Salon Beauty Summer Reading Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Introducing Fire TV Cube Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now STL18_GNO



on October 19, 2017
This is my first straight razor but I can’t imagine them being much better than this ! If you want to get that crisp line up then trust and believe this will do the trick. It takes a little getting used too but after a few little cuts here and there ,I got the hang of it and got my beard lined up pretty nice . It is extremely sharp and even the little cuts I have myself were so fine that by morningthet were pretty much gone . The weight of this is great I wouldn’t want a light feeling razor with as sharp as it is . The blade guard is solid and easy to use . The razor also comes with a box of replacement blades that will probably last me at least a year. I am excited that I can now give myself that crisp line up that I once could only get from the barbershop . Do yourself the favor and pick this up, you won’t regret it . I can give myself a extra week or two before going back to the barber so this pays for itself in the first month.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview image
21 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on January 28, 2018
With 100 blades good for 3-4 shaves and it's like $4 for another 100 kits like this you'll never need another razor for YEARS. Of course you better know how to handle them. Dollar shave club is great bang for buck too. But this kit you'll save crazy stupid money. Also my gf likes me to shave her legs sometimes with it. Pretty sure the danger turns her on.
14 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on January 7, 2017
As a first-time straight razor user I expected the worst and hope for the best. To my surprise no next and I got a close shave
review image
26 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on August 14, 2017
The design itself is nice and looks and feels good in your hand. This is my first straight razor, and it was fun and enjoyable to shave with it--got a very close shave with no nicks. Derby blades are my favorite--sharp but forgiving. I watched some YouTube videos on how to shave with a straight edge and took my time--definitely a leisurely experience.

I was a little worried by some of the reviews saying the machining wasn't the best and that some received a used product, but glad I gave it a try. As for the machining and construction, I'd give them a B+. It's not perfect, with a few scuffs here and there, and the blade doesn't line up perfectly when closed, but enough to cover the razor. When I do move the blade to go fully into the handle, the razor rests on metal, which isn't ideal, so I just let it close where it wants to. But the handle and razor arm hinge nicely together and stay in the position you want them in, rather than flopping around.

Also, because of the way the razor fits into the blade, you are going to get water trapped in the blade every time you use it, so removing the razor and wiping the straight edge dry each time you use it to avoid rust is a little cumbersome--it's probably like this for any straight edge that uses disposable blades, not just this brand. But then again, you probably aren't shaving with a straight edge because you want a quick, no fuss shave. You're doing it for the nostalgic experience, right?

Overall, not a bad intro to straight edges and certainly does its job well.
6 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on December 1, 2016
I'm totally new at this straight razor stuff. I got it for my husband to shape/line his beard. I actually did it for him. This was my first time using a straight razor ever.

I used a proper shave gel and practice on some sections of my leg first. Immediately fell in love! I'll always shave my legs with a straight razor now.

I then helped line/shape my husband's beard. He had no skin irritation I was very careful and took my time. I also took my time when shaving my legs. It's a great product for those who want a precise beard or close shave, and are also patient and careful.
22 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on August 11, 2017
My first experience with a straight edge razor; something I have always wanted to try, but had no desire to spend large amounts for the experience. I have used it three times now... no nicks, no cuts, but totally hooked! The blade glided through five weeks of beard like it was butter, and the best thing? NO CLOGGED BLADES!! As far as beard shaping goes, I felt I had total control and a clear view of what I wanted to accomplish with it. And whoever stated, "you cannot teach an old dog new tricks" was a moron!

Bottom line: if you have ever considered using a straight edge... this should be your gateway drug of choice!
review image
20 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on December 20, 2015
Handle seems decent enough. The free blades aren't the best (I've used Derby in my double-edge safety razor before too, and they're always okay but not great), so the shave is a little rougher than it could be, but it's a pleasant change being able to shave without hair clogging the blade like it tends to in a safety razor if you don't shave for a few days. Seems like you have to be extra careful when opening it to change blades, but that's probably why this kind doesn't have "safety" in the name!

Also, compared to a double-edge, you have to be a lot more careful not to accidentally "strafe" - with the double-edge the direction of the handle makes a sideways slice a very unnatural movement (and friction of the guard tends to prevent it), whereas with this if you're not paying attention you could easily make that very dangerous motion. But that's not a problem with this product - if you're choosing this then you're choosing more control over safety, and you should know that.
6 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on December 8, 2017
One word.....A.....MAZ.....ING!

I absolutely love this razor. I recently decided to try the bald head look for a little while and got advice from my barber on what materials I would need. I researched this brand, and took a chance on the reviews and I made the purchase; This being my first time shaving, I can say that my experience has been a pleasant one. The package from amazon comes with the razor, 100 interchangeable blades, and is easy to use once you get the blade installed, which admittedly, is my only gripe about this product. The instructions aren't that straight-forward, and it takes a bit of finger maneuvering to get it in place, but once installed, its a breeze; You have to hold the blade with one hand on the lower clip, and use your other hand to slide the top clip over it, so that it snaps in place. (see my pictures) I love how close it gets to the skin, without being to difficult to use. The cut this razor provides is amazing and I will be sticking with this brand for as long as I decide to stay bald. Highly recommend!
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
2 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on November 27, 2017
I've always wanted to try a straight edge/shavette (currently using a safety razor) and I thought what the heck this straight edge is so cheap I could take a chance and see if it was all I thought it was. The straight edge arrived in perfect working condition and I showed it to my coworkers and one of them decided to order one too, after he saw the build quality. Unfortunately, his arrived defective.

I love how close of a shave you get with a shavette. It's night and day when compared to my safety razor which says a lot. So far I've only nicked myself once or twice but I'm starting to get the hang of it. The good news is that I can reuse my safety razor blades in addition to the 50 blades that came with the shaver.

I'll probably upgrade to a nice straight edge once this one wears out. Happy shaving!
2 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on April 11, 2017
I have always been intrigued at the idea of using a straight razor to shave. I also wanted the ability to creat razor sharp lines, which a standard cartridge shaver cannot do as well. I purchased this razor because of the mostly positive reviews, price and ease of use. I used it the first day I got it and it went surprisingly well. I had minimal blood! The second time, I got a better overall shave but cut myself a bit more, user error. Like with any razor, if you still have bumps and small cuts from the last shave, you will reopen them. Now that I am getting the hang of it, I plan to use it mostly to clean up after I shave and occasionally to shave fully on the weekends. I should not have to say this but it is extremely sharp, much sharper then even a well made chefs knife, be careful. If you take your time and use short strokes and a consistent angle, you will be fine. I gave this razor 4 stars because for the price, it is a great value. The blades will last me a year or more. It works as intended and is the perfect beginner razor. My one gripe is build quality. For $14 dollars, I was not expecting a hand crafted, blacksmith made piece of art but I did have some surface rust after 1 week in between the slot where the blade goes. It wiped off okay but it make me wonder how this will last in the long run. I did towel dry it when finished by there must have been a bit of water inside. If you are looking to try a straight razor for the first time or you just need to clean up your lines after you shave, I would definitely recommend this razor.
11 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 59 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here