Industrial Deals Best Books of the Year So Far Men's Summer Sneakers nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Forest Blakk and Deepend Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry modern furniture and decor Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo All-new Show Mode Charging Dock Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now STL18_GNO



on July 30, 2016
After a year of debating and researching mattresses, along with over two years of sore backs and necks, my husband and I decided to take the plunge and order the Ghost bed. We researched all kinds of mattresses, but since we are on a budget, we were debating between GhostBed and Purple. We went with GhostBed because it was cheaper and the reviews of the mattress seemed to be what we were looking for.

The first night sleeping on it, I tossed and turned. My back was so so sore the next day. The next night was close to the same, and same for my husband. But the third night was heaven. Neither of us woke up hardly at all. We love this mattress because the motion doesn't transfer as much, so we do not wake each other up as often when we move in our sleep (we both move a lot in our sleep)! After about a week, we finally fully adjusted to sleeping on a memory foam mattress. I'm even convinced that our Dachshund sleeps better on this mattress. It is also a very cool mattress. Unlike most reviews on Amazon, we received NOTHING for this review, and it is totally unbiased.
798 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
on April 20, 2017
Note: I will not be a verified purchase because I ordered directly from Ghostbed.com but when I was deciding whether to buy this mattress I found the reviews were easier to research on Amazon as opposed to Ghostbed's website.

Pro's:
-My back pain is gone. This is a major plus to me. I am very grateful to be able to wake up in the morning without that crippling lower back pain caused by my old mattress which had body indentations.
- Quick shipping. I ordered my mattress on a Monday from Ghostbed.com and it arrived Tuesday.
- (After a month of breaking it in) The mattress conforms to my shape, and it is comfortable to sleep on.

Con's:
- The warranty is very misleading. Everywhere on Ghostbed's website says the warranty is 20 years. It wasn't until I received my mattress that I received my warranty information and read the mattress is really only covered for 10 years. After 11 years you pay 55% of the mattress cost to replace it, and that number goes up by 5% every year. So if you have 1 inch body indentations after 19 years you have to pay 95% of the mattress cost to replace it. I am upset that this wasn't more clear on their website. All over facebook Ghostbed just keeps repeating "20 year warranty!" See attached picture for the warranty information.
- The "cooling technology" does not appear to work very well. I get up in the night to use the restroom and get a drink of water. By the time I get back in bed, my mattress is still hot where I was laying down. I sleep with a ceiling fan and I still get really hot.
- The claims about "motion transfer" are also not true. I can still feel when my partner gets out of bed. It is better than a spring mattress, but still noticeable.

I'm going to keep my mattress after the 100 days. It was $400 dollars cheaper than it's competitor and I am happy that my back pain is gone. All in all, I'm glad I bought this, but I wish Ghostbed was more honest in their advertising.
review image
291 people found this helpful
|88 comments|Report abuse
on December 25, 2016
Only in it two weeks, but appears to be a very good purchase. I used to wake up tired and grouchy with our old bed. Now I wake up rested and grouchy.
397 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on November 4, 2017
We bought this mattress eleven months ago. When we got it, it was pretty firm, but broke in quickly and was very comfortable. Unfortunately, it just got softer and softer and softer until it provided no support whatsoever. The mattress looks flat, but the minute I lay down it turns into a hammock. We spent $743 less than a year ago and now we need a new mattress again. Disappointed does not cover my attitude toward this product.
41 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on September 25, 2017
Sure~~ it's amazing when you first get it but come back a year from now! The mattress is pure crap! The mattress will start to sink and their warranty is bull!! they'll do anything to prevent themselves from sending you a replacement. They'll tell you to turn the mattress upside down, take measurements and pictures of the indent. HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO MEASURE AND TAKE A PIC OF THE INDENT WHEN IT'S IN THE MIDDLE OF THE MATTRESS?! They'll blame it on your bed, your slats, your box spring. ANYTHING other than their mattress. Seriously save your money! Their FB is filled with only positive reviews. They don't have any real negative reviews as if they're filtered. Customer service reps are rude and unhelpful. $1000 down the drain with that I could have bought a different, better mattress with a REAL warranty. 20 year warranty my butt! If you want back pain a year down the line and have a company who refuses to honor their warranty then ghost bed is for you!!! Seriously tho save your money and go elsewhere. Also if you decide to clean the cover, the gray part will bleed into the white part. JUST AND FYI! ENJOY YOUR MATTRESS NOW!! BUT a few months later you'll start to feel the pain.
117 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on February 18, 2017
Ghost trial...The ghost bed isn't for side sleepers in my opinion. Way too firm. The topper they send to make it better is a smaller footprint and is made in China. The mattress case looks and feels low quality and is misshapen. (Not a big deal in itself) Be aware if you buy two twins to use as a split king the trial is worthless. They will site policy and only allow you to be refunded for one twin. A lot of good that does. Now we are stuck with half a bed that we didn't like.
Their customer service isn't anything spectacular. They could have made it right but chose to just refer to their policy. Over all this has gone from an underwhelming experience to flat out frustration. We gave this bed and company every opportunity and I suggest you learn from my blunder. We did lots of research and read 100's of reviews and this is the review I wish we would have read.
132 people found this helpful
|33 comments|Report abuse
on September 7, 2017
It's better than the air mattress that I was sleeping on. Actually it's pretty comfortable except for one big problem: Heat. If I lay in one spot for too long, it got extremely hot. I ordered this mattress because it specifically said in the description that it's engineered to sleep cool. Well it doesn't. Granted, I'm 6' tall and 250 lbs and I like my air conditioning. I do tend to get hot easily, so maybe a more average person would have a better experience. For a small person who tends to get cold, this could be a great mattress. If heat buildup isn't an issue for you, I recommend the Ghostbed. It's very comfortable otherwise.

On a positive note, Amazon shipped it promptly and they made returning it easy and they quickly refunded my money.
19 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on December 23, 2017
This bed was great for the first three months. We were coming from a queen size old inner spring that we got rid of because it had formed divots where we sleep. This ghost bed how has the same exact thing. This bed is not good for heavy people. If you weigh 200 pounds or more it will be deformed in about 6 months. This bed is way too expensive to be this crappy in only 6 month's time. So I have only had it for 9 months and I am handing this bed down to my son who is about 100 pounds and getting a new inner spring. This foam only mattress was the worst thing for my back.I never had any back trouble before sleeping on this mattress. I have been sleeping on the couch because it is more comfortable.
24 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on June 25, 2017
Very uncomfortable. Didn't conform to the body at all. The manufacturer is fully aware that this bed is hard as a rock, because in the packing information, there was a paper saying to add a cushioned mattress pad to make the bed more comfortable. I shouldn't have to use a mattress pad to make my $1000 mattress comfortable. We both woke up in pain every day.

As for the cooling layer, neither of us noticed a cooler feel than with our regular mattress.

Returning this mattress was easy in process, and difficult in execution. It's a 115 lb king size mattress, that arrived vacuum sealed into a relatively small box. There was just no way to get it back in the shipping box. So we took it to the UPS store, and they took it from there.
110 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on October 9, 2017
I wish, wish, wish, I'd tried to return this mattress before the 100 days were up. It's like sleeping on a bongo drum. Since I started sleeping on this, I've woken up so many times with sore arms, sore shoulders... can't say for sure that it's related, however I find it hard to imagine it's not. If you buy, make sure you'll be able to get a refund if you hate it (I believe that ordering through Amazon may nullify that guarantee, but that may have changed). You're better off getting your mattress the old-fashioned way. In a store. Good luck.
26 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse