friday, I didn't care. But, since the code was in my hand, I figured why not try.

The original provider of these codes was Flixster. They have been out of the Ultraviolet business for about a year now. Vudu filled their spot. A very good change, since the Vudu interface on all my hardware blows away what Flixster used to have. So I went to Vudu.com, but no love there. Received a message that the code had expired. Had to try. Then I did a little digging on the web and someone suggested going straight to Ultraviolet's web site, myuv.com. At first it didn't look promising, until I noticed down in the lowest left corner of the screen that there was a link to "Redeem Code." I entered my code, the screen took a moment, then said I'd have to go to Vudu to complete my registration of my code. I thought it was just sending my to Vudu's main screen and that it hadn't worked. No, it directed me to a confirmation screen that the movies had been added to my collection. I've since signed back into my account, and there they are.
7 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on May 22, 2017
I really liked this movie. The movie was original and the love story with Jake and Queenie was wonderful. Totally worth getting, I watched it in 3D and it was amazing. I may be old but movies like this make me feel like 10 again. All I ask of a movie is to be entertained and this movie did that - in spades
11 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
Let's start off by specifying which exact item I bought, there are a lot of Harry Potter movie options available. The one I bought was the multi-format version and is somewhere over the 100 price point. It is much more expensive than the bare DVD/Bluray options alone, but it is a true collector's edition. It has 31 (!) discs and they are all packaged in a beautiful hardcover "book". The discs cover the DVD/Bluray/Special Features and the whole book is gorgeous with art. If you are a serious Harry Potter fan, you should definitely get this edition. I feel like I don't need to bother reviewing the movies themselves at this point, but in case you aren't familiar with them, they are great movies and pretty much an integral part of culture by now.
6 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse