Truck Reviews HPC Warlight Men's slip on sneakers nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc CMA Fest Electronics Gift Guide Fire TV Stick Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Shop by look Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon $0.99 rentals for Prime members $0.99 rentals for Prime members $0.99 rentals for Prime members  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now Start your Baby Registry

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
57,224
AmazonBasics Lightning to USB A Cable - Apple MFi Certified - White - 6 Feet /1.8 Meters
Offer Type: 1-Pack|Size: 6 Feet|Color: White|Offer Type: Stand-alone cable|Change
Price:$7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


I was put off by the bad reviews and the pictures of damaged cables, but since the positive reviews outnumbered the bad reviews I ordered up.

I ordered a 2-pack of the 6’ Lightning cables in black and was pleased by the overall quality look of these cables. (They are a little stiffer than the original Apple cable.) I charged my iPad with one of the cables and had no issues. The DROK USB Tester I had inline showed the iPad to be charging at a little over 5 volts and 2.32 amps, and the charging indicator showed green with no incompatibility warnings.

So I decided to start working on a positive 5-star review showing the pictures of the charging status along with the DROK USB Tester indicating the voltage and current. When I plugged in the 2nd charge cable however the charging amperage dropped from 2.32 amps to .08 amps (not good). I flipped the cable over and plugged it in and got 2.32 amps again, but it went back down to .08 amps when I plugged the cable back in the original position (AmazonBasics logo pointing up, see the pics below.)

I tried cleaning the contacts and used several different chargers with no change. I tested the same cable with my iPhone and the charging amperage jumped around from 1.18 to 1.45 amps. I also saw the source voltage vary slightly which is highly unusual.

Bottom line, I got a bad cable. I’m sending these back and will try again as I like the price. I’ll update this review once I test the new cables. And like all my reviews, I’ll make updates if I have any issues in the future.

Finally, I highly recommend getting a USB tester. (Just search USB Tester, it’s sold under several names.) Before I got this tester I had no idea if USB cables or chargers were good or bad. After getting a tester I discovered several of my chargers and cables were no good. Plus now I am able to determine which chargers and cables give the best charge.

[...]
Update 5/26/2017:
I've been using the new replacement cables for a week and both are charging at full capacity with no issues. I'll keep checking the cables and if I experience any issues I'll update this review.
review imagereview image
2,817 people found this helpful
|2828 comments|Report abuse
An Amazon.com official commented on the review below
on November 1, 2016
Despite some of the negative reviews I read about arching, sparking, melting, etc. I skeptical and decided to proceed with ordering this product based on the overwhelming amount of positive reviews along with the fact of having positive experience with amazonbasics cables in the past (standard length). Well I am a believer now! After maybe two weeks of normal use with a iPhone that has given no issues in the past with various cables including Apple, Amazon, JustWireless, and others, this cable just stopped working. And lo and behold, pull the cable out and there is black discoloration on the connector with the appearance of an arch that took place. AND now when inserting a different known good cable into the iPhone a resistance is felt that was not present before. So it must have altered/damaged the charge port on the phone as well. Maybe there is a issue with the dimensions/fit of the cable connector that allows it to shift and creates and cross connection or maybe the pins are not aligned just right causing the same outcome. Either way or whatever it is, it's not good, and I am definitely not a happy customer and will seriously consider before purchasing anything branded amazonbasics in the future.
review image
842 people found this helpful
|44 comments|Report abuse
An Amazon.com official commented on the review below
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon June 10, 2016
End of the cable melted and started smoking. Glad we caught it before a fire. About 4 month old cable. Submitting a warranty claim but not sure if I will use even a replacement.
review image
3,134 people found this helpful
|2222 comments|Report abuse
An Amazon.com official commented on the review below
on January 11, 2016
was charging iphone last night on nightstand and woke up to this. no damage to iphone thankfully.
review image
1,989 people found this helpful
|66 comments|Report abuse
An Amazon.com official commented on the review below
on June 6, 2016
We have had this charger for about two months. At first it worked great and the extra length was wonderful. Last night we were in bed and could smell something burning, turns out it was this charger! Needless to say we will be sending it back.
review imagereview image
1,828 people found this helpful
|99 comments|Report abuse
on February 22, 2016
I ordered three of these to have on hand as replacements. So far, two of the three have been opened and used, and neither works correctly. When plugging in to charge the phone, it cycles between charging and not charging every few seconds. I've not had that issue with other non-Apple cables I've used before.
447 people found this helpful
|44 comments|Report abuse
on July 27, 2016
This cable barely lasted 6 months. I have very tough on iPhone cables. I use my iPhone (currently have 6 Plus) 90% of my day, I thought going for a certified product at a much cheaper price would keep me charged but this thing started having charging problems 3 months in. At 6 months, the cable stopped charging. As with almost every lightning cable, the neck wires got twisted and/or overheated. I am dedicated to never twisting the neck of an iPhone charger so there is no reason for this cable to die so fast. Although mine did not melt, it was always extremely hot. I was foolish to believe it was my usage but after other reviews I consider myself fortunate that it did not fry my phone.
581 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
An Amazon.com official commented on the review below
on June 22, 2016
This item worked great for almost 4 months. I didn't expect it to work forever for $7.99, HOWEVER, I also didn't expect it to be dangerous. After almost 4 months, my phone was charging like normal, but when I went to check on it, the phone was so hot it burned my hand. The cable was ruined, my case was ruined, and if I had not found it in time, my PHONE would have been ruined. What if my new iPhone 6 was destroyed? What if my 6 year old had burned herself on it? What if it had started a fire? And what's my recourse? Will Amazon replace it? And would I even feel safe about using it? What about my case? So so disappointed Amazon.
review imagereview imagereview image
817 people found this helpful
|66 comments|Report abuse
An Amazon.com official commented on the review below
on May 16, 2016
DO NOT BUY! | WARNING! | FIRE HAZARD!!! (see photos for proof!)! This "Apple Certified"lightning cable literally melted and fried my iPhone 6S Plus during charging. Simply plugging into a standard household outlet and my phone the cable overheated, causing a fire hazard, and started melting (as evidenced by the plastic coating bubbling up in the photos) and emitted the distinct "electrical fire/melting smell." Luckily, I noticed the issue before an actual fire ignited. Unfortunately, it comes at the expense of my iPhone 6S Plus that has been confirmed electrically fried and permanently and irrevocably ruined! I have bought other AmazonBasics "Certified" cables (lightning, HDMI, etc.). I am going through the house today and throwing all of them away. There's a difference between inexpensive and cheap. These have proven to be cheap. It's not worth saving a few dollars on cables to end up having to replace an $800 phone or worse yet, loss of life and/or home due to fire. These should be taken off the market immediately!!!
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
4,021 people found this helpful
|4141 comments|Report abuse
An Amazon.com official commented on the review below
on October 16, 2016
I would like to give this 0 stars. My daughter, who is a seven-year-old, went to get the charger and was burned when she touched it. My husband quickly unplugged it from the wall, and then we saw how it had melted. My daughter's finger had blistered from touching it. Amazon has returned my money, and I appreciate this; however, I would not recommend anyone purchasing this product, and I would hope they are looking into this as I am not the first one to post this issue.
review imagereview image
705 people found this helpful
|55 comments|Report abuse