Salon Beauty Books with Buzz Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now STL18_GNO



on October 5, 2017
You honestly can't beat the quality and price of Monoprice products. This HDMI switch works better than described as it seems to automatically switch to the HDMI channel in use; the remote is super convenient for switching when there are two or more HDMI devices in use.
3 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on June 8, 2018
Awesome! I bought this for the IR receiver so I wouldnt have to manually be switching the button for HDMI connection. I threw away the original remote as I am using a Logitech Harmony Universal Remote which was absolutely easy to program for the Blackbird 4K Pro 3x1. Really, easiest set up.
|0Comment|Report abuse
VINE VOICEon November 30, 2017
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I needed this switch to help alleviate the problem of a lack of HDMIs on my current TV. This switch is almost perfect. It seems to auto-detect which source is on and automatically flip to that source, which is awesome. The problem is, if a source is always on, such as security camera HDD it will not do an auto switch. That problem is easily solved by pushing the button on the switch or using the remote. My main gripe is the remote and associated infrared (IR) sensor. It seems inaccurate/short ranged at best and you really need a clear path and may have to hit the remote a few times to get it to work. This is the only grip that is the only thing holding me back from 5*. The switch itself works well but the remote leaves something to be desired.

Almost there, Monoprice! Just increase the IR sensitivity for the remote!
2 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
VINE VOICEon December 26, 2017
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I was about to give this 4-5 stars. I glanced at the other reviews, & found William Bentrim's, where he mentions regarding the remote, "I tried to open the battery compartment just to see how hard it would be to replace the battery. I could not get it open.".

I then checked it & learned that he is correct. Either there's a design flaw & it won't open or it requires a very special trick that perhaps customer service may or may not provide. To significantly rephrase Mr Bentrim's conclusion, It appears to me that when the battery dies on the remote, it's time to consider throwing the remote in the garbage.

The other issue, while inexpensive is a real issue: It does not come with a USB to AC adapter. It has a USB charging cable, but no adapter to plug it into an ac outlet. If you're using it in a pc or a monitor with a charging port, I guess that won't matter; but in my case I was fortunate to have an extra Kindle USB-AC adapter. I strongly suggest ordering an adapter along with the unit! Oddly, in the description on Amazon, it states that power is not required. However, they come with the power cord (just not the plug), an input for power on the unit, & statements about the power cord in the owner's manual. I embarrassingly admit I did not try it without the AC before putting it away in the closet (I don't need the extra jacks at this time, my tv has 3).

Other than those 2 issues I was pleased; the unit worked flawlessly (though I had a brief learning curve that the unit will not power up at all until an HDMI source is plugged in; I briefly thought it was DOA. It wasn't; but it's very useful to know this!).

The switch works fine (though it takes a couple seconds for the new source to appear on screen) & if there is any picture degradation it's minor.

This would be very useful for someone with a TV or pc monitor with not enough HDMI ports.

Unfortunately the battery issue & to a lesser degree the lack of an adapter that probably costs under $1.00 at wholesale precludes a recommendation.
One person found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on December 29, 2017
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I do not know much about electronic gizmos, but got this for my son who knows plenty! Thank goodness for young people. However, after reading the critical reviews, I realized that not all the problem was me. The gizmo works well for it's intended use, but not being able to open the battery compartment on the remote when you eventually need to change the battery is a real minus.

Then as noted in an excellent (critical) review by another reviewer, G. Ratcheson "The other issue, while inexpensive is a real issue: It does not come with a USB to AC adapter. It has a USB charging cable, but no adapter to plug it into an ac outlet... in my case I was fortunate to have an extra Kindle USB-AC adapter. I strongly suggest ordering an adapter along with the unit!"

This is an important drawback as we live an hour away from an electronics store and it wastes quite a bit of time to have to order another piece. So down to two stars for this review since we needed that part. Since it's an inexpensive part, surely the manufacturer could have included it or made it known to order it together!

Not happy.
One person found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
VINE VOICEon December 10, 2017
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a very compact switch. It works easily with no software needed. The remote only works with the attachment of the IR receiver. Operationally this works just fine. One fly in the ointment is the remote. I tried to open the battery compartment just to see how hard it would be to replace the battery. I could not get it open. The remote is so tiny and flimsy that I was concerned about damaging it. I guess when the battery does die, I will need to pry the compartment open and use electric tape to hold it in if I do break it. The problem with the battery compartment drops this from five stars to three.
2 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
VINE VOICEon February 12, 2018
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Since we mounted our TV we like to use as few chords as possible. This way they are neatly tucked along the wall and down into the entertainment center where all our entertainment equipment is housed. So the main HDMI cable runs down but of course we have more components that require a cable than the one connected to the TV. Our solution? A signal splitter. Thankfully, we have only three output connections so this one seemed perfect. Plus, it touts 4k signal, even though most pre-4k HDMI boxes should be fine, but it's nice to have that in the title just in case.

What I use this mostly for is the cable box and a couple of video game systems. As for the cable box, seems to work fine; no dropped signals that I've noticed, nor any degradation in quality. As for game consoles, I have the PS3 and the Wii U hooked up to it. SAme: no noticeable quality degradation nor input lag.
Now, to put it to the real test, I hooked up some retro consoles that have been modded to output native HDMI; that means they'll be HDMI with no lag. Considering I have this and two HDMI cables connecting the console to the TV, I was curious to see if there truly was any lag.
With older games, timing is everything, especially on the 8-bit consoles with platformers and fighters, like the NES. From what I could tell, there was absolutely no lag, not to mention signal loss. The buttons responded as though I were using a normal NES on a CRT.

So yeah, I'm pretty satisfied. It's a bit light and doesn't have heavy pads on the bottom to prevent it from sliding around. With so many cables, and the ability to use the remote control, it should be a bit more stable on the surface.
I haven't used the remote as the detections are instant. No need to manually switch the inputs, at least from my experience. Also, I didn't need to use the power adapter; the power from the HDMI cables seemed to be sufficient, and the detection was not complicated by the lack of adapter. Weird.
|0Comment|Report abuse
VINE VOICEon May 24, 2018
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
We're getting to the point that you just can't have enough HDMI connections with all of the devices that we need to connect (especially if you're still using an old LG plasma like I am). This Monoprice Blackbird 4K Pro switch works great for us (although we're obviously not pushing any 4K content here) and is as easy to use as connecting your cables. AC power is not required, and it seems to work fine as that. We currently have a gaming PC, Nintendo switch and XBOX 360 connected through the Blackbird switch, and changing from source to source is as easy as pressing the button. There's no real lag and the picture quality appears to be as good as if the cable were connected directly.

The only downside to this is the remote, which seems short-ranged and cheap at best. That's not a huge deal since just pressing the button on the switch works as well as it does, but if you need the remote functionality, you're probably going to be disappointed here. Other than that (minor) gripe, the is a very competent HDMI switch.
|0Comment|Report abuse
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Okay...I know these things are rare these days, but when you need it you do indeed need it so here are the reasons I bought it for the Grand Son's room.

It's compliant with HDMI, CTS 1.4a, and DVI 1.0 standards and it's a high performance HDMI® switch with three inputs and one output.

It supports HDCP repeater functions and fast switching between any of the HDMI input ports which is important to his set up (tho I don't know what that is)
.
Supports 3D and 4K video resolutions with up to 16-bits/channel of deep color which he needs.

Supports the 7.1-channel Dolby TrueHD™ and DTS-HD Master Audio which he says is the coming thing he wanted real bad in his switch set up.

It doesn't require an external power supply.

And finally it's the cadillac of these switches right now and Monoprice tends to do things right when it comes to their audio/video equipment and accesories.

He loves it and says it functions really well. It has a remote and auto switches anyway so you're good to go.

Five Stars
|0Comment|Report abuse
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Tested on a Samsung SMART TV that's a few years old. HDMI inputs are limited and on the back, so this switch is a good option for connecting laptops or other input devices via HDMI. It's not a 4K TV, but regular hi-deft looks great. The Blackbird 4K Pro is compact and doesn't require an external power source.

This 3X1 Enhanced HDMI Switch from Monoprice can tell what connection is active and chooses it automatically. The tiny remote leaves something to be desired and doesn't have the best range, but if you have 2 or 3 active inputs at once, it is useful for swapping between them. This can also be done manually on the switch itself. Other drawbacks are there is no included USB to AC adapter, and the remote's battery compartment doesn't seem to be openable. These issues keep this from being a 4 or 5 star item.

If you want to maximize the utility of a single HDMI input port on your TV or monitor, then the Blackbird 4K Pro is a space-saving, cost effective option worth considering.

~ Kort
|0Comment|Report abuse