Beauty Best Books of the Month Women's Block Sandals nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc The Carters Fire TV Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon theaffairS4 theaffairS4 theaffairS4  Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now STL18_GNO



on January 3, 2017
I now own 3 of these for my grandchildren. They fit perfectly in the 2nd row (backseat) of my 2012 Honda Pilot. Easy to install and take out. Only issue I've ever had is the straps get twisted sometimes. Good price.
review image
234 people found this helpful
|33 comments|Report abuse
on March 23, 2017
I purchased an Evenflo Chase Harnessed Booster in March 2015 for our first grandchild. I liked it so much that I decided to order one in March 2017 for our second grandchild. Much to my surprise Evenflo has changed the headrest. The 2015 model has styrofoam under the cloth cover over the plastic headrest. There is no styrofoam on the 2017 model headrest. I contacted Evenflo and was told that the 2017 model meets or exceeds all safety standards. The cloth cover also has less padding and is thinner than the 2015 headrest cloth cover. I will attach photos so others can be aware of this issue and the changes Evenflo has made. In my opinion, the 2015 model is 5 stars and the 2017 model is 1 star.
review imagereview image
235 people found this helpful
|33 comments|Report abuse
on June 6, 2017
While I was hoping I'd never have to write a review after a car accident here I am. 2 weeks ago a man darted across all 3 lanes and hit the side of my car. The car seat and my daughter were not effected in the least. She was half asleep and because it barely moved her she went to sleep right after. I'm eternally grateful for this sear and it's definitely worth the buy!
90 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on March 5, 2018
Initially purchased this seat nearly a year ago. Its worked well with the 5pt harness for our toddler and she seems comfy. Personally I do wish the seat reclined just a little more as when she falls asleep on long trips the angle her neck goes makes me cringe. Color is nice but not a factor in purchase for us.

Now for the important bit. 4 days ago my husband and toddler were involved in a fairly severe rollover accident - the mini van is totaled, slider doors bent out of frame, husband covered in cuts and bruises. However my toddler is just fine. Minor bruising/ abrasions from her seat strap on one side. THE SEAT DID IT'S JOB.

I will be purchasing again.
41 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on September 11, 2015
I love this car seat. I actually bought a 2nd for our 2nd car.

When my son was first born, I did so much research on what car seats to buy. His baby carrier and convertible car seats were expensive. Then I needed another convertible car seat for the grandparents car, so I bought a convertible Evenflo car seat. We loved it and ended up trading car seats with the grandparents and giving them the expensive convertible seat. The Evenflo was much less bulky, easy to adjust, easy to put in and take out of the car, and easy to work seat belt. The more expensive convertible seat was very bulky and always had tangled seat belts.

So when it was time to order a larger car seat, I started looking at Evenflo again. I love this seat. It is easy to put in and take out. The fabric cleans up well. It fits well in smaller cars. My son is tall for his age, but I will keep him in this car seat for as long as I can because I know he will be safe, and I like having him in a 5-point harness instead of just a car seat belt.

I know the saying "you get what you pay for." This car seat is not the least expensive option out there, but it is far less than the $400 options. basically, manufacturers have to follow guidelines to make sure their products meet the safety regulations. Most car seats give similar levels of protection. I do not really think that the $400 car seat gives more protection than this one. It just has more name-recognition and maybe more expensive fabric. Neither of which really matter for the ultimate goal of safety.
158 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on April 4, 2017
For the price, this seat is great!! It came in 2 days with my prime membership, and I really needed Jr fast. Got one in blue and one in pink. I have a 3 yr old girl and 4 yr old boy. We are leaving on our first family vacation in a week and thought the seat they were in before was "too babyish" for them. I love the dual cup holders. The main reason I got this seat in particular though is because they aren't a lot of high backed booster seats with harnesses under $100. My children are small for their age, and although they seem to big for a baby seat, I def feel they still need the 5 point harness to keep them safe. They are 27 and 29 lbs. and are around 36-38inches tall. They are both on the border. This seat is great bc the harness works for 22-40lbs, and after they reach 40lbs, it converts and you can remove the harness and use it as a regular booster with the seatbelt until 110lbs. So this seat was absolutely perfect for them now....and will work for a long time to come. Seems more comfy than their old seat too. They've only been in the seat twice so far, but I'm very happy with it!!
35 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on June 3, 2017
My review would be 5 stars if there were shouldef pads included! My sons shoulders get marked up so bad and the straps are adjusted correctly. I also wish it was not rethread to adjust height!
review image
19 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on March 14, 2016
I ordered these for my 4 and 6 year olds. One to be used with the harness and one to be used as a belt-positioning booster. While it's fine for my very small for his age 4 year old, it's much too small for my 6 year old. The seat is not deep enough and very narrow. I am adding a picture of his old booster to show the difference in depth and width. In my opinion, by the time most kids are old enough/big enough for the booster, this seat will be much too small. Also, other reviews were correct in that the arm rests do pop off much too easily.
review image
84 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
We returned this carseat and kept the "Evenflo Maestro Booster Car Seat, Wesley" (Evenflo Maestro Booster Car Seat, Wesley), which we had ordered at the same time to compare. The two models are very similar, the main difference was the amount of padding — the Maestro is just so much more comfortable, while with the Chase seat you could feel the hard plastic through the thinner padding.

Even though we did not end up keeping this particular model, here are the factors that bumped up this seat into our "finalists" list:
- SAFETY: 5-point harness keeps our 3-year-old more securely in the seat for longer (plan to use until 5 years old)
- LONGEVITY: converts to seatbelt booster
- attaches to latch system, so it doesn't slide around and is easy for child to climb into
- affordable at under 70 dollars

The main consideration for us was keeping our 3-year-old in a 5-point harness seat for as long as possible, but not wanting to purchase a new seat in two years when she moves up to a seatbelt booster. We had to purchase a new seat for her now, because our second child is moving up into her old seat. Technically, our child meets the minimum requirements for a seatbelt booster now, but after reading a few discussion on this, it seems that with every seat "upgrade" (changing to forward-facing, then changing to seatbelt booster) you loose a layer of safety. In fact, even in our car manual it states that due to a child's anatomy, they recommend a 5-point harness until 5 years old (their skeleton isn't mature enough to "properly" handle a car accident if they are using a seatbelt booster this young).

While we preferred the Maestro carseat for us, this is still a nice seat and I can see it working well for a family who takes mostly shorter trips or for occasional use (grandparents or caregiver car, plane travel etc.).
59 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on July 25, 2017
First off, this is a low frills, purpose built seat. If you're looking for a seat for long trips, this is not your seat. However, if you're looking for a second seat to get the job done you've found your seat!

I bought this seat for our new vehicle (mom car) and didn't want to break the bank (new car did that already! Haha). This seat is rated as an IIHS best bet; so is our new car.
Cons;
minimal padding.. no foam anywhere!
Seat sits VERY upright. Refer to recline modification (pic)
Difficult to remove seat from vehicle.
Pros:
Lightweight
Cool colors (kid loves it)
She says it's comfy
Easy to adjust straps and buckle
Removable cup holders
Narrow seat width, can even put my armrest down

This seat installed fairly easy in my '17 Mitsubishi Outlander. However the back seat has a recline to it and the car seat back wasn't even touching it when we first installed it! Luckily we had a simily problem with our last seat (Recaro ProRide). We had a reinforced foam tube for the recaro seat that we placed under the front for more recline. This foam piece worked with the Evenflo seat as well! See pic.

All in all, the seat gets the job done, is easy to get our daughter in and out of, and she likes it. Can't beat that when considering I only spent $22.00 for it!
For reference, our daughter is recently 3 years old, 29lbs and 37" tall. She needed the shoulder belts moved to the third slot and the crotch belt moved to the front slot. Fits her perfect.
Hope this helps!
review imagereview imagereview imagereview image
13 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse