Industrial Deals Beauty Prime Day Prime Day Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Get 4 months of Amazon Music Unlimited for $0.99. Prime member exclusive. New subscribers only. Just $7.99/month after. Terms apply. Starting at $19.99 Grocery Handmade Prime Day modern furniture and decor Up to $50 off Home Services Up to 50% off Movies and TV shows for Prime members Up to 50% off Movies and TV shows for Prime members Up to 50% off Movies and TV shows for Prime members  Echo Devices Starting at $29.99 All-new Show Mode Charging Dock Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now Start your Baby Registry

Zinus Memory Foam 12 Inch Green Tea Mattress, Queen
Size: Queen|Style Name: 12 Inch|Change
Price:$239.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on December 24, 2017
I'm going to do everyone who reads this a massive favor. I'm going to tell you how I got the best bed ever, and it starts with this mattress.

Let me start off saying that I have spent an unusual amount of time mattress shopping. I gave up on stores a while ago, and have been testing out the latex/foam options for a few years. The price, durability, and ease of shopping is hard to beat. I've tried all the major options; Purple, Tuft and Needle, Dreamforce, Tempurpedic, etc...

The first Zinus mattress I got was all screwed up (images attached). But Amazon replaced it quickly. The most common complaint on this mattress is it's too firm, and I can see what they're saying. I'm a big (fat, over 300) guy, so I like firm. But most the people who have been in the bed are not so big. So, I decided to take advantage of the fact this was so cheap and went ahead and added two other items.

First, DreamFoam Bedding DF20GT2066 2" Gel Swirl Memory Foam Topper, King, Aqua Blue This gel topper is great at keeping things cool, and has a good amount of give to it.

Second, Cheer Collection Ultra Plush Eco-friendly Hypoallergenic Bamboo Fitted Mattress Topper - King this pillow top topper adds yes another level of cushion, and yet seems to let the cooling factor of the get topper come through a bit.

Between these added items, I think I have created quite possible the best mattress I've ever experience, far better than Purple, Tuft and Needle, Tempurpedic, etc..., and all for well under $400! It's comfy, firm, and doesn't get too warm.

I have a couple suggestions that I think really help.

First, make sure this sets on a completely flat surface. If you get a platform frame with a mesh bottom, add a sheet of plywood under the mattress. I do feel this makes a bit of difference.

Second, use a mattress cover on the Zinus. This thing should last forever if you don't damage it, so protect it. With the other two covers you'll never actually be touching the mattress. Just replace the toppers every couple years.

A bonus suggestion, especially since this whole set up is so cheap, is to treat yourself to some bamboo sheets. HotelSheetsDirect 100% Bamboo Bed Sheet Set (King, Dark Gray) These feel amazing, and they're only $50.

For pillows I'd recommend getting some traditional pillows, as well as some latex filled. The combo is a nice addition. I really stand by this suggestion, so I hope someone finds it helpful. Let me know.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview image
2,747 people found this helpful
|2626 comments|Report abuse
on October 9, 2017
THIS 👏🏻 BED 👏🏻 IS 👏🏻 THE 👏🏻 JAM. First off, I'm a flight attendant. I sleep in a lot of hotel beds. I know what a good and bad bad feels like. THIS BED IS AMAZING. Feeling impartial about the non conforming bed of the future? Think you'll miss the springs? No way. I promise. I felt the same. I sat there for 36 hours straight watching this bed rise in my kitchen festering the idea that I made a mistake. What is this? Why does it have to rise? Who even am I right now? The instructions were like one sentence and I probably messed it up. Omg what if I messed up?! 2017 is weird, I hate this. I hate New things. JK NOPE. I HAVE NO REGRETS! This bed cured my boyfriend's back pain. This bed cured my sleepless nights. MY PHAT @zz can sleep on my side without my spine feeling broken in half. I can sleep on my back or stomach no problem. I can't remember the last time I slept through the night... Now I can't wake up. We spent three days sleeping til 2pm. Today I missed my alarm for work by 2 hours. I legitimately slept through 2 hours of backup alarms that go off every 10 minutes. THIS BED IS THE DEVIL. But like a good devil that greets you with puppies and all things great in this world. This bed is the Oprah of beds. This bed is like getting a whole row to yourself on an airplane. This bed is like seeing your ex and they look like a potato and your eyeliner is so fleek it pierces their heart. This bed is freshly signed divorced papers. THIS BED IS ALL YOU NEED IN THIS LIFE. Its dirt cheap, soft yet firm, and will make you laugh pretty hard the first time you're trying to get rowdy on it. I've had this bed a few weeks now and I am pretty convinced that this is the best decision I've ever made in my life besides losing my virginity and buying a motorcycle. TOP THREE for sure. So stop debating and order this bed. Just do it. (Shia lebeouff voice) (I probably spelt that wrong)

Oh and it doesn't smell bad. I read that it did. It smelled like it was compressed in a bag and shipped across the country which was expected, but it went away. Also the box makes a rad cat house.

Xoxo
904 people found this helpful
|1717 comments|Report abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on August 3, 2016
I was a little nervous getting this bed. A lot of the reviews were sponsored by the company which made them feel unreliable to me. A lot of the reviews also talked about how firm the foam is, which isn't what my boyfriend and I were looking for. The shipping was very fast and reliable. Like others said it came in a medium sized rectangle box. Weight was aprox 70lb. I definitely couldn't lift it up our flight of stairs. We let the bed rest for a day. I didn't smell any offensive chemical smells. The bed rose to the full 12 inches for us quickly.

Most importantly the bed is by far the most comfortable mattress I have ever had. I wouldn't say it's firm. You sink down a few inches. It's nice because both my boyfriend and I move around a lot in our sleep. You would never feel it in this bed though. It's by far the best purchase I have I've made in years and would only buy this mattress again in the future.

**Update- so we have had this bed now over a year, and moved with it once. I’ve rotated the bed a few times since and can say I am so, so disappointed with how badly this bed has aged in the years use. My back and hip pain increases daily because of how badly the support is with the foam. The mattress is just not made to last. Awful. Wish I could return
review image
3,152 people found this helpful
|3333 comments|Report abuse
on December 9, 2017
So here's the thing: we ordered two of these on Cyber Monday, a King and a Twin (were shopping for a twin bed for a kid, and saw the deal on a the king and couldn't pass it up). Both arrived a little later than typical shipping (but this was the first time I ordered furniture on Amazon, and evidently that's somewhat standard). Opened up both of the mattresses in our finished basement, as per the instructions of unboxing, letting time for foam to expand, odors to dissipate, etc. Both smelled somewhat chemical-like, but that went away within a day or two. We kept them laid out in front of a dehumidifier for 4 nights. Both the King and the Twin expanded to the full 12 inches within a day or so, maybe even less as I didn't measure right away.

Thursday I moved the mattresses then into the respective rooms, and the Twin was great. Perfect, actually. Super comfortable, minimal (maybe even NO odor), and is working perfecting for our son.

The King, however, smelled like mildew. I noticed this slightly (along with the chemical smell) when first opening it, but figured the dehumidifier will help. After assembling the bed frame (separate purchase) and the mattress was on it, could definitely smell the mildew stronger now that it was off the ground. First night we thought we'd just try and see how it goes - and both my wife and I woke up with a headache, sore throat, and a stuffy nose. Second night my wife couldn't even make it through the night and ended up sleeping with our daughter, and I woke up the next morning feeling awful - way worse than the previous morning. The mildew was overpowering.

Both of the mattresses, however, are SUPER comfortable. So just now I requested a return/exchange with Amazon, and they said that within 24 hours an Amazon representative will be out to our house to remove the King (I would have no idea how to restuff it into the box it came into for a return) and bring a replacement King. This is on a weekend ... so I don't know if that's going to happen or not, but when it does I'll be sure to update this review hopefully with a positive experience on the return and a better King mattress product.

Last thing: check the reviewers profiles on this product. There are an insane amount of 5 star reviews with minimal descriptions, and the user profile's either have few other reviews or they have mass amount of reviews all with 5 starts. Not saying there is something shady going on with the reviewers .... but other online mattresses (Casper and Leesa specifically) have lawsuits against them for manipulating online review websites.

UPDATE: Amazon (after a lot of fussing and miscommunication) ended up just saying to keep the old King and sent out a new King. This was several weeks ago. We did the same thing, opening up the box right away, airing it out for 4 nights, etc. etc. and while the new one doesn't smell QUITE as bad, it still stinks. My wife and I decided this morning to ask to have it refunded and/or returned. We won't be buying from Zinus again. We even bought a King hypoallergenic mattress cover to help contain the smell, which worked for a night and then the smell crept through. Two faulty King mattresses. We wake up with headaches, sore throats, and stuffy noses every morning.

To be fair - the Twin that we ordered for our son is fine. But there must be something with how the larger mattresses are made that makes them stink.

BUYER BEWARE! There are 20+ reviews of these mattresses every day on Amazon with 4/5+ reviews with single line descriptions. Something is not right with all of this ....
634 people found this helpful
|55 comments|Report abuse
on February 8, 2018
My husband and I purchased the 12" king-sized version of this mattress in March 2017. I purposely waited almost a year to review this mattress because I believe most things are good in the beginning, but only time can tell how good a product really is. While it has only been a year, I feel I can give an honest review of this product. Before buying this mattress, we had card in hand ready to spend $1200 on another memory foam mattress from a furniture store, but couldn't go through with it. I had looked up this mattress a few days before going to the furniture store, which is what ultimately caused us to not buy the $1200 mattress.

After almost a year, I can say I still love this mattress. After a long day, when I lay down in it, I can feel my whole body just relax into it, all while being supported. Our old pillowtop mattress was 10 years old and was causing both my husband and I lots of pain by the morning and since getting this mattress, we no longer have pain. I noticed in the reviews, that some people mentioned the mattress was too warm. We initally put a encased mattress cover on it when we first got it and yes, I woke up sweating. I suspected it could be the cover and took it off and haven't had a night sweat since - even in the summer. I don't think it gets too warm at all.

Besides comfort, there is the price. You can't beat it. I would even say it is a steal. We shopped for 5 hours at 5 different furniture and mattress stores before deciding on this one. The average price of the king mattresses we looked at ranged from $800 - $1500. For less than $400, you get a quality mattress. Even if it doesn't last 5 years, you got your money's worth and at a fraction of the cost of the store mattresses.

We enjoyed our bed so much, that when our son was in need of a new mattress, we bought him the full size version in July 2017. We are very happy with that purchase as well. They are great mattresses and I have no complaints. I highly recommend them!
510 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on December 3, 2017
This is my 2nd Zinus mattress. I ordered the first one directly from Zinus and it was perfect. I just opened this one today and the smell is TERRIBLE. A combination of old moldy, musty foam and dirty crotch (sorry but it’s true...and I’m a ER nurse so yep I’ve smelled it all). I will follow up my review in the next few days and see where we are with the smell but it’s disgusting. And again, the one purchased directly from Zinus had a pleasant almost minty smell.... Pretty disappointed - I would have rather paid full price than deal with this smell. Stay tuned for an update...
176 people found this helpful
|77 comments|Report abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on January 20, 2017
Mattress is very comfy, but after 6 weeks 3 of the corners have not expanded to the full 12" depth ! 1 corner is only 9" and 2 other corners are only 8" ! I guess the mattress is faulty and needs replacing, but they want ME to ship a Cal King memory foam mattress back to them !!!!
review image
1,370 people found this helpful
|1212 comments|Report abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on July 15, 2017
We are very disappointed with this mattress. It started off very comfortable but after only 3 months it got very soft and starting hurting my daughters back. I contacted Zinus and sent several pictures that I feel showed that the mattress had compressed and the only advice they gave me was to sell this one and try to buy a new one. No thanks!
review image
890 people found this helpful
|55 comments|Report abuse
on December 22, 2017
I thought for a long time about buying this bed. Finally pulled the trigger after reading the reviews. We got the bed and unpackaged it. It smelled awful but I knew that was a possibility and to give it a few days to air out. I even opened the windows and pointed a fan full blast at it. We gave it a whole week!! The smell did get better but was still there.. I decided To take the cover off to possibly wash it.. BAD IDEA!!!! The layer underneath the cover (which can't be washed and should NOT be taken off) is FIBERGLASS!!! Says right on the tag!!??? In a bed??? Sorry but I do not think that can be healthy to be breathing in every night! I will not sleep on the bed, amazon was great with my refund. I even went to the Zinus website and they claim their beds are made with "MAGICAL RECIPIES" nice.. Terrible company basically lying to people about what they are actually sleeping on. NO THANKS! You get what you pay for.
111 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on December 7, 2017
This is an update of a previous review.
I have experience with memory foam mattresses and generally knew what to expect, but it seems from the most recent negative reviews that Zinus is having a quality control issue. I'm not sensitive to smells, but the odor has honestly been overwhelming, enough that I've been leaving windows open in 15 degree weather (there goes my cost savings). Many negative reviews agree, others don't mention it at all, so something is inconsistent. Maybe it's just the 12"?
After a week, mattress has maxed out at 10-11". I don't care so much about the height, except that I paid for it.
Slept on it last night for the first time. Odor hasn't dissipated completely, but wasn't terrible with the mattress pad & sheets blocking some of it. It was firm. Like, really firm. My husband and I have been sleeping on our very firm innerspring mattress on the floor while we were waiting for the odor to go away, and this was firmer & more uncomfortable than that. Woke up multiple times having to adjust due to joint pain. And to my surprise, it did sleep hot. I didn't have one of those plastic-y waterproof covers on it (that I think is sometimes mistaken for the mattress holding heat), but I woke up sweaty a couple of times nonetheless.
As an FYI, I'd like to point out a few things. 2 layers of this mattress are the egg-crate type foam, which I believe is notorious for its poor wear. I can feel the big gaps on the edge of the mattress from it and am almost certain this is causing the early breakdown/sagging many reviewers are mentioning. I would not buy a mattress with that type of foam again. I wasn't paying close enough attention to the photos when I made my purchase.
Also, I noticed the reviews here are for *all* sizes/thicknesses of this mattress, which is misleading. A heavy person's experience with an 8" twin is not going to be comparable to a petite woman's experience with a 12" king, so read reviews carefully.
Some of the reviews mention mold. I read while researching that these mattresses can be prone to moisture build-up & mold if used on a solid-surface platform with no ventilation. If it arrives moldy, that's one thing, but this may explain the people that have it for a year and then notice an issue.
While doing research, I came across the suggestion to buy a good quality (not necessarily expensive) firm innerspring mattress without a bunch of extra cushioning and use a good quality memory foam topper with it. This way you get the longer-lasting support of the springs, but the comfort of foam that is replaceable, seeing as how all memory foam weakens over time. I really think this is probably the way to go.
At the moment, I thoroughly regret buying this mattress.
46 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse