Salon Beauty Best Books of the Month Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One Introducing Fire TV Cube Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now STL18_GNO



on April 2, 2017
Excellent memory card reader. Has everything you need (minus the memory card), to add more storage space. In my case, to my 32GB Samsung Galaxy S6 phone, which lacks an external microSD memory card slot.

**NOTE** Your phone must be OTG (On The Go) capable. If you don't know what that means, just Google it. Or, search for "OTG" in the Google Play Store, and download an OTG checker App. It will tell you if your phone is OTG ready.

This memory card reader has a microSD slot, a Standard SD slot, a microSD connector, a Standard USB connector, and the new USB TYPE-C connector. Everything you need to store and transfer data to and from your phone and other devices.

**NOTE** The Vanja Memory card Reader will say (in it's description box), that it only supports up to 64GB sdcards. That's a misprint. My 128GB microSDXC card works fine with it, without any issues.

Samsung did a really dumb thing and didn't include a memory card slot on the Galaxy S6. You could only have a 32GB or 64GB S6 phone, which was dumb-butt stupid. 32GB was depleted quickly, and the 64GB phone was way overpriced. Sounds like something dumb the minions at Apple would do, "where compliance is mandatory." :)

Today is 02APR2017, and a few days ago, they announced the upcoming 20APR2017 release of the Galaxy S8. It's supposed to be extremely expensive, but worth it. I was very close to planning on upgrading my S6 to S8, for the specific purpose of having a good phone with an external memory card slot.

Thank God I didn't. That would have been another $900+ phone, and another 2yr commitment. My S6 is still a very good phone, minus the missing microSD card slot. More importantly, I only owe $80 more until it's paid off. They can keep that overpriced S8, and I'll keep my $900.

I found a much better, and more affordable solution, by combining the two items (128GB microSDxc card, and Vanja SD card reader) listed below.

Just slide the memory card into the reader, then plug the mini reader (smaller than a USB stick/thumb drive) into your phone (via the microSD slot, or the new USB Type-C slot). Voila, 128GB (119GB available) of much needed additional storage space "on the cheap." The phone recognizes it immediately. Or plug the Standard USB connector into a laptop or other device. Bam, instant storage.

IT'S SIMPLE... just combine the two items below and you're set, for a total cost of $54.95. It's so nice to be able to store and watch movies and videos again. With ease, mind you. :)

Enjoy!!

$11.99
Vanja
Memory Card Reader,SD/Micro SD Card Reader and USB Type C Micro USB OTG to USB 2.0 Adapter with standard USB Type C Male Connector for PCs and Notebooks Smartphones/Tablets with OTG Function

$42.95
SanDisk
Ultra 128GB microSDXC UHS-I Card with Adapter, Black, Standard Packaging (SDSQUNC-128G-GN6MA)
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
99 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on July 15, 2017
I was admittedly a little worried buying this. It was cheap ($8 at the time of purchase), and had four completely different ports - that's a lot of options.
What I'm saying was, it seemed simply too good to be true, haha.

But no, this little guy works like a champ. : )
I got it mainly for use when I'm traveling - switching photos and such back and forth between my camera, laptop, and cell phone.

It's horrendously convenient, the design in and of itself.
The fact that it all works flawlessly is the cherry on top.
Thank you very much for this amazing product! <3
60 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on December 3, 2016
14 December 2017 Update: I forgot to empty my pocket before doing laundry this week... Good news though, the card reader has survived a trip through the washer and dryer!
------------
10 October 2017 Update: This gadget is still working great! I tried it on a new Moto G5 plus and it worked as expected, I was able to use the G5 phone to view everything on the SD card.
-----------
After looking at the price of SD card readers with built in viewers, I found this gadget at a much more reasonable price. It works great with my Android phone, the pictures on the SD card show up in my picture gallery. I've used full size and micro SD cards with no problems.

The pictures in this review show the card reader attached to the phone and a screen capture of a picture I was using the reader to view.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview image
43 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on December 20, 2016
I used an SD card for my music in one car, then bought a new car that won't accept SD, but does take a USB stick. I bought an SD to USB converter from a chain store ($12) and it didn't work too well, finally gave out. I bought the Vanja Memory Card Reader and WOW! It works perfectly, and the sound quality is sensational. Very impressed!
21 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on November 12, 2016
I freaking love this. I have a very old laptop and less old but still old kodak camera with only a 1 gig SD card. Using the USB cord the camera came with took 10 minutes to move 20 minute videos. Taking the SD card and plugging it into this baby and plugging it into the USB port to my computer...cut and paste, done in 30 seconds.

It's not cheaply made either I don't think. You wouldnt think flimsy or anything with what it us...but it feels solid and works better than I thought it would for the price. Now that i used it I'd probably pay at least double what I boughy it for tbh. I think it was just $5 when I bought it.

Well worth it if you need to move files around quickly. Much faster than the cord and way way faster than WiFi (I'm sure that depends on your device, again my laptop is so old its OS is Windows XP and can only have a max of 1.5gigs ram).
38 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on January 23, 2017
Great solution for getting photos off a camera SD card onto a phone, when traveling for instance. I have the Oneplus X and it works great - just make sure you go into Settings and enable the OTG (Google for how to do it).
19 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on April 28, 2017
This little thing is like a Swiss army knife for data. I bought a 32GB Samsung EVO Select microSD card to use with it, both given as a gift. Perfect for the newer phones using USB-C as well as older phones using microUSB.

I regularly use its OTG feature to flash custom ROMs and relevant packages to the phone without having to use ADB which is sometimes unreliable and is often a pain to get working correctly. TWRP detects this as USB-OTG flawlessly every time and I'm able to transfer packages between the phone and a computer as needed.
11 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on March 23, 2017
This little stick is by far one of the most handy little tools that I don't go anywhere without. The build quality, even though it's made of some sort of plastic, feels very solid and nice to hold. This is by far the best in terms of the fact that they managed to fit soo much into such a small stick. If you're into photography at all and you want to make the photo transfer process that much easier I think this is essential. I've been using this to transfer hundreds upon thousands of photos since I've had it, and not once have I had any issues with it. I feel very confident in saying that this won't corrupt your files during transfer, nor will it have any issues connected to a variety of different machines. Overall I don't think you can do much better with any other product for something this small and useful within the area of photography.
8 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on December 26, 2016
I have to take off my phone case to use it on my Nexus 6p but I'm still extremely pleased with the reader. I'm on vacation and can easily copy files from my camera's SD card to my phone where I can do whatever I please, all within my regular workflow, without needing to haul out the laptop. A slightly longer USB-C plug could fix the case issue.
11 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on April 11, 2018
 *** Watch my video review here for a closer look ***

This is a handy gadget for travelers and photographers. My main intention was to use it to upload the photos I take from my DSLR camera to the cloud or to share in social media. This works perfectly with my Google Pixel smartphone. All you need to do is put the SD card in the adapter and connect it to the phone using the USB-C or micro USB connections. Using it is pretty straight forward.

Pros:
- Portable, small.
- Easy to use. Plug and play with Android devices.
- Innovative design. Can use with computers, tablets and smartphones.
- Quality materials.

Cons:
- The caps might be easy to misplace.
2 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse