Industrial Deals Beauty Ghosted Shop women's shoes nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. STEM Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry modern furniture and decor Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now SWMTVT18_gno

Fire 7 Tablet with Alexa, 7" Display, 8 GB, Black - with Special Offers
Digital Storage Capacity: 8|Offer Type: With Special Offers|Color: Black|Change
Price:$49.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on July 19, 2017
Okay so I ordered two of these on prime day at $30 a piece. One for myself in the color yellow, and one for my husband in the color red. I depend on reviews when I buy everything so I did read all the reviews before purchasing, which is why I'm pleasantly surprised. I'll start off with the fact that neither of us plan on using our tablet as our main and constant source of entertainment. My husband works in a vape store where he has a lot of downtime throughout the day so his is most often used for watching Twitch gamers stream. I use mine for shopping Amazon, and playing puzzle type games. Some of the reviews I read, stated that the speaker quality was bad in these tablets. My husband and I beg to differ. We don't expect amazing noise cancelling audio out of these $30 tablets. The speakers provide plenty of sound to watch and hear videos in good quality and that's not even on the loudest setting. I also read that the battery life isn't the greatest but to be honest I don't agree with that either. As I said before, my husband uses his mainly for watching videos constantly. One hour of video only drops the battery percentage by about 7% which I think is great. My iPhone 6s Plus battery goes quicker than that. If I had to chose cons to these devices, I would definitely say minimum customization. For example, I wish I could change the screen saver. But as for most kindle devices, the screen saver cannot be changed and it will be ads and offers. The device comes with about 5gb of storage that is open for you to use because the operating systems do use some of your 8gb making it not a true 8gb available. But to me that isn't a huge deal because I have other devices such as laptops and cellphones. Not to mention that it does come with the option to expand storage via sd card. You also have unlimited photo storage which I think is neat. The ability to use Alexa is cool as well. We have Siri, Kortana, google home and Alexa in our house hold and I love them each individually. For the $30 I paid, I don't expect this device to be my holy grail. I don't expect the best sound quality or photo quality (although I'm really not upset with the quality at all). Normally you pay for what you get. To me and my husband these were definitely a bargain and a great deal. For $30 a piece I couldn't pass it up. They're great to have around. I'll update my review if anything happens, but as of now these are super solid for the price and I have no legitimate complaints for either of them :)
review imagereview imagereview image
2,846 people found this helpful
|88 comments|Report abuse
on September 13, 2017
I bought this tablet 7/11/17 and it became incapable of charging late-August. Amazon says that since it was past the 1-month return window it is not eligible for a return, and I feel that if they can't stand by their product for more than a month then they know they are selling inferior products.
958 people found this helpful
|2727 comments|Report abuse
on June 10, 2017
This is my first kindle since the 1st generation. That tablet went away after a couple years. Kindle Fire 7th gen is a great tablet for the money. Honestly, I don't use it for reading. I use it for browsing websites, social media, and listen to podcasts. I use my Bluetooth headphones to listen to the podcasts. The couple times I've used the speaker on the tablet, I haven't been disappointed, but I wasn't impressed. It works just fine for watching videos in bed. Had no problems hearing. Search Google for some tips and tricks to get apps from the google play store. Silk browser is terrible. I reccomend installing Opera. I reccomend this tablet for people like me, who want to just lay in bed or on the couch and doing simple tasks on the tablet. Don't need a $300 or $400 tablet to do what I'm doing.
1,855 people found this helpful
|88 comments|Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon June 12, 2017
Much improved screen!

It turns out that the $49.95 Fire 7 version released two years ago didn't have an IPS screen.

Now it does.

Technically, both the old one and this new one are just 171 ppi (pixels per inch) but this one seems much "crisper" than the first generation "$49-er".

My eyes don't lie. IPS makes the screen a lot crisper!

There's also a stunning improvement in color quality with the new screen. Now it holds its own with the 62% color gamut original iPad Mini; before, it wasn't anywhere near.

Mind you it's not current Apple screen quality, or current high-end Samsung screen quality - but what is? It's only $49.95, and it's good enough. Heck, at $49.95, its MORE than "good enough", it's great. It blows away just about any entry level consumer laptop screen, that's for sure.

I pulled out my 2015 first-gen, $49.95 Fire 7 - the one this replaces - and placed it side by side with this new one. The colors (including a horrific green tint on white backgrounds) on the old one weren't video-worthy - ok for casual videos on Facebook and YouTube, maybe, but not good enough for Netflixing and Amazon Prime.

This new one, though? It's movie-worthy, especially with earphones (ok, ONLY with earphones). I'd prefer 720p over the Fire 7's 600p (600p is better than 480p DVD's, but not ask good as even entry-level - 720p - HDTV quality), but overall even at 600p it's eminently watchable.

By the way, for me streaming video content on Amazon Prime Instant Video has been noticeably sharper than streaming YouTube. I think Amazon Prime adapts to 600p (max for this tablet) while YouTube is is probably delivering only 480p (remember YouTube's defaults are 360p/480p/720p and up).

So the short-and-sweet advice is try this out on your favorite video sources when you get it, and make sure you are getting the video quality you want; also, use Netflix's Fast dot com web site to check your internet download speeds. If they aren't high, even Amazon Prime won't be able to deliver sharp video.

Tip: due to the limited 1gb of onboard RAM, try not to multi-task for zippy performance. After my Fire OS updates were completed (which slows down everything while they are downloading), there was no lag in ANY app, so long as I wasn't background running another app (like music).

Tip: there's only one really usable brightness setting, and that's all the way up. This is not a screen with "extra" brightness in reserve. The best tablet experience with this is setting the brightness level to "11."

Tip: if you don't have a spare lying around, order this with at least a 16gb Class 10/UH1 micro SD card (I like Samsung Evo Select currently under $15 for 32gb). Go into Settings (or follow the alert that pops up) and have apps and content default store to the micro SD card - Amazon now allows downloaded videos and books to go there, making the 8gb model very usable. At just $49.95 and with the ability to download both Netflix and Amazon Prime movies and TV, you shouldn't fly without this.

Tip: there's only $10 difference between the 16gb version of this new Fire 7, and the entry level of the brand new 2017 Fire HD 8 - which already comes with 16gb, PLUS 1.5 gb RAM vs. 1gb on the Fire 7, PLUS actual HD video quality (720p). So for a mere $10 more you get a whole lot more.

Of course if you can live with 8gb storage - I have my tricks! - nothing beats $49.95.

Tip: GREAT for kids since Amazon says it survives drops better than even an iPad Mini, AND Amazon has the best kid control settings in the business. $49.95 vs. a couple hundred dollars counts for a LOT too. BUT Apple continues to rule the roost in terms of maximum number of education and game apps for kids.

Tip: the speaker IS adequate especially if you cup your hands behind it to reflect the sound forward. BUT you are better served by a budget AmazonBasics Bluetooth speaker, or by earphones. The AmazonBasics won't sound THAT much better, but it WILL be easier to hear and easier to hold the tablet; with earphones, you'll think the tablet cost several hundred dollars! (That's thanks to the magic earphones work vs. tiny built in speakers on ANY tablet.)

Tip: screen resolution is about the same as the entry-level Amazon Kindle E-reader, so apart from the E-reader's unparalleled ability to deal with bright sunlight without washing out the screen, you are probably better off with this more versatile $49.95 Fire 7 table than the $59.95 (current sale price) E-reader.

Tip: "blue light control" saves your sleeping if you Kindle read a lot; just select the option from the swipe-down menu on the home screen.

KUDOS: really compact, useful, and safe charger (it's Amazon, not mystery-sourced). It only puts out 5 watts (some phone chargers on low-end phones actually put out less!) but it's plenty for the modest battery in this $49.95 tablet. It seems very well built, works with the other phones and tablets I have (both Apple and Android), and the cable (detachable) that comes with it feels really solid and sturdy. Nothing flimsy or fly by night here.

CAVEAT: You do know this won't run classic Google apps or Apple apps (like Music), right? (Yeah some users "hack" it do do so, but I'm talking about the rest of us.) This limitation is just Amazon going it's own way. Fire OS is a legal "clone" of Android 5.1.1, a solid Android release, with Amazon "skinning" (putting its own book cover on) the usual Android home screen etc.. Amazon has been very good about security and version updates with Fire OS, BUT I and many others long for the day, hopefully not too far in the future, when Amazon bites the bullet and releases regular Android on an Amazon tablet. And, btw, when that day comes, I hope it's still $49.95, but gets a bump to 720p. What a sales success that would be! (And by all accounts Amazon ALREADY has huge sales success with Fire tablets.)

KUDOS: Alexa! You have to hold the button though, it's not always listening like a standalone Alexa speaker.

This is 5 star if you don't care about Google and are a big Amazon fan, 3 star if you love Google apps and think Amazon turns the Fire line into "all Amazon shopping, all the time" sales tool, and for me about 4.5 star based on its price, build quality, and durability. A good $49.95 tablet is now great thanks to the IPS addition to the screen!
1,046 people found this helpful
|1313 comments|Report abuse
on June 19, 2017
I purchased this to take with me on a trip out of the country. I didn't want to bring any of my apple devices since they are not something I feel comfortable leaving in the room and they are a bit heavy to tote around the entire vacation. I've been seriously disappointed since I received this. I was going to get a paper white for reading on the plane but thought it would be a better choice to get a tablet with more options than reading if I was going to leave my other devices behind. This has been the slowest tablet I've ever used. Apps are slow to open and quite buggy. I've had to uninstall and reinstall apps several times for them to work. Overall when using it the whole experience feels like a cheap knockoff brand tablet.
185 people found this helpful
|33 comments|Report abuse
on November 25, 2017
I have had F O U R of these tablets. ! Three of them had problems with keeping a charge. (One overheated on me. And died. You could smell it).
I complain, they send me another one. I got my latest one July 8,2017. A couple of weeks after I got it I decided to take a picture. The camera option would not load. I done with the Kindle Fire 7.

Even if this Kindle is on sale save your money. It is nothing but a piece of junk.
63 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on August 27, 2017
This little Fire tablet is quite tiny.. but it was actually perfect my 2yr old son. He uses it when we run erranss or for long trips in the car and sometimes just to play games at home. I bought it on sale without the kiddie case, insurance, or extras so I wasnt really expecting much, but man oh man is it a life saver!! Ive downloaded nothing but learning activities and audio books so far but he also has access to Freetime for just $2.99 a month! Not bad for what it offers! I mean it has all the great educational programs, books and games you could want just on its own. I DID want it to have Google play store so I could transfer all his games Ive already paid for from my phone to his tablet but I havent seen a way to do that yet. On the bright side though my phone is now ALL MINE LOL!! But due to that and the somewhat confusing operating system I give it a solid 4 stars.. Much better than that silly Leapfrog learning pad we originally had - LITERALLY EVERYTHING on that thing cost like $4.99 and up per app! And it was like $99 on sale 😳🙄. So I mean I'd definitely buy this again and again .. and for $35! It was a steal!
review image
101 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on January 19, 2018
Updating this due to constant frustration.
This is probably the slowest device in my house. I'm sure it's fine for reading books or something but for quick web browsing, I don't know if it is the device or not. TERRIBLE load speeds. Will not buy or reccomend. Sorry Amazon. I'm usually all in on your stuff. 0 for 2 lately. My echo dot is not connecting to internet like it used to, extremely frustrating yet again. Story for another day though.

I originally like the idea of this for my coffee table for casual browsing. Great size for ease of use and portability.
I am glad this wasn't more than $29 bucks because it is PAINFULLY SLOW. I had bought it with the thought I would use it for quick browsing or looking things up on a larger screen instead of my phone all the time. I still give it a shot once in a while but I grab my phone 90% of the time because I know it is faster. Apps take forever to load, I constantly get network error messages when every other device works fine on my network. It is frustrating to say the least. I had high hopes for this item for some reason and now I'm trying to think of other uses for it so it's not a waste of $. Would return if I could based on performance alone.
109 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on September 18, 2017
They have ruined the kindle fire. I had a 3rd generation fire that i loved, it went with me everywhere, fast internet browsing, opened any book i threw at it, battery lasted a week with casual browsing and heavy reading but after several years it now gets kinda hot and shuts down so I purchased the new fire 7th gen thankfully it was only 50$ but... battery drains fast, 1 day with casual browsing and heavy reading compared to a week on my older fire, you can now actually watch the battery meter go down as you are reading. it still browses the internet quickly but it drops the battery even faster. It now will not open many of my books a stupid DRM notice pops up on better than 50% of my books, what am i supposed to buy them again bs. they now have to be reformatted to the fires' own proprietary format and i think herein lies the problem, reformatting trips some kind of crappy copy protection scheme they now have built into the fire, bad news. i am giving this to a grandkid to play with and purchasing an android tab for my reading and surfing now and will never even think about purchasing a kindle again. it's a shame because the kindle WAS awesome, but they ruined it.
43 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on June 19, 2017
The hardware is...decent. For 50$, its pretty good. But, I bought this for my 3y/o and wanted to use Amazon FreeTime to keep him out of the other apps. This application is barely functional, and 2 hrs into a 10 hour trip we find out that the Freetime app sometimes wont load if you are offline. That, combined with the glitch in the tablet where i cant access the settings from the dropdown makes it even worse because I cant exit many apps without rebooting. Lastly, amazon goes out of their way to lock you into their own "android", but that excludes you from customizing ANYTHING, like an alternate launcher.
Horrible software on a decent tablet.
154 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse