Beauty Best Books of the Month Women's Block Sandals nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Introducing Fire TV Cube Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon theaffairS4 theaffairS4 theaffairS4  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now STL18_GNO



on February 12, 2015
I have a Panasonic DMC-LX100 which can record 4K 30p video at a 100Mbps bitrate and sometimes recording would stop with an error saying the card's write speed cannot keep up. This happened with a $28 PNY Elite Performance SDXC 64GB UHS-1 90MB/sec card so I got this Lexar SDXC 128GB 150MB/sec UHS-3 card and it works perfectly for 4K 30p. UHS-1 guarantees a minimum write speed of 10MB/s while UHS-3 has a minimum of 30MB/s which is probably where a UHS-1 card falls down for 4K.

I informally tested the Lexar by recording four back to back 15 minute 4K recordings and the LX100 got very warm, but there was not a single hiccup. The Lexar card also recorded 100 12MP still shots in the 11fps high speed burst mode before slowing down. The PNY could manage 95 shots before slowing down so it's not a huge difference for stills, but I wouldn't want to risk using the PNY for video and having a 4K recording stop unexpectedly. In Windows 7 with an OCZ Vertex 4 SSD and Transcend USB 3.0 card reader, I copied a 6.5GB file to and from the Lexar card and it averaged about 60-65MB/s writing TO the card and copying FROM the card averaged 87-90MB/s. Basically, this Lexar Pro card seems to be rock solid for 4K recording and I will update this review if I have any problems.

On a side note, it annoys me that even though most cameras format SD cards in exFAT which no longer has a 4GB file limit size like FAT32 did, a 30 minute clip will still be broken up into 6 or so separate 4GB files. I'd like the option to record a video into one giant file. In addition, most cameras limit video recording to 30 minutes due to some EU tax applied to camcorders, but since we're in the US, I don't see why we should be stuck with this limit too. Fortunately, the US version of the upcoming Panasonic DMC-FZ2500 4K camera seems to have no recording duration limit and may even support files of up to 96GB with an SDXC card. I can't wait to see if this is true.

UPDATE (09-29-2015) - I uploaded benchmark results with a new card reader Kingston Digital MobileLite G4 USB 3.0 Multi-Function Card Reader (FCR-MLG4) and CrystalDiskMark 5.0.2 x64, Windows 10 Pro.

READ (MB/s): 152.7, 14.67, 152.3, 11.52
WRITE (MB/s): 86.69, 1.231, 85.15, 1.180

With tape over extra ports:
READ (MB/s): 91.87, 13.18, 92.92, 10.04
WRITE (MB/s): 75.92, 1.134, 75.50, 1.093

UPDATE (11-16-2016) - My card is still going strong and I haven't had any problems. I am looking at new cameras like the Panasonic DMC-FZ2500, Fujifilm X-T2 (two UHS-II card slots!) and the Sony A6500 so I may buy more of these Lexar SDXC cards and make the old reliable one as the backup.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview image
418 people found this helpful
|1717 comments|Report abuse
on April 17, 2015
it works with my Canon 6D. fast writing,loading to computer. even though some reports says Canon does not support this fast technonlogy (Class 4) for now. But it is still backward compatible with the normal memory cards ( Class 10)...future proof , bought when on sale.
125 people found this helpful
|33 comments|Report abuse
on November 16, 2015
I've been doing professional free-lance work for the last 5 years, and shoot just about a wedding every weekend. I have tried multiple cards from multiple manufactures, and without a doubt, this is the worst card. I ordered two from Amazon, and within one week, BOTH cards failed on me. I have an A7s, 5Dmkiii, and 6D, and none of them could read. So I swapped them out for two more. Again, within a week, BOTH NEW CARDS completely stopped working. That's 4 failed cards. Two other wedding videographers I work with have also had this card fail on them. I simply can not recommend a card that has this type of track record.
231 people found this helpful
|1212 comments|Report abuse
I seem to acquire memory cards like candy, and may be slightly obsessed in some odd ways...

This Lexar card at the price of under $40 (at this time) is one of, if not the leader in the price/performance arena. The PNY has kept at the best bang for the buck, but the sandisk has started to come down in price as well with its 95mb/sec model. But this lexar with a read speed up to 150mb/sec comes in right between them in price, while edging out the read performance by a margin, and having a write speed that's better than the PNY, and a bit worse than the sandisk. Let's break it down:

-Priced smack in the middle, a good overall deal
-150mb/sec read, about 75mb/sec write
-Good for many flavors of 4K video
-Read speed bests nearest competition
-Write speed better than PNY elite, a notch slower than Sandisk 95mb/sec
-Lexar is known as one of the more reliable brands
-To get full speed, you need hardware that actually supports it!

Frequently i see reviews about high speed cards which complain about poor performance, and it's a safe bet that it's not the card that's the problem. There are numerous card readers out there, and a handful of standards (ever heard of usb 3 boost/turbo?), and various other factors which will determine the overall speed.

The main three speed limters: the card reader, the size & number of files, and the destination drive. If you're transferring a bunch of small files, it will be slower, if your card reader is old/outdated/slower standard, it will be slower, and if the drive your copying to is older/outdated/slower, than the card will max out that drive's write speed if it's slower.

Summed up: this card is a good price to performance deal, and handily will take on your photo/video/various tasks.
165 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
on September 24, 2015
These are very fast cards. You do need a UHS-II reader to take full advantage of the speed, however.
I used a Lexar SR2 UHS-II USB 3.0 reader.

The card performed at slightly over the stated 150MB/s in sequential reads, and 84 MB/s in sequential writes, slightly exceeding its specifications of 150 MB/s read and 80 MB/s write. See the Crystal disk mark result with this card in the reader.

I also have an older internal UHS-I reader in my PC. The card performs around 90MB/ sequential read and 75MB/s sequential writes in the UHS-I reader, since much faster than all my other cards.

I'm very satisfied.
review imagereview image
9 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on January 4, 2018
We ordered the SD cards and received an envelope with a label for Lexar SD Cards.
Inside was one black cotton knit glove with a green plastic key tag inside.
No SD card at all.
8 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
on December 16, 2015
I received this card in the beginning of October and have been occasionally shooting pictures and videos with my camera and storing it on this card. The read/write performance has been really good and my camera has been able to write to it very quickly allowing me to take multiple RAW images in a row without having to wait for it to go from the camera's buffer to the card.

Now a few months later in December, I took my camera to record my son perform in a holiday show, where he was singing along with other students in his class. Towards the end, my camera starts to freeze up and then says "CARD ERROR". I figured this was a problem with my camera and swapped out SD cards. I come home and try to load up the video that I took however now this Lexar card is not being recognized by any device including an internal SD reader in my laptop, a USB external SD reader, as well as the camera itself. Now I've lost some precious video that I was going to share with his grandmother who could not attend.

If for whatever reason you decide to buy this card, ensure that you do not use it for anything important and ensure that you copy the files off of it often to minimize what you would lose.
5 people found this helpful
|33 comments|Report abuse
on July 31, 2017
I had high hopes for this card given it's rated speeds, but so far I am disappointed. While this is a fast card, it falls significantly short of the promised speeds.

The advertised read speed is 150MB/s and the advertised write speed is 80MB/s. My tests showed average read speeds to be almost half the advertised speed coming in at about 88MB/s. The write speed was even more concerning as it was very erratic. I ran many attempts to get consistent write speeds but unfortunately, that never happened. Write speeds varied between 88MB/s and 8 MB/s, averaging typically 22MB/s. This is very abnormal for the cards that I have tested and so I could not recommend this card given the alternatives that are available at competitive prices. I have attached a capture of one of the test results. While the card was more consistent with the windows read performance, the instability can still be seen in the attached image.

Using the Lexar 1000x to record 4k video may be problematic. While it's rated speeds show that it should be well suited to the task as does the product packaging, the inconsistent write speeds tell a different story. A story that might involve a corrupted video file where the card was unable to keep up with the incoming data stream at all times.

Compared with the Sandisk Extreme
http://amzn.to/2wf5USk
The Sandisk Extreme is about 30% cheaper and delivers comparable performance to this card. However, that performance was much more consistent. The Sandisk is a card that should be able to consistently record 4k video, where the Lexar does not appear to be.

Compared with the Sandisk Extreme Pro XC I
http://amzn.to/2uOHgKE
The actual write speed on the Sandisk Extreme Pro XCI is comparable to the the advertised Lexar speed, and consistent. This card is a much better choice for recording 4k video. This card is also 20% cheaper than the Lexar for the same capacity.

Compared with the Sandisk Extreme Pro XCII
http://amzn.to/2uOfRbC
This is the card that the 1000x wants to be. Without overpromising this card delivers far better performance with 300MB/s write speeds of 260MB/s. There will be no issue recording high bandwidth 4k streams or massive bursts of RAW photos with this card.
review imagereview imagereview image
2 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on March 31, 2015
This card is really fast! I just tested it with a standard SDXC USB 3.0 reader (one that doesn't have the extra row of UHS connections), and I was able to copy a 2GB video clip from my PC's SSD to the Lexar card at 71.2MB/sec. It took less than 30 seconds! Reading from the card was even faster, and I saw a continuous 85.4MB/sec when I copied the video onto another SSD :-)

This is the fastest SD card I've ever owned, and I'll probably get a new UHS reader so I can transfer newly recorded videos to my PC at the full 150MB/sec rate down the road. Even so, I'm very happy with the capacity, speed and value of this card right out of the box.

UPDATE: I just purchased a UHS-II USB 3.0 reader, and the write speed went up to 81.3MB/sec. The read speed was much higher, at 143MB/sec :-)
141 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
I purchased this SD card when I purchased my new Canon 5D Mark IV for recording 4K video. Reviews mentioned its ability to record 4K at good bitrates, but upon using this card in testing (thankfully not on the job) I discovered this card is not capable of recording 4K footage from the Mark IV. Once record is pressed on the camera, it records 2-3 seconds, stops and displays "Recording has automatically been stopped". Disappointing for a card labeled as capable of 4K. Even though the encoding of the IV is M-JPEG, the card should still be able to handle this, but it cannot. I kept it to use as a spare card anyway for photo work. So this is a warning to all potential 5D Mark IV owners looking for an SD card for capturing 4K that it does not work. If you want Lexar, buy the UDMA 7 CF card instead. It is great!

Beside that, the card does what it should, can knockout fast bursts of RAW files with no lag and handles 1080p 60fps files like a champ, and can read/write very quickly.
2 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse