Truck Reviews Beauty Warlight Men's slip on sneakers nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc CMA Fest Fire TV Stick Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon $0.99 rentals for Prime members $0.99 rentals for Prime members $0.99 rentals for Prime members  Kids Edition Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite Find a new favorite show Find a new favorite show Find a new favorite show Shop now STL18_GNO

Affresh Washer Machine Cleaner, 6-Tablets, 8.4 oz
Style: Carton|Size: 6 Tablets|Change
Price:$11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on February 9, 2016
I have a two year old Samsung High Efficiency Washing Machine. I love it!! However, after about 6 months, my laundry began to smell horrible, especially the towels!! I've since learned that this smell is a common problem with HE machines, but at the time I didn't know what was causing the problem, nor did I know how to fix it. I changed my detergent and fabric softener, but the odor remained. This odor caused so much angst. I couldn't do laundry without feeling extreme frustration. I even began to smell traces on my clothes and my kids' clothes when we were out and I cringed at the thought that others could smell it too! I honestly cried one day because I thought that I would never be rid of this smell. I called Samsung and they suggested a washing machine cleaner "like Affresh or Tide." I bought Tide Washing Machine Cleaner and it made it WORSE!!! I had the same odor, but now it smelled like I tried to mask it with a ton of perfume! I went online and read some reviews of Tide that said the same thing. (Wish I had read them sooner!) I posted a desperate facebook message asking my friends if anyone has the same problem with their machine. A friend said, "use Affresh" so I gave it a shot. Affresh has literally changed my life! It worked perfectly! I followed the directions on the package (my stink was so bad that I had to use 3 doses to get rid of it) and the odor was gone--COMPLETELY! I've used it once a month since June and the odor hasn't come back! This is an awesome product! Honestly, if I hadn't found Affresh I probably would've traded in my washer for a new one. I'm so thankful for this product! I can once again do my laundry, wear my clothes and especially wrap myself in a towel without that disgusting odor following me everywhere! Thanks Affresh!!

[...]. Also, feel free to ask me any questions about the product you may have. Thank You.
612 people found this helpful
|1717 comments|Report abuse
on October 26, 2016
Our new LG washer gets a stinky smell every so often so I bought these tabs. I put one in a month on the clean tub setting and it eliminates the odor.
I just made a T-chart with a permanent marker on the box for the months and add an X when I put the tab in for the month. This way I don't miss a month and my washer runs great.
review image
247 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on April 19, 2017
Washer started smelling a bit funky several months after we got it.

I didn't understand why I couldn't just run bleach in my machine to clean it out occasionally, until I actually ran one of these tablets (free sample with my washer)

The key is that the tablet goes in the washer drum, and doesn't dissolve right away. So as the washer runs through several repeated cycles of fill, agitate, and drain - the tablet is still there, sudsing up the water on cycle #2 and #3. If you just put bleach in the soap dispenser, it would all be gone after cycle #1.

Also, this gets very sudsy and that probably helps it reach some areas of the machine that wouldn't otherwise get touched.
108 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on November 14, 2016
I have been using bleach to clean my machine for some time, but decided to give this a try a few months ago. My very first clean with Affresh left me surprised and delighted for not only did it clean my machine, it eliminated the nasty smell that always transferred to my clothes thanks to a build up of mold I didn't even know about. Every month now, I toss a tablet into the drum and let it work its magic. Now, my machine is cleaner than ever, and my clothes always smell wonderfully fresh. I highly recommend this to everyone.
130 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon January 26, 2017
We have had problems in the past with the stinky front loader washer syndrome and my solution was to run a dishwasher gel tab through the washer regularly and that seemed to do the job. These are specially made for washers and while more expensive, they do seem to preclude the odor. In fact, our new washer has a light that illuminates telling us to run the Affresh cycle every 30 loads. Kind of overkill in my opinion (unless you don't do a lot of wash or allow wet towels and clothes to lay in the washer before washing) but doing it regularly should help prevent the stinky washer issue. Be aware that on some washers the Affresh cycle is very long so do it when you don't need the washer for a couple of hours. And, you cannot wash clothes at the same time; the Affresh must be run alone.
33 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on December 8, 2016
This stuff is Magic!
I saw a review on here about a sock that "magically" reappeared after they had used this product. I absolutely didn't believe it... I really thought they were full of it to say the least. Well, it happened to me. Let me tell you a little about it.
6 months ago I disassembled my entire front load LG super duper expensive washer because it stank. I scrubbed and cleaned. It took several hours but I had finally finished cleaning and assembling. I swore I'd never let it get like that again, what did I do... I became a washing machine nazi, I would always wipe the door down, drain the tank, and use a washing machine fan to dry it all out.
I wanted something just a little better than bleach for the tub cleaning mode (on the washer) that I was doing monthly. The bleach just wasn't "tough" enough for me. So after reading all the reviews I had to try this stuff.
Well I finally ran it through the tub clean cycle with Affresh HE Washer Cleaner Tablets... When I opened the door I was in shock, I kept saying "no freakin' way!" lol I did it so many times that my wife came over because she thought something was wrong. I have no idea how long this sock had been in my washer, but I know it was clean 6 months ago. How the heck does a sock just appear in your washing machine? Use Affresh HE Washer Cleaner, and you will find everything the washer has "ate". BTW it was one of my wife's socks (brand name of sock) and not a sock that was hidden inside of this amazing cleaner.
Ok but back to how clean my washing machine actually got, it smells just as clean, if not cleaner than when I disassembled everything for a hand scrubbing. Not only does it smell just as clean but it actually was as clean when I gave it the wipe test. By folding back the rubber gasket and wiping with a white rag. No residue left behind. Good Job Affresh HE Washer Cleaner 5*'s for you!
review image
54 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on January 12, 2017
Received this yesterday and it came with a free trial wipe. I ran a cycle to see how well it would wash our front load with our hard water as some reviews said the tablet wouldn't completely wash out. I also wanted to make sure there was not a strong order as I have used Tide in the past and it made our family sick from the chemical smell.
I'm happy to say this tablet worked great! Our drum is crystal clean without a strong odor and there was no residual powder or tablet left. I also tried the Affresh wipe after to clean in and outside the rim, the door, and the detergent tray. Our washer looks brand new. I initially hesitated to buy the wipes but after seeing how well it cleans vs. just using one of my own towels, I'm sold. Having a front load washer in conjunction with hard well water is like a combo of two evils. This did clean the machine much better than I had expected!
review imagereview image
46 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on July 2, 2016
I'm fortunate to have a 30 year old Maytag washer & dryer that still run like a gem (unlike new models made to last 3-5 years). Sometimes my washer has a slight musty smell. I was told to try these refreshers. I followed package directions and it worked perfectly. I hope my washer last anothe 30 years.
15 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on April 18, 2018
Sure, you can use vinegar, but the cost is about the same, and Affresh tabs smell a whole lot better, plus the box of tabs is way lighter, and stores in a much, much smaller space. One thing that really helps these work even better is to do as directed (water level high, temp hot), but after the washer fills and agitates for a couple of minutes - shut the washer off, and let it sit and soak with the lid closed. I let it sit for about 15-20 minutes, continue agitating for a couple of minutes, then stop the washer again for another 15-20 minutes, continue agitating for a couple of minutes, stop the washer again, and let it sit for 15-20 minutes, then start the washer and let it complete the wash cycle. The extra soak time really makes a difference.
4 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on May 1, 2016
I just love the Affresh Washer Machine Cleaner. I have been using it for years and now with our new LG HE Washer it is part of a regular maintenance that I do each month. I purchased the six pac for added savings. Very easy to use, tear open the package place the white puck in the washer, select normal wash or if you have the new washer like ours select the Clean cycle. Your washer comes our clean and fresh.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
36 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse