Industrial Deals Best Books of the Year So Far Men's Summer Sneakers nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. New Moto G6 64 GB | $299.99. Save with Prime Exclusive Phones. Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry modern furniture and decor Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon outcastS4 outcastS4 outcastS4  Echo All-new Show Mode Charging Dock Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now STL18_GNO

Anova Culinary A2.2-120V-US Sous Vide Precision Cooker Bluetooth, Immersion Circulator, 800 Watts, Black
Color: Silver/Black|Connectivity Technology: Precision Cooker Bluetooth|Change
Price:$89.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on March 4, 2016
I've been looking into Sous Vide cooking for over a year now reading reviews etc. I finally pulled the plug on this model and couldn't be happier with this purchase. We've used it everyday for over a month now. You name it we've cooked it (eggs, steak, pork roast, vegetables, fish, desert toppings.. and even used it to ripen fruit!) Not a single complaint. I won't bore you with descriptions of how the juicy or wonderful or delicious meals have been as its already been said dozens of times in these reviews. If you are considering this purchase, just be aware you can't use it to cook a meal in a hurry and you need to plan ahead. (Think of it like cooking with a crock pot... low temperature cooking over long periods of time ... slow and steady) .

Early yesterday we decided to challenge this cooker with the tough meat challenge. As you may know, one of claims of sous vide cooking is it can make the toughest cut of meat tender. So... we asked the butcher provide us with a cheap inexpensive cut of meat which was a chuck underblade steak (also sometimes called a bottom chuck steak)... these are cuts that all too often turn out really tough. Be aware that tough meats need to cook for a much longer period of time. Following the instructions for cooking a tough cut of beef to medium rare... we cooked ours at 149 degrees for 19 hours ( recommended time is 16 to 24 hours) . The result ... was a delicious melt in your mouth delight, no knife needed, cut it with the side of a fork dinner. Really amazing.

NOTE: You absolutely DO NOT .. I repeat you DO NOT need a vacuum sealer or Food Saver type of appliance to use this cooker! A zip lock bag works just as well. We have used both equally with the same great results. In regards to this cooker, the only advantage we found with the food saver was being able to bulk purchase meat / chicken. We put the meat into a food saver bags with our seasonings of choice, seal them up then throw them in the freezer. We then have a supply of ready to cook meals waiting for our Anova Culinary Bluetooth Precision Cooker, Black And "Yes" you can cook frozen food right from the freezer by just adding two hours on to the recommend cooking time. FYI: There is an awesome "sous-vide-time-and-temperature-guide" located under the Resources tab on the chefsteps website.

Last... you also DO NOT need one of those large clear containers you see being used with many of these Sous Vide cookers. Just clamp this unit on to the edge of any large pot you have and it works great. Just be aware when cooking for long periods (like cooking a tough cut of meat for 24 hours) water will evaporate so you want to make sure the water is always covering the food being cooked and to add more water if necessary. One trick to prevent water loss is to tightly cover the top of the pot with plastic wrap. Seal if off the best you can (working around the precision cooker) to close off the top of the pot. Another hack... do as I did. I stole this idea from another reviewer here on Amazon of using a cooler with a hole cut in the lid. I chose the Igloo Island Breeze Cooler (Diablo Red, 9-Quart) (The price of this cooler fluctuates up and down. Be patient ... I picked up mine for $10. Anyway, by using a cooler... the water heated by the Precision Cooler is insulated from outside air so the cooker doesn't have to work as hard to keep the water hot thus saving on electricity, and with the lid closed the water that evaporates, condenses on the underside of the lid and drops back into the cooler. NET: We had ours running for 19 hours of cooking without and drop in the water level. Cool!
review imagereview image
3,375 people found this helpful
|3333 comments|Report abuse
on March 3, 2017
So the unit is fantastic and worked like a champ..... right up to the point where it didn't. Something went wrong with the thermostat and it no longer was able to regulate a correct temperature. What can I say, its a machine and its prone to break I suppose but I didn't have it for a full week and I would like to think that the components used to build this were more robust than that. Ill give it another try and if it doesn't work Ill find another manufacturer that isn't afraid to use dependable parts.
UPDATE......
So thanks to Amazon and their no BS return/replacement policy I received my new Anova yesterday. I went to try it out today and set the temp to 176.0 and let it heat up the water. Once it got to 160+/- the temperature began to fluctuate again like the original unit did. I found it hard to believe that I received two defective units and began to investigate what I might be doing wrong. After some testing I discovered that when the hot steam is allowed to enter into the vents on the rear of the unit, the fluctuations of the temperature began. If I blocked the steam then the unit worked perfectly. Heres a picture of the remedy.
This problem does not occur when cooking at lower temps when the water does not create so much steam which is why I never noticed it before.
review image
682 people found this helpful
|1717 comments|Report abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on May 2, 2017
How could Anova design a 200 hundred dollar cooking unit, that can heat water to 210 degrees, and then sits on top of that steaming water, but is susceptible/prone to malfunction because of inevitable steam intrusion into the control head??? I used the unit for two weeks and LOVED it, then the current temp digital readout went haywire multiple times and made the unit unusable (see photo -actual water temp 190 - readout 103). Check the 1 star reviews - this is not a fluke, and is so common that ANOVA addresses it in the customer support section - their solution - put your unit in a bag of rice for 24 hours to dry it out and hopefully that will fix it, but if it doesn't "you have a problem"???? WOW! Another customer support solution was to cover the pot if it is steaming. No where in the literature is this addressed or does it say I need to buy specialty cooking containers. TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE. So what you have is a solid, well constructed great cooking immersion circulator that is so poorly designed that it will not last cooking in the environment that it specifically will spend its life operating in. Akin to designing a lawnmower that the engine will fail if it gets grass clippings on it. How hard is it to vapor proof some electronics!!! What a disappointment. I will buy a new one when Anova solves their engineering/design malpractice.....
review image
901 people found this helpful
|66 comments|Report abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on April 23, 2017
Weeell. This _was_ an amazing cooker. I mean, it was it did was it was supposed to do.: It cooked things. It was a kitchen appliance. Life moved on.

Then Anova pushed an update to their app that requires you to pair your kitchen appliance with your facebook profile. I'm not kidding here. You need to link your facebook account in order to use your kitchen appliance. I mean, i'm looking at my blender and my pressure cooker and they seem to work fine without needing access to my social network.

I just want to heat up water to cook things.
1,982 people found this helpful
|4141 comments|Report abuse
on December 6, 2017
First of all, a disclaimer; this is going to be a technical review for the WiFi version of the cooker. I am an IT consultant with network engineering experience.

The device is great on paper. The actual part that does the immersion cooking is as far as I can tell, flawless.

Unfortunately, the wifi version is hobbled by TERRIBLE FIRMWARE
1. If you have a 2.4ghz/5ghz mixed network, don't expect it to connect properly.
2. If you have any special characters in your network password (IE, a more secure password), don't expect it to connect properly.
3. If you expect these problems to be fixed in the future, don't. I've talked to Anova support and the device is not firmware flashable.

This means that if you run a WiFi access point where it uses 5ghz 2.4 ghz mixed mode and does not allow you to disable the 5ghz channel, such as certain UniFi products, you are out of luck. I even tried setting the UniFi access point to it's lowest power setting for 5ghz band and taking the anova out of range of 5ghz to pair to 2.4ghz, and no luck whatsoever.

I did not attempt to change my wifi password.. that's the line for me. I'm not going to lower the security of my network to accommodate a single device. Besides that, I'd have to go and change the wifi password on about 100 devices throughout my house. Not worth it.

Speaking of not worth it, the WiFi version of the device is 55 dollars more than the bluetooth version. That's 55 dollars for a function that only works under certain conditions.

I feel like this is an issue with a firmware developer simply writing sloppy wifi connection code somewhere in the process. Probably a few lines where the password is not encapsulated in quotes.

The wifi feature has great potential with home automation software and smart home integration, and the possibility of linking to google home, while not needed, is cool. Unfortunately the same people that are most likely to use these kinds of features are the type who will have a secure wifi password and a 5ghz band.

Now here's something interesting for the more technically minded people.... All of the above is based on their troubleshooting suggestions, their advice for getting the thing to connect to wifi. My evidence shows that none of that is actually the problem.

The thing is, the device actually does connect to the wifi, according to the DHCP logs on my server. It connects but then will not register that it's connected. Sloppy code somewhere is keeping the connection process from finishing. I'm not sure if it's in the smartphone app, or the firmware of the device itself. See below:

Dec 5 21:25:14 dhcpd DHCPACK on 192.168.5.11 to f0:fe:6b:65:f7:80 via vmx0
Dec 5 21:25:14 dhcpd DHCPREQUEST for 192.168.5.11 (192.168.0.1) from f0:fe:6b:65:f7:80 via vmx0
Dec 5 21:24:54 dhcpd DHCPACK on 192.168.5.11 to f0:fe:6b:65:f7:80 via vmx0
Dec 5 21:24:54 dhcpd DHCPREQUEST for 192.168.5.11 (192.168.0.1) from f0:fe:6b:65:f7:80 via vmx0
Dec 5 21:23:43 dhcpd DHCPACK on 192.168.5.11 to f0:fe:6b:65:f7:80 via vmx0
Dec 5 21:23:43 dhcpd DHCPREQUEST for 192.168.5.11 (192.168.0.1) from f0:fe:6b:65:f7:80 via vmx0
Dec 5 21:23:23 dhcpd DHCPACK on 192.168.5.11 to f0:fe:6b:65:f7:80 via vmx0
Dec 5 21:23:23 dhcpd DHCPREQUEST for 192.168.5.11 (192.168.0.1) from f0:fe:6b:65:f7:80 via vmx0
Dec 5 21:23:23 dhcpd DHCPOFFER on 192.168.5.11 to f0:fe:6b:65:f7:80 via vmx0
Dec 5 21:23:23 dhcpd DHCPDISCOVER from f0:fe:6b:65:f7:80 via vmx0

As you can see, the device is making it past the wifi connection process, using the correct password, and then looking for a DHCP address (Which I have statically assigned to 192.168.5.11.) The fact that the device does that, and then doesn't realize it's done it, and then goes through the wifi connection process again (and again, and again) until it errors out shows that the problem is badly designed firmware or software.

I'm going to attempt to return the device and get the bluetooth version, or maybe look at another product with proper wifi integration. Such a shame! It's a great little product!

Edit: I'd like to add that I offered to their support person to consult pro bono with their development and engineering department, and the request was not even acknowledged. The support department is a joke.
294 people found this helpful
|1111 comments|Report abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on April 13, 2017
I returned the item because Anova updated the phone app to force you to buy Wifi access. My model was bluetooth only and I could no longer control the device via the app. Plus, my model didn't come with Wifi Access, so I was forced to use the manual control. When I purchased the item, I had full control from the app, as it was advertized. This was a complete bait and switch. The worst part is, I now have angry friends and family who bought one on my word that it was a good product.
975 people found this helpful
|88 comments|Report abuse
on October 14, 2017
Typically I read the 5 star reviews and the one star reviews. This gives me a balance between the cheerleaders and the doom and gloom people. In this case I was relying on off site reviews and it looks like it bit me.

I have used this 6 times since I bought this in July of 2017. Everything was going swimmingly until I needed to cook something a boiling temp for an extended period of time. By boiling I mean 198F in Colorado. # hours in the unit stopped working because it said the water level was too low. It was 2" above the minimum line. This is when I read the 1 star reviews.

Turns out that the unit is prone to malfunctioning due to the internals not being waterproof/water resistant. The steam condensed on the inside of my unit and it no longer works. And it's outside the warranty period. What manufacturer only provides a 60 day warranty? This should have been my first clue...

So unless it magically fixes itself I will be throwing $140 in the trash.

I would not recommend this product to anyone at this point in time.
56 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
on December 17, 2017
I just purchased this WiFi_Bluetooth cooker and tried it out before wrapping it up as a Christmas present- HERE is what you should know:

The device is BIG! IT measures about 14" Tall, and the Top part (display area) is about 3" Wide, approximately. This makes the display huge enough (1" tall numerals) for even an elderly person with bad eyes (me!) to see without glasses, from a few feet away with glasses. Those of you with even near perfect vision can easily see the display from across the room, or even upto 20 feet away!

Since it is bluetooth, you can use it with any bluetooth cellphone. You can expect to use it within 30' (within sighting distance) with only bluetooth...Beyond that you must use your WiFi to stay connected to device.

In either case you must pair up your phone using the ANOVA App first, not your phones bluetooth - although your bluetooth MUST be turned on for the app to connect to the device. The app uses a special hidden connection method so it will not show up on your bluetooth devices list.

So Now you can cook while not even home using just Wifi! On that note I have to warn you that you must EITHER sign up for a ANOVA account (easy to set up) or Sign In using your Facebook account BEFORE trying to pair device with your phone. Oh, you NEED to pair phone up with the "Cooker" using bluetooth AND your phone's WIFI connection to your router ...doing so will allow you to set device up with your home WiFi very easily. If you have more than one router setup in your home, make certain your phone is connected to the closest router to your "cooker" for the fastest setup..otherwise it could take a few minutes longer than your patience may last.

Once connected you can leave your cookers vicinity and know you will remain connected.

One thing you should note is that the cooker has a vent along the plastic housing. Be sure to set it up so the vents are against the OUTSIDE of the pot you use. Otherwise the cooker will suck in the heat and humidity from the pot and will malfunction. The heat of the Hot water in the pot will throw off the thermostat and the device will think your water is much hotter than it really is. Also, in a matter of time the humidity pulled into the cooker will short out the electronics. My solution is to place the cooker along the backside of the pot so that the display faces ME and the vent is forced to face the outer edge of the pot I put it into. DO NOT go by the photo's shown by other users or even the company's own app & website. If you must, set it up so the cooker is nearest you if you must use the controls MANUALLY - Then when you are done setting up cooking times, rotate the pot so the cooker is on backside but loosen top knob of bracket, now slowly rotate cooker so display faces you or the room your in..and the vents face OUTSIDE of pot.

Try this all out while you are at home: pairing, WiFi setup, setting up cooker (practice with just a pot of water, at first), and set up a practice cooking session (I recommend using 1-3 minute cooking times)...So you can get confidence in how it all works: the cooker, the app and your phone's own notifications for every step of the cooking process.
44 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on April 11, 2017
Until recently this was a five star product, That was until Anova decided to require a login or Facebook information to use the app. There's no need for this on the bluetooth version.
563 people found this helpful
|55 comments|Report abuse
on April 10, 2017
Anova changed the app to require a login just to cook a meal. They are apparently more interested in mining data than pleasing their customers. I bought the Bluetooth version so I could monitor it, but now the app requires a login, and I object to logging in just to monitor this expensive device. I can't recommend it any more. Would give it ZERO STARS if possible!
830 people found this helpful
|66 comments|Report abuse