Industrial Deals HPC Prime Day Prime Day Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Get 4 months of Amazon Music Unlimited for $0.99. Prime member exclusive. New subscribers only. Just $7.99/month after. Terms apply. Starting at $19.99 Grocery Handmade Prime Day modern furniture and decor Up to $50 off Home Services Up to 50% off Movies and TV shows for Prime members Up to 50% off Movies and TV shows for Prime members Up to 50% off Movies and TV shows for Prime members  Echo Devices Starting at $29.99 All-new Show Mode Charging Dock Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now SWMTVT18_gno

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
58,392
AmazonBasics Lightning to USB A Cable, Apple MFi Certified, White, 6 Feet/1.8 Meters, 2-Pack
Offer Type: 2-Pack|Size: 6 Feet|Color: White|Offer Type: Stand-alone cable|Change
Price:$15.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


I was put off by the bad reviews and the pictures of damaged cables, but since the positive reviews outnumbered the bad reviews I ordered up.

I ordered a 2-pack of the 6’ Lightning cables in black and was pleased by the overall quality look of these cables. (They are a little stiffer than the original Apple cable.) I charged my iPad with one of the cables and had no issues. The DROK USB Tester I had inline showed the iPad to be charging at a little over 5 volts and 2.32 amps, and the charging indicator showed green with no incompatibility warnings.

So I decided to start working on a positive 5-star review showing the pictures of the charging status along with the DROK USB Tester indicating the voltage and current. When I plugged in the 2nd charge cable however the charging amperage dropped from 2.32 amps to .08 amps (not good). I flipped the cable over and plugged it in and got 2.32 amps again, but it went back down to .08 amps when I plugged the cable back in the original position (AmazonBasics logo pointing up, see the pics below.)

I tried cleaning the contacts and used several different chargers with no change. I tested the same cable with my iPhone and the charging amperage jumped around from 1.18 to 1.45 amps. I also saw the source voltage vary slightly which is highly unusual.

Bottom line, I got a bad cable. I’m sending these back and will try again as I like the price. I’ll update this review once I test the new cables. And like all my reviews, I’ll make updates if I have any issues in the future.

Finally, I highly recommend getting a USB tester. (Just search USB Tester, it’s sold under several names.) Before I got this tester I had no idea if USB cables or chargers were good or bad. After getting a tester I discovered several of my chargers and cables were no good. Plus now I am able to determine which chargers and cables give the best charge.

[...]
Update 5/26/2017:
I've been using the new replacement cables for a week and both are charging at full capacity with no issues. I'll keep checking the cables and if I experience any issues I'll update this review.
review imagereview image
3,088 people found this helpful
|3131 comments|Report abuse
An Amazon.com official commented on the review below
on November 1, 2016
Despite some of the negative reviews I read about arching, sparking, melting, etc. I skeptical and decided to proceed with ordering this product based on the overwhelming amount of positive reviews along with the fact of having positive experience with amazonbasics cables in the past (standard length). Well I am a believer now! After maybe two weeks of normal use with a iPhone that has given no issues in the past with various cables including Apple, Amazon, JustWireless, and others, this cable just stopped working. And lo and behold, pull the cable out and there is black discoloration on the connector with the appearance of an arch that took place. AND now when inserting a different known good cable into the iPhone a resistance is felt that was not present before. So it must have altered/damaged the charge port on the phone as well. Maybe there is a issue with the dimensions/fit of the cable connector that allows it to shift and creates and cross connection or maybe the pins are not aligned just right causing the same outcome. Either way or whatever it is, it's not good, and I am definitely not a happy customer and will seriously consider before purchasing anything branded amazonbasics in the future.
review image
937 people found this helpful
|55 comments|Report abuse
An Amazon.com official commented on the review below
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon June 10, 2016
End of the cable melted and started smoking. Glad we caught it before a fire. About 4 month old cable. Submitting a warranty claim but not sure if I will use even a replacement.
review image
3,249 people found this helpful
|2222 comments|Report abuse
An Amazon.com official commented on the review below
on January 11, 2016
was charging iphone last night on nightstand and woke up to this. no damage to iphone thankfully.
review image
2,058 people found this helpful
|66 comments|Report abuse
An Amazon.com official commented on the review below
on June 6, 2016
We have had this charger for about two months. At first it worked great and the extra length was wonderful. Last night we were in bed and could smell something burning, turns out it was this charger! Needless to say we will be sending it back.
review imagereview image
1,888 people found this helpful
|99 comments|Report abuse
on February 22, 2016
I ordered three of these to have on hand as replacements. So far, two of the three have been opened and used, and neither works correctly. When plugging in to charge the phone, it cycles between charging and not charging every few seconds. I've not had that issue with other non-Apple cables I've used before.
476 people found this helpful
|44 comments|Report abuse
An Amazon.com official commented on the review below
on June 22, 2016
This item worked great for almost 4 months. I didn't expect it to work forever for $7.99, HOWEVER, I also didn't expect it to be dangerous. After almost 4 months, my phone was charging like normal, but when I went to check on it, the phone was so hot it burned my hand. The cable was ruined, my case was ruined, and if I had not found it in time, my PHONE would have been ruined. What if my new iPhone 6 was destroyed? What if my 6 year old had burned herself on it? What if it had started a fire? And what's my recourse? Will Amazon replace it? And would I even feel safe about using it? What about my case? So so disappointed Amazon.
review imagereview imagereview image
868 people found this helpful
|66 comments|Report abuse
An Amazon.com official commented on the review below
on February 3, 2017
This cord is a fire hazard. I bought it in August. Yesterday (January) it melted down. I smelled an electrical burning smell for hours, but couldn't locate the problem. When I found it, I picked it up, and the cord was very hot, had melted down. The stuff oozing out burned me. Not safe.
review imagereview image
61 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on July 27, 2016
This cable barely lasted 6 months. I have very tough on iPhone cables. I use my iPhone (currently have 6 Plus) 90% of my day, I thought going for a certified product at a much cheaper price would keep me charged but this thing started having charging problems 3 months in. At 6 months, the cable stopped charging. As with almost every lightning cable, the neck wires got twisted and/or overheated. I am dedicated to never twisting the neck of an iPhone charger so there is no reason for this cable to die so fast. Although mine did not melt, it was always extremely hot. I was foolish to believe it was my usage but after other reviews I consider myself fortunate that it did not fry my phone.
605 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
An Amazon.com official commented on the review below
on May 16, 2016
DO NOT BUY! | WARNING! | FIRE HAZARD!!! (see photos for proof!)! This "Apple Certified"lightning cable literally melted and fried my iPhone 6S Plus during charging. Simply plugging into a standard household outlet and my phone the cable overheated, causing a fire hazard, and started melting (as evidenced by the plastic coating bubbling up in the photos) and emitted the distinct "electrical fire/melting smell." Luckily, I noticed the issue before an actual fire ignited. Unfortunately, it comes at the expense of my iPhone 6S Plus that has been confirmed electrically fried and permanently and irrevocably ruined! I have bought other AmazonBasics "Certified" cables (lightning, HDMI, etc.). I am going through the house today and throwing all of them away. There's a difference between inexpensive and cheap. These have proven to be cheap. It's not worth saving a few dollars on cables to end up having to replace an $800 phone or worse yet, loss of life and/or home due to fire. These should be taken off the market immediately!!!
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
4,054 people found this helpful
|4141 comments|Report abuse