Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. Introducing Fire TV Cube Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now STL18_GNO



on October 19, 2016
SEE UPDATE BELOW:
I got this despite that it has the fewest reviews on Amazon, and it looks like most of them are fake/paid for reviews anyways. I picked it though because the duxtop brand has good reviews and this model has the most temperature settings among the cheaper options, and it has a lower temp range too. I read a few people saying with other ones the lowest setting was still too hot. I figured if I was truly going to replace my stove top I wanted the one with the most flexibility and was willing to pay $30 more for it. It moves up in 20 degree increments or .5 power levels. I've only used it a handful of times, and I'm still just getting used to induction cooking in general. The negatives I've had with it apply to all induction burners in general. The cycling heat on and off to maintain temp really threw me off so I tried to compensate by adjusting temps, which I learned I shouldn't do, just let it do it's thing. And when on full power pretty much all of my pans emit this high pitched ringing noise that really sucks. It seems to only be really bad at full power and acceptable at even some of the higher powers just under full.
But boy howdy does that thing heat! Water boils so fast you can't believe it. And you do have really quick control of temperatures. I think I'm going to love it once I figure it out. It'd have to be truly terrible for me to use the electric range though. I recommend giving it a shot. This model has the cleanest interface, no special buttons for sauteing or grilling or whatever they say it's for. That stuff would change from pan to pan and dish to dish, anyways and wouldn't be accurate. The 9600 has a boil button which is always accurate, and a keep warm button which will probably work in most situations. At $100 it was worth it to me, but units at half that price have about 95% of the functionality that you could probably get away with and still be good to go, so it's really up to you. It has the same 6.75" diameter coil set underneath the glass, I checked using a high powered flashlight pointed at it with the lights turned off.
I did a test of the lowest temperature of 100 degrees, as that is one feature that sets it apart from others. I put 1 cup of water into a 6 inch cast iron enameled pot at 74.6F and set it on 100 degrees. About 15 minutes later the water was at 77.3F. At a half hour in the water dropped to 76.8F. At 45 minutes I concluded the testing and it came in at 75.7F. I then turned the burner off and just let it sit for 15 more minutes, which brought it to 75.3 degrees. To me, this is a mostly good result in that while not accurate, the unit does have the ability to go to an ultra low temperature and keep it some what consistent to a few degrees, although I did not like the trending downward temps. But since this was the lowest setting, I believe higher powers/temps might achieve a more consistent level. My main concern was to find out if the lowest level was going to be too hot, which it most certainly is not! So I think it could be good for those looking to melt chocolate. (See below edit, I was wrong, not good for chocolate!)

In conclusion, if I were just rating this unit compared to others in it's price range, I think I'd give it 5 stars. It's more expensive, but I like the user interface more than other options and the low temp abilities sets it apart. But since I'm rating the unit not only against it's peers but also in it's own right just as an induction burner, it gets 4 stars as I have yet to determine if I can live with the high pitch painful noise at the highest setting, and the temperature regulation of constantly turning on and off and on and off is annoying so far. I hope I will learn to love it though. I'll update in a few months when I really get a chance to delve into it.

Oh, and the other guy who rated it 1 star and said you have to mess with the lock button to start it is smoking crack. You hold your finger on the power button (wet or dry, I intentionally tested that) for 3 seconds, the blue screen turns on and then you press the menu button. The unit automatically starts at power level 5. You just have to match sure the pan is on the burner before you start it.

UPDATE: I figured out that reading the instructions is a good thing! The temperature mode and the power setting mode do function differently. I was thinking it was just two ways to look at the same heat level, but not true. The temperature mode tries to keep the pan at the temp setting you chose (keep in mind the pan temp will be different than the food temp in the pan!). It sucks at this. This is why I was having so many issues with the power cycling. I redid my before water test, this time at 120F degree setting, and the water immediately spiked to 150F and then throughout the course of 30 minutes would drop to a low of 105F. If you took an average of it's temp over that time it actually might have been pretty dang close to 120F or maybe 130F, but with those highs and lows it would be terrible for any chocolate work or anything you needed even temps for.
Now, since I am using the power mode things are waaaay better with the power cycling. It just doesn't do it. I did the water test again, this time with 2 cups of water and I used the ".5" power setting which is the lowest. Over the course of 45 minutes the water ranged from 134F to 138F with fluctuations in between throughout. The first half hour it was usually closest to 135F, but near the end was reading consistently 137F.
For this pot that I was using, this means the lowest effective and reliable temperature this cooktop can do is about 135F Degrees. This might still be better than other units out there, but I was hoping for less. But I am fairly happy now that I know the power cycling is mostly an issue with the temp settings and not the power settings. I'm almost certainly only going to be using the power settings from here on out, unless I'm doing a long simmering chili or something with a lot of mass in it to help even the fluctuations.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
329 people found this helpful
|44 comments|Report abuse
on September 27, 2016
I recently purchased this unit as a replacement for a failed Nuwave Titanium. My observation to this point is that it is a superior unit in terms of actual power as well as heat holding ability at set temperature.

I gave it only 4 stars because the top is very slick and pans tend to move easily compared to the more matte texture of the Nuwave, but in terms of quick heating and temp accuracy this seems to best the Nuwave on both accounts.

I've used induction for nearly a year and really like its flexibility. The fan noise on this unit is comparable with the Nuwave, but the fact that it runs after the unit is turned off to actually cool the unit down like a higher price unit tells me the system should last longer than the nine months that the Nuwave did. FYI, be sure to buy a Nuwave from someone they deem an "authorized dealer" no matter how big the name, because if you don't they will refuse to honor their warranty.

This unit will power down to 100 degrees and chocolate melting was one thing that induction does really well unless your until will not go below 140F as so many will not.

We have a full set of tri ply stainless and various cast iron, both plain and enameled, and these units work well with any of those types of pans or skillets. Now to upgrade my popcorn pan to stainless since this unit basically is "my" unit as my wife still prefers the stove unless she is making chocolate candy then suddenly it's hers. I use the units outdoors for frying fish and for boiling vegetables and shrimp as well as normal stuff I like to prepare inside from braising pork to a simple breakfast.

It does as advertised and in today's world....that's a pleasant surprise.

Appears to be a very solid unit and the upgrade from DUXTOP's prior units as evidenced by the wider controlled temperatures.

( I came back after two weeks of use and raised the stars from 4 to 5. Nothing is perfect, but this does everything that one would think an inexpensive unit would or should do. I've cooked in both the temp mode when temps were critical and in power modes when low, med, and high and anything in between was all that was needed. I have used cast iron, trip ply, and non stick with an induction plate attached and it worked fine with all three sets up. Just remember that once up to temp the power on these can be cut was back. I boiled corn for an example beginning with the "boil" setting until boiling began, inserted the corn and watched the boiling stop due to the cool corn, but as soon as the water boiled again with corn in it, I switched to temp mode and set the temp to 220 and it boiled nicely for 9 more minutes until the timer turned it off just as I asked for. For the money it is very good and as such I couldn't ask for more out of a unit of this price thus the 5.)
115 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on December 2, 2017
I LOVE this unit. I considered changing from my life-long commitment to gas and try induction, but didn't want to upgrade my electric line to 220V and buy a new $1,500 stove based only on the description of how great it was, so I tried this single burner first. I think it's great. I make soups all winter, and this has the most responsive control panel ever. Bump it up or down a level or two and you can see the change in the pot within seconds. I rarely scorch a pan with the Duxtop, since I can control the temperature so nicely. The soups are all one-pot efforts, I never have to saute veggies and then move them to the soup pot. The Duxtop holds the temperature you set, so you can give it a little space to run with less supervision. (But don't leave food cooking unattended! That's a major source of home fires.)

It's quicker than my gas stove.

Most of my best accumulated cookware is aluminum or ceramic, neither of which work with induction cooktops. One fun thing now is to take an Alnico magnet to thrift stores and find cast iron and steel pots and pans with strong attractions. There is some great stuff there, at very low prices. I toss some dishwashing powder into the pan with water and boil it, letting it clean itself! Even Le Cruset or Lodge can be found for a song.

I also take the unit outside when I cook my notorious hot chili pepper sauce. First, it doesn't stink up the house with eye-burning, choking smoke. Second, by controlling the heat so accurately, I have very simple clean up instead of an encrusted, burnt pot needing extensive scrubbing.

My only complaint, the timer's beeper is very quiet, but it's easy enough to set another timer as a reminder.

Give it a try, you'll be wowed!
19 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on March 30, 2018
We bought this to replace a Burton unit on which the protective cover had broken down and let broth into the controls.
Like that the Duxtop heats well, and the 20-degree steps. This would get 4 or 5 stars, but 3 here because there are some annoying things about the controls. Hope the OEM sees this:
* On the display, the inactive segments are visible just not as dark as the active ones, so it is hard to read unless you get your eye into a narrow cone at a right angle to the panel. This happens whether the kitchen light is on or off.
* As soon as you activate the heat by touching MENU, it's on at power level 5.0 which is unsafe, it will burn food. MENU again for temperature 300, again too high. I use 300 to fry diced onions in oil, and I have to watch it lest they burn.
* On the Burton I was used to, for example running at 160 but switching to power 2 if I needed steady heat and the 160 was in a cool part of its cycle. I would just set up the modes and switch between. The Duxtop does not remember the setting in the other mode: In this example you're at 160, MENU to power 5 (gahh!), step down to 2, then if you want to get back to 160, MENU to 300 (aargh!), step down to 160. All while your eggs are being tortured.
Fortunately the temperature control seems tighter and more responsive than the Burton which went in 50 or 60 steps (100, 160, 210, etc). So if I'm running 160 and I need more heat, I step up to 180 and it's there pretty fast.
Not a complaint, just a difference from the Burton which had mechanical push buttons: The touch points are very responsive ~except when~ thinly coated with oil spatter, then they take surprisingly more pressure. People who wipe up often will have no problem.
READ THE MANUAL on how to set the timer ~which is very useful.~ I found the timer hard to work until I read about it, then it made sense. I am looking forward to attempting a low-heat, crockpot style cook which can be done with that 10 hour timer.
If you have been frustrated by underpowered models, this one heats very well. First thing we tried was a stew, and the 200 or 220 temp boiled it (soft boil, what we wanted) in less than 5 minutes. The pot was a modern Le Crueset roughly 1.5 QT, about 18 oz of broth plus the stew solids.
The rest here is some general induction advice:
Remember the temps on these products are approximations based on just how the different irons, steels, and textures transmit heat to the sensor. So the Duxtop for example might hold a simmer -- physically 212 deg F -- on 180. The 20-degree steps enable you to learn the arbitrary settings for a desired effect. Heat an iron vessel instead and the setting may be different. I have a big steel pot with a raised area in the center, and it runs hot because that center spot fools the sensor.
7 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on March 4, 2018
I upgraded to the 9600LS from the 8300ST. The 9600 works with smaller diameter cookware that the 8300 refused, yay. I like the additional power levels and their improved scaling from low power to high. The temperature control, although having more steps than the 8300, works roughly the same; albeit, only loosely relating to the temperature of the bottom inside of the pot or pan and even more loosely relating to the temperature of the food. I found high-quality multi-clad cookware maintains a consistent cooking temperature much better than inexpensive induction-compatible aluminum cookware.

The 9600 fan is loud, subjectively a bit louder than the 8300. I don't like it, and wish for a future technological breakthrough that obsoletes the induction stove fan. The sound of food cooking is an important source of information for me as well as an enjoyable part of the cooking process. The fan noise takes away from this.

The obnoxiously unnecessarily bright power LED glows even when the unit is off. Similarly the LCD backlight is so bright and blue that it distracts me from looking at the food while cooking. I wish the display was light text on a dark background, more subdued, and that the text was larger.
4 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on November 17, 2016
This is an excellent cooktop for the price. I purchased it to replace one that had died so I'm very familiar with using induction for cooking. We use All-Clad stainless cookware which work well. As a test I melted some dark chocolate squares at power level 2 and then switched to temperature control at 100F. The chocolate melted gently and held in the melted state without scorching. That's a hard test for many induction burners. When simmering something at relatively low power there is some "pulsating" evident as power cuts on and off. That's typical of units in this price range and the dish being made goes from a very slow simmer to a somewhat higher one without getting anywhere near hot enough to scorch.

As for the comment that it is difficult to turn this unit on, all I can say is try reading the instructions. All you need do is hold your finger on the on/off circle for a couple of seconds and it will turn on. I suspect the person who had a problem with this is expecting it to turn on instantly when you touch the on/off circle so he goes and pushes lots of other buttons thinking that's what's needed--it's not.

As far as the temperature control not being accurate, again my suggestion is to read the instructions. Temperature sensors for most, if not all, induction burners are under the ceramic and often don't reflect the true temperature until the item being cooked is in a steady state. Usually it is best to begin cooking in power mode and then switch to temperature mode when you have roughly achieved the temperature you desire. That way you can use a gentle power level to bring it up to temperature. If you start in temperature mode the device will apply full power until it reaches the desired temperature which isn't always the best for the food.

As for the burner not staying hot, it sounds as if you've managed to get it to overheat in which case it won't function until it cools off. Many induction burners will overheat if you don't have much in your pan. Cooking bacon can sometimes be a challenge because the proper cooking temperature is just about at the limit of many induction burners.

UPDATE (April 2017) The longer we use this burner the better we like it. It is both very powerful and controllable at low power. We were upset when our old induction burner died and we had to buy a new one. Now we are glad because this is much better than what we had owned.
21 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
First let me point out that induction cooktops from different manufacturers ALL heat at different rates so please stop saying dumb things like: "My other (insert other brand here) induction cooktop doesn't burn my (whatever) on 50% power setting but this brand does so that means this one isn't as good." That is actually ass-backwards because the more powerful one is better, you just have to figure out the correct power level for whatever you're cooking with your specific pots/pans. The reason no induction cooktop has (or should have) a temp readout is because the temp will NOT be constant with different size/shape pots/pans therefore a temp readout is useless since a small saucepan will appear to get hot faster than an 8qt stock pot and the actual temp could vary by more than 100 degrees on the same power setting. The only way for a temp gauge to be accurate is for the induction cooktop to have a thermal probe INSIDE the pot/pan and it would also need the programming to adjust the cooktop based on the thermal probe's temp reading to keep it as close to the selected temp as possible. A sous vide machine such as the popular Anova does exactly this and can regulate the waterbath temp to stay within 1/10th of 1 degree of the desired temp setting. WIthout the thermal probe inside the pot/pan a temp gauge is pointless as it's literally just guessing the temp which obviously isn't accurate at all. Once you understand how the power levels work and understand that "power level" has nothing to do with "temperature measurement", you can use trial and error to figure out which power settings work best for each thing you cook with your particular cookware. The Duxtop 9600LS's designer was pretty smart in that he made power levels from 0.5 through 5.5 to be 80W intervals for finer heating adjustment, and power levels 5.5 to 10.0 to be 100W intervals since most of the finer adjusting is only needed at the lower power settings. Any setting above 6.0 is usually just for maintaining a boil or bringing your pan up to heat as fast as possible so fine adjustments are not critical for the higher settings. Most other brands have fewer intervals, or pulse the power on and off at longer intervals which causes more burning becuase they may pulse 800W power for 10 seconds then turn off for 10 seconds to maintain the equivalent of power setting "3.0" but that 10sec blast of 800W power is long enough to burn delicate foods like cream/sauces/eggs/fish/etc. This unit has finer power interval adjustments and also has shoter power pulses than most other brands so setting 3.0 will use 500W power and pulse on for something like only 6 seconds and off for 3 seconds. Both methods keep the food at about the same temp overall, but the heat fluctuation is much greater with other brands compared to this Duxtop 9600LS which tries to keep the temp fluctuation to a minimum to avoid burning delicate foods. These are features that almost no one ever thinks of, and they aren't even listed in the description of any induction cooktop but they are CRITICAL to the proper cooking of a lot of different dishes! I've used the (discontinued) model from YouTube's Binging With Babish, the NuWave 1300W 2016 model, and NuWave 1800W Platinum 2017 model, and this is easily the best of all of them. The only better one I've used was a popular commercial $800 model used in restaurants that I can't remember the manufactuer's name of. It was definitely the best but I can't justify spending 8x the price of this one just for my home cooking...unless I was rich. That's why I bought 2 of these to put next to my 4-burner gas stove which allows me to cook multi-course meals all at the same time MasterChef style!
2 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on November 22, 2017
After testing and using the this product here is my evaluation. Induction uses a coil that is wrapped with copper wire. In essence it is a ring with copper winding's. The size of the ring will determine the size of the pan you can use on it successfully. THE BAD: The ring in this Duxtop is either 5 inches or if there is a 2nd outer ring it was defective. The cook top easily accommodates a 12" pan in size. I placed 2 cups of water in a HQ 12" All-Clad SS Copper Core pan. Hit boil and watched the temp rise quickly until it did boil. However I could see it only boiled in a 5" ring (the size of the coil) and did not boil inside or outside of that ring. After 5 mins I had a weak boil at best. No roaring boil and the outer edge only got hot. The induction coil was obvious and was no bigger than the inner circle of the unit. The ring show on the cook top is is deceiving as it appears the coil would be approximately 9 inches which would accommodate a 12" pan with radiant heat going inward and outward. I then cooked 4 thick cut pork chops bone in two at a time. As I expected very hot in the middle with little outside of the 5 inch ring. I measured the temp on the outer edges with a digital laser thermometer and found a 50 to 60 cooler temp just before the wall of the pan all the way around. In order to cook the pork chops properly I ended up with a 5 inch burn circle in the center of my pan. This was repeated the next day while cooking a large amount of onions (3 pans full) for a casserole. Also the buttons are super sensitive. When you touch them to raise or lower a setting it typically skips several and you have to come back to what you want and don't wipe it with a damp sponge while its on or every button will be activated until you get to the power button and off it goes. THE GOOD: If you were using any pan 8 inch or less this would have been an excellent unit. Still a little on the fence though about boiling water and getting that roaring boil as I did not try a smaller pan. I bought this unit to accommodate a 12" and it does not. once on it heats amazingly fast. The temp control works great but only at that 5 inch circumference. All in all if I were not using anything over 8 inches I would Highly recommend this product. But anything over that and you're going to get upset. I will post a picture of the after shot of cooking the pork chops.
review image
16 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on December 7, 2017
It arrived just in time to cook dinner. I put a 12" All Clad D5 frying pan on the cooktop. I could hear high frequency couple times during cooking. It was so short that it didn't bother me much. The pan heated up super fast. I was making crab cakes. I put 3 at a time in the pan. I noticed that the parts of the crab cakes in the outer of the pan did not get brown as the parts in the center. I thought the All Clad pans would heat evenly but obviously not on induction cooktops. Or may be I did not let the pan preheat long enough to allow the heat to travel to outer part of the pan. I'll try again.

Update: We used it for hot pot (cook on dining table) couple time. I have to say it's not as powerful as I wanted. I really have to set it to the highest power "10" to keep the water boiling. Once we put the food in, it would take a while to boil again. Maybe the reason was the pot is bigger than the ring. It's still nice to use it instead of a portable gas cooktop because I don't have to worry running out of gas. However, I'll search for a cooktop that can heat up a large size pan/pot when this one expires.
2 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on November 5, 2016
First of all, I am NOT a paid reviewer, nor did I get a discounted price for the review. I bought this unit to experiment with to see if an induction range would be a good idea. I have since found out that this unit's power is approximately 1/2 that of a range...but very adequate for my needs. My 10" Lodge cast iron skillet (which is 9" across the bottom) sits just slightly outside the outer circular line. When I cook an omlette or rice, it is easy to see that the power/heat is centered within the smaller inner circle. If the nearby radio is on, I can hear the rhythmnical electromagnetic interference.
Tramontina makes a lightweight cast iron 10" skillet that is 6 1/2 " across the bottom; a cross between a pan and a wok. It works beautifully on the unit. From the internet, I have learned that high liquid foods like spinach and mushrooms should be cooked at 320. Then I remove the spinach and mushrooms from the pan, turn down the temp to 280 to cook the eggs for the omlette. I give the pan some time to cool down before adding the eggs. It is easy to see the inner ring power. The outer 1 to 1 1/2 " of the Lodge pan cook much slower than the inner circle leaving me with a browned inner circle and an uncooked outer circle of eggs. The Tramontina has helped with this problem but going from a higher temperature to a lower temperature is not as instant as the advertising says. If I am cooking spinach and mushrooms at 320 and turn down the temperature to 280 while they are in the pan, the cooking comes to a stop shortly. When I cooked rice in a 3 quart stainless steel pan, the rice stuck (not a hard stuck on the pan stuck) to the bottom that corresponded to the inner circle. The unit is easy is easy to clean up. When you go to turn on the unit, it is easy to feel that you must push hard on the button for it to come on. The reality is that you have to lightly push for a full several seconds...it is time, not how hard you push the button. I wish there was a more expanded instruction manual to help with understanding when to use watts and when to use temperature. Some advice would be helpful as to what temps or watts should be used to cook what. A basic cookbook would be nice. I am concerned that I have not been able to find any "real people" blogs about learning to cook with induction cooking. It is well worth the price I paid for it. I am wondering about the induction range...I hear that the induction units break down frequently and are expensive to repair. At this time, after 6 weeks, I wonder if 2 or 3 of these units would work just as well as a cooktop. Depending on their reliability, it would be a lot cheaper than a cooktop. I'll ask an electrician if you can have several units plugged into several electrical outlets.
34 people found this helpful
|33 comments|Report abuse