Industrial Deals Prime Book Box Men's Summer Sneakers nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One New Moto G6 64 GB | $299.99. Save with Prime Exclusive Phones. Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry modern furniture and decor Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo All-new Show Mode Charging Dock Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now STL18_GNO

Dragon NaturallySpeaking Premium 13
Platform: PC Disc|Edition: Premium|Change
Price:$98.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on April 17, 2017
Okay, let me say first off that my five star rating is conditional.
You have to be REALLY good with tech to install this sucker.
I'm moderately tech savvy but I would never have been able to install the dragon software. This is one thing they just have to fix because it's ridiculously hard.
In fact for me it was no problem because I just had the main problem-solving guy from our company's IT department install it for me.
Despite the installation complexity, I gave it five stars because for the eight months I've been using it, it's just great.
It's accurate and it's easy to correct mistakes. I've no complaints with it at all. It's the best Dragon has ever made.

I've been using voice recognition, Mostly Dragon, For 17 years. I never type anything more then one short sentence. Every document, e-mail, etc. that I have created all these years has been done with voice recognition.
So, I have a tip:
With each new version of voice recognition software that I use, I have found that over time, The voice files get so huge and complex that they begin to degrade and then the software makes more and more mistakes and becomes becomes less and less useful.
So, what you can do is use the new software for a couple months to get its vocabulary just where you want it.
Then, back up your speech files and save them somewhere where you can find them.
When the software starts going all to hell, uninstall the software, reinstall the software along with your backed up speech files.
201 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on August 16, 2014
I began using speech recognition three years ago because of the volume of research and writing that I do. The reviews for Dragon NaturallySpeaking compared to Windows speech recognition then seemed to concur that WSR was just as good as anything from Nuance. I have always found Windows speech recognition a tad frustrating in the number of errors in recognition results and the poor microphone volume control. The add-on macros are a nice addition to WSR. With the release of Dragon NaturallySpeaking 13, I decided to try it to see if it would perform better than the built in Microsoft option.

The installation was painless as well as the initial setup. There is no training required to get started, and the accuracy was surprisingly high without this requirement; however, I have since read one of the training documents because of the amount of text that I have to dictate every day, I wanted to ensure greater accuracy.

Since purchasing DNS13 on August 11, 2014 I've dictated just over 6,000 words; out of curiosity I did track corrections that had to be made, and Dragon NaturallySpeaking's accuracy came in at 99.2%. My VXi TalkPro UC2 microphone is working very well with Dragon NaturallySpeaking, much better than it was with Windows speech recognition.

The product integrates well with Microsoft Word and Outlook, but all of the default hotkeys must be changed otherwise you cannot create formulas in Excel. It is unfortunate that after all of these years that people have requested integration with Microsoft OneNote, the only thing DNS 13 can manage is the ribbon; text cannot be dictated directly into the program.
One thing I do miss about Windows speech recognition is the add-on macros tool where I could build routine formatting commands. I use this extensively in Microsoft OneNote; for example, I would dictate a line and then voice a command that would select the entire line, set the font point size, set tags, and then enter a double line feed.

If you try to dictate into some web forms, such as Amazon's search field, the Internet Explorer Full Text Control browser add-on does crash Dragon NaturallySpeaking (according to the DNS and Windows event logs), and corrupt all right-click context menus in Windows 7; a reboot is required to clear up the problem. With Firefox, the browser add-on simply does not work.

There is a plethora of commands available in DNS 13 to suit whatever level of keyboard or mouse interaction you would rather use your voice to control. I particularly like being able to search the web when something comes to mind, the "search the web" command is great.

Overall, for me, the product is better than Windows speech recognition, and I can continue to work around the browser add-on crashing, missing Microsoft OneNote integration, and lack of custom formatting commands as quality recognition is my number one need. For now, Dragon NaturallySpeaking 13 gets four stars; address the missing OneNote integration and the browser add-on crashing, and I might bump it up to five stars.
349 people found this helpful
|88 comments|Report abuse
on June 12, 2015
My husband purchased this as he needs assistance with the use of a computer secondary to ALS or Lou Gehrig's disease and cannot reach over a keyboard nor use the fingers except for the right thumb. This is his review:
Prior to Dragon Premium 13.0 I have been using Dragon Home 12.5. Currently I am writing this review using Home 12.5. Earlier today I uninstalled Premium 13.0 and reinstalled Home 12.5. The reason?
My major use for the computer is genealogy work and historical document indexing. The indexing work involves the use of a third-party database program. Using voice recognition software or else the on-screen keyboard that I can click using the mouse, I enter names of people, places and dates into fields in the database. This data is uploaded and made available throughout the world as searchable information on people's family history.
Home 12.5 allowed me to use correction and other commands that are part of Dragon within this database software. Since the Premium 13.0 was on sale, I thought that it would provide greater functionality. I was surprised to find that Premium 13.0 had less functionality. When I dictated a name of a place or person, 13.0 would not recognize the word that had just been placed into that field. As a result, I could not ask 13.0 for word correction nor could I teach within that software the correct spelling. The only way within Premium 13.0 to make a correction for a name, would be the use of the backspace command.
As far as using Dragon for email or Microsoft Office products, it did not make a noticeable difference whether I was using Home 12.5 or Premium 13.0.
System Resources
My System: Windows 8.1, 4 GB RAM, Core I 3 processor, 15 inch Asus Notebook
Uninstalling Premium 13.0, I learned that even when the software is exited, it remains resident in the operating memory of the computer. Windows was unable to uninstall Premium 13.0 until I used Task Manager to force-stop Premium 13.0. As soon as Premium 13.0 had been fully shut down, there was a reduction in system memory usage from 42% to 30%. When Home 12.0 has been normally exited there is not any significant overhead on the memory demonstrated.

Conclusions:
Dragon Naturally Speaking software has been a useful tool for me. However the most recent version (13 .0), provides a fresh user interface, possible improvements in accuracy, but no improvement with actually a downgrade in utility with any applications outside of mainstream browsers and Microsoft Office. I am also concerned about the memory overhead demanded by version 13.0, even when the program is exited and not in use.
92 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
on February 24, 2016
Is this programme any good? I will never know ! I had been so looking forward to trying it out and saving lots of time for letters etc.

I bought it from Amazon on Jan. 20th and have finally given up any hope of ever running it on February 24th. In the month in between we (myself and everyone I know who can handle computers) have tried everything possible to load and run 'The Dragon'. We have the ghastly Windows 8 and Nuanace Naturally Speaking is specifically designed to work with this. We have had a month of failure!

I would say that Nuance customer relations have tried their best to get the thing working. We have had a correspondence involving 19 E mails. We have had a dozen long sessions with their customer advisors. We have relaunched Windows 8, disabled all anti virus programmes, set up a new and separate Windows account. All to no avail. And why should it have to come to this? Every other programme I have working on the computer has worked straight out of the box!

Above all, if I ever see the words ....
"One or more registry settings are corrupt and your registry permissions prevent Dragon NaturallySpeaking from correcting them. Please run Dragon NaturallySpeaking Setup and select the Repair option."

again I will loose the will to live.

So , if Dragon can not make the thing work on Windows 8 for which it is specifically designed, then I am none too impressed. I am moving to Windows 10 anyway and the Naturally Speaking will not work on that yet.

So, that is a month of my life I will never get back. Now I have to test the Amazon return policy and the Nuance 90 Day return guarantee.
60 people found this helpful
|33 comments|Report abuse
on August 12, 2014
Okay, this actual review is being written with Dragon NaturallySpeaking 13 premium.

What I'm going to do is simply speak the words and not do any correction so that you can see how accurate it is.

This time around, Dragon NaturallySpeaking is vastly more integrated with all your applications, for instance, I use chrome as my browser and, previously, if I were entering a review as I am right now Dragon NaturallySpeaking would invoke something called the DragonPad which would accept my speech into a notepad like little application. Once I was finished dictating my review, the DragonPad would allow me to transfer my results into the browser text box. Now this may not seem like a big deal, but it really is, it was really distracting to use the DragonPad and on more than one occasion I lost my text because of switching away to go to another application and then coming back.

Now, I should clarify that I am using Dragon NaturallySpeaking 13 premium with Windows 8.one on a Samsung all-in-one desktop with eight gigs of RAM. This is a powerful desktop but definitely not a screamer or a gaming machine, and yet, Dragon NaturallySpeaking 13 premium has no problem at all quickly turning my voice and words into text.

So, thus far we have a new version of Dragon NaturallySpeaking that is much more integrated with the apps that you know and use every day.

Now, onto the software itself, Dragon has definitely made improvements in the UI but it is still really the same underlying core software in terms of its user interface, not much has changed their. Notice that little there is incorrect. Also, my machine is running the 64-bit version of Windows and the Dragon NaturallySpeaking software is still 32 bit, as far as I can tell, that's a little bit of a gripe but it doesn't seem to affect the performance.

Now performance, is what you want, and Dragon NaturallySpeaking 13 premium definitely performs at a much higher and more accurate level than Dragon 12 did. I am very very pleased with the new version.

One of the things that you notice right out of the box, is that the set up is very different from the previous versions, this version requires almost no training whatsoever, and, I had far fewer technical hiccups with this version, for instance, previous versions had difficulty with setting the levels on the microphone that I use which is a Logitech USB headset, nothing special either just a generic headset.

Another really nice improvement which I have actually tried out with this version, is that this version can use your WebCam Mike as the audio source, one of the things that I did was try out the WebCam Mike to see how well it worked, it was pure coincidence that my daughter happen to have a few friends over that day and were making all sorts of noise in the house, and yet, Dragon NaturallySpeaking 13 performed very well given the noise level.

Nuance gives you a chance to upgrade with a special price if your prior owner, since I have been a Dragon NaturallySpeaking customer since version 10 or so, I have been getting my upgrades for each new version directly from Nuance, we have come a long way together!

This is without a doubt the fastest, most accurate, and most pleasant to use version of Dragon yet I am happy to be a supporting customer and to see that Dragon, excuse me, Nuance is putting their revenue into research and development.

Now, I am here approaching the end of this review and I am happy to report that not a single error has been corrected, I have dictated this entire review using Dragon NaturallySpeaking 13 premium, I have corrected contextual errors of my own but no recognition errors have been removed.

I highly recommend Dragon NaturallySpeaking 13!
484 people found this helpful
|2222 comments|Report abuse
on February 6, 2018
Bar none, this is the most outrageous, negative experience I have ever had with a piece of software.
After two phone calls to clueless support personnel at Nuance (Dragon), I learn that the version Amazon says is compatible with Windows 10 (Dragon NaturallySpeaking Premium 13) was compatible with the original version of Windows 10, but it is NOT compatible with subsequent versions of Windows 10. And Nuance does not want to upgrade the program because then their Professional version would not be worth anything. My choices: return this and buy the Professional version, or buy an upgrade patch for $100.
I've never encountered such an approach, with any other software.
But why does Amazon advertise that it is compatible with Windows 10? That is simply false, if you have maintained your software in a responsible way.
16 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on February 25, 2017
If you're reading all the other reviews and going "hey, I'm good with computers, I can get this working", you're in for a shock. Whle lot of products get undeserved negative reviews for difficulty installing. This software however, deserves all the criticism it gets.

The install was successful, but it refused to recognize my microphone, even though said microphone worked with all other software. After exhausting all of their solutions on their support site, I tried asking for customer support, but the agent I talked to, Ian, had me repeat those same steps. Eventually, he implies I am lying about my hardware setup and claims I don't actually have a USB microphone. I eventually solve the problem by getting a line in microphone (which he said was what my microphone actually was and why it wasn't working), however I should not have to buy my own microphone or do my own analysis in order to get software that I paid for working, let alone be insulted by the tech support team that was supposed to help me.

The kicker? After I sent pictures of my microphone and detailed my own solution, Ian still insists that it is my USB microphone's fault, even though it works with all other software and it was the type of microphone he claimed would work.

I'm too insulted to really review the software itself yet, but really, get this at your own risk. Software is not refundable.
15 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on June 30, 2016
I have been a user of Dragon Dictate since it first came out. I have dutifully upgraded to most of the new versions. While I have created a great deal of output using the various versions, including several novels, since I suffered an arm injury four years ago, I use it to type.
I have to say, this version, Dragon Premium 13, is, by far, the best version. If you use it on a powerful computer, it really shines.
Interestingly, it doesn't require much, if any, training to use it. By "training," it really is training the program is much as it is training you. "Lucky 13" works from the start, and works well.
Previously, I either bought the boxed software or download from the company, Nuance. This time, I bought it from Amazon as a downloadable program, even though it cost a couple dollars more than the boxed software, complete with a microphone and headset. I presume that Amazon charges a bit more so they are not in direct competition with one of their sellers.
The nice thing about downloading it from Amazon is that it is available to not only re-download, if necessary, but also to download to other computers. This is permissible, as long as you are one using it on the other computers.
My most recent book, XYY: The Dead of Winter, was written entirely with Dragon. To see a sample of the book and how the Dragon looks, follow the link.
I not only highly recommend it, but also urge you to buy it as the Amazon downloadable version.
XYY: The Dead of Winter: A Grettu Vayrynen Legal Thriller #1 (Volume 1)
16 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on January 13, 2017
I purchased Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking Premium Version 13. I received the product early 01/12/2017 through Amazon Prime. Amazon provided fast delivery as usual! I wasted valuable time trying to install on my computer. The installation caused my computer to freeze 4 times, and after 6 hours of waiting for the installation to complete I had to call it a day. I was up early 01/13/2017 and tried to contact Nuance, no luck it's as time wasting as the installation. I have never had a problem installing a product onto my computer, simple task. It is the end of day two and have invested another 7 hours. I'm DONE, WTH Nuance? I'm very disappointed!
17 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on January 11, 2017
This is the worst software ever! Save your money and don't buy it! It barely understands myself or my husband, much less my son. We all speak English with no accent. Plus, once I start Dragon, Chrome won't work and the other apps on my computer slows to a grinding halt. I've been working with Dragon for 8 hours and it still can't accurately write a single sentence. It get's about 1 out of 20 words correct. Most words it just skips outright regardless of the volume of my voice or complete absence of background noise. What a huge waist of time and money. I FEEL CHEATED. CLEARLY, THE MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS ARE INCORRECT AS MY COMPUTER SLOWS TO AN UNACCEPTABLE SPEED WHEN DRAGON RUNS.

Update: I gave up on Dragon and tried out Google Docs Voice Recognition Add-On which is free. This product works like a champ. It took less than 3 minutes to set up and has good accuracy. It's not perfect, but it's good enough for what I need. I don't understand how Dragon, an expensive software, can't get its core functionality to work better than Google, who offers a free, simple, web-based solution. The downside is I want my documents to be in MS Word so for now I'll need to copy and paste between Chrome and Word.
20 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 329 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here