Industrial Deals Best Books of the Year So Far Our favorite denim: shop women's jeans nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc AWOLNATION Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry modern furniture and decor Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo All-new Show Mode Charging Dock Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now SWMTVT18_gno



on December 19, 2016
I compared to Out Odor Control brand from Wal-Mart. Amazon's cost 13¢ per pass vs Wal-Mart cheaper pad (.24¢ /pad). Shown in picture: 1 tbsp water poured onto pad. Water spread a tad more on Amazon brand. Poured 1/4 cup of water and spread was same, but water leaked through the Wal-Mart pad. Amazon pad did not leak. My vote is for the Amazon brand. We have an older pug, a finicky Chihuahua, and a 25 pd spaniel mix with our manners. The pads are used everyday, so cost and effectiveness are important.
review image
381 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
on February 1, 2016
These are good items. I got to compare it side by side with the Hartz pads. Hartz pads were the only one available in quantity of a 100 @the store. These are slightly bigger and the back plastic is thicker than Hartz brand. It holds a lot more liquid. I like how the border is wider also I'm buying again. In the photos the Amazon is the bigger one. Smaller one is the Hartz brand. The diamonds design on the white pad is the Amazon brand. I
review imagereview imagereview image
618 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on April 25, 2015
I will be buying these again. I've tried a number of puppy pads since I have a small toy dog and am pleased to report that these do a good job of absorbing urine and affordably priced. They are not the thickest pad I have bought but they do not leak. More important than thickness to me is how the pad curbs the flow of urine. Some like the Allmax are thicker pads but the urine spreads out too much and it will reach the dog's paws before she is done. The Amazon pads inhibit the spreading better which for me is a big plus. Highly recommended. I hope this review helps a little in making your decision!
687 people found this helpful
|33 comments|Report abuse
These puppy pads are a nice big size and my 4 week old puppy took to them right away. She actually never had an accident off of the pad I'm not sure what they scent them with but whatever it is...it works! The only thing I would change would be the addition of sticky tabs on the back of the pad, in each corner. I have had pads with those type of tabs and they really help the pad stay where you put it. Fortunately my puppy didn't think the pads would be fun to play with, so the lack of adhesive wasn't a problem for us. In the picture you can see that I use a pack-n-play instead of a traditional kennel. I place the puppy pad on the right side and the puppy's food and bed on the left side. These pads work very well for my needs, though I do have to use two at a time since I'm covering a large area.
If you have found this review helpful, please click "yes" below so that I know my taking the time to write a review is appreciated and I'm not wasting my time.
321 people found this helpful
|33 comments|Report abuse
Top Contributor: Petson January 8, 2017
I darling little puppy took to these immediately- my sweet little guy - only 2 pounds when I brought him home and he was afraid of everything..going outside was scary- so these pads just made it easy for him. I didn't need to spray any additional scent on the pads to get him to use them. He especially liked the ones I put behind a chair for privacy. Apparently they like their privacy. And with the weather turning cold and lots of rain - these are a must. He is up to 4.9 pounds and doing wonderful. He occasionally just misses the pad so I have added an additional pad just in case. They aren't wasted if he doesn't go on them, but he has more cheering and "What a good boy" you are. We named in Peanuts
review imagereview image
220 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
on April 6, 2016
 Why did I buy Pet Training Pads?
I have been using Pet Training Pads over 5 years now. I have 2 small toy dogs and they do business in the pads. When I first brought them home, it was a middle of winter where we had several feet of snow in the ground with really cold temperatures. So, I had to use the training pads. By the spring same, they both were already used to the pads. I have tried 'Training Pads' from various sources; i.e. local pet-shop, grocery stores, warehouse clubs and also few different brand name pads from Amazon.com. My 2 dogs are very spoiled. They would not use the Pad if it is dirty or wet. So, I have to change often and I used approx. 3-5 pads daily, I also don’t like to have soiled Puppy Pads lying around my house too long either. So, I purchase at least 10 boxes of 100 pads yearly, if not more.

What am I looking for when I buy Training Pads?
I am looking for large size to accommodate 2 dogs, made for good absorbent and leak free from the overflow at side of the pads.

Why did I buy this “AmazonBasics” Pet Training Pads?
One of the advertising photo shows AmazonBasics Pads 5 layer design, especially 3rd layer caught my eyes. It’s Polymer Core that turns liquid to Gel. Also size (28x34) is large enough for what I am looking for. I am new to AmazonBasics products, so I didn't know if quality will be good or not. But, I like the Amazon policy enough, so I wouldn't worry too much about it. If product is bad quality or didn't work out, I know Amazon will guarantee for refund. It’s risk free.

How is the quality of this pads?
In my 5 years buying Pet Training Pads (use average about 100 pads/monthly), I tried many brand name pads, various sizes and different price range. So, I know the quality when I see one. When I order this “Amazon Basics” Pet Training pads, I didn’t know how good it would work. What I saw and read online advertisement for this product looks good, but I wasn’t sure if it will hold the liquid as it said it would.
When I opened the box and I spread out the one of the pad. I can feel its quality. It’s almost like I am holding the cloth quilted pad and not disposable pad. It feels thick, and have cushion, but it is firm too.
As advertised, it holds liquid well. When liquid hits the pad, it goes down and spread at the bottom layers rather than spread at the top surface. So, my dogs like this. The surface is dryer than the other ones that I have been used.

Do I recommend this to other Pet Training Pad users?
Yes, I would recommend this to anyone without any hesitation. At least try once and see it yourself.

Any cons?
I can’t think of any yet.

Summary: This is the best quality Pet Training Pads I ever used in my 5 years of using the puppy pads and I will be buying this pads from now on. Each pads price isn’t the lowest, but it has good absorption, thus, it saves money in a long run.
297 people found this helpful
|99 comments|Report abuse
on February 26, 2017
These are very basic pads. They are thick enough to hold the liquid. They do not seem to leak. they seem to keep the smell at bay as well. They are of average size. I am using these for my senior dog. She does well and will go on them when they are there for her to use. She is a medium size dog. I am very happy with this purchase and will be buying them again!.

If you have found this review helpful, please click "yes" below so that I know my taking the time to write a review is appreciated and worth the effort.
74 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on February 26, 2017
I have a 9-lb 14years old Maltese and I have trained my dog to take his business in a cardboard box since he is a baby and these pads are awesome. I have some boxes that I saved from our kitchen remodeling and I used them for this purpose. Due to the size of the box, I have to use 1 and 1/3 of the pad. I changed them once in the morning and once at night. This is the only pad I have used so far that does not leak, that's why I signed up for a monthly auto-delivery on this baby. I'll be lost if Amazon discontinue this product. This is also a good size for training dogs that likes to walk around before taking their business because these pads can give them some room.
review imagereview image
27 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on September 28, 2017
I have a cat that is urinating outside the litter box, and i use these pads to catch the urine. i have them positoned flat on the floor and also draped under the entrance to the litter box, under her entrance ramp. She is only 10 lbs and she urinates many times/day, so please note, this is not a large amount of urine, and it forms only a small to medium sized circle on the pad (it never fills the whole pad). My experience is that everything written in the product description is not true:
- "Each pad comes with five layers to ensure leak-proof performance." My experience: these pads are super thin. I have examined them carefully and I don't see how they could have 5 layers.
- "The anti-streaming top layer offers a quick-drying quilted surface that locks in wetness, reduces odor, and prevents tracking." My experience:
when my cat urinates on the pads i drape around the litter box entrance, the urine runs off instead of being absorbed. When she urinates on the pad that is flat on the floor, it seeps through the plastic and gets the floor wet. If she steps on a urine soaked pad, she tracks it onto the floor.
- "The surge layer keeps liquid flowing in the right direction, while the sponge-like core provides maximum absorption and turns liquid into gel upon contact. " This truly makes me laugh. There is no sponge-like core or gel action. The urine remains liquid, is not absorbed well by the pad, leaks out of the pad, and is easily tracked onto the floor when the cat steps on it.
- " The last two layers of the leak-proof pet-training pads--the locking layer and the protective plastic lining--keep floors safe from damage." My experience is that they leak every single time.
16 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on May 24, 2017
Woah. Amazon crushed it with this one. These are so much better than any other pad we have tried. So absorbent and much cheaper as well. We have an old, old, old little dog who is almost 3 years past the top end of the average lifespan for his breed and he needs these, so we go through probably 8 a day.

Mr. Beepers likes these and it cut way down on his peeing on other random things in our house. If he were not so handsome, we would not put up with such nonsense.
review image
19 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse