Industrial Deals Best Books of the Year So Far Our favorite denim: shop women's jeans nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo All-new Show Mode Charging Dock Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now STL18_GNO



TOP 500 REVIEWERon August 7, 2014
I want to help clarify the difference between the 2 affordable Harry Potter Blu-Ray series, to you all. I've been back and forth on which to buy for the last several months. When searching on Amazon for this set, you'll notice that there are 2 sets, both with all 8 movies, both with the same number of reviews. There is usually between an $8-$15 difference in price between the 2. These are INDEED different, regardless of how similar they are described. Here's why…

I'll start with the blu-ray that has 3 differently aged Harry's on the cover. You'll notice that it is bigger than the other collection being sold. What they don't tell you is that the discs are in 4 separate cases, 2 movies in each case. There are also 11 discs, not just 8. But to be clear on this, the 3 extra discs are just bonus content from the last 3 movies. All of the other movies have the bonus features on the same disc. There is a ton of extra content on each disc. You'll also notice, from a side view picture, the list of movies that are in the box. The first says, "The Philosopher's Stone", rather than "The Sorcerer's Stone". Don't worry, it's not a bootleg copy. It's the English (UK) version of the set. The U.S. version changed the name for marketing purposes and it doesn't affect anything about the set.

Now for the OTHER set being sold:

This set, with the cover being of the castle, is smaller and more compact. This is because it has an insert that unfolds with all movies attached to each fold. It's neater, takes up less space, and in my opinion, looks more like the set it should be. However, this set contains only 8 discs (1 for each movie), with NO Bonus Content discs. I know about this set because It is the same that I borrowed from a friend.
So, there's not much of a difference here. I bought the bigger looking box because of the extra content and it was cheaper. The other box looks more like a classic collection but lacks content. Still, any Harry Potter Collection is worth buying. You'll always have an urge to watch it again and again (I watch the series twice a year). The Blu-Ray makes a huge difference in quality over DVD, so if you have a good TV and a Blu-Ray player, you have to go Blu-Ray.

Hope this helped!

***UPDATE April 2017***

There's been a little more confusion because Amazon has added a couple other collections and newer Blu-rays of single movie of Harry Potter. It has been more difficult to search for collections so i've made it easier for you. Here are the links for the above mentioned collections that I reviewed:

"3 Faces of Harry" collection (currently $65 on Amazon) -- https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00AQNOCZ0/ref=cm_cr_ryp_prd_ttl_sol_0

"Hogwarts Castle Cover" collection (currently $60 on Amazon) -- https://www.amazon.com/dp/B005OCFHHK/ref=cm_cd_asin_lnk

Amazon has changed their Harry Potter supply lately. I'm not sure why, but Amazon has combined ALL reviews for different H.P. collections into one, leaving it difficult to distinguish between them all. Now it's hard to tell what any review is for. If my links are not highlighted, just copy and paste them.
***If you Search "Harry Potter Blu Ray Collection", it WILL NOT show you the "3 Faces" collection so please use the link that i've provided above***

***I would also like to make an important note of feedback from readers. There are versions that you need to be aware of that are MAY NOT be playable in the U.S. It's another collection that is European made and most of the time, the discs are not playable on North American Blu-Ray Players. Obviously if you're reading this and you live in Europe, it'll work for you. I've started to notice those little numbers on the cover that have an Octogon with a number in the center. It means Irish Film Classification Office. They're definitely European made discs. Buy at your own risk though. One reader wrote that they played on his Playstation but couldn't comment on a Blu-Ray Player.***

This should still help everyone.I will continue to update as needed in order to help you.
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them has created another buzz in the world of Harry Potter. If you haven't seen the movie, it is "Fantastic"! AND IT'S COMING OUT ON BLU-RAY SOON!!!!!!!!!

RIP Alan Rickman, aka Severus Snape! You are missed by all Fans.

Thanks for reading! If you liked this review, you may like my other ones on various products helpful as well. [...]. Thanks again!
6,366 people found this helpful
|5150+ comments|Report abuse
on March 11, 2017
This is for the 16 disc collection. Every movie seems to be working so far. I was also able to redeem the UV digital HD movies as well. All I had to was contact Warner Brothers and they added it to my library. Glad to finally own a set of the movies top watch when ever I want.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
168 people found this helpful
|1515 comments|Report abuse
on June 27, 2017
UPDATE 7/10/2017 - The seller, HomelyStyle, refunded my purchase without me asking, and send another set of the 8-film box set. The second set of DVDs still does NOT work. No matter what I place the DVD in, they skip or are unable to be read. Very poor quality. I wonder how others got 8 dvds that worked, but I've only found 4 out of 16 that worked for me. My review is based on the product, not price or customer service. The products is bad.

These are very poor quality. Buyer beware. They asked me several times to remove my review after I found 1 disc didn't work. I said I wouldn't until I tried more of them. Same problem with each movie, and each DVD player I use. They are unreadable in quite a few spots. Just know that they refund people so they get higher ratings. Don't get duped!
89 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on November 18, 2017
This review is for the following product- Harry Potter: The Complete 8-Film Collection

As a die-hard Potterhead for over 15 years, I really wanted to watch the Potters again on my first Blu-Ray player and thus began the search for the perfect collection where I can get both the movies and the special features without missing anything. The result of course, was futile, but that didn't discourage me. I came across 3 editions here, the old "3 faces of Harry" UK version (the priciest, about $85), the US version with the Hogwarts castle cover (a bit cheaper, about $68) and this one, being the new UK version (the cheapest, about $44). What I found-out interestingly enough though, is that in terms of completeness, this version seems to be by far the best one, especially considering its price. Having said that though, it's not without its quirks.

The collection being a 16-disc set with an array of special features, it seems to easily defeat the 8-disc US version by a mile. When compared with the old 11-disc UK version though, it still seems to win, but not by a whole lot. So let me give a quick run-down of the features which I believe are missing in this when compared to it-

1) Minimal interactive disc menus for the movies- what you get for the most part are small, neat, pop-up menus that have all the buttons of course, just without the background menu animations of the original DVDs
2) Next to none interactive games- I remember that there were a few small games in the original Goblet of Fire special disc which were not in here. Not a big deal really, but they still should have been in this "complete" version.
3) Light packaging- with cardboard disc sleeves that have a lot to be desired. Clearly a move to cut-down on the pricing, which I appreciate in some ways, but the 4 very delicate cases really are quite awkward for holding 4 discs each, I had a small tear in one case upon receiving it. The artworks are ok though.

However there are a lot of special features here amounting to hours upon hours of material which I believe are not in the old UK version, making this the more preferable. The beautiful 8-hour "Creating the World of Harry Potter" documentary and the compilation of TV specials/spots contained here chief among them.

Apart from that, what it does have is every single special feature of the original discs, from the numerous and highly enjoyable documentary featurettes and Focus Points to the fascinating, but at times irksome visual commentaries of the last 3 films. They are very fun to watch for any Potterhead and I enjoyed them all a lot. Really takes you into the production of these feats of magic and makes you feel as if you're engaging with the cast/crew then and there. I do wish however, that the cast/crew did some audio commentaries for the films, it would have been great to hear them react to various scenes, reliving their experiences impromptu and giving some insights on the go, nothing really beats that.

As for the movies themselves, I don't think that anyone who's into Fantasy/Adventure can really not enjoy a Harry Potter movie, at least guiltily. I'm not going to touch on them a lot since this is not entirely a movie review, but apart from being my childhood, they are some of the best in the genre and the best thing about them is that they always hold-up as engaging, cinematically sensible movies first and as parts of a series, second. I've seen them in various formats throughout the years, from the cinema to DVDs/VCDs, and the transfers here are pretty-well done, though nothing much to write home about. The video quality is enriched by just a tiny bit and the audio is decent though I just wish that they had 7.1 instead of the 5.1. And although being in Widescreen (which I prefer), the black-bars here seemed to be fixed on a 1080p and that was a little disappointing since it limits the detail of the images a little bit.

The only issue I had with the movie discs was that the last one seemed to have some bad data as it kind of skipped for about 10 seconds in the Hog's Head scene. Quite disappointing since it was supposed to be a primed disc. Another annoying issue I had with the discs is that some of the special features, like the "Meet the Champions" documentary from the Goblet of Fire was repeated in both the movie disc, and the special features disc. This was true for most of the deleted scenes as well. It just seems like a cheap and lazy move on part of the disc-makers to fill-up disc space.

The other thing about the special features is that although they're quite enjoyable, they tend to have a lot of the same things, like interviews, repeated/edited throughout in multiple features. The 8-hour documentary avoids that for the most part thankfully, but it can get boring to hear the same lines repeated over and over again, especially in the old TV specials. This is especially annoying since the cast/crew seems to read heavily off a script for most of them and some even seems to just use multiple takes across them in some instances, which was weird. There are for the most part, no new titbits touched upon in many of them, so it can get too old too quickly.

The Ultraviolet is available in the UK and not in Asia, where I live. But I don't like downloading huge files so it's no great loss to me either way.

Overall though, this is quite a solid buy of a collection and gets most things right. It's certainly going to be the only Potter collection I'll have for the foreseeable future. Recommended for anyone interested in the genre.

Rating for the movies- 4/6
Rating for the special features, packaging and presentation- 2/4
3 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on July 10, 2017
Fantastic! Our family has loved the Harry Potter books for years, but the films, while well-done, never quite matched the picture in my head of certain story elements.
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them is not burdened by a lot of source material (beyond the "textbook") to muddy the waters. Just lovely to see an unexpected backstory that (eventually) ties into the Harry Potter series without having a predetermined image in my mind of the characters or how the plot was handled/interpreted by the film makers. Also adds depth to our understanding of the background in the main Harry Potter canon. Looking forward to revelations as the remaining adventures unfold in future films.
I've also found that this film is much easier to watch with those who aren't familiar with the Harry Potter series as it truly is a charming, stand alone story.
3 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on June 30, 2017
Absolutely was entertained and loved the movie. Huge HP fan and this did not disappoint. It's the same basic concept of where the magic comes from with a whole different genre of character from a previous era. The creatures were wonderful and the actors were excellent. I can't wait until another one comes out. I will definitely watch this over and over same as all the HP movies. My husband and I have watched those movies at least 100 times if not more. This will probably entertain us just as much over the years. Funny thing is i have yet to read all the HP books. I plan to someday.
3 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on February 1, 2017
The snaps I uploaded say it all. As a graphic designer the packaging is beautifully done. Yes, the individual sleeves are a bit delicate but with the solid box and sleeve it comes with I see no reason why this should be an issue if you are not rough with your set. The movies themselves are gorgeous, the only film a bit grainy was The Philospher'a Stone (the true name!) but that's to be expected. I fell in love with the movies all over again and there are hours upon hours upon hours of bonus features to get lost in. Will have to call to get my digital copy code working but was expecting that per previous reviews.

This is the standard to what a complete series set should look like (Fantastic Beasts doesn't count) and what should be included.
review imagereview imagereview image
3 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on May 22, 2017
I really liked this movie. The movie was original and the love story with Jake and Queenie was wonderful. Totally worth getting, I watched it in 3D and it was amazing. I may be old but movies like this make me feel like 10 again. All I ask of a movie is to be entertained and this movie did that - in spades
12 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on November 19, 2017
I absolutely love this movie. As for the 4k, it was great and the HDR during some scenes were so life-like i reached for my sunglasses because the simulated sunlight in the magic briefcase was blinding me!

This is how you do HDR and 4k!
4 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on August 15, 2017
Terrific movies, our son is enjoying them although it may be a few year before he can watch the last 3.

My only feedback is the packaging of the discs. They come in nice cardboard folders, like modern music cds. However, the discs keep sliding out onto the floor. There's nothing holding them "in" and they slide out. Plus the silkscreen is difficult to read which movie is which when sorting and placing them back in the jacket. I'm considering taping the bonus discs so they don't fall out too.

As for the streaming. It isn't technically available in the USA. Others have posted how to do it but it's not a service I want to sign up for anyhow.
2 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse