Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. Fire TV Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now Start your Baby Registry



on May 18, 2015
A great tuner. As others have said, this is an accurate tuner, and the display is much better than other tuners. I have used the Snark, which is less expensive, but I recommend the UberTuner over the Snark for these reasons:

1. The UberTuner is built better than the Snark. It has a bigger and brighter display and the clamp is stronger. It just feels more substantial. The arm from the clamp to the tuner is stronger and looks like it will last.

2. When the instrument is in tune, the LED indicator on the Snark will hover in the middle but bounce around a little. This is fine, except when compared to the UberTuner which has an LED circle that lights up around the note you are tuned to. This light stays on and doesn't bounce on and off like the indicator on the Snark.

3. To test each tuner, I clamped the Snark and UberTuner on my guitar at the same time. Both are accurate, but the UberTuner is slightly more responsive. Like I said above, it is easier to tell when the instrument is in tune with the UberTuner since it has the LED circle that lights up.

My only suggestion for the UberTuner is to mark the On/Off button a little more clearly. It is a black button on the side of the black case, next to two other buttons. It would be nice if the On/Off button was either a different color, was raised a little, or had a little nub you could feel with your finger. This would make it a little easier to find and turn the unit on and off without looking so hard for the button. This change would also make it harder to confuse the On/Off button with the other two buttons on the side of the case. The On/Off button on the Snark is a different color and is located on the face of the unit.

Final recommendation: Spend the extra few bucks and get this tuner. It's well worth it!
200 people found this helpful
|44 comments|Report abuse
KLIQ, without having to be asked, e-mailed me a readable copy of the minutely printed instruction sheet that comes in the tuner carton. This made all the difference to a quick start with the new tuner. The separately packaged battery (similar shape and near the size of a quarter) must be fit into a little drawer which is then inserted into the tuner. Being able to read and follow KLIQ's good directions produced success on the first try. Installing the battery was not at all difficult once I had read the directions. Did I mention you NEED TO READ THE DIRECTIONS before attempting to install the battery? Good! Just wanted to make sure everyone notices that installing the battery by guess and by golly will likely end badly. There are three buttons on the side. It is important to identify the power button and, again, read the directions. Just tapping will not turn on the tuner. You must press and hold the power button for two seconds or so until the face lights up -- a nice safeguard against an accidental bump. This tuner is superbly designed to be clearly visible from a distance even more than arm's length. When the yellow is lit, the note is flat; red means sharp. When only the green circle is lit, the note is right on. The tuning seemed to be fine for playing with my group. I'll leave the fine point of whether the tuner actually tunes to 440-A to the science guys. Sounded fine to me though and I don't have a tin ear. The tuner and clamp are of sturdy plastic construction with some metal parts. If your instrument has a scroll head, this clamp may not have room to fit. I found that the clamp cannot attach to my dulcimer which has a very wide scroll head, but does fit the dulcimer with the flat head, the home made banjo, and the folk harp. Placement on the harp should be on the pillar above the soundbox as pictured. The thick rubber pads on the feet of the clamp give promise of long-lasting protection for the instruments' finish. Since I am vision impaired, it is a delight to finally have a tuner that I can read easily from as far away as arm's length: no need to bend and peer. And this tuner is bright enough to be easily useable in stage light. The viewing angle is adjustable with a nicely designed joint. Once adjusted, the tuner stays put. I would recommend this tuner to anyone playing a fretted instrument with a flat head. It doesn't fit on my dulcimer with the wide scroll head; but will probably fit narrower ones such as violin scrolls. There are some features I have not tried, so I will leave them to others. I have been using tuners of various types for many years and this baby is definitely going to be my favorite. The price is right. The weight is negligible. And the battery required is available at local stores. One point: I didn't check if it turns off automatically. Until I get around to reading that part of the directions, I shall just try to remember to shut it off by holding the power button 'til the screen goes entirely dark after use. If it doesn't shut off automatically, that probably ought to be the next upgrade along with a clamp that accommodates all types of scroll headed instruments. Lovely tuner! Nice design job, whoever invented this is brilliant!!!
review image
52 people found this helpful
|33 comments|Report abuse
on January 2, 2016
I have been in the Music Business for 47 years and have seen a number of tuners come and go... some immediately, some failed over time. This KLIQ tuner is by far the easiest to read (more important as time goes on), fast reacting and convenient tuner I have ever used. In the beginning, clip on tuners were not well received because folks didn't keep in mind that vibrations are as valid a system of tuning as audible sounds are. The ability to tune regardless of ambient noise was the main reason I considered a clip on tuner. Even though I play mostly acoustic guitar, the ambient sounds are not often capable of overriding the vibrations of the instrument. That means quick and easy tuning checks... especially when I use alternate tunings when performing. Now people won't get irritated when tuning is needed due to the speed of the checks! I like this tuner so much I bought two more (for now) to keep with other instruments so I always have one handy! Thanks much KLIQ!!!
16 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on January 28, 2018
Just received my KLIQ tuner (on a Sunday no less). I had a Snark HZ for my Warwick Corvette 5 string, and thought it was the greatest thing ever. Before that, used a Korg plug in which was a rock for 20 years. But inconvenient since you had to unplug to use it. So much better to just be able to turn down the volume and tune.

After reading the reviews on Amazon, decided to order the KLIQ to try since I haves 3 basses, and wanted to have a tuner in each case.

Even though I love the convenience of the Snark, was always disappointed how it responded to my low B string. It wavered a lot, and I had to tune using the high octave B on that string. It wasn’t easy having to finger the B, pluck, and then adjust the tuner with my right hand. If I used the open string, it wouldn’t register but for a second or two.

When I received the KLIQ, I decided to run a test. First I tuned my Warwick using the Snark. My Warwick is solid when it comes to tuning. I’ve had times when it’s been in the case for weeks, pulled it out, and it was still in tune. So it’s not like the bass goes out of tune easily.

Then I tuned the bass right after using the KLIQ. As you can see in the photos, the KLIQ is larger and brighter. The circle around the note name lights up when you are tuned to it. The KLIQ showed that the B string was slightly flat, even though the Snark briefly said it was in tune. So I tuned the B string to neutral. Then I reattached the Snark, and it was showing flat as seen in the picture.

I tried the KLIQ on my other basses, 4 string Squire and an Ovation 4 string acoustic with similar results. I’ll have to see over time, but so far the difference is strikingly clear. Right out of the box, I’d recommend the KLIQ over the Snark. A bigger, brighter display. More accuracy. And the KLIQ has a cool animation when you turn it off and on. For roughly the same price, I believe the KLIQ is far superior and I’m looking forward to purchasing another one soon.
review imagereview imagereview image
5 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on September 8, 2016
I purchased the KLIQ UberTuner Clip-on All Instrument Tuner to use on cellos and I'm happy to report this tuner does a very satisfactory job. Although a bit more expensive that similar all-instrument clip-on tuners, I conclude that the KLIQ is a better value buy because of the way it is built. (Plus a 3-year manufacturers warranty should you need it.)

Because clip-on tuners like KLIQ rely on the vibrations to tune, it must be able to be attached to the instrument. On the cello, the clip can easily be attached to the scroll (which is probably the thickest part of the cello where one would think to attache the tuner.) You can also attach it to the bridge for tuning. It doesn't really get in the way of bowings for tuning. Probably easiest to have the tuner clipped to the C-string side of the bridge and have the display adjusted to face you. You can also attach it to the tailpiece, but in my experience, there tuning with the KLIQ attached to the tailpiece is different from the tuning with the tuner attached to the scroll or the bridge. (The scroll and bridge tunings are similar/same.)

The tuner is small. On lesson days, I just clip the tuner to the cello's bridge before place the instrument inside the case. When I get to my l esson, the tuner is ready when I take the instrument out of the case. I switch it on, tune, then take it off and set it aside by clipping it to the music stand or the case.

It doesn't provide the tuning accuracy some smartphone apps offer (i.e. showing tuning frequencies, and frequency deviations down to cents, And while I do have a tuner on my phone, I prefer not to bring my phone into the lesson room to avoid distraction. The KLIQ UberTuner gives me a tuner without the possible "distraction" from a phone while having my lessons.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview image
8 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on January 13, 2017
I love it when a competitor to a major brand can totally upstage said major brand. KLIQ has totally won me over - enough for me to take time to write this review. I've been playing guitar for 25 years, and have tried many, many tuners including Korg and Snark most recently.

Here are some specifics I've fallen in love with after a few days' use:
- Very responsive tuner. Seems to be very precise so far. I've intentionally tuned sharp and flat to gauge tuner response, very satisfied with the results. Can also fine tune Hz setting.
- Bright, clear display, viewable from every angle I've tried so far
- Info layout on display - shows the standard sharp/flat indicators, but has a wonderfully large and visible "in tune" circle in the middle of the display.
- Solid construction and clip, especially compared to other major clip-on tuner manufacturers.
- Chromatic mode (on by default) - for open chord and jazz tunings.

I don't remember being excited about guitar accessories for a while, so thanks for creating a product that can "wow" even an old dog like me.
6 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on January 3, 2018
I was really impressed with this tuner. I have been using a turner with a microphone for years. Almost 15 years, I guess. It was ok, but took a long time to tune my 12 string guitar.
This clip on tuner is way easier to use and a lot faster. I was able to tune up quickly and it was a lot easier. It clips on securely and won't damage the guitar in any way.

This Turner is very accurate. I think it said 98% accuracy.
A 12 string guitar naturally takes a little longer to tune, but now it is a lot faster. I'm playing more because I don't have to spend as much time tuning up.
4 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on January 24, 2018
Much easier to use and more accurate than the Snark tuner which I had been using for years. My only recommendation is that the instructions describe in more detail when to use the different tuning modes. Since I play guitar I changed from the chromatic mode to the guitar mode. This worked fine until I used a capo. To get accurate readings with a capo I had to revert to the chromatic mode. It wasn't hard to figure this out myself; but it would have been helpful had this information been included on the instructions.
4 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on May 7, 2017
Like many others I imagine, I had a hard time choosing between this tuner and the popular Snark. I wasn't sure if the Kliq would be worth the extra $10, but the UberTuner's reviews seemed to be good and I didnt want to mess around with another cheap tuner that couldn't pick up my strings' vibrations. So I bought the Kliq to be safe, and I must say I believe it's worth the extra money so far. As a guitarist of ~8 years, I trust this tuner on my high-end Taylor and Gibson guitars. Here's what I like about the UberTuner:
-Bright, easy to read display
-Colored green ring instantly tells you if you're in tune or not
-Extremely flexible, and can be moved so that you can see it from basically any angle
-Good customer support
-Large and strong clip
-Looks sturdy, despite plastic components
-Reads strings quickly
-Can be used over a wide range of instruments and keys
So far, this seems like a great buy! I would recommend it to any musician in need of a precise tuner
5 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on November 28, 2017
While built stronger than three quarters of the tuners out there (worth 5 stars) it's tuning accuracy capability is +/- 1% which is the accuracy rate of most decent tuners out there. Why does that matter? Because I need an accurate tuner for my mandolin and I have already discovered, for instance, if I tune the pair of A strings it will show both perfectly in tune but they are not with each other. They will be off just enough to be frustrating. The same can be true of the G or D sets. This tuner is in the upper price range of tuners. I have found that more than half the tuners out there are bright just like this one is bright but I found this one to be no more accurate than many others I've tried so I'm frustrated. The original Intellitouch Tuners will always be my favorite for tuning a mandolin.
3 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse