Industrial Deals Beauty Textbooks Shop women's shoes nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. New LG V35 ThinQ | $699.99. Save with Prime Exclusive Phones. Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry modern furniture and decor Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now SWMTVT18_gno



on November 17, 2017
Was great. Then it wasn't. 3 months later, it stopped charging. No kinks, no tears. Still in mint condition, but won't charge. I have original apple cords that are fraying that I've taped up with electrical tape that still work 2 years later.

So frustrated with these cords. I thought if I spent more it would last longer. Bought 2 and both are broken. Maybe if I collect enough of them I can macrame a plant hanger with them.
review imagereview imagereview image
178 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on May 4, 2017
I had high hopes for this lightning cable as the majority of the reviews were positive and mentioned that it didn't end up fraying after a short amount of time until it just stopped working or became unsafe to use. I use it with no problems for about 3 weeks, and then it started getting kind of temperamental about how the cable had to be positioned which made for some interesting solutions for charging my phone. Still, there was no obvious damage or fraying and the cord looked to be fine, so I continued to use it even if it was slightly annoying to sometimes have to spend some time finding the right position for the cable in order to charge my phone.

About 3 1/2 weeks ago, I started noticing some obvious fraying of the braided cord near where it plugs into the iPhone and it inevitably became too temperamental to even bother using it to charge at all. I've now switched back to an Amazon Basics lightning cable and am hoping that one lasts longer than this one did.

I did give it two stars because even though it didn't last very long and became unusable rather quickly, when it was working normally it was great, and I do love the way it looks. I don't know if my situation is a fluke, because like I said, I know most of the reviews are positive, but my experience was not. I chose to pay extra for a product I expected to last longer than a few months in lieu of buying the Amazon Basics one that I would normally use, so I'm disappointed that it didn't really live up to the standards in both the reviews and its own description.
382 people found this helpful
|33 comments|Report abuse
on May 11, 2017
This cable had very light usage (bedside table, plugged in only at night to charge iPhone 6S), for 8 weeks and then three days ago began to pop the dreaded "This accessory may not be supported" error message and would not charge my iPhone. The good news is that it comes with a year warranty, so when I complained (it took about 20 minutes to find the link - HINT: DO NOT LOOK FOR THE LINK ON THE MOBILE APP - you will find yourself in a loop), a new one has been shipped with two day delivery (I am a Prime Member). I will update this review if this is a one-off occurrence, or if it the error message returns.
436 people found this helpful
|44 comments|Report abuse
on September 7, 2017
Update: we received a replacement for the first one...after a few weeks, it is no longer working properly either...Absolute garbage!!!!

We ordered one and it worked great for the first two weeks, and all of a sudden it would only work on one side and if you held it at a certain angle. Got a replacement charger that is so far working great, but it has only been a week so we shall see.
The cord seems to be very durable, and I love the length!
52 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on March 14, 2017
Liked it at first. Cord itself is great but Lightning end snapped off and got stuck in my iPad after less than 5 months. Had to take it to Apple Store/Genius Bar to get it repaired.
review image
293 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on November 18, 2016
Having gone through three of Apple's power cables in the year since I bought my iPad due to the notoriously flimsy connector at the Lightning end of the cable, I came looking for *anything* with better construction. This cable is brilliant, plain and simple. The connections at both ends are designed to completely eliminate the flexing issue that causes Apple cables to separate from the business ends. and the braided nylon sheathing promises to make the entire cable last longer. Great design, low price. Way to go, Amazon!AmazonBasics Nylon Braided USB A to Lightning Compatible Cable - Apple MFi Certified - Rose Gold (3 Feet/0.9 Meter)
354 people found this helpful
|33 comments|Report abuse
on May 31, 2017
Buyers beware! I had this cable for 5 days, last night phone was plugged in and I started to smell something like a burning plastic smell. I went to unplug the phone and the cable was EXTREMLY hot , hot enough to burn your hand when touching. When I went to unplug the cable from the phone I also received a shock from the end of the cable. Not suppose to happen!!
111 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on March 13, 2017
Amazon CS will be hearing from me as well; however, buyer BEWARE. This device is exceedingly poorly made. When I removed the cord from my iPad charging port, the tip that covers the charging pins SNAPPED OFF and is now STUCK inside my iPad's charging port. I can't get it out, which means I will have to take my iPad in for repair in order to be able to use my charging port. I have two other cords like this that I bought for my children to use, and their use stops now.

If I don't get my $ back, my decade + relationship with Amazon will be finished. I'm beyond livid that this POS Amazon Basics product is the reason I'll now have to incur money and time and travel costs to have my iPad port repaired.

I've attached photos that show the broken off area as compared to a charging cords that is in tact.
review imagereview imagereview image
443 people found this helpful
|1111 comments|Report abuse
on November 23, 2017
These just don’t last. I have purxhased several and they all break shortly after you begin using them.
review image
35 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on April 3, 2017
I am very disappointed with this purchase. I bought AmazonBasics chargers for each of my family members in December and in March several of the chargers have stopped working are are not recognized by any of our numerous Apple devices. It's not an overuse issue as the one charger just sits in my office at work rarely used.
99 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse