Salon Beauty Summer Reading Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. Introducing Fire TV Cube Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now SWMTVT18_gno



on February 26, 2017
Let me set the stage for this long review. I am diagnosing myself as CP phobic (cat pee phobic). This is not yet an official disease but I am working on a patent. The roots of my CP phobia come from my childhood days as does everything else that is wrong with my life but I will skip the details for a book I will later write and discuss with Dr. Oz. Cats were around me in my childhood days and due to absent parents, they peed everywhere and little was done to clean it up. Therefore, the smell of cat pee brings severe anxiety, anger, and anything else that is related to a negative feeling. In 2002, a small kitten followed me into a 7-11. She was friendly but obviously abandoned and probably had her days limited if left in the busy parking lot of this convenience store. So on this wonderful day in the winter, I walked out with a Diet Coke, a pack of Marlboro lights, and a kitten. All three items were destined to deteriorate my health.

Fast forward to 2017 and this same cat is still with me. I am almost certain this cat will outlive me and I am only 34. This is the last cat I will ever own. Due to her age, attitude, and possibly her political views, she decided to start peeing on the carpet. I immediately google "life span of indoor cats." I realized I have at least 2 years left but maybe 5 years. I then take this 11 pound ball of fur to the vet to pay a lot of money for a diagnosis that my cat is healthy and a brat. Both of us come home hating each other. The peeing continues. Below is how I handled the situation in which she is still alive and I am slightly more unhinged than before. Several products will be mentioned as I am copying and pasting this review to all the companies who are responsible in allowing this cat to currently live through her natural life with me.

I spent a HUGE chunk of money on the litter robot. I recommend going to the litter robot website and researching this expensive toilet for cats. They have great customer service too. The litter robot is life changing for anyone who actually plans on owning cats for fun and for cats who refuse to use a dirty litter box. Due to my CP phobia, I plunked down the money. Everything worked great until my cat saw me enjoying life. The peeing began again. I put down a plain old square litter box and added "Cat Attract" litter. The peeing stopped. My adorable ball of high maintenance fur now uses the litter robot to go number two and the plain square box to go number one. The "Cat Genie" trash can is a must with anyone who has CP phobia. It keeps the smell down to a minimum and saves on trash bags.

Now that my 15 year old queen is satisfied with her restroom, I am now left to attack the cat pee smell. Putting Febreeze on a cat pee spot is like putting a cute SuperMan band aid on an 8 inch deep gash; it's super adorable but we all know I am going to pass out from the blood loss. Attacking cat pee is serious business and requires hours of work, determination, and money. Did I state how I will never own a cat again?

First you will need Rocco and Roxie pet stain remover. Just buy the jug if you are battling cat pee. The spray bottle will not be used. Pour Rocco and Roxie on the cat pee. It needs to be a puddle that soaks in through the carpet and into the carpet pad. We are not using a band aid, we are going in and sanitizing this dire situation. As you get the spots you can see, grab a UV light, turn off the lights, and prepare for night battle. Find all the illuminating spots and pour that Rocco and Roxie on all spots. Cat pee is no laughing matter to people like me. After all the spots are drenched, wait it out for a few hours and soak as much up with paper towels. If you use a towel, I feel you are transferring cat pee from one spot to the next. There will be a slight chemical smell. Again, cat pee is not like spilling your tumbler of vodka and soda water because the cat trips you up on purpose. Cat pee is anger and anxiety wrapped into one huge ball which needs strong chemicals to destroy.

If you are satisfied with Rocco and Roxie, and no odor of cat pee is present, then continue on with your life. If you are CP phobic and can detect a small whiff of cat pee, proceed to step 2.

Step two requires buying Angry Orange. Angry Orange is a smell that cats hate and is actually pretty pleasant to others. It smells like straight oranges. I bought the spray bottle and the concentrated refill bottle. Because I am CP phobic, I put a lot of the concentrated angry orange in a spray bottle and a little bit of water. I grabbed my UV light and went after the spots like the crazy, mad woman I have become. I sprayed all the spots only to have the entire house overwhelmed with the smell of orange. I am pretty sure my neighbors think I have opened a juicing station in the middle of my kitchen. I highly recommend following the directions of using the correct ratio of water to Angry Orange. If you do not follow the directions, not only will you think about writing a book called "James and the Giant Orange" but there will be slight orange spots on your carpet. Which now we can go to step 3.

Rocco and Roxie has an OxyClean product. This carpet cleaner gets out the toughest stains including my error of Angry Orange stains. Spray the product on any stain, let it sit for 5 minutes, and then start working on it with paper towels.

At this point, I am satisfied I have fought a good battle but I am still wary. I have an oreck orbiter to clean my travertine floors. I bought the attachments for cleaning the carpet and also Oreck Dry Carpet Cleaner. I spray the Rocco and Roxie OxyClean product as a mist on a 6 by 6 foot spot and then sprinkle the dry carpet cleaner all over. A LITTLE GOES A LONG WAY. I rub the cleaner into the carpet with my oreck orbiter. Wait 45 minutes to 2 hours and vacuum. The Dry Carpet Cleaner gets out stains but it also gets out all the allergens and cat litter smell. I am not a fan of steam cleaning carpets. I have never had success. The Dry Carpet Cleaner is great for spring cleaning carpets or being completely unhinged by cat pee and needing to verify, the carpet is indeed clean.

Finally, after a week, I spray the areas in where I want my cat to never pee on, walk on, and or let alone even look at with the Natural Lemon Aerosol spray. Cats hate the smell of lemons and oranges.

I am now 90 percent satisfied I have won the battle of cat pee. I will not be 100 percent satisfied until I replace all the carpet but that will not happen until my cat crosses the rainbow in which she will probably pee on because that is how she rolls.

My cat has cost me a lot of money and time but I hope when I am old and peeing everywhere, that someone will take care of me and I will have two toilets in the same room. Did I state I will never own a cat again?

I hope this helps with anyone who has CP phobia and is willing to go above and beyond of getting rid of any trace of cat pee. I wish you well in your battle.

UPDATE AUGUST 27, 2017

Hello All,

Thank you for all the kind comments. I am thrilled my mania puts a smile on so many faces.

I received a personal email from the founder and CEO of this company thanking me for the review and offering a free bottle on the house. This is a small, family run business and I can not express how important it is to support these types of companies.

Since posting this review, I actually convinced a man to marry me. I clearly missed my chance as a saleswoman because I can sell anything, even a life attached to me and the feline. My cat is going strong and still a narcissistic princess with a special place in my heart and hell.

I want to add a few other recommendations to some of the qualms I have read in other reviews. As you may infer with my post, I am borderline OCD with cleanliness. I do squats at the gym just to master the hover technique over a public toilet. My advice is over the top but it works.

With any problem in life, you have to attack the source before treating the symptoms. Your decision to own this type of animal is the main source, the actual cat being second with their toilet being the third main source. After having a lot of self reflection on why you chose to own an animal that stalks you as if you were a gazelle and inevitably will latch onto the back of your leg while going for the achilles tendon to bring you down is the first step to solving cat pee problem. Then we move on to see if said cat is healthy and using the litter box. Finally we have to attack the actual cat toilet. Even when litter is scooped, it still holds the smell of cat pee. I change out my cat litter every 2 weeks and sometimes more. This means dumping the entire cat box into a black trash bag and then taking lysol to wipe the interior and exterior. This will help substantially in getting rid of cat pee smell. Again, attack the source, not just the symptoms.

Many have stated they are not fond the Rocco and Roxie cleaning smell. Cat Pee Smell is at the top of my offensive list which also includes items such as robot phone calls to my cell, McDonald's no longer frying their apple pies, hair in the shower drain, and taxes. When attacking cat pee, you have to neutralize the chemical composition of this awful smell. The enzymes in Rocco and Roxie deliver this result as best as I have seen. The after smell does not sit well with all. I use Rocco and Roxie with Oreck dry carpet cleaner every two months to clean my rugs and carpets. I admit I tire of the cleaning smell but have found a solution many may want to try.

After cleaning the pee and other items out of carpet, grab baking soda and some natural essential oils. I found a box of oils on amazon. Add tea tree oil and lavender to the baking soda. In fact, add whatever smell you would like for the olfactory. Add lots of drops to the baking soda and mix well. Shake this mixture all over the carpet. It needs to look like it just snowed. Get a brush, preferably with a long handle to protect your back, and agitate the baking soda into your carpet. Leave it on over night for best results and then vacuum. If you can't wait that long, at least let it sit two hours. Baking soda and the oils are all natural so safe for humans and animals. This step has helped in creating a more earthy and pleasant smell in my home when I do the manic bi-monthly cleaning.

Thank you again for all the responses and I hope one day to get a book published. As of now, I just update a file with favorite pics of myself and a pre-written obituary for my husband to publish in case my cat does accomplish her life long goal. Within the three column long obituary, I added few lines about being an "expert Amazon Reviewer". Sounds morbid, I know, but I can't trust my other half to use a decent picture of my face or remind the public why they will miss the Unhinged Crazy Cat Lay Who Is Not Fond Of Cats.

Kindest Regards,

LLK
2,143 people found this helpful
|5150+ comments|Report abuse
on March 12, 2017
We originally purchased this product because we have a fake-grass pee pad on our concrete patio for our dogs to use when we are not home, so we got Rocco & Roxie to clean and deodorize the pad and concrete. It worked like a charm. THEN, we just finished renovating my mother's (hoarder) house. She had previously had a dog who urinated on the carpet in one area so much that the carpet and pad had solidified to the wooden sub-floor. My husband had to use a chisel and hammer for hours to get it up. The smell was horrific and permeated throughout the house. The urine had crystallized to the wood floor and he was simply unable to get it all to release, so before we left for the night, we soaked 3 old rags in Rocco & Roxie and left them on the spot. The next morning, wow! He was able to scrape up the remaining crystallized urine from the wood floor. Then, that next night, we soaked an old blanket again in the Rocco & Roxie, pressed it down onto the stained area and left it again overnight. The next morning, not only was the stain virtually gone, but there was NO urine smell. Rocco & Roxie has a pleasant smell to it, but it does not linger - just fresh. It was truly amazing. I have posted 6 pics - you must see them to fully appreciate the power of this product. HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT!!
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
656 people found this helpful
|33 comments|Report abuse
on September 30, 2016
I've tried Nature's Miracle advanced formula and This Rocco and Roxie formula. Rocco and Roxie formula works every time. It kills, completely eliminates oder. Okay, so not only does it work for cat pee but arm pit oder removal in shirts too! Rocco wins against the other brand, crushed the competition!
review imagereview image
149 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on April 19, 2018
Don’t listen to anyone who doesn’t give this 5 stars. They didn’t follow the steps, obviously. I have a worse cat pee problem than all of you combined and this was the only- the ONLY - product that worked. Just listen. We just moved into this new house with plenty of space for our three cats. The two females and one male are treated with premium respect- each has its own covered litter box in its own location, each receives two healthy portions of raw food daily and at least 4 hours outside. They return eagerly when called. They are seemingly happy and content with our situation. The male cat is not ours, it’s my mothers, and we’ve been watching him for 6 months. When we moved, he began lining one particular wall in my office with urine. Upon further inspection with black lights, there seems to be a size able 1-2 ft wide strip of urine lining the 20 foot wall. There is so much that I am forced to conclude that he couldn’t have done it alone. We learned the previous tenants had cats, and we believe our male is lining this wall to mark over pre-existing urine. This is the only explanation I have, hence the pretext about how we treat the cats, and as a graduate of animal behavioral science I think I’m right on this one. So for the last month I’ve been coming home, sniffing the air at the front door (20 to 30 feet from the urine wall) and dawning my gloves angrily as I get down and clean the urine wall and underlying carpet with every cleaner known to man. I’ve used three bottles of urine gone, Resolve, natures miracle (cat and dog), water and vinegar, just vinegar, just water...I’ve tried scrubbing, stamping, vacuuming, blotting- all to come home to the smell that lingers. I’ve heard cat pee can end marriages and I see why now. Once I read that lady’s review for Rocco and Roxie, I said screw it and ordered a 32 oz bottle, hoping that the combination of enzymes and bacteria could make a difference. Let me tell you, IT DID. I thought the man vs cat pee war was lost, and I had almost given up hope. Problem is the volume. I used the entire 32 oz, let it sit for three or four hours, blotted thoroughly and then vacuumed with our specialized pet accident vacuum cleaner that has claws on one of the heads to penetrate deep into the shallow carpet. The smell is about 90 percent gone. So I begged my mom to buy the gallon for me, (it’s her cat after all) and we’re waiting for it eagerly in the mail. We run an air bnb in the house and we had a poor review because of the odor which was made one day before the original 32 oz bottle of Rocco and Roxie came. I’m hoping that a full gallon will be able to get rid of this. Thank you for making the only product that works.

Lee
60 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on December 19, 2015
I'm not going to lie; this stuff is significantly more expensive than most other carpet sprays available to address pet odors. You could probably buy 4 or 5 bottles of febreze for the cost of this stuff... but, 4 or 5 bottles of febreze isn't going to work nearly as well as this stuff is. This stuff is freaking AMAZING.

I have four cats - all of whom were strays. We "rescued" all four at different times and, so with all but the first cat, we went through a phase of bitterness and hatred where they urinated on everything in sight because they were so (if you'll excuse the pun) p*ssed off. One is still relatively new and so, right now, my bathroom smells like the shared bathroom at an all-boys dorm at a university for students who are aiming-impaired. My second cat (Guacamole) is very timid around people and he is particularly mad at me for some reason; so, waka peed all over the sofa, all over my clothes, everything.

I sprayed this stuff on my sofa, but I read the reviews before I did and I though to myself "they say to saturate..." so, every time I walked past my sofa for the next two days, I sprayed the crap out of it with this stuff. It has a sort of sweet, faint, anise smell. It reminds me of a bread I used to bake... I like it. After two days, I was confident that if there were any urine remaining in the deep, dark, crevices of my sectional sofa, it probably deserved to remain there, so I stopped straying and let it dry.

I didn't go back and stick my nose in the couch for about a week (because really, who wants to shove their face in cat urine). Finally, when I was sure it had dried and all the little enzymes and invisible magic gnomes in this stuff had the opportunity to work, I went back and took a whiff. "You're three feet from the sofa" I thought to myself "You'll never smell anything from here." So I got a little closer... and then a little closer... you know, like one does when trying to see if the burner on the stove is still hot.

I had lowered my elevation sufficiently from 3-feet above couch level to where I thought to myself, surely, no person will ever come any closer to the sofa than this (about a pillow away), and I could smell nothing. My husband has sat on the couch and neither of us smell anything. The cats have sat on the couch and, whether they smell anything or not, I'm uncertain (they don't talk... you know... they're cats), but they haven't started peeing on the sofa or made it obvious that there is a funky aroma there.

I'm buying more, and you should too. Yeah, it might cost less to buy that miracle stuff or some sort of carpet cleaner, or captain Joe's spray and go, but this stuff actually works. How much money are you going to waste trying to save money before you finally decide to put your wallet where your cat's urine is?
464 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
on January 9, 2018
I never write reviews but I'm writing one for this amazing spray!! I know what you're thinking, I thought the same---that's an awful lot to pay for a bottle of spray cleaner---I get it, and it's worth every penny!!! I have 2 large dogs that have already been long potty trained however my niece accidentally shut them in one of the spare rooms while we were upstairs (bless her tiny heart) so they took it upon themselves to hate-pee allllll over the carpet in there!! We didn't know they had done it everywhere and only cleaned the 2 large spots up quickly, and then the stank set in.....Every time we walked downstairs we smelled "that smell" and Heaven help you if you actually walked into the room!! We finally took a black light to the carpet to discover the true horror of our situation, CSI crime scenes had nothing on us! We were now left with all of these 1-2 week old spots that had dried and soaked in explaining the STANK that still lingered. We tried EVERYTHING from natural to nuclear, Pinterest to witchcraft, and NOTHING worked (seriously I'm talking carpet shampooer, Oxyclean, baking soda, peroxide, dish soap, vinegar, carpet powder, enough Resolve to coat a small country, more baking soda, prayer, holy water, human sacrifice....you get the picture). Desperate, and about to burn the house down and start over in a new city with a new identity, I started combing Amazon for a miracle! I found this product, read the reviews, and hit the "buy now" button with all of my hope riding on Prime shipping and a spray bottle.

I about attacked the poor mailman in my rush to rip open the box (I have a bloodhound nose folks so living with this odor in my house for almost 2 weeks was almost the end of me) and try it out. I liberally sprayed the areas possessed by Satan and waited 10 mins as the bottle instructed. I got impatient around min 4 so I sprayed the areas again moderately and then I really did wait the full 10 mins. I really do mean that I saturated the areas like the bottle says however I didn't go crazy with it and totally soak the carpet (like I really wanted to but remembered the price of the bottle so I checked myself before I wrecked myself).

10 mins passed and my bloodhound nose traveled down the hall with hopes high. I opened the door to the room and was hit in the face with.....NOTHING!!!! NO ODOR, NO STANK, LIGHT CLEAN SMELL BUT NO FAKE FLOWERY COATED AIR!!!! This stuff is a MIRACLE!!! I'm awaiting its letter to Hogwarts as I write this review, and I'm going to buy another bottle for SURE, you should too!!!!

DISCLAIMER---my situation did not cause staining which is why we couldn't figure out the source of the smell beyond the 2 main areas that were wet and did stain slightly. I can't speak to the stain removal ability of the product but if it works this perfectly on the odor the stains should be a piece of cake!!
review imagereview image
64 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
on April 9, 2017
I followed all instructions for deep stains. I've even used up 80% of the product onto all pet urine stains around the house for two treatments, but it did not remove the stains. It merely "lightened" the stains. I gave two stars because it didn't do completely nothing and it does have odor elimination which smells like toothpaste. The smell does not bother me, but I do have to admit that it is strong.

Each picture is of a different stain. As you can see, there are still yellow, urine stains around the white from the product.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview image
31 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on February 1, 2018
Several years ago after I purchased R&R, I received an email with detailed instructions on how to use the product. I followed them to a "T" and it worked perfectly, saving my brand new carpet.

This time around I ordered it after fostering 5 kittens who had peed everywhere! (I'm a new foster mom and I didn't realize it takes awhile for kittens to be potty trained.) I followed the instructions on the bottle and it did not work, creating a smelly foamy mess, after I tried treating the areas again. I didn't understand why, since it had worked so great before. Turns out the instructions on the bottle are not as thorough as the email instructions from several years ago.

Here is what I think works best:
1) If stain is fresh, blot up as much urine as you can.
2) Thoroughly dilute the stain, old or new, with warm water
3) Vacuum up water thoroughly with carpet shampoo machine
4) Repeat steps 2 and 3 for a total of three times
5) Thoroughly saturate area with Rocco & Roxie. Do not hold back! Yes, this stuff is expensive, but the area really needs to be soaked through to the floor pad underneath.
6) Let sit for a minimum of one hour, but longer is better.
7) Use carpet shampoo machine to vacuum up the formula. At this point it will be very foamy, but do as thoroughly as possible. Because of how foamy it gets, if you have multiple areas to treat, I suggest you work on one small area at a time.
8) Cover area with towel and put something heavy on top. I use a heavy piece of wood that used to be a shelf.
9) Remove after about 2 days.

In my experience R&R will not work if:
*You skip the water dilution part. Very important.
*You don't thoroughly saturate the area with enough product
*You don't use a carpet shampoo machine. If you don't own one, rent one. There is too much liquid involved to merely blot up.

The smell of the product will linger for about a week, but as for the foul odor of urine that should be *completely* gone by the time the area is dry.

I gave the product 4 stars, instead of 5, for not giving detailed instructions on the bottle.
32 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on June 18, 2017
No it didn't work. I bought this product because one of the first questions on the Q&A was will it show under black light. I followed the directions to the letter, well...see the results for yourself NOTHING and I can smell the urine under the strong perfume too. I'm going back to Urine Gone. You can still see the stain under black light but at least the smell is GONE!
In order.#1 before application #2 Product applied #3 Dry...still visible and urine smell too!
review imagereview imagereview image
42 people found this helpful
|33 comments|Report abuse
on January 24, 2017
This really works better then those other brands. It is a powerful cleaner and I use it on wood floors and my old dog doesn't go back to the same spot anymore. He know goes on his pads because of this product.
review image
27 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse