Salon Beauty Best Books of the Month Women's Block Sandals nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc The Carters PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Fire TV Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon theaffairS4 theaffairS4 theaffairS4  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now Start your Baby Registry

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
175,091
Fire TV Stick with Alexa Voice Remote | Streaming Media Player
Configuration: Fire TV Stick|Change
Price:$39.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 500 REVIEWERon November 13, 2016
Earlier this month, my TV entertainment included Dish 200+ channel satellite TV, 20Mbps turbo internet, Netflix, and Amazon Prime. After doing some research, I bought 3 Amazon Fire Sticks with the voice remote, cancelled Dish, upgraded to 30Mbps internet, added Sling 25 channels, added standard Hulu, and CBS All Access. Guess who still gets 96+% of the channels watched, added Prime Music and several hundred shows (that networks don't play) to all the TVs in the house, and saved over $700 per year compared to what I paid this past year? I did. I never thought of "cutting the cord" until I really looked into it all. Getting Amazon Fire Sticks are worth it and they work well....and once you get used to knowing what show plays where, it's a no-brainer. Just like how you originally had to figure out how to use a smart phone back in the day. After a while, it's a breeze. I highly recommend everything I listed in this review. Seriously....take a couple hours and make a spread-sheet listing the must-have shows that people in your household watch. Then make a comparison to what's available on the streaming services. If you're like me, and you don't watch 80% of the channels you pay for, it's so worth it.
30,120 people found this helpful
|5150+ comments|Report abuse
on January 18, 2018
My cable bill was north of $200 a month and i started realizing i could not for the life of me figure out why i was still paying this much. After picking up a couple of these Fire TV Sticks I kicked the cable company to the side, picked up a TV tuner, and turned my home computer into a Plex Media Server. I now get over 100 HD channels, with DVR capabilities completely free, and the best part? I can stream it to any TV in the house and it is all thanks to these little Fire Sticks. Besides my own media I am an Amazon Prime member which means hundreds of TV's and Movies can also be directly streamed through this little Fire TV stick, as well as Hulu/Netflix if you are a paying subscriber to those as well.

That's essentially a small car payment i am saving myself every month and it is made entirely possible by these little Fire TV Sticks. I highly recommend you look into cutting the cord and switching to in home streaming!
757 people found this helpful
|66 comments|Report abuse
on May 22, 2017
The Amazon Fire Stick is an amazing device. Television services are moving away from cable and satellite and are moving toward internet based streaming formats. These internet based services work from apps (software packets) and the AFS (Amazon Fire Stick) provides you with these apps. In fact, it provides you with every kind of app you can think of and the AFS does it at an affordable price.

The AFS plugs into the HDMI jack on your television and also comes with a power adapter that plugs into the wall. The AFS is controlled by a remote control that comes with the device. In order to receive signals, the AFS requires WIFI or a local hot spot with speed requirements of around 5 Mbps for HD broadcasts. Movies and shows displayed by the device are typically in HD quality with good picture and sound quality. It is easy to set up and use and I was up and running in minutes.

Many television channels you receive through cable or satellite services, like the History Channel for example, offer programming over the internet. In order to watch these shows on a television, you need a hardware device that converts these shows into a format the television can use (HDMI plug). It also has to be loaded with a software packet for the particular channel you want to watch. The AFS is a device that provides you with both the hardware and software needed to watch such shows and it bundles everything together nicely so it is extremely easy to use.

Shows available to watch on the AFS vary how they can be accessed for viewing. Some apps (channels) are free and they offer limited programming on demand from shows they aired in the past. Others require monthly fees. Some apps like Sling, Hulu, PlayStation Vue, etc. offer multiple channels all on the same app. PlayStation Vue (the one I signed up with) offers bundled packages of channels just like cable or satellite services and they are live broadcasts! PS Vue displays a guide with many channels to choose from and comes with a DVR recorder so programs can be recorded and watched later. The amazing thing with Vue is you can go into the guide, pick a show that was aired, say, two hours ago that you missed and watch it in its entirety! The AFS gives you the tools you need to receive such programming.

Another sweet thing about using the AFS for television viewing is no installer has to come to your house to set up your equipment and when you’re finished with their service nothing has to be returned. All you need is provided by the AFS. Also, no service contracts are required and services can be cancelled at any time with no penalties.

I hope this was useful. Many of you took the time to write reviews and they were extremely helpful to me. I wanted to return the favor.
5,388 people found this helpful
|2121 comments|Report abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon October 24, 2016
I know why most of you are here. So before I get started, YES. The All-New Amazon Fire TV Stick DOES work with KODI. I repeat, you will STILL be able to sideload Kodi onto this device!

Now that we have that incredibly important piece of information out of the way, I will start off by saying the All-New Amazon Fire TV Stick picks off where its ever so popular predecessor left off, offering you one of the most inexpensive ways to stream HOURS of content to your TV.

The package itself includes:

- The Fire TV Stick
- The Remote control WITH Alexa voice control
- A Power adapter
- 2 AAA batteries (by Amazon basics)
- an HDMI extender if the Fire TV Stick does not fit into your TV’s HDMI port.

The device itself couldn’t be easier to use. Simply plug it into your TV, and you’re good to go! With this device, you’ll be able to use apps such as Netflix, Pandora, HBO, and even Amazon prime (provided you’re a prime member). You will of course need accounts for all of the previously mentioned apps, but if you do not, you can also use YouTube through this device, which has hours of content on it by itself! If you’re an Amazo Prime member, you will already have access to thousands of TV shows and Movies… just in case you didn’t know!

The All New Amazon Fire TV Stick features some changes that are worth mentioning, but if you’re not too tech-savy, just know that this stick performs faster than the older model. This is due to a stronger processor, a 1.3ghz quad core processor vs a 1ghz dual core processor from older models. I WAS a bit disappointed to see that the All-New Fire TV Stick did not upgrade to 2gb of Ram. While 1gb is plenty for streaming in most cases, users may find occasional lag on the home screen, especially when first booting the device up. I’ve found that if I turn on my firestick, and go do something else for a few minutes, or just allow the device some time to boot up, I do not run into this issue. While there has not been an update in ram, I have noticed that navigating the fire stick is MUCH quicker than previous models, which will make anybody happy.

Perhaps the biggest change from the previous Fire TV Stick is the remote control. While all of the buttons are the same, you now have a “Voice Control” button on top of the remote control. By pressing this button, you are allowed access to wide range of commands that take all of the grunt work out of browsing your streaming device. For instance, you can ask Alexa to “Find horror movies”, “play music from pandora”, “fast forward 5 minutes”, etc. This feature is ESPECIALLY useful given the difficulties surrounding the use of streaming devices with a remote control that doesn’t have a keyboard or mouse. It is also worth mentioning that the buttons are now made of a soft rubber material, and are easier to use.

To conclude, If you’re looking for a portable, depdnable, and easy to use streaming device, this is it. At just under $40.00, It’s hard to say no to perhaps the least expensive streaming device on the market. While I do wish that this model featured 2gb of ram for quicker browsing, 1gb is plenty for what most people will be using this device for; streaming. All in all, I would very much recommend this device!

IF you have any questions about this device, please feel free to comment. As somebody who uses Amazon almost daily, I’ll get back to you very shortly.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
12,291 people found this helpful
|5150+ comments|Report abuse
on November 27, 2017
I bought this figuring $25 on black friday wouldn't be too much of an investment in case I didn't like the fire stick, and I am SO GLAD I did!! I had an HDTV with no cable box and had just been connecting my laptop to it with an HDMI cord to watch Netflix, but now I can relax across the room and still have Netflix or HBO playing on the TV without keeping my laptop attached to the TV by a cord. The set-up was super simple and everything worked perfectly right away. There's NO reason to pay for cable when you have an HDTV and an Amazon Fire Stick. It's basically a $25 at home theater, and with Alexa capabilities you can even check the weather in the morning. It's perfect, and makes my life so much easier!
449 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
I am SO GLAD I bought this Fire TV Stick with Alexa. It has literally made my life happier. As I write this review I'm listening to "soft classic rock". All I had to do was say..."Play soft classic rock" and music started playing. For people like me who are elderly, tech illiterate, perhaps disabled, and who love music, movies, and TV shows, let me explain a few things. I've been looking at this stick for some time now but was scared to buy it. Then one day I said...the heck with it...I'm not stupid...I can read instructions...if it doesn't work for me I can send it back...I have nothing to lose and it's affordable. So I purchased a fire stick...yea me...lol.

This is NOT complicated to hook up AT ALL and there are very clear instructions that anyone can understand. The box you get includes power adapter, a cable, and extender cable, the fire stick, 2 batteries for the remote, and an Alexa Voice Remote. It's as simple as can be. First of all the instructions say the extender cable is to improve WiFi and remote performance so I used it. Why not..better is always better..lol. So...I plugged one end of the power cable into the power adapter and the other end of the cable into the fire stick. Then I plugged the fire stick into the HDMI extender cable and then plugged that into the TV. I have a wide screen Sanyo. When you stick your head around the left side of our TV you see three places to plug "things" into. They're called ports...lol. Mine are marked HDMI 1, 2, and 3. I just plugged the stick into port HDMI 1. Last, I plugged the adapter into the wall socket and that was it. That's it. THAT'S IT!!!! That's ALL I had to do. Read the short instructions to connect this fire stick. Turn on your TV and then follow the instructions that appear on your screen. The Fire Stick does the rest.

Obviously you can watch movies and TV shows as explained in the description but there's so much more. Ask Alexa what the weather is for the day in your home town or where your kids live across the country. I love music but somehow got away from listening to it over the years. Not anymore. There's always music in our house now. Just turn on the TV and tell Alexa what to play. This time I pressed the button and said..."play soft rock". Alexa said..."here's a station that plays soft rock". The first station didn't appeal to me so I pressed the button again and said "next". I got another soft classic rock station that's been playing for over an hour now. I've been listening to songs I used to love and haven't heard in a long time. How I love "Hotel California". They call them stations but it only plays music...no commercials or chatter...one song plays after the other. Also a box shows on the screen that gives you the name of the song playing and the artist. You can ask for any kind of music from classical, to rock, to alternative, to show tunes.

I'm still learning. I know there's more I can do with this and it will get easier to find exactly what I'm looking for as I play around with it. I bought mine during the introductory promotion for the "All-New" version...think it was $29.95. Now it's $10 more but still worth every cent. Don't hesitate to buy it because you think it's too complicated. They really made a good little device here and it's very easy to use for anyone who has a TV and WiFi which you probably have if you have a computer.
5,619 people found this helpful
|5150+ comments|Report abuse
on June 9, 2017
Set this up for a friend and found it very simple. It attaches to the amazon account that purchased it initially. So i created her an amazon account and was able to link it to her new account instead. All i had to do was pug it into the back of the tv (i had to use the little extender because there wasn't enough room at the back for it to sit next to the other HDMI plug), then plug it into a power source and switch the TV input. Then the screen prompted me to choose the network, enter internet password, and so on. You will need to have a form of payment on file to download any "apps", even if they are free... Just so you know. You will not be charged anything to use this product, there is a lot of free content, but should you want to purchase it is easier for everyone if there is already a card on file so you can watch immediately.

Very impressed with ease of use, worth the wait for it to arrive. Friend loves it! She is not tech savvy at all, but with practice is working her way through the jw broadcasting app and really enjoying the programming.

Another side note, I noticed some borders (top and bottom) were cut off on her tv screen, including the top menus. If this happens to you, it can be changed by adjusting the display settings on your actual TV. In her case, I left as is because she liked the way her screen displayed on the regular for tv and movies. She has just memorized which tab goes to which content, and if all else fails, just click it and see and if its not what you want, click the next one, right?

Also the Alexa feature is nice to pull up any app!!

Hope this was helpful for anyone wondering about purchasing this or setting it up
710 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on October 24, 2016
I own both the new Fire and Roku stick (3600R), below is a short review and honest (personal) opinion on both products.

User Interface: the Fire stick has essentially the same UI as Fire TV (which I also own), it is largely divided by content category (Home, Video, TV, Movie, Music, Games, Photo, Apps, etc.), and integrated seamlessly with Prime eco-system. If you are already a Prime member, you will have better experience with Fire stick than Roku. Roku’s UI has the advantage of integrating more contents (Google Store, My Feed, News, etc.). Roku also allows user to make certain changes in Home screen (add/remove/move tiles), unlike Fire stick. However, both UIs are well designed, smooth. It comes down to personal preference.

Hardware/Streaming Quality: as far as I can tell, there isn’t much difference, both are powerful devices, almost no lags with either device. One of the attached pictures is a screenshot of streaming YouTube 4K content from Fire stick, the picture quality is stunning (output as 1080p).

Remote: I personally like the Fire remote, it is simple (only 7 buttons with a navigation ring), but provides all the functions you will need. I find it is both slimmer and easier to use than the Roku remote. In addition, Fire remote has a voice function, which you won’t find on Roku, this is a big plus. Also note that the Fire stick remote will work with Fire TV but you will have to "unpair" it first (please see the comment made by RoadDog on this review).

Voice Search/Alexa: Amazon has greatly improved the search function. One of the main complains of earlier versions of Fire TV/Stick is that Alexa only search Amazon contents, but not 3rd parties’ (Netflix, etc.). However, with the latest software update, the search results now show both Amazon and 3rd party. You can choose from multiple ways to watch a movie (and whether the option is free of charge is clearly indicated).

Power Cord: the USB cable came with Fire stick is about 4 feet long, it also comes with an adapter. However, I am using a 3rd party wall charger (iClever BoostCube+ 30W Dual USB Wall Charger with Qualcomm Quick Charge 3.0), and it worked well. In one of the pictures you can see the Fire charger output = 5.0V + 1.0A, iClever output is sufficient. It is a benefit in case you travel a lot, so that you won’t need to bring two separate chargers. One charger with two output slots will be enough for both your phone and Fire stick.

App Quality: one of the main reasons that I bought the Fire stick after I bought Roku is because the quality of Playstation Vue app on Fire system is MUCH better than Roku, from my experience there is simply no comparison. Vue app on Fire gives you much easier access to your recorded shows, live programming schedule and channel switching. Roku doesn’t have live programming schedule, and some of my recorded shows are missing. However, quality of other main apps (Netflix, YouTube, ESPN, etc.) are more or less on par between Fire and Roku.

Price: Fire stick is ~$9 cheaper

Hotel/Travel log-in: with Roku, you will need a separate mobile device (phone) to connect to a specific WiFi network established by the stick, then open up a browser and log in (normally with room# and last name). Often it took me several tries to establish the connection. With Fire stick, no need for a separate device, you will go to "Settings/System/Network" and press the "option" button on the remote, an on-screen cursor would appear, which allows you to log in as if you are using a laptop. I found the "Fire" way simpler and more intuitive.

Physical Appearance: in fact, this is the only category I’d put Roku on top of Fire stick. The new Fire stick (1.2 x 3.4in) is much larger than Roku (you can see from the picture), it is even larger than the first generation Fire stick. This really surprised me as I thought the trend is to make them smaller. I also prefer that Roku put the power slot at the end of stick, while Fire stick put it right in the middle, which is really awkward.

In short, if you are a Prime member and use Playstation Vue, I’d highly recommend the new Fire stick.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
6,432 people found this helpful
|3131 comments|Report abuse
on October 6, 2017
My contract was just about up with Dish and I contemplated going to DirecTV, but after seeing a Sling commercial, I checked it out and checked out the Fire Stick on here and am so glad I did. First off, the Fire Stick is amazing. I installed it right away and used the extender and it was as easy as that. There are so many options and the remote is heaven too. I signed up with Sling and along with Netflix, Hulu and Amazon Prime I am STILL paying less a month than with one month of service with Dish, and on top of that before I also paid for the apps monthly. I had upgraded my internet a few months ago to 60 mbps so that makes it all even better. All I can sat is, this is so much better than being stuck in a contract and paying more, I fully recommend the Fire Stick, oh and Alexa is amazing with the remore just like the Dot. 👍👏😊
62 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
I purchased the latest generation Amazon Fire TV Stick to replace the second Roku 3 that had failed in my home in just a few years. Determined not to purchase another Roku product I instead opted to try Amazon's Fire TV Stick despite the large gap in channel offerings, notably with Google Play and Google-owned IP like YouTube.

I've had the Fire TV Stick setup in my home for about two weeks and so far it's been an easy transition for my wife and kids. For the most part, the channel (app) lineup is very similar to what's available on Roku with the notable exception I already mentioned.

--------------------
► Setup:
--------------------
Getting the Fire TV Stick setup is really easy. The stick simply plugs directly into an open HDMI port on your TV or receiver. Then you'll use the included USB to AC-adapter cable to run power to the Fire Stick. Amazon even threw in a female-to-male HDMI extender in case you cannot fit the large format Fire Stick into a tight space. The only gripe here is that the cable length for the AC-adapter is ridiculously short. I had to replace the cable with another longer USB cable of my own in order to accommodate the Fire Stick in my media center.

Once powered up and on my network, the Fire Stick immediately went about updating itself with the latest patch from Amazon. This process took a bit longer than what I was expecting at about 15-minutes but doesn't require anything from the end-user.

--------------------
► Navigation & Interface (including Alexa):
--------------------
I'm going to be completely honest here, the navigation menu on the Fire Stick is cluttered and definitely not as easy to navigate as Roku. I'm not exactly my parents, who struggle with technology, but if you're considering this device for a parent, grandparent, or someone who struggles with tech this is probably not the best choice. Amazon has seemingly taken the same approach to the Fire Stick's interface as they have on their website and just thrown everything and the kitchen sink into one giant mass of content. You'll simultaneously be navigating apps, content from Amazon's Prime store, and content from other apps and channels (like Showtime via Amazon). It's confusing to figure out exactly what you're browsing and where at a glance.

It's easy enough to find your recent apps but the line blurs quickly as Amazon obviously makes their streaming service the center of attention. I'm a Prime member so there's just a shotgun blast of content displayed onscreen and no easy way to parse out what's included with Prime, what's paid and so forth.

Another low point is that ads are displayed in both the navigation menu via banners and also as clips before starting a show.

Thankfully, the saving grace here is the excellent Alexa Voice navigation. To use it, simply press the microphone button at the top of the remote and speak what you want to search. Phrases like 'Open Netflix' or 'Mickey Mouse' will launch the Netflix app or search for the specified content. And it works incredibly well!

--------------------
► Performance:
--------------------
I specifically went with the Fire Stick versus the Fire TV primarily because the television connected is not 4K but also because Amazon has seemingly downgraded the flagship Fire TV with its latest hardware revision.

That said, performance of the Fire Stick is pretty good - not great. When first waking the device and navigating them menu there can be lag as the processor struggles to load the onscreen spaghetti of content - apps, content, and advertisements.

I'm sticking to just using WiFi with the Fire Stick and this device gets top marks for keeping the content pumping with minimal interrupts and buffering. I've got the Fire Stick paired with my TP-Link AC3200 Wireless Wi-Fi Tri-Band Gigabit Router and the content almost never buffers or needs to be optimized (aka lower onscreen resolution). This is obviously not as simple as pointing to the Fire Stick and will vary by ISP, home, and other variables. Regardless, I'm problem free.

--------------------
► Closing:
--------------------
I decided to drop Roku after having two hardware failures and so far I'm not regretting my decision to go with Amazon's Fire Stick. My review touches on some of the negative aspects of this device - ads, navigation and such - but this device works well and has the content (app lineup) important to my family at a fraction of what our old Roku 3's cost. I'm a fan, even if I think Amazon could do better by integrating a better navigation menu, offering a simple unified search for paid content a la Roku, and offering storage expansion via SDHC.
review image
41 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse