Industrial Deals Prime Book Box Men's Summer Sneakers nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry modern furniture and decor Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo All-new Show Mode Charging Dock Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now STL18_GNO



on January 13, 2018
(UPDATE SIX MONTHS LATER: I still have this mattress, but it has gotten substantially softer. It required a T&N topper for the first few weeks as it softened up, but somewhere around 150 nights in, I noticed it was heading toward plush status--not quite as supportive as it once was. Also, I wrote this review while the temperatures were colder. Now that it's summer, I do note that this mattress is warmer than my previous innerspring mattresses. But, for the money, it's still a good mattress. It's just not as ideal as I hoped.)

About a year ago, I asked my friends on social media for mattress recommendations. The leading recommendation was for the Tuft and Needle mattress, which I should have heeded. Nearly a year and eight mattresses later, I finally bought that Tuft & Needle. It's #9 and I love it. I love it even more because it was by FAR the cheapest option, too. But at the time I was skeptical of a bed-in-a-box. I shouldn't have been. It fit my requirement to have good support with a comfort layer on top. And for the record, I sleep in all positions. Apparently I’m a rotisserie chicken, going from side to stomach to back all night. That makes me a tough customer to please and I know it.

But for anyone else doing mattress research, here's what I've learned from my year of testing. First, I received excellent service from both internet and traditional mattress companies. I tried three mattresses from Saatva Mattress, three Beautyrest mattresses from Mattress Firm, and a brand-new variation of the Purple mattress that's exclusive to Mattress Firm. I started the year on my old Sleep Number. So I have run the gamut of air, foam, innerspring, hybrid foam/innerspring and the new hybrid from Purple, which I guess would be called a Purple/innerspring variation, but "bouncy house" would be equally as descriptive. My asthma is triggered by chemicals in foam, so I made sure all the mattresses I bought were Certi-Pur. (This, sadly, is the only complaint I have about my Tuft & Needle -- though it claims to have more rigorous standards about foam and off-gassing, it's been the smelliest. It's faint but it's there even weeks later. But it has not made me wheeze, so I'm trusting I'm not being harmed.)

The first thing I learned is that mattress companies really DO honor their customer service policies. In fact, Mattress Firm was actually the best about it. In all cases, I received excellent service when I wanted to exchange. Second, I had been sleeping on air for nearly a decade and that made it hard to figure out what would work for me. I loved the lack of pressure points on a Sleep Number, but not the lack of support. My first mattress was an all foam from Saatva (the Loom & Leaf) and it was hard as a rock (to me). They explained that foam would soften and that I should crawl around on it to soften it up. It did soften up after a week, but not enough for my taste. It also smelled vaguely like stale coffee, which never dissipated. So thus, the exchanges began. I was very pleased with Saatva's design, the fact they delivered a full mattress and not one in a box, and their use of organic cotton. But their mattresses missed the middle firmness range -- most were very firm and one was very plush (the industry term for soft). If they could have nailed that medium range, I would have been happy to stay with them.

As mentioned above, I circled through several mattress designs before coming back to all foam again with the Tuft & Needle. But it was significantly less firm out of the box than the Loom & Leaf. Its adaptive foam is much more of a medium firmness from the start. But it got even more comfortable when Tuft & Needle sent a two-inch topper. For free. (Pro tip: The Internet mattress companies I dealt with were happy to send a topper for free if you requested it. I now have two.) I don't know how long a mattress like this will hold up, but at a $575 price point from Amazon, it's half the cost of a Saatva mattress and a quarter of the price of most of the Beautyrest mattresses. So I'm willing to gamble.

I know that comfort is largely subjective, but my Fitbit Alta has the hard data to back up my love of the Tuft & Needle. I cut my tossing and turning time in half with their mattress and topper. Bottom line: All the mattress companies I dealt with provided a great service and backed up their exchange promises, even going above and beyond. Tuft & Needle was the best value for the money and the most comfortable to sleep on. It was also the most work to haul a heavy box up to my bedroom and set up the mattress, which is the reason I avoided it in the beginning. But in the end, that effort was worth it.

Tuft & Needle, if you are reading this review, please consider manufacturing a mattress with four inches of your adaptive foam on top of your support layer, instead of just two inches. I'm very glad to have your free topper, but it makes the bed look lumpy and it doesn't stay in place. From all the reviews I've read, the topper was key to customer satisfaction for many people. You should seriously consider this option. I would have chosen that and paid a bit more for it, too, had it been available.
867 people found this helpful
|77 comments|Report abuse
on June 27, 2017
Wow! Let me start off by saying, I purchased a T&N 5" mattress almost two years ago exactly. We recently picked up bed bugs somewhere and chose, very sadly, to part with our T&N mattress even though it looks like the protective covering on T&N mattresses prevented bed bugs from making a home there. T&N no longer sells the 5" mattress, which was devastating news because both me and my boyfriend had been sleeping soundly and waking up without any back pain since we first purchased the 5" mattress.

I contacted T&N and explained our situation and asked if they could somehow let us purchase another 5" mattress. Who knows? I thought they would have some left in inventory or could work with me to get another 5" mattress. Instead, I sent an email at around 5am on a Saturday and received an incredibly personable and thoughtful response back around noon! They responded to my concerns and offered me a new 10" mattress FOR FREE. I haven't had many blow-me-away service experiences lately (as in the last few years, really) and even if T&N hadn't offered me a free mattress to replace our original 5" mattress, I would have been delighted by the response. You won't find better service than T&N. We had our new mattress by the end of the week!

Okay, now for the mattress details. The 5" mattress was excellent, no doubt, and that's why I was going right back to T&N to get another. The 10" mattress is like sleeping on a cloud that is the perfect level of firmness no matter what your perfect level of firmness is. It's hard to believe that a mattress can be designed in a seemingly simple way, but provide more comfort and support than any other mattress on which I've slept. The 10" mattress is superior to every mattress I can remember sleeping on in my 30 years. I suffer from lower back pain that only regular yoga helps. Since I started sleeping on the T&N 5" mattress two years ago, I have not experienced much, if any, back pain. It does not matter what size you are, firmness/softness preference, or if you are a hot sleeper - this mattress will have you sleeping through the night and waking up refreshed. Give T&N a chance and I don't think you will be disappointed. Even if you are disappointed for whatever reason you might be,T&N will work with you through their excellent customer service. You seriously have nothing to lose with this mattress, unless you are looking to miss out on a good night of sleep. In that case, stay away from T&N because you will sleep well once you have one of their mattresses!
review image
345 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
on December 17, 2017
I upgraded to this after having the same old spring mattress for 13 years (waaaay too long). I've had it for around a month. I'm not a mattress expert, but I saw a lot of conflicting info in the reviews about the feel and firmness of the mattress so I'll provide my take on this.

The top layer of the mattress contains a cooling foam material. When you touch the mattress directly, you can definitely feel the heat being pulled away from your skin. This is awesome for people like me who can't sleep when a mattress is too warm.

As far as firmness goes, I would describe this mattress as soft, yet "supportive." In case this is not clear, that is a compliment, not a dig, and I don't think it should deter those looking for a firm mattress. I have chronic lower back issues and was afraid it might be too soft. That is not the case. This mattress is incredibly soft and comfortable on the top layer which is great for back or side sleeping. The lower foam layer is more dense and supportive which creates a nice supportive feel that allows the curvature of your body to sink into the mattress slightly while not putting your back and joints into uncomfortable positions. This is not a memory foam mattress so it bounces right back when you push against it. In my mind this helps it keep its form and support your back nicely.

I got the Queen for around $450 during Black Friday sales, and would absolutely buy it again. I would even pay full price for it knowing what I know now.

Note: Some people complain about gross chemical smells with these bed-in-a-box mattresses so I was very mindful of that. This mattress is of amazing quality, and there was absolutely no smell from the moment I opened it.
224 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on January 17, 2018
After 2 year of owning Tuft & Needle King Mattress, we are throwing in the towel. I don't want to believe it because we fell in love with the mattress in the beginning like so many others, but most reviews are less than 3 months of owning the mattress. The pain didn't start until after a 1 year of laying on it.
Before bed, I'd give myself a number from 1-10 of how sore I am, usually a 0-2, but I'd wake up in the morning and be at a 8. I did this every so often, and it's official. The mattress is the problem. I believe we sink to much into it, keep in mind i'm only 5'7 160 lbs, so not these huge guy! Wife also wakes up with soreness/pain just like me.

I notice if I lay flat on my back, the pain would be much worse in the mornings than when we slept on our side. Extremely disappointed, really had high expectations, but the pain is too much.
278 people found this helpful
|55 comments|Report abuse
on September 16, 2017
I've written a review before, but ft some reason it was not posted. This is the worst mattress I've ever bought. We purchased three mattresses in the last 6 months. Only one from Tuft & Needle - which resulted depressions formed within 4 months. My wife is a very small person, 128 lbs, I am larger, but both sides have holes that we don't into and can't roll out of. Initially the mattress is firm and it takes time to break in. We had a good month of wonderful sleep, until we started noticing it was harder and harder to roll from side to side. Last time I took pictures of my level showing just how deep these go. About an inch and a half. Our last mattress took 15 years to get half this wear. We still have it in our guest bedroom and prefer it over T&N.
264 people found this helpful
|33 comments|Report abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on May 28, 2018
When we purchased this mattress in August of last year, we loved it! Now that we have been sleeping on it for 9 months, our thoughts have changed. I have been waking up with back pains for about 3 weeks. I did not say anything to my husband thinking that perhaps I needed to do some stretching. To my surprise, the hubby also complained that his back has been hurting upon waking for about 3 weeks as well. These are the pains we experienced when we realized it was time to change our last conventional mattress that lasted us nearly 10 years. Upon inspection, the Tuft & Needle mattress has no lumps or divots so there does not appear to be a manufacturer flaw to the naked eye. Things I did love about the mattress are the convenient packing and shipping, the price, and that there were no smells after unpacking. It was very comfortable for the first 8 months, but now I think that I will need to purchase a conventional mattress that will last for a few years instead of a few months. Please take note that all of the excellent reviews were within the first few months of owning.

Update: I called Tuft and Needle directly (5/30/2018) and spoke with Gerilynn (not sure of spelling) and was told that there was nothing they could do for me at this point. Looks like I wasted very good money on a very bad mattress. Before purchasing, please be sure to look at reviews from those who have owned the mattress for 6 months or more.
99 people found this helpful
|44 comments|Report abuse
on May 15, 2015
tl;dr: Great mattress, after some hurdles that were deftly cleared by stellar customer service. The entire saga, beginning with my original (unfavorable) review is below:

It hurts me to write this review for such a beloved product. Literally... I first became aware of this company when a blogger friend of mine wrote a sponsored post. I don't usually pay too much attention to the kind of endorsements you see on sponsored blogs ("they gave this to us for free, naturally we LOVE it"), but I know these people & trust their integrity. So when, several months after the initial post, they wrote a follow up reiterating their praises, I was intrigued. I'd been looking for a new mattress for awhile and this company's origin story was so relatable. I loved their mission, their philosophy, their business model. When I ordered my mattress directly from their site in January, I loved their efficient, friendly, but unobtrusive service. Unfortunately I cannot say the same for the product.

I want to be clear that I'm not disputing the raves others have had. My blogger friends are 20-something skinny-hipsters while I'm a more ample Gen-X type. But three months in, it's become impossible to sleep on. The center of the mattress, while no visible indentation is present, has softened so much that it compresses significantly and quickly under my hips as soon as I lie down. By contrast, the pressure on my shoulders is beyond firm - which, as I'm a side sleeper, can be pretty uncomfortable. It's not possible to lie on this mattress for more than 2 minutes and maintain a neutral body posture. It's a pain in the neck. Literally! Again!

As I said, the mattress snows no visible indentation, so I don't think my problems fall under warranty or defective product. But I wanted to put this out there & let you know that if you're a chubby side-sleeper, this probably isn't the mattress for you. Pity.

Update: Upgrading from two stars to four. You've got to give a company props for working so hard to make their customers happy. I heard from customer service shortly after posting this review and was assured that the uneven firmness I've experienced is "definitely not normal" and offered a replacement at no charge. My new mattress arrives tomorrow and I'm comfortable saying that, even if this doesn't turn out to be the perfect mattress for me, Tuft & Needle as a company gets my recommendation. They're willing to stand behind their product and that's impressive these days.

Second Update: Have now been using the replacement mattress for a couple of months and am happy to report that it remains very comfortable. It seemed slightly less dense than the first mattress from the beginning, but has provided a very pleasant balance of soft & supportive. I'm officially a fan and also very grateful to the fine folks at Tuft & Needle for taking the initiative to fix this...they have my utmost respect. It took awhile -- but they've earned all 5 stars.

Final Update: Hi people! I didn't realize there had been so much interest in this review - sorry if I left your questions hanging. I've been sleeping on the replacement mattress for over a year now, and am happy to report that it remains one of the most comfortable mattresses I've ever owned. I'm even happier about getting a consistent, comfortable night's sleep. In my opinion T&N service AND product have earned every one of the five stars in this rating.
6,447 people found this helpful
|5150+ comments|Report abuse
on March 7, 2018
We tried out the mattress for a while. I am a lighter weight while my partner is heavier. The mattress was too firm for us--and we did read online after purchasing that this mattress is apparently more suitable for people at lighter weights. After using it for the recommended allotted time by Tuft and Needle to break it in, we decided to return it. I am giving this review four stars based solely on the excellent customer service from UPS, Tuft and Needle, and Amazon.

I would like to be transparent that the mattress appears to be a good mattress and will probably work well for certain people, such as lighter weights and/or stomach sleepers due to its firmness. So, the quality isn't terrible. It just didn't work for us personally. However, when we decided to return it, we contacted UPS about shipping returns. Then we called Tuft and Needle about the 100 Day Trial, although we saw on their website that Tuft and Needle would NOT pick up the mattress and refund it if bought through a third party distributor like Amazon. However, Tuft and Needle did confirm the 100 Day Trial was still valid even through Amazon and they gave me the number for the Special Handling Department through Amazon (the number is 866-423-5353, by the way). When I called the Special Handling Department, they gave me a full refund after I explained it just wasn't working for us. Amazon does not accept returns on memory foam mattresses, so I was impressed that they gave me a full refund and trusted my word. Again, excellent customer service.

I would like to add that I have never returned a product to Amazon in all my years of shopping on their site, so that may be why they were nice enough to give me a full refund as I am a regular customer without return history. Tuft and Needle also states that ONE mattress per household may be returned ONCE per year, so there is that.

Four stars for the great customer service, but I would not recommend this mattress for heavier people or side sleepers/rotators. Oh, and it doesn't appear to sleep hot. But not too cool, either. Somewhere in between.

Thanks, Tuft and Needle, Amazon, and UPS!
42 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on November 6, 2017
This product is awful. I've had the bed about a year and it is already hollowed out where I sleep and I wake up each day with an achey back. They say there is a "warranty" but the "warranty" has been useless. Basically, you have to show that the bed is indented. The problem is that the bed does not indent, it just becomes incredibly soft, so when you get in, you sink into where there is no support. Since you can't show an indent, you can't use the "warranty". I spent a good amount of money on this bed and expected it to last; but one year out and I'm going to have to buy a new bed.
31 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on August 4, 2017
We have been sleeping on this mattress for 2 months now and can already feel how it is sunk in on the sides and higher in the middle just as we experienced with our last pillow top. The big difference is it took our pillow top years to get that way, not months. We believed after reading so many reviews of alleviating the aches and pains that come from sleeping on a bad mattress that we were finally on track to blissful sleep. Now after 2 months, my husband's back pain is actually worse! He has to spend his first 2 hours every morning stretching before getting any relief. He has been begging me to get rid of this mattress and move to the next option whatever that will be. Now to top it off, we got the shipping return label from Amazon and UPS says that will not cover it and we need pay for return packaging and freight because of its size. Ugh!!!!!!!!!
140 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse