Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Introducing Fire TV Cube Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now Start your Baby Registry



on April 30, 2015
Received a sample in the mail. Was pretty excited to try this out with my 4-year-old cat, he's not super picky, but he does refuse a couple of popular brands of dry food. Usually he likes anything fish-flavored.
Front of the package of "Real Salmon and Brown Rice" says, "No ground corn," but the third ingredient on the list of ingredients is "corn gluten meal". I looked up how corn gluten meal is made. It is a by-product of processing corn.
Now, I may not be a food scientist, but that sounds an awful lot like the same thing. If you are buying this because of the claims found on the front of the package, I'd skip it.
If your cat likes it (mine didn't) and that's all you are concerned with, then it's an okay product.
I was just disappointed at being misled.
307 people found this helpful
|2222 comments|Report abuse
on September 26, 2016
READ THE FRONT AND IT SOUNDED GREAT....THE PRICE GAVE ME A BIT OF A SHOCK, BUT MY BABIES DESERVE THE BEST AND THEY LOVE SALMON, SO I GAVE IT A TRY.

I MIXED IT WITH THEIR OLD FOOD, AND MY BOY WILL EAT ANYTHING IS LESS THAN HAPPY WITH THIS. I THINK MOSTLY CAUSE THEY ARE SUCH SMALL BITS.

MY GIRL JUST FLAT OUT HATES IT. PICKED THESE UP WITH HER MOUTH AND SPITS THEM OUT ON THE FLOOR SO SHE CAN GET TO HER OLD FOOD.

SO WON'T BE GETTING MORE OF THIS. BUT WHAT REALLY TICKED ME OFF WAS THE STATEMENTS ON THE FRONT OF THE BAG DO NOT MATCH THE INGREDIENTS ON THE BACK. GOT THIS THINKING THERE WAS NO GRAIN IN THIS - EVEN STATES NO GROUND CORN ON THE FRONT. TURN IT AROUND TO THE BACK AND CORN GLUTEN IS THE 3RD INGREDIENT. THAT IS JUST FLAT OUT FALSE ADVERTISING S FR AS I AM CONCERED.

SO IN SHORT - NOT WHAT IT IS ADVERTISED TO BE, WAAAAAYYYY TOO EXPENSIVE, AND MY CATS JUST PLAIN OL' DONT LIKE IT.
89 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
I purchased this as a possible alternative to the Merrick grain free cat food I normally feed. Unfortunately, I made the mistake of reading only the top information in the listing, which stated "no ground corn" - which was technically correct. What it contains (as the third ingredient!) is "corn gluten meal".

If you've researched pet foods, you've by now learned that corn gluten meal is not A Good Thing. It will fill your cats up and keep weight on them, but nutritionally it's not a protein that's well digested by cats in particular and is, frankly, a very cheap item for manufacturers to use. Which was why the Rachael Ray cat food was so much less expensive than the Merrick - which IS actually totally grain free.

One of my cats has a grain sensitivity which causes her skin to break out and creates huge hot spots while she attempts to lick herself into some relief from the itching. Within two days of eating the Rachael Ray, she had broken out in a severe rash (which cost me a trip to the vet for her expensive injection), and I ended up giving the remainder of the bag to the barn and kennel cats. Who both apparently have your basic cast iron digestive systems.

By the way - if your cat has an allergy the source of which hasn't been truly diagnosed, you may want to consider a cat food that is TOTALLY grain free. Tinkerbelle suffered for ages from terrible allergies and after trying all sorts of remedies, my research led me to try grain free food. Worked like a charm. This Nutrish cat food, which was purchased in an attempt to save money, ended up costing me enough for two bags of Merrick

Short version: While this Nutrish is probably better than a lot of "store" brands of cat food, please be aware that it contains a large amount of corn gluten. If you're comfortable feeding that to your animals, then by all means consider the Nutrish as a possible step up from other cat foods available at your friendly grocer. But do be aware that it's really not a good thing for your cats to be eating. Kitties are far better off without much grains in any form.
99 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on June 20, 2016
3rd ingredient is CORN GLUTEN MEAL! Nuff said...very deceived Ms Rachel. I swear I've spent half a lifetime searching for the right quality that my female will eat. Returning is a lot of expense and effort. Didn't read far enough. Another one on crap food list!
51 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on June 27, 2017
I have two slightly over-weight British-American shorthairs, Eren and Julius, who are my furr-babies. Unfortunately, Julius began throwing up almost every day but was still energetic and acting normally. After a trip to the Veterinarian's office to make sure nothing was seriously wrong; it was concluded that the food I had been giving them contained something Julius was allergic to. I had been giving both cats Blue Buffalo's BLUE Indoor Health formula before trying both this and Goodlife's Real Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe. The Goodlife seemed okay at first but after a few days Julius was puking again. Over two weeks of eating just this food and he didn't throw-up once! We had found a winner! I am not certain what ingredient it is in the other cat foods that bothers him but even without a kitty with allergies I would highly recommend this food. Both cat's coats are shinier and softer, they are eating less, and the litter-box doesn't stink! I have tried weight control formulas and diets in the past which resulted in more frequent yowling and things being knocked off tables. With this food both boys are maintaining a healthy weight and not yowling for food at 5am. The only negative is that while the food is much better for them they don't seem to like it as much as other foods, I guess it doesn't taste as good, so being a pushover of a pet parent I have been giving them treats slightly more often.

Overall, this is a bit pricey but well worth the extra if you have a an allergy-suffering cat or just want a high quality food for your furr-baby!
review image
9 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on October 9, 2016
I feel so guilty that I switched my cat to this brand. Not only did he not enjoy the taste, but shortly after we switched he developed urinary crystals! Be very careful when feeding this to your cat and keep and eye out for any issues that may arise after introducing this food! I would not recommend this brand at all.
20 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on June 3, 2017
I bought this for my newly adopted cats with digestive issues, and bought because it says " no ground corn" on the description. However Corn Gluten is the third ingredient. I would return it but my cat ripped the bag open and ate some. unfortunately shortly after eating, he experienced the messy digestive issue that motivated me to look for chicken + rice food in the first place!
8 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on March 27, 2017
My cat ADORES this product. IN fact, she snubs her nose now at anything less. So, I'm hooked on RRays' products for my cat. My cat hates wet food, too, so this is wonderful.
There must be something my cat loves about this food that only she could answer, lol. The kibble size is perfect for cats. It's a nice dark color with a very fishy smell that is appealing for my cat.
Yep, this is my go-to cat food now.
I posted a pic of my cat licking her chops over Rachel Ray's food. lol. and a picture of catching her in the act of breaking into the bag! No joke, she loves this stuff.
review imagereview image
7 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on June 5, 2015
More importantly, my cats HATE it! I bought a small bag at my local market to test on my 7 cats prior to receiving my shipment from Amazon. After eating this for one day, all 7 of my cats were throwing up all over the house. I strive to feed my cats healthy food and this sounded like the Blue Wilderness they usually eat, well, needless to say it's NOT! Now, I'm told I can't even return the bag I received yesterday from Amazon. I have since learned there is a product recall for Rachel Ray wet cat food because it is sickening cats. When I called Rachel Ray's help line, they suggested I take my 7 cats to the vet ~ what a sick joke Rachel Ray's products are.
17 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on August 11, 2016
Thank you Rachel! Our little boys (8 months)and the little old men (17 and 15) are enjoying this food. Took a chance on something new and was surprised to see all of them eating it. Ordering my second bag!
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
9 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse