Industrial Deals Best Books of the Year So Far Men's Summer Sneakers nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. New LG V35 ThinQ | $699.99. Save with Prime Exclusive Phones. Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon outcastS4 outcastS4 outcastS4  Echo All-new Show Mode Charging Dock Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now STL18_GNO



on November 28, 2016
In the end, this looks like just about every other case for the tablet, or any other tablet for that matter. It's a bit more lightweight than others, but fits the Fire HD 8 perfectly and works well as a stand. The only reason it didn't get five stars is that it came out of the wrapper smelling awful, and it took a couple of days for the stink to go away, especially when it got on my fingers. I'm sure it's some kind of sealant or treatment they used on the vinyl, but it's stinky.

Other than that issue, this is a perfectly fine case for a budget tablet. It should provide the right amount of protection, it works correctly by turning off the tablet when it is closed and waking it up when its opened, and as I said, it's a decent stand for tabletop viewing. You'll save a few bucks and get a perfectly fine case. Just beware of the smell but know that it does go away.
22 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on October 6, 2016
great case, but has some weird smell to it. plastic like, but also kinda stinky. It has gone away somewhat since opening package, but it's still smells funny. If it wasn't for that, it would be 5 stars. Very slim, magnetic closure works well, looks nice, feels like leather.
15 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on October 25, 2016
Decent value - if I couldn't find the old type of case for my new Fire 8"( the kind of case that rotates the tablet to put it in a vertical or horizontal position in the standing mode), I wanted something slim and nondescript. And inexpensive. This is that. you can only stand it up in horizontal position, but it is stable.The only drawback it has is when I fold the cover back during reading, there is nothing to secure it, so it flops around a little.
10 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
on June 14, 2017
Very nice case that fits the Fire HD 8 (2017 release) just right and it looks like it will provide adequate protection. The cover is nicely textured with a leathery feel that allows you to have a secure grip. The buttons and ports are easily accessible. The front cover folds into a triangular shape behind the screen to prop the device up in the landscape mode. You can prop it up in the portrait mode BUT you must do a bit of a balancing act and the screen can not be tilted back. Hence the reason for knocking off one star. The cover has two small magnets that keep it securely closed when not in use. Somehow, the Fire senses when the cover is opened and automatically awakens and conversely, the device goes into the sleep mode when the cover is closed. I find this to be a cool feature. Overall It is a very good case for the money.
5 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on June 13, 2017
I like the feel of the case but have two complaints; After little use and treated carefully, there is a crack appearing at the speaker holes on both my and my wife's cases. I cannot see it last long with heavy to moderate use, but it's okay for us. secondly, the magnetic closure works great, in fact, too great! If you flip the cover around where the magnetic cover is directly behind the edge of the tablet, it can turn off your tablet. The Fire HD has a sensor in the frame that can tell when the cover is closed and turn off your tablet. It can get activated when you have it behind the sensor too. You'll need to keep it back form the edge a bit.
5 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on December 28, 2017
The stand works just like it should and I have no complaints at all regarding functionality. The reason I cannot rate this more than 3 stars is that it smells horribly. There is a dead fish type smell on this case that you can smell from 5 feet away that has not dissipated at all, in the 2 months I have owned it. I have tried putting the case outside in the sun for days, spraying it with various air fresheners, etc. but after you put the tablet back in the case for a day the smell comes right back in full force. This case is like the Seinfeld episode with the smelly car you can't get rid of the smell. I'm pretty much out of options other than buying something else and recommend that unless you like the smell of dead fish to look for a different case.
3 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on December 12, 2017
Actually, I bought this tablet case thinking it was the same brand I had purchased some time ago for my Amazon 7 inch tablet only to find out it was not. To describe the product; it has a vinyl covering unlike the leather or simulated leather covering I was expecting. One thing I liked about the case is that the tablet snaps nicely into a plastic back allowing access to all the controls and charging port and easy to remove, if necessary. However, as stated, instead of a leather like material, it is covered with thin vinyl on the outside, but does make it non slip from your hands and somewhat lighter in weight. The front (cover) of the case is vinyl on the outside with a soft velvet material on the inside which contacts the screen of the tablet. The cover locks in place, when closed, via magnets and is snug and easy to handle resembling a book. The cover opens easily and has a fold in it to set the tablet up in a horizontal position. The cons of the case, in my opinion, is the fact the cover opens and folds behind the tablet, which is what it is supposed to do, however, being vinyl I do not know how long it would last before it starts to tear the the seam. It seems very thin even with the velvet material on the inside of the cover. My second concern is if you are holding the tablet, especially when lying down, there is no strap or holding device on the back to slide your fingers in tho assist in holding the tablet itself. After a short time the tablet becomes heavy and uncomfortable to hold. In my case I have arthritis in my hands and perhaps this is a non issue with others. However, comparing it with the previous mentioned 7 inch tablet which has the strap on the back to slide you fingers into to support the tablet is a big difference. I rated it as three stars because of my personal experience with the case and the construction material of the case I find less than antiquate. All in all it is a 'fair' case for the money; thus the rating of 3 stars.
3 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on February 17, 2018
Got this case in and slapped it on. Fit great, but then funny things started to happen with my Fire 8 tablet. Battery would not hold charge. Would cut off and shut down with no warning. Bugged up big time! Called Amazon twice about the problem and they ran through a troubleshooting process. Never got it fixed. This went on for about 4 weeks; the entire time my 8 was in the case.
Then I took my Fire 8 out of the case. Incredibly- it starts working correctly again - with no bugs. I think the magnet closure on the case messed up my tablet. So.... Not sure if it was the case of if Amazon did something to my tablet, but I'm not putting it back in the case. 3/5/18 - Update - my Fire 8 tablet started working great. Go Figure. So I put this case back on to see how the tablet would do. Tablet still works great, so it was not the case. And because I figured that out, I give the case 5 stars. Very durable, easy to use and looks great.
One person found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on July 16, 2017
I bought the latest Kindle Fire 7 HD with the 8" screen on Prime Day 2017. The official Amazon case for it was surprisingly pricey and didn't get great reviews, so I looked at some others. This one was half the price and got good reviews, so I bought it. I am very pleased with it. I'm sure the level of protection it offers will be adequate for my use. I was a little concerned about the way the front cover folds up to hold the tablet in the landscape orientation, which is usually my preferred viewing position, but the magnets in the cover flap lock nicely that way to offer very sturdy support. I was prepared to have to air the case out for a few days after reading all the reviews that mentioned a really strong chemical/plasticky smell, but mine (in the Starry Night print) was odor-free from the start. I think this case gives a great bang for the buck!
2 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on July 31, 2017
This case fits my 7th gen Fire HD 8 well. All of the holes line up with the tablet and nothing is covered that shouldn't be covered. It magnetically snaps and holds tight when closed. The magnetic stand holds well and does not collapse when typing. The tablet wakes upon opening the case and sleeps after closing.

It does what a case is supposed to but due to the "snap in" design of the case the tablet may fall out if dropped. My cat knocked my tablet off my night stand and even just hitting carpet the tablet popped out of the case. If your tablet is for children I'd suggest a more rugged case.
One person found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse