Salon Beauty Summer Reading Women's Block Sandals nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon theaffairS4 theaffairS4 theaffairS4  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now STL18_GNO

Oblivion [Blu-ray]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$14.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on June 23, 2017
FORMAT: Blu-Ray + DVD + Digital HD + Ultra Violet
UPC: 0-25192-17090-4
RELEASED: 2013-08-06

TITLE: Oblivion (2013) • PG-13 • 2:04:42
Tom Cruise, Morgan Freeman, Olga Kurylenko, Andrea Riseborough
Joseph Kosinski (Director)

I think that most of the people who are bad mouthing this movie are doing so because they expect ALL "sci-fi" movies to be "action" movies. I think this movie, while it has a goodly amount of action, is primarily a thinking person's science fiction movie (as opposed to a "sci-fi" movie, which these days is nearly synonymous with fantasy). If you want to be spoon fed a lot of explosions, gunfights, high-tech gadgets and creepy-looking, murderous xenomorphs (i.e.—aliens), then you will probably NOT enjoy this movie. However, if you don't mind paying attention to events as they unfold, and keeping track of said events from beginning to end, then you probably will enjoy this movie. I know that I thoroughly enjoyed it because it WASN'T your typical weakly-plotted, unscientific, action-oriented, "sci-fi" movie (think ANY of the Transformer movies). Is its science 100 percent accurate? No. But, it wasn't so GROSSLY inaccurate as to take me out of the plot, and make me ENTIRELY dismiss the premise of the movie. I found this film to be a welcome change of pace from most of the recent "sci-fi" movies, and I highly recommend it.

See the other reviews for more detail and/or other opinions regarding the plot of the movie.

VIDEO: 2.39:1 • Color • 1080p • MPEG-4 AVC (35.9 Mbps)

This movie features images that are very sharp, with great apparent depth, excellent shadow detail, and great contrast — and, they also possess a muted (and, sometimes, nearly monochromatic) color-palette that works very well with the tone of the source material. Fine detail is readily visible in all of the close-ups of faces, clothing, furnishings and machines — without any apparent edge-enhancement. Also, while there is some very mild banding on rare occasions (mainly, in the scene where Jack (Tom Cruise) uses his flashlight in the (now) subterranean library), there are no other anomalies to mar the image. Overall, this movie's picture quality is excellent — and, it should satisfy the VAST majority of viewers.

AUDIO: DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1 (48 KHz, 24-bit)

The sound quality and mix of the DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1 soundtrack is nearly reference quality. This soundtrack has most of the things that you want, sound-wise, in a movie; namely: very intelligible and well placed dialog, very deep bass in the front, side, rear and subwoofer channels, fairly active and mostly directional sound effects in ALL (i.e.—front, side and rear) channels, ambient and environmental sounds that are effective in communicating the location of the on-screen setting and action, and well recorded music (that is utilized effectively in the front AND surround channels). Overall, the sound presentation for this movie should satisfy all but the very pickiest of listeners.

EXTRAS: Director's Commentary (also featuring Tom Cruise)
Deleted Scenes
Several 'Making Of' Type Videos
Isolated Musical Score

None of the extras were reviewed.
21 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on June 30, 2017
Tom Cruise might have his off camera issues,
but he's a great actor, and since almost everything he does is rated PG-13, you're not dodging F-bombs and nudity when you have teen kids at home.

There's a lot to this movie,
the plot is solid,
I thought I picked up on some plot holes the first time I watched it,
but saw they were actually all covered the second time through.

Also plenty of sci-fi tidbits to keep your interest up.

Character drama (with the small number of actual characters that are in the movie),
action, and special effects were decent as well.

For my $7.88, the multi-format version also came with Ultraviolet Digital rights,
I've watched it a few times now without even ever loading the Blu-ray.

Recommended.
11 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on February 18, 2018
I am constantly saying to others that I don't like Tom Cruise "the person", but they could give this guy an empty box and a stick and he could make it an interesting movie. Oblivion is not the favorite type of movie for me, but with that being said, this movie allows us to take a peek behind the curtain of reality and the future, or at least the future how a certain segment of our population believes (basically the movie industry).

Once we get past the underlying political statement being made about what happens when everything goes wrong, this is actually a well done movie with a pretty awesome ending. Cruise, as he does whether it's in Mission Impossible, Top Gun, Edge of Tomorrow or Jack Reacher, takes what in many ways would be an average movie and moves it up several notches. I was wavering somewhere between 4 and 5 stars and what pushed my rating to 5 stars was the 4K Ultra HD HDR rendition of this release which was just a prime example of why people should upgrade their systems to 4K.....one word....."awesome!"
5 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on August 26, 2017
I'm not normally a Tom Cruise fan. This movie came to me because I am an M83 fan, and the music spoke to me long before I even knew about this film. On one hand, I can tell you how many movies he stars in, I enjoy. This might be my second favorite after Vanilla Sky. His performance is outstanding. Though there is action, I never felt like he was attempting to be an action star, which is a better role for him, especially as he ages. It is when emotion hits him that he is at his best. That was why I loved Vanilla Sky so much, and like the other film, the single, short cameo of another great actor helped bring out his performance at the climax.

I thought the film was going to have its problems. I really did. The plot started making me angry as we got into Act 3. Why did the writer have to make the decisions they did to bring about the ending of the story? I usually see endings coming, and I should have with this one. But the way that it was executed was masterful. I might even end up buying the blu-ray of this so I can watch it with commentary and all that good stuff in the near future.
5 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on August 8, 2013
I thought the trailer for this movie looked awesome. However, trailers are often deceiving. I came into the movie as a SciFi fan, not a Tom Cruise fan.

I checked the Rotten Tomatoes rating and the overall Amazon rating. Coupled with the great price for the HD version, I decided to try it out. I was hoping for the best, but expecting the worst (I am still stinging from losing two hours of my life watching Cloud Atlas). I really enjoyed this movie.

Good story, good action, great special effects. It's not a top 10 movie for me (or even top 50), but it was well worth the watch.

I was curious why many people gave it a bad review and why it didn't do well in the theater. I saw review titles mentioning plot holes and such. For fear of ruining the enjoyment I had already received watching this movie, I didn't read those bad reviews. I will catch continuity errors and plot holes in some movies, but not all, and those elements must not have been as apparent in this movie as others. Ignorance is bliss in this case.
15 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
VINE VOICEon June 12, 2016
A dystopian future where an alien race has destroyed Earth's moon and made war on the human race for possession of the planet. As a result, the human race used nuclear weapons to defeat the extra-terrestrial enemy but poisoned the planet in the process.

This is where we pick up the story. Jack Harper (Tom Cruise) is Tech-49 whose task is to keep drones in the air protecting the giant hydro-rigs that suck up seawater to make fusion reaction so the remainder of the human race in the "Tet", a giant orbiting spacestation, can move to Titan, Jupiter's largest moon to begin again. Then, out of nowhere, an ancient space shuttle lands with the woman that haunts Jack's dreams.

I was surprised by the numerous twists and turns in this film. The tech is cool, the special effects are very good as if the ravaged, desert landscape. The action sequences are excellent. Cruise does a fine job in his role as does Andrea Riseborough who plays "Victoria", Tech-49's communication link with the Tet and partner. Olga Kurylenko gives a wooden performance as the "woman in his dreams" but doesn't detract significantly from the overall production.

This is good sci-fi that will surprise you as the film progresses. I enjoyed this film immensely and I think most sci-fi fans will too. This is a first-rate movie, five stars.
25 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
on December 27, 2017
I adore dystopian sci-fi movies, and this one gave me fun elements to work with—complete with the not totally unexpected but nevertheless enjoyable twist. It also has artificial intelligence, alien influence, and advanced technology. The film incorporates beautiful visuals and relates a tale of both profound, cosmic sadness and hope that allows humanity's best aspects to shine through. Always I remind myself that Tom Cruise may have gone totally wonko, but that doesn't mean his movies aren't still good. And pretty much anything with Morgan Freeman has to be restaurant quality. I kept hoping that we'd get to see some part of the human civilization to be set up on Titan, but the story is confined to Earth and immediate vicinity. Good times.
One person found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on March 3, 2015
Beautiful visuals are matched with a somewhat mediocre story, but the whole seemed better than I expected. I wasn't counting on too much based on things I had read about this movie, but I decided to give it a chance anyway. I found that the visual elements were far more stunning than I expected. The future inhabited by the two main characters is bleak, the world appears to have been destroyed by an attempted alien invasion. There are feral human saboteurs that these two try to overcome in order to accomplish their mission, but not all is as it appears. Morgan Freeman gives a great performance, and Tom Cruise plays the science fiction hero as he does so well. Beautiful location shots and excellent CGI blend together to make a movie as breathtaking in its own way as the Lord of the Rings films. There are also a number of nice special features on the DVD that go into the making of the film and its effects.
4 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on December 10, 2016
Tom Cruise is my boy... I like all of his movies, sorry. I grew up with Tom Cruise, the breakfast club, etc., So, I've been watching his movies forever.

Oblivion is a movie that can be watched over and over again. It tells a unique story of a possible future brought on by a war with another alien species.

For a time, this alien species is able to control what is left of the planet using clones (Jack Harper -Tech 49), and drones ( Drone 166 etc.,). However, over time, the clone (Jack Harper - Cruise) is beginning to remember things from the past. The more and more he remembers, the better and better the movie gets.

Great movie, I do not want to spoil it.. Morgan Freeman is not really a support actor, I think they used him for more publicity. I think Nikolaj Coster-Waldau, did a much better job that Mr. Freeman at creating a contrast between the Good and Bad in the movie.

Highly Recommended - Great Movie - Oblivion
One person found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on March 9, 2014
I knew this was a post-apocalyptic like sci-fi movie…and I'm a fan of this genre. It was definitely different than most I've seen, and the ability to keep me on-edge (figuring something was going to jump out at any time) was something few films make me do these days. Some reviewers may give away the plots in their reviews but not I! The twists and turns in this film are mostly unpredictable. The film was shot in many parts of the world, including Iceland, and much of what you see is "in camera" (meaning, not using green screen effects added later). Even some of the sky imagery was created using projectors instead of green screen visuals.

The video quality was excellent and the HD audio was incredibly full (almost too much low-end at times). The special features on the blu-ray provide a decent behind-the-scenes look at how it was made. I definitely recommend the blu-ray version (the digital copy is fine for mobile devices but just doesn't have the same quality as the blu-ray).

Why not 5 stars? Heh, 5-stars are reserved for masterpieces or future classics (in my eye). This is a very good sci-fi film, but I can't put it up there with the classics.
4 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse