Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 85% on textbooks Shop women's shoes nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. New Moto G6 64 GB | $299.99. Save with Prime Exclusive Phones. Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry modern furniture and decor Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now SWMTVT18_gno

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
23,096
Fire HD 10 Tablet with Alexa Hands-Free, 10.1" 1080p Full HD Display, 32 GB, Marine Blue - with Special Offers
Digital Storage Capacity: 32|Offer Type: With Special Offers|Color: Marine Blue|Change
Price:$149.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


If you’re looking for a great do-it-all tablet, and, you use Amazon's services, this is a fantastic media-consumption tablet for you.

I see this tablet made for two demographics: a beginner tablet for young kids (if they break it, it won't break the bank), and as an affordable iPad equivalent/backup Kindle.

— AMAZON SERVICES —
To start, this is an Amazon tablet made to do Amazon things. Since I use Amazon's Audible, listen to Amazon Music, watch Video, read their Kindle books, and shop on Amazon, this device is *perfect* for me. All the digital content that you own or subscribe to can be streamed or stored on this HD 10.

— SCREEN —
Let’s talk about the biggest feature to arrive: a 1080p HD screen! This used to be on the HDX models, but that came with a hefty price. Now, we have a low-cost 1080p device and can watch movies at full HD resolution.

Pixels per inch has increased which means everything looks sharper. PPI helps while reading as you are less likely to zoom in on photos or text in magazines and PDFs.

Also, color saturation is bolder. Reds are distinctly redder, along with all the other colors [see photos].

1080p resolution was the only thing stopping this tablet from being truly must-have, and now it’s here!

— DEVICE SIZE —
Not going to lie, the jump from 8” to 10” is pretty huge. 8” was big enough to still be compact; the same can’t be said of the 10".

This device is now the same size (but wider) as a regular iPad [see photos]. In fact, if you’re watching movies, it’s slightly larger because of the widescreen shape versus the iPad’s squarish shape.

— BACKUP KINDLE —
I have a Kindle Paperwhite. With this tablet, I now have a backup Kindle that I can put all my books on and switch between the two. Granted, it's not the same reading experience, but it's more than fine as a backup device, and it helps divide the lifespan of both devices.

Reading magazines and comics is much more enjoyable because of the large size and color screen. Plus, this is faster than a Kindle at page turning. Adding books is as easy as on a regular Kindle: connect it to a computer, and transfer your files into the Kindle folder. Done.

— APPS —
There are very few apps that I was interested in their store. I got the usual: Netflix and Plex to watch my other content (No Vudu, yet). There are lots of free (in-app) games, with the occasional free gem. Don't expect many productivity apps; emphasis is placed on games. However...

*** MOVIES ANYWHERE ***
As soon as you get your tablet, immediately download the ‘Movies Anywhere’ app on this and your other devices. Launched 10-11-2017, Movies Anywhere connects your Amazon + iTunes + Vudu + Google + Disney accounts together, and you can watch ALL your movies from one app! This is as close to world peace as we’re going to get! Now, it doesn’t really matter what device or service you use, if you buy a movie somewhere you can watch it anywhere! This is the deal sealer!

— INTERFACE —
It's an Android-based OS. I think that says enough. If you've used an Android, you've used them all. The interface and usability are perfectly serviceable. It's definitely not iOS.

— STORAGE —
You can download content to the device for offline viewing. If you intend on storing your media, storage is upgradeable up to 256GB with a microSD card. I think having this option is great and lets you decide how much storage you want to spend separately.

I have the 32GB version. I've downloaded some audiobooks and apps, and have yet to fill that up since I stream most of my content.

*** TIP *** Use the tablet for a while before deciding if you want/need a microSD card.

— SOUND —
Depending on the content, the Dolby sound coming out of the two speakers is sufficient for anything. Obviously, don't expect a movie experience, but you will be able to listen to your music, your audiobooks, and your Netflix without issue.

*** TIP *** Connect Bluetooth headphones/speakers or plug in headphones for louder and fuller sound.

— BATTERY —
The battery on this is pretty darn good. It has about 3-5 days of standby between charges, depending on how you use it. If you were to use it non-stop, you get about ten hours of use. Charge time is about five hours, so best leave that done overnight.

— BUILD —
The plastic back shell feels tough and durable enough that I am not protecting it with a case. However, I did buy a plastic screen protector, as one should for any screen.

— SUMMARY —
This is a decent deal for the Fire HD 10. If you wait for one of their tablet sales, then it’ll definitely be worth it.

If you use a lot of Amazon services, this would make a perfect device for consuming all your media. Recommended.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
3,118 people found this helpful
|2828 comments|Report abuse
on October 16, 2017
This review is for the 64GB, no special offers version of the tablet, regardless of how Amazon shows it. Kept trying to get the right version to show but finally gave up.

11/26/2017 - I've added an update about the Google Play Store

12/10/2017 - Update on MayDay and Keyboard

BACKGROUND:

I own 4 Fire tablets: the original 7", the 2012 8.9", the 2013 7" HDX and the 2014 8.9" HDX. In other words, I was buying a new Fire tablet every year. Then Amazon decided to concentrate on the low end of the market. My HDX tablets are 3 & 4 years old. Since I use the 8.9" daily, the battery has almost completely lost its ability to hold a charge (I can get maybe 2 hours if I limit myself to reading, browsing and Twitter). So, needless to say, like many other HDX owners, I've been waiting for an upgrade. I bought the 64GB no-special-offers model because Amazon gave me no other choice (it doesn't sell refurbished HDX tablets and has no facility for replacing the battery in those older models).

TL;DR:

If you've owned only one of Amazon's low-end Fires of the past several years, I think you will be impressed by the quality of this new model. If you're an HDX lover, you'll probably have very mixed feelings. It's faster and more responsive, but the screen resolution is inferior.

SIZE

It's a bit hard to believe what a difference 1+" and about 4.5 ounces can make in a tablet. The 7" models fit quite nicely in small messenger bags; the 8.9" won't add much weight to a backpack or briefcase. But the 10-inch model is big, too big and heavy for me to hold comfortably in my hands, too large for a messenger bag, too weighty an addition to a backpack.

Caveat: I'm on the short side with correspondingly smallish hands, so if you're on the tallish side, the 10" model may not be a problem for you. (Note: the HD 10 is the same width as the HDX, but it is taller and heavier.)

Amazon's cover is almost useless as a stand for the HD, unless you're putting it on a solid surface. With a stand, the tablet's good for watching videos because, of course, the more real estate the better.

VIDEO QUALITY

The 1080P Full HD, 1920 x1200 display is, without question, the major improvement over Amazon's previous low-end Fires. So, as I indicated above, if you're "moving up", you will be pleased. For we HDX owners, the 1080P matches the video quality, but the resolution is still lower than the 2560 x 1600 we are used to. And it is noticeable.

CAMERA & SOUND

The cameras aren't great but, honestly, who depends on tablets for taking pictures? As for the sound? I'm not an audiophile so don't feel qualified to judge. If I'm listening to music where sound quality matters, I use headphones or a Bluetooth speaker. For the many podcasts I listen to, the speakers are just fine.

OS

The operating system (5.5.x) is only slightly different than what we've had since the 2014 HDX (whose OS was just updated). For me, it has always been, in some key usability areas, less friendly than the 4.5.x OS on the 2013 HDX. There are rumors that Amazon is planning to push out a major revision later this year. If that happens, I will post an update to this review.

Yes, for you Android lovers, it is not a true "Android" system, but if you have bought into the Amazon ecosystem, especially if you are a Prime Member, that shouldn't bother you. As for the complaints from professional reviewers that the design of the OS is confusing, too focused on selling Amazon products? They baffle me. I paid the extra $15 to avoid special offers and turn off Amazon's recommendations in the Settings. I have a number of complaints about the UI but what on earth is complex or confusing about the sections (For You, Books, Video, Games, etc.)?

KEYBOARD

The keyboard on this Fire does not have a "split" option nor a "voice to text" option. I don't know why Amazon did this. In addition, I'm finding the keyboard much less comfortable to use, and I'm not sure why. With covers on both my 8.9" HDX and this HD10, the two devices are essentially the same width. But it is easy for me to type on the 8.9, much more difficult to type on the HD10. Alternate keyboards are available from the App Store but I haven't yet tried any.

MAYDAY (Help)

Amazon has discontinued the MayDay help feature on the HD 10 (2017). It is still available on my HDX tablets. Again, I don't know why Amazon did this. However, when I called tech support with a problem that needed visual confirmation (i.e., seeing what I was seeing would be much easier than trying to explain what I was seeing), support was able to initiate a Mayday session from its side.

GOOGLE PLAY STORE - NOV. 26, 2017 UPDATE

Special Note: every professional reviewer repeats endlessly that Amazon's App Store is not as good as Google's or Apple's. True. The store has fewer apps. But in the years since Amazon launched its first Fire, I've managed to acquire over 200 apps and games, almost all for free. I pretty much have every app I want or need.

It has always been possible to sideload apps (download an APK and install it) to the Fires. For the past year, it has also been possible to install Google's Play Store, without rooting, on any Fire tablet running Fire OS 5 (which means any tablet going back to the 2014 models). Several web sites have instructions, either in text or video (I prefer the text) for downloading the components you need. I suspect Amazon won't let me post a link, but if you search for "installing Google Play Store on Amazon Fire", you will find several. Look them over, follow the steps in whichever source seems to make it easiest for you. It takes only a few moments and, so far, I've been able to install and use the few apps I want which are not available in Amazon's store or do not work without Google's Play services.

Alert: Some users, including me, have reported problems with Books always needing to be re-downloaded. It appears, at this date, that the problem may be due to the Play Store's updating Amazon apps, including Kindle. The Amazon Digital and Device forum has several messages on how to fix the problem if this has happened to you.

As a general rule, if you don't need the Google Play Services for an app or game you want, it is probably smarter to get the .apk file directly (or through 1Mobile). Single non-Amazon apps are less likely to cause global problems.

If you do need the Play Services, after installing the Store, go into "My apps" and turn off automatic updating. Manually update only those apps/games you got from the Google store; don't update Amazon apps or apps/games available from the Amazon store. But remember: there may be other incompatibilities with Amazon's current OS or with any future OS updates. So be aware.

ALEXA

I own two Echos. Alexa and I have a fraught relationship. She understands random words on the TV more often than she understands me (unless I shout). I don't ask much of her (playing the same two radio stations and setting timers cover 90% of my interactions), but she hasn't gotten any more responsive over the years. Today I tried to get her to run Silk (the browser) on the tablet. She didn't understand me. Par for the course.

Update: I had to change the tablet's wake word to "Amazon" to ensure that the Echo responded to "Alexa". Amazon has a "range discriminator" setting but, as far as I can tell, if you're holding the tablet and your Echo is across the room, the tablet will always respond. Not a major issue since you can use one word for the tablet and another for the Echo but one of these days, Amazon may want to permit users to select a call word.

ESTHETICS

I'm baffled by the professional reviewers who complain about the colors, feel, metal vs. plastic body, etc. of Amazon's tablets. (These reviewers must be the same folk who buy designer clothes and deluxe cars.) I use my Fire tablets more than I use my smartphone. It's my goto device for reading books, surfing the web for fun and Twitter. I suppose I'd be upset if it came in some garish color, but black is just fine with me and Amazon does offer options for both the device and covers.

MOVING FROM ONE FIRE TO ANOTHER

Amazon does not make this process easy, although it's gotten better over the years. The Silk bookmarks came through just fine. Some apps and games were downloaded as part of the automatic installation process. Others I had to download manually. If you play games like Candy Crush and have a King or Facebook account, your level will be restored but your boosters won't be. (King stores those locally and Amazon doesn't transfer them). You'll also need to manually install your documents and any other non-Amazon content. A real pain.

The worst part? Recreating the collections on my Home screen. A truly annoying, hours-long process due to a user interface whose designer should be sent to Purgatory.

SUMMARY

As I struggle to hold this "huge" tablet, I can't help but be dismayed by Amazon's decision to abandon the high-end tablet market. For whatever it cost the company to produce a 10" tablet, couldn't it have simply stuck a new processor in the 2014 HDX and re-launched it at an equivalent price point?

But I want to be fair. The 2017 HD 10 seems to be reaching for a sweet spot, a middle ground between the high-end and low-end tablet markets. I'd say that it succeeds.
2,807 people found this helpful
|5150+ comments|Report abuse
As there are several different varieties of the HD10 Fire you can order, to clarify this review is for the 64GB of storage option with special offers. I am also writing this review from the perspective of being a long-time Fire owner, as I have owned and used nearly every model that has come out over the years (my family thinks I have a problem).

To summarize, for $189 for the 64GB option I think you are getting a heck of a deal on a large-sized tablet in comparison to offerings from other table manufacturers. The price keeps getting lower for increased quality – last year’s model cost $230 and the year before that it was $379 for the 8.9” Fire HDX.

As a heavy user of Fires for several years now, I am impressed with this year’s model not only because of the lower price but several things that annoyed me are much improved, particularly with speed of the processor and the quality of the display on several apps I use as well as video. Initial setup was pretty fast – an easy connection to Wi-Fi, enter your Amazon account username and password to establish this Fire is really yours, followed by an approximate ten minute download and installation of a software update.

As I mentioned above, the speed of the Fire’s processor is noticeably faster than last year’s model: some games I like to play on the Fire are much faster in loading and moving onto the next level without much of a lag – last year’s model would hang and think about it for a while. Looking at the technical specs, the quad 1.8GHz is 20% faster: that makes a huge difference in not only some of the game apps I like but in other things such as switching back and forth between various apps (not only game apps, but apps I use around the house as well as for work).

The screen resolution and quality of video playback is very crisp and very good – I thought last year’s model was a big improvement, but they stepped it up another notch with a screen resolution and pixels per inch 125% greater than last year. I watched portions of the same video with this year’s and last year’s model side-by-side and there was a noticeable difference in the quality.

I’ve been more than impressed with the battery life – maybe my previous versions had different batteries, but the things that normally suck the battery down fast (streaming, some game apps) don’t have as much of a drain on this one. Where I normally have to put it on the charger mid-day, I’ve gone two days doing the things I normally do before feeling the need to charge it. I hope this experience lasts!

It’s also not noticeably heavier than what I was expecting with a 16% increase in weight – I have it in a protective case, and when watching a video, playing a game, or reading a book you don’t really notice a difference.

The two speakers are located on the side of the Fire in two not-noticeable ports. My usual test of this feature is cranking up Van Halen's “Panama” to maximum volume (I always want to see if it could really play the guitar licks and hear the bass), and I would alternate covering one speaker up over the other: you have true stereo sound, but you’re not able to crank it up as much as you could other models as the sound starts to degrade and you think you are about to blow the speaker. The speakers sound nice at about 50% or less on the indication bar and you do get to hear the bass. One thing to point out is there is not a default equalizer with this Fire: everything sounds the same. To get the most out of the bass and treble, as well as to turn down the mid-range, I highly recommend you downloading and installing one of the many free equalizer apps here from the Amazon app store as it makes a huge difference, especially if you are listening with headphones. Speaking of headphones, the sound sounds great using my cheap box store branded headphones.

It also comes with a port on the opposite side of the speakers to insert a memory card – I added a 256GB memory card to transfer music to it. Sure, you can listen to your music store in the cloud or stream away from your favorite streaming provider, but as I travel a lot it is convenient to have a lot of music stored on it for listening to on the plane.

Reading books is straight forward and turning pages is easy - just tap the side of the screen to go to the next page or back a page, or you can swipe your finger across the screen to do the same.

The Alexa app is incorporated into this version of the Fire tablet – by default, it is “on” and always listening and you will need to manually disable the auto-listen feature and replace it with the “push to talk” option (for lack of a better phrase) if that is your desire. I didn’t realize that when I was in my office and thought I was talking to my Echo Dot – the Fire answered instead. Yes, I know the instructions say if two devices are in the same room the Fire would be the option of last resort to automatically answer, but that was not my experience. Having the Alexa app built-in for voice commands is convenient, as my household has become more dependent on the integrated Alexa gadgets running our household. I do like it built-in as I am able to put in an alarm or timer using my voice, mainly to tell me it is time to put the Fire down and my lunch break at work is over!

One thing I don't like is everything pushes you to purchase something from the Amazon website- I understand it, but it would be nice to have a competitor's app store available for the Fire tablet.

If you are new to the tablet world or need a new tablet, or are looking to upgrade from a smaller size I would highly recommend getting this one – not only for the positive technical aspects above but you can get all of this for less than $200. As someone who was disappointed with last year’s version and always looking forward to trying the next one, I am very impressed and will be retiring my beloved 8.9" model.
1,053 people found this helpful
|66 comments|Report abuse
on November 18, 2017
Amazon is close to making the perfect budget tablet. First of all, I own the 2017 HD 8 as well and feel that this is a great upgrade. The size difference being obvious and the 10 might be a bit large for some but you may feel that it's a noteworthy upgrade. Everything seems to run smoother and faster. And it's brighter, sharper, and louder.

The higher resolution is immediately noticeable. I can't believe that companies still make low res tablets. I bit my tongue and bought the HD 8 and regretted it for that. My 5 year old Nexus 7 had full HD and was sharp and crisp. This new HD 10 is beautiful. Even though it doesn't have the highest pixel density for reading fonts, it's perfectly acceptable for consuming video. The IPS display is very forgiving horizontally but slightly less so vertically. The screen is not as bright as an iPad but in my opinion it's fine for all but direct sunlight.

The speakers, they're not full sounding at all. Very tinny with no bass. You're neighbors aren't ever going to complain, but it's significantly louder than the HD 8 which I struggle to hear anywhere except in a quite room. The HD 10, I can actually watch movies and hear things while I'm doing things around the house or at work. But paired to my Bluetooth speaker, this thing is really amazing. I have an Amazon Music account and since Alexa works even while in stand by, I can request it to play whatever I want. By now, most of you know what Alexa can do. And you know how convenient it is. And a lot of you spent money buying Echos, Dots, and Shows. And a lot of you have nice BT speakers and even stereo systems at home. Ummm... why not use your Fire HD 10 and your $300 BT speaker instead? My friend has a Show and it's fairly impressive. But my HD 10 and JBL Xtreme will blow it out of the water.

Battery life is really good imho. I pushed it hard at work today. I had it streaming an event from 9:30AM to 3:30PM connected to bluetooth speakers. The screen was set to maximum brightness with adaptive brightness turned off. It had 2% battery left. I used the supplied charger and it took 3 hours to fully charge. 6 hours at max brightness is really impressive for a $150 full HD 10 inch tablet with a relatively high nit value. At medium or low brightness setting, I can't see why this couldn't last it's rated 9 hours of play time. I've had the HD 8 stream non stop for 8 hours before I had to shut it down for the day but I don't recall the battery capacity left. For all I know it could've gone 9 or 10 hours. That little sucker keeps chugging on.

Unlock it's full potential. There are easy 4 step guides on YT to install Google Play Store. It literally takes 5 mins. Click to install a few files. That's it. This won't do anything bad to the tablet. All it's doing is installing files that all other Android tablets normally come with. It doesn't erase anything. And it doesn't overwrite anything. But you can install the YouTube app from the Google Play Store instead of the Amazon store and get full HD content. You can install Chrome browser and sync everything across all your platforms. Gmail, Kodi, Utorrent, yada yada yada. There's just so many things that Amazon app store doesn't have that many of us need. I wouldn't have purchased the HD 10 unless Google Play Store was available.

Anyways, if you're on the fence between the HD 8 and the HD 10, I would steer you towards the 10. It provides a more immersive experience with it's sharp screen and loud speakers. If you want stocking stuffers this holiday, get the HD 8 and miser a HD 10 for yourself. And if you're on the fence between the HD 10 and the basic iPad, unless you're locked into Apple's eco system, I don't see a reason to spend more than double for the iPad with their locked storage capacity. A 32GB iPad is $329 and a 128GB is $429. For some of us, storage capacity is a big deal. Whether we're working with photography or downloading a ton of music, or storing hours and hours of movies and TV shows to watch in airports, planes, and hotels. And compared to the Pro models, the regular iPad feels cheap with it's thicker body and double layered screen (albeit still feels more top shelf than the HD 10). The one thing going for iPads are the wider 4:3 screen format for reading. I find older style screen formats to be more comfortable for stacking in longer lines for reading.

What I don't like. There's no Fintie Tuatara with Magic Ring case! I have one for the HD 8 and it's incredible. Basically a giant rugged case with a kickstand that rotates so there's no limit on how to angle it in portrait and landscape modes. Also, the speakers are acceptable but I wish that they were better. Fuller sounding with more bass. And although I can link my Spotify premium account to the HD 10 Alexa App, when I request it, it says that Spotify is not supported on this device. That's a shame really because I use Spotify for all my music. I can still just use the Spotify app, just not with Alexa. The battery life is good. But can be better. Just compare it to an iPad. And last but not least, the screen is acceptably bright. But it can be brighter. Again, compare it to an iPad. But let's be real. This is a $150 tablet with a micro SD slot.

EDIT: The Fintie Tuatara is coming out in a couple of days! And I added a 64GB micro SD card to store offline Netflix and Amazon videos. An entire season of Mind Hunter or Stranger Things is only a couple of gigs in standard quality and 7 or 8 gigs for high so you can store enough movies for a week or two for $20. To store vids on the SD card, go to the Fire HD Settings then Storage and make sure that Download Movies and TV Shows to SD card is clicked on. And in the Netflix app, click the hamburger then App Settings and set Download Location to SD card. You can also set the Download Video Quality to standard or high. Bought a 2nd Fire HD 10 in 32GB for $99 during Black Friday to keep at work for reading. Andy Weir's new book Artemis is calling. I've gotta go.
482 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon October 22, 2017
I’m​ ​really​ ​immersed​ ​into​ ​Amazon’s​ ​ecosystem.​ ​I​ ​have​ ​the​ ​original​ ​Echo in my living room,​ ​an​ ​Echo​ ​Spot ​in​ ​my bedroom,​ The 2nd gen Echo in my home gym, an​ ​Echo​ ​dot​ ​at​ ​work,​ ​an​ ​Echo​ ​show​ ​in​ ​the​ ​kitchen,​ ​the​ ​fire​ ​7​ ​tablet,​ ​fire​ ​stick,​ ​fire​ ​TV box,​ ​and​ ​now​ ​a​ ​Fire​ ​10​ ​HD​ ​with​ ​Alexa.​ ​I​ ​have​ ​Alexa​ ​controlling​ ​my​ ​fans,​ ​TVs,​ ​fire​ ​TV​ ​devices, thermostat,​ ​security​ ​cameras,​ ​lights,​ ​surround​ ​sound,​ ​and​ ​space​ ​heaters.I’ve​ ​been​ ​using​ ​Alexa ​for​ ​the​ ​last​ ​2​ ​years​ ​and​ ​the​ ​devices​ ​have​ ​become​ ​a​ ​routine​ ​part​ ​of​ ​my​ ​daily​ ​life.​ ​I​ ​preordered the​ ​Echo​ ​show​ ​(Alexa​ ​with​ ​a​ ​screen)​ ​and​ ​was​ ​very ​disappointed​ ​with​ ​my​ ​$230.00​ ​purchase.​ ​What I​ ​realized​ ​I​ ​really​ ​wanted​ ​was​ ​everything​ ​the​ ​Fire​ ​10​ ​HD​ ​with​ ​Alexa​ ​could​ ​do.​ ​It’s​ ​like​ ​amazon heard​ ​my​ ​grievances​ ​and​ ​within​ ​months​ ​developed​ ​the​ ​tablet ​I​ ​wanted.

When​ ​I​ ​heard​ ​about​ ​the​ ​new​ ​Fire​ ​10​ ​HD​ ​I​ ​hesitated​ ​on​ ​pre​ ​ordering​ ​it​ ​after​ ​feeling​ ​burned​ ​by​ ​my Echo​ ​show​ ​experience.​ ​I​ ​decided​ ​to​ ​wait​ ​and​ ​see​ ​how​ ​the​ ​reviews​ ​turned​ ​out.​ ​Well​ ​today​ ​I received​ ​my​ ​Fire​ ​10​ ​HD​ ​tablet​ ​and​ ​after​ ​a​ ​few​ ​hours​ ​of​ ​experimenting​ ​with​ ​it​ ​I’ve​ ​come​ ​to​ ​the conclusion​ ​not​ ​only​ ​is​ ​the​ ​Fire​ ​10​ ​HD​ ​tablet​ ​a​ ​snappy well​ ​rounded​ ​tablet,​ ​it’s​ ​also​ ​everything​ ​I wish​ ​the​ ​Echo​ ​Show​ ​would​ ​have​ ​been.

I​ ​currently​ ​own​ ​a​ ​ASUS​ ​Chromebook​ ​flip​ ​which​ ​is​ ​a​ ​mini​ ​laptop​ ​that​ ​can​ ​be​ ​converted​ ​into​ ​a tablet,​ ​a​ ​Fire​ ​7​ ​2017​ ​tablet,​ ​and​ ​an android 10" ASUS​ ​Memopad​ ​tablet.​ ​So​ ​the​ ​real​ ​question​ ​is​ ​how​ ​well​ ​does the​ ​Fire​ ​10​ ​perform​ ​compared​ ​to​ ​other​ ​tablets?​ ​My​ ​experience​ ​is​ ​it’s​ ​very​ ​responsive​ ​to​ ​touch,​ ​I think​ ​out​ ​of​ ​my​ ​4​ ​tablets​ ​it’s​ ​the​ ​most​ ​responsive.​ ​It​ ​also​ ​has​ ​the​ ​best​ ​looking​ ​display.​ ​The display​ ​also​ ​looks​ ​better​ ​than​ ​the​ ​Echo​ ​Show. Other than my Chromebook my Fire tablet has more expandable storage, however my Fire tablet beats out all my tablets including my Chromebook with internal storage space. As a side note the Echo Show has no internal storage everything is stored on the cloud. My Chromebook and Fire 10 HD tablet run neck and neck on battery life I can get at least 8 hours of use from both of these devices. My 10" ASUS Memopad about 4-5 hours, Fire 7 table about 6 hours, and it goes without saying the Echo Show is plugged in so there is no internal battery.

My​ ​Fire​ ​10​ ​sounds​ ​significantly​ ​better​ ​than​ ​my​ ​Chromebook,​ ​it’s​ ​probably​ ​twice​ ​as​ ​loud​ ​as​ ​my
Fire​ ​7​ ​tablet, and on par with my ASUS tablet.​ ​The​ ​sound​ ​on​ ​my​ ​Echo​ ​Show​ ​is​ ​significantly​ ​better.​ ​Pages​ ​and​ ​content​ ​loaded without​ ​any​ ​stuttering.​ ​The​ ​memory​ ​never​ ​seemed​ ​taxed​ ​or​ ​overworked​ ​despite​ ​the​ ​fact​ ​I​ ​had multiple​ ​windows​ ​and​ ​apps​ ​running​ ​in​ ​the​ ​background​ ​while​ ​I​ ​was​ ​watching​ ​a​ ​​movie​ ​on​ ​Netflix.

I​ ​really​ ​don’t​ ​understand​ ​the​ ​complaints​ ​about​ ​the​ ​sound​ ​or​ ​picture​ ​quality.​ ​I​ ​think​ ​that​ ​both​ ​are much​ ​better​ ​than​ ​I​ ​expected,​ ​and​ ​are​ ​strengths​ ​not​ ​weaknesses​ ​of​ ​the​ ​Fire​ ​10.​ ​There​ ​are complaints​ ​about​ ​not​ ​having​ ​access​ ​to​ ​Google​ ​Play​ ​store.​ ​It’s​ ​not​ ​rocket​ ​science​ ​do​ ​a​ ​google search​ ​how​ ​to​ ​install​ ​google​ ​play​ ​on​ ​the​ ​new​ ​Fire​ ​10.​ ​There​ ​are​ ​4​ ​links​ ​you​ ​click​ ​on​ ​that​ ​will​ ​take you​ ​straight​ ​to​ ​the​ ​4​ ​downloads​ ​you​ ​need​ ​to​ ​install​ ​straight​ ​from​ ​the​ ​tablet.​ ​Once​ ​you​ ​download them​ ​restart​ ​the​ ​tablet​ ​and​ ​that’s​ ​all​ ​there​ ​is​ ​to​ ​it.​ ​You​ ​now​ ​have​ ​complete​ ​access​ ​to​ ​google​ ​Play in​ ​under​ ​5​ ​minutes​ ​and​ ​all​ ​you​ ​had​ ​to​ ​do​ ​was​ ​4​ ​downloads. For those that complained about lack of HDMI output you can cast straight to fire sticks and boxes and even better control them with your voice. Using a HDMI cable seems like going back to the stone ages in comparison, but if it is a must you can buy a micro USB to HDMI converter pretty cheap on Amazon.

I​ ​honestly​ ​can’t​ ​think​ ​of​ ​one​ ​thing​ ​I​ ​can​ ​complain​ ​about​ ​with​ ​this​ ​tablet.​ ​If​ ​you​ ​purchase​ ​it expecting​ ​it​ ​to​ ​wow​ ​you​ ​over​ ​a​ ​higher​ ​end​ ​Samsung​ ​or​ ​Ipad​ ​it’s​ ​not​ ​going​ ​to​ ​happen,​ ​but​ ​for $150.00​ ​you​ ​are​ ​purchasing​ ​this​ ​tablet​ ​at​ ​cost.​ ​Amazon​ ​isn’t​ ​trying​ ​to​ ​get​ ​rich​ ​off​ ​of​ ​the​ ​tablet,​ ​it’s all​ ​the​ ​other​ ​things​ ​you​ ​are going to​ ​buy​ ​from​ ​the​ ​tablet​ ​that​ ​is​ ​going​ ​to​ ​make​ ​them​ ​their​ ​money.​ ​It’s definitely​ ​the​ ​best​ ​$150.00​ ​I’ve​ ​ever​ ​spent.​ ​Android​ ​tablets​ ​usually​ ​start​ ​to​ ​get​ ​outdated​ ​within​ ​3-5 years.​ ​At​ ​the p​rice​ ​point​ ​of​ ​the​ ​Fire​ ​10​ ​you​ ​can​ ​buy​ ​a​ ​new​ ​one​ ​every​ ​2​ ​years​ ​and​ ​still​ ​pay​ ​less then​ ​trying​ ​to​ ​stay​ ​up​ ​to​ ​date​ ​with​ ​Android’s​ ​tech.

Why should you consider buying the fire 10 HD over the Echo show? The tablet's screen is 10" vs the Shows 7". The tablet will show you everything the Echo Show can with the same exact artwork. You can't watch news clips from your daily briefing with the Fire 10 HD.The clips really don't show much footage and should not be a deal breaker. You can't use Amazon's video chat from the tablet. Chances are everyone you'd want to video chat with has Skype, Oovoo or other services the Show can't use. The Fire 10 is portable where as the Show has to be plugged in. The Show has an awkwardly positioned camera angle for video calls. The Show can't display as much content on it's screen. The Show has much richer audio and bass. However you can connect bluetooth speakers to the tablet and improve the audio. Both have the always listening capability with Alexa. Honestly unless you have to have Amazon's video chat all the advantages are with the Fire 10. As a side note you don't have to have an Echo Show to use Amazon's video chat. You can use it for free from your phone using the Alexa app. Let's face it you can pretty much do everything the Show is capable of doing with the tablet, plus you have all the features of a tablet, and it's portable! I personally feel the display on my fire 10 is much better than my Echo Show. All I ever use my show for is listening to music, news briefings, adding and removing items to my shopping list, maybe an occasional movie while cooking if there is any thing decent on Prime videos, and controlling my smart devices. The Fire 10 is perfectly capable of completing all of these tasks and more. Alexa on my Fire 10 works with all my home smart devices, and instantly carries over all of my existing Alexa settings. I can open apps by asking Alexa. Unlike my Echo Show I can watch Netflix, HULU, Youtube and other streaming services through my Fire 10.As a testimony to how much I love this tablet I bought 4 more for Christmas presents. I get the best of both worlds with all the benefits of Amazon's services, Alexa on my tablet and Google's Playstore. Having an Android tablet means missing out on how well Amazon integrates all of their services in to a tablet and no Alexa. If you found this review helpful please click on the this was helpful tab.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
545 people found this helpful
|1010 comments|Report abuse
on October 14, 2017
Browse the reviews of this tablet and you'll quickly discover that your happiness with it will entirely depend upon your expectations. If you're looking for a tablet that can play videos beautifully, present a hard-back book sized version of your kindle content, shop Amazon with ease (of course) and respond to your Alexa commands, you'll likely be very pleased. If you're entrenched in the non-Amazon Android tablet universe and expecting the same functionality, you're most likely going to be disappointed. I was surprised at a few things that were on my old Fire HDX 8.9 that I didn't find on this model. There is no HDMI port to pipe video to a tv (something I used a lot with my old unit), and no mirroring capability to speak of. The screen resolution is lower, 224 compared to the previous 323 ppi. I found the videos I watched to be very good quality, though. You wouldn't notice the lack of resolution unless you were previously used to working with a high-res tablet. I was really hoping that the Alexa integration on the Fire HD 10 would extend to Spotify, but that is not the case. Other than opening the app, there is zero integration. What has me boxing up the unit to send back to Amazon, though, is something I didn't realize would be a big deal: there is no keyboard button to voice type or voice search on this tablet. The silk browser has come a long way, and I enjoyed using it, but the lack of voice search combined with a clunky keyboard that cannot be replaced by third-party keyboard apps is a dealbreaker. I was hoping the Alexa feature may substitute for this, but it is clumsy at best. Attempts to search the web inevitably lead me back to related product pages for the Amazon store. I had to work a bit to get to the web results I wanted.

If you are buying this unit for long plane rides or to pass the time, at this price point picking one up is a no-brainer. It is very very good for what it was designed for. If you want not only a media consumption device but a tablet that can function as a customizable portable computer, you might find it somewhat limiting.
823 people found this helpful
|44 comments|Report abuse
I'll preface this by saying I have 6 other Fire tablets, so I'm very much an Amazon fan. That said. My HD 10 is my favorite of the lot. Why? Well. It's got Dolby sound, which is awesome for watching movies. It loads apps fast, I never wait. It has snappy response when you type or want to do anything, and honestly, it loads faster than my iPad. I'm blind, but from what I'm told, the display is beautiful and clean. The fact that you can get a 64 gig Fire with expandable storage that can make it hold more than many ultra books is amazing. It is durable, light and thin. The battery life is amazing. Using VoiceView to read email, play some games, and type a paper, I've gotten more than 10 hours out of it. Alexa hands free makes Siri look like a child's toy. I can open any app with Alexa, and she can just go with me anywhere. The For You screen has allowed me to find new books and things I like, that I'd never have found before. And the big screen allows me to watch movies with other folks instead of alone.
I can't see any cons to that. Maybe the fact that it's plastic, but really that's actually good. I have labradors. My tablets have taken many a fall thanks to their wagging tails. While my Apple devices have been scratched, my Amazon ones have not, thanks to that durable plastic backing.
Now, for those of you curious. This Fire, like all the others, comes with VoiceView accessibility. Many android tablet makers turn off the accessibility shortcut when they put their skins over the OS. I've sent many a tablet back for that reason. Amazon allows you to turn on accessibility simply by holding 2 fingers on the screen when the device starts. Then it is permanently on, unless you turn it off. I haven't found any inaccessible apps, but I mostly use amazon content which is naturally accessible to us all.
Oh, and while the NFB and others haven't noticed this, I have. Thanks, Amazon for the braille support! Now, I can pick which braille code I prefer, just as a sighted person can pick font. I can have VoiceView automatically mute when my braille display is on and connected, which is brilliant. The Fires are the only devices that allow this. So thanks, for allowing me to read, rather than listen like any other person. And thanks for making books accessible to us all, because rather than the library for the blind, I can just buy my books from the kindle store.
Overall, if you want amazing sound, a beautiful display, and a tablet that can both work and play, and you want a large slate, this HD10 is perfect! It's my favorite tablet of them all! PS. I typed this on my Fire, so long document typing is more than possible.
2,086 people found this helpful
|88 comments|Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon October 13, 2017
UPDATE: One full movie and much YouTube later, I have to take my hats off to Amazon; the screen is incredible, and in the Laptop Mag review they actually tested the screen on a colorimeter and it exceeds the standard for 100% sRGB color capability. It's easy to hold thanks to the rounded edge, but I'm adding a Moko case next week for safety. BTW the color accuracy of the HD 7 and HD 8 tested, per Laptop Mag, at 79% or so each; personally, I think the HD 8 is much better with colors and contrast than the HD 7, and both are much, much "worse" than the HD 10. After the HD 10, my 7 is going to be given away, and my 8 will be limited to Kindle. The HD 10 is THAT much better.,

ORIGINAL review, some updates added <like this>:

This is an early review based on a couple of hours with the lunch-bag packaged 2017 Fire HD 10 that just arrived. I will update as I watch more videos.

High points:

1. 1080p is essential. Forget those other bargain tablets (Lenovo Tab 4 10") with just 720p - sure the Amazon is a "GoogleApp-free zone" but for all practical purposes the 1080p capability is more important than the Google Apps. Remember, you can always use the web browser as a mobile "computer" alternative.

2. Beautiful, beautiful colors and super bright. Ok, not as bright as the 2017 iPad but that is downright blinding. <That was my first 1 hour of set up and playing around impression; read my opening paragraph, because my initial impressions are both confirmed and exceeded.>

3. Great sound from the tablet and OF COURSE from headphones once you plug them in the old-fashioned, "real" earphone plug. <Headphone audio is even MORE impressive than I originally thought. On movies with surround sound encoding, the Dolby Atomos-simulation is astonishing. It can't create a true 3D soundstage - the original Dolby Heaphone from years ago created a fakey soundstage - but there is something very immersive and subtle in the audio quality. Try a movie with good soundstaging, then flip to a stereo YouTube, and you'll instantly notice the difference in depth and richness.>

4. Wide angle, vs. copypaper-shaped, screen ROCKS for video. NO letterboxing (black bands above and below the video) except for Lawrence of Arabia and other extreme wide angle content. <I watched The Babysitter horror comedy last night and got...much letterboxing. TV is usually filmed for 16:9 HDTV widescreen, but even some current, budget content is apparently fond of Lawrence of Arabia levels of "widest screen". At least the letterboxing was much less annoying than on my iPad!>

5. $149. Let me repeat that: $149. $149 for a QUALITY tablet not no-name junk. <Given that the screen quality on this one seems to match the luxo 10" Fire tablets from the past - the HDX comes to mind - the pricing is even more astonishing.>

6. Amazon. Yeah we all complain about Amazon hardware being a tool to sell us Amazon stuff, but first we all voluntarily shop here anyway. Second, Amazon has some of the best software people in the world - AWS has been the backbone of other software companies. I don't expect any hacks or security <issues - sorry, left that out originally!>from this Amazon tablet, ever.

7. The new Fire TV coming out later this month has Android Nougat 7.1 underpinnings, so expect an update to current FireOS before the end of the year. <Not that there is anything wrong with the current 5.x.x Android underpinnings, in terms of front-facing User Interface/User Experience issues; remember, Amazon has been improving the user interface regularly even if they haven't been rebuilding the foundations;l when this moves to Android 7.1.1's foundation, that's good news for the developers but not much should change for us.>

Negatives:

a. No Google GMail, Maps, anything at all. No Apple iTunes, iMessage, etc. of course, but new Fire customers are often shocked to find out no Google either.

b. <Actually not so bad after all - average amounts, not tons, of reflections, so ignore this old section except for my generally useful observation that nighttime watching, lights low, is best on this - and on ANY tablet.>Tons of reflections on the screen in room light. BUT I've paid many zillions of ducats for anti-reflective coated high-end tablets and still not liked room-light reflections. My solution is to watch videos in a theater-style darkened room.

c. It's big. Don't throw out your 7" or 8" tablet. <Slippery too, watch out! The back is matte and fingerprint resistant, but it's NOT grippy, add Gun Tape or tennis racket wrap to the back or just buy a case.>

d. Those aren't cameras on it. They are abominations. Maybe useful for a product scan. <"Maybe useful for a product scan" IN GOOD LIGHT.>

e. The location of the headphone jack is workable for movie watching but all the controls are on the same side. <This is an incredibly petty nitpick, which shows how far I had to deep to rally some criticism. Look - not running Google Apps is a huge negative for many of us, less so for fans of Amazon. Having all the controls on one edge is w00h00 silly to criticize.>

f. <WRONG after a full charge the battery seems rock solid but Amazon doesn't include "remaining hours" or "hours used" so far and I obviously haven't had enough time to loop some movies at full and half brightness for a more accurate "test." Subjectively, though, I can tell you that the battery seems to eat 10% an hour or even less watching full-brightness Netflix.> Battery is dropping faster than I thought, but full brightness could be a factor, or maybe the battery indicator isn't fully calibrated yet.

g. Older version (Amazon's version) of Android.

STANDOUT

Where can you find a decent tablet THIS SIZE. <Not just that 10.1" is incredible for tablet movie fans like me, the screen quality is right up there with Apple, which is incredible. It's not just being half the price of the 2017 iPad; it's being the right proportions for TV and movies.>
271 people found this helpful
|66 comments|Report abuse
on November 22, 2017
I just bought this tablet on the black Friday sale and I was able to install google play store by following a guide at the xda developers forum. Find it by googling: [HOW-TO] Install Google Play Store (Fire OS 5.X) (No Root/PC/ADB). The tablet came with firmware 5.4.1.0. It just took a few minutes to install the google play apps and I did not have any problems, but later after the tablet updated to 5.6.0.0 the install button was grayed out when I attempted to side load another app (humble bundle apk), but I just put the tablet to sleep then turned it back on and the install button was no longer grayed out.

Note that once you install google play services then you will probably be able to keep installing apps from the google play store regardless of what amazon does in later updates. So far amazon has just attempted to prevent people from side-loading apps, but once the google play store is installed on a tablet the apps that you install through it are not side-loaded. So unless amazon takes more drastic measures we should be able to keep installing things with google play.

If you do have problems with something try googling: xda Amazon Fire HD 8 and HD 10. This will get you the xda forum area for these tablets.

(See end of review for a way to replace the Fire OS launcher.)

Pros:
*Great screen: 224 dpi, vivid colors, very bright, and excellent viewing angle.
*Very responsive touch screen
*Apps run fast and smooth
*32 GB Memory
*2 GB RAM
*Bluetooth works with all of my devices
*Dual Band ac WiFi with good range
*It is still possible to install google play services
*It is possible to use another launcher (see end of review)

Neutral:
*610 on 3D Mark Sling Shot Unlimited benchmark
*Average battery life
*Average quality sound

Cons:
*Fire OS (based on Android 5.1) instead of vanilla Android
*Outer casing, looks/feels a bit cheap.
*Bad quality cameras
*Weighs 17.5 ounces
*Locked down to Amazon’s stuff, but you can get around some of it.
*Advertises in the lock screen, unless you pay to turn off special offers.
*No root at the moment and forced updates

Bottom Line: This tablet is an excellent low cost multimedia tablet; great for videos, comics, books, and web browsing and decent enough for games and music.

Review:
The Amazon Fire HD 10 is a really solid large mid-level tablet. It may not be a high-end tablet, but it is certainly not low-end either.
This is probably the best screen you can get on a tablet for anywhere near this price, it is bright, vivid, and sharp. Plus the Fire HD 10 has a large amount of storage and ram for this price. The touch screen is also super responsive, a better then my last tablet (dell venue 8 pro). The tablet runs very smooth and things hardly ever lag even when multitasking. All of the apps that I tried run fast, Firefox and Chrome are just as quick as on my high-end pc. Dual band ac WiFi. I haven’t really had it long enough to know, but so far the battery life seems about average. Decent enough speakers, fairly loud for a tablet, average sound quality. Bluetooth works with everything that I have tried: MEE Runaway Headphones, Fosmon Mini Keyboard, Logitech Ultrathin Touch Mouse, and even my Yemenren M8 Cordless Earphones (they only work with half of the things that I have tried them with).

It is ok for games, I tried several and they worked well. Except for Need for speed no limits, everything was blacked out on it. It scored 12326 on 3D mark’s Ice Storm Unlimited and 610 on Sling Shot Unlimited benchmarks. For reference this is a bit better than the Galaxy Tab S and bit worse than the iphone5, iPad air, iPad mini 3, and the Galaxy Tab S2. This is a bit low for a 2017 tablet, but it is around the average for mobile devices so it should run current mobile games fine.

The outer casing and buttons are matte plastic so they look/feel a bit cheap, but it seems durable and does not leave fingerprints. The tablet is a bit heavier at 17.5 ounces and a bit thicker at around 10 mm than some tablets of this size.

Overall I am happy with this tablet, I bought it to replace an old windows dell venue 8 pro tablet with faulty WiFi and Bluetooth. In terms of hardware my 2013 dell ($400-$500) was sort of similar to this tablet (hard to compare because it is a completely different chip architecture), but it ran windows 10, while this is android, so the Fire HD 10 runs much faster. Also the WiFi and Bluetooth both work much better, the screen is bigger, higher resolution, brighter and more vivid, and the battery life is better. I bought a windows tablet at the time because I thought that I could use it for stuff at collage, but I ended up just using it as a multimedia tablet anyway.

Replacing the Launcher:
If you hate Amazon’s Fire OS you can use an app to redirect the home button to the launcher of your choice, this requires allowing an app permissions to see what you type on the tablet, but the app is open source so it should be safe. To find the tutorial for this google: New: Any Launcher, No Root (Launcher Hijack V3). Unfortunately a lot of launchers will bug you constantly to set them as default, which you cannot do on this tablet. Also widgets will not work on this tablet, because amazon disabled them completely somewhere.
Here are the best launchers that I have found that work with this tablet and do not have to be set as default: Evie, Atom, NOVA, Holo, Leena. I highly recommend Evie, with the right settings it has a really polished look and feel like something that would have come installed on the tablet.
79 people found this helpful
|33 comments|Report abuse
 All in this is a great value. It performs well for the price and it has a superb display that's good for video watching and web browsing. Most of the major services are available through the Amazon app store. Fans of YouTube will need to do a little more work to bring the official Android app over to this device.

The tablet integrates Alexa voice commands without the need to push a button. It is essentially a portable Amazon Echo. It also smartly works with other echo devices nearby to determine which of the devices executes the command to avoid duplication.

For the price I can't find much to complain about here.

Here's an index to the video so you can jump to the part that interest you most:
00:38 - Amazon offers / ads
01:02 - Configuration options and prices
01:08 - Marker 3
01:15 - Display quality
01:38 - Video playback: Amazon Video / Netflix, etc
01:55 - Weight
02:15 - Warranty
02:22 - Processor and RAM
02:45 - Speakers and ports
03:13 - Battery life
03:43 - SD cars slot
04:11 - No Google Play Store
05:15 - Amazon's YouTube "app"
05:38 - Cameras
06:05 - Hands free Alexa voice support
06:36 - Tablet can disable other nearby echos from duplicating commands
07:06 - Displaying Alexa queries from other Echo devices
08:04 - Performance: Web browsing
08:41 - Narrow for reading
09:08 - Reading in direct sunlight
09:25 - Gaming: Minecraft
10:06 - Gaming: Goat Simulator
10:37 - 3DMark Slingshot Benchmark Test
11:21 - Cord cutting viewer with HDHomerun tuner
12:15 - Conclusion and final thoughts
335 people found this helpful
|88 comments|Report abuse