Truck Reviews Beauty Warlight Men's slip on sneakers nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Fire TV Stick Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Shop by look Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now STL18_GNO

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
11,136
HOOVER Power Scrub Deluxe Carpet Washer FH50150
Style Name: Power Scrub Deluxe|Change
Price:$129.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 500 REVIEWERon May 2, 2014
I love this machine! I've been using it for several months, and now that I'm used to it, it's very simple to use, clean, and carry. Highly recommend.

Several reviewers have commented that it uses a lot of detergent. I've found that it really helps to do the whole floor with plain hot water before adding any detergent at all. Maybe my floors are exceptionally gross, but I can't believe how much dirt I got up with plain water!

But here is the best part...by using plain water first, you have created a damp carpet. When you go over it again with the cleaning solution, the damp fibers will be naturally "thirsty" and will wick the detergent deep into the carpet where you really need it. It's the same principle that a watercolor artist uses when pulling excess paint into a slightly damp "thirsty brush." It works! I got so much more deep dirt out with this method, and saved soap in the process.
6,505 people found this helpful
|5150+ comments|Report abuse
on March 18, 2017
Initial reaction when I had first received this Carpet cleaner, was pretty good. Opened the box, only thing I had to assemble was the handle and it was ready to go. Most of the 5-Star reviews have covered the good part of its functioning. I will highlight what they may not have experienced yet.

The SpinScrub brushes makes the spinning action using a turbine mechanism. This turbine has cheap parts and it starts rusting as soon as it comes in touch with water, which could happen right after the first wash. This issue has been widely reported in Hoover's other models as well, and yet Hoover's clueless Engineering team is unable to change the design or the parts and keeps on using non-stainless steel and cheap parts which seize to operate, right after they come in contact with water and rust.

Check the following link on Amazon Q&A where a user has asked a question after his or her machine stopped working:
https://www.amazon.com/Brushes-not-spinning-something-internally/forum/Fx23UOVL4I8KXTK/Tx26GM4WHEYHZHV/1?asin=B00009R66F

When I experienced this issue as I was getting ready to use the machine, I did an online search and numerous videos on how to fix the Hoover carpet cleaner's turbine mechanism. It's just been a year and have used the cleaner twice. I am very handy with fixing things. So, I thought, I will give it a try before calling Hoover for warranty claim. In my case though, it won't fix as the shaft between two bearings is completely rusted and jammed. The bearings are rusted too, tried using WD-40 and tried to move the part but it won't budge.

I have now sent a message to Hoover Support, let's see how quickly they can have it fixed. I will come back and update the review accordingly.

----- Update as of May 4th -----
My machine was still under warranty. I had contacted the Hoover Support via email but they refused to send the affected part and instead referred to me to their authorized service center. I tried to reason with them that it's waste of time for me drive about 11 mi to take the machine for a problem which I have already diagnosed. They refused and reiterated to take it to authorized service center. I had eventually taken the machine last week to service center. The service center folks were very receptive and told me that this is a common problem but good for their business. Warranty or not, they get paid either way.

Service Center had called me last Saturday that they had replaced the part under warranty. I just need to now pick it up.

----- Update as of May 6th -----
I picked up the machine today and it has a new turbine that rotates the SpinScrub brushes. This repair was done under warranty but I am concerned that warranty would soon expire. So, I asked the service tech about what options I have when (not if) it happens again. He told me that the part is about $30 and their service fee for changing the part is $20. So, I will be looking at $50 expense every time this part needs replacement as the company WILL NOT ship the part directly to consumer even if they could handle the repairs themselves.

An additional fact to keep in mind before you pick this cleaner.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview image
1,710 people found this helpful
|3434 comments|Report abuse
on May 25, 2015
Awesome machine! Very much exceeded my expectations - comes with all the attachments that you could possibly need!

EASY SET-UP:
Just 2 philips screws that attach the handle. Everything else snaps easily in place.

SUPER EASY TO USE:
1st Water Tank - holds hot clean water. Also has a place for the cleaning solution to be poured in.
2nd Water Tank - picks up the dirty water. Machine shuts off automatically when you need to replace the water.

CLEANING DETERGENT:
Carpet Miracle by Sunny & Honey - This carpet cleaning solution is far superior to Hoover's (works better and smells great).
Carpet Miracle - Carpet Cleaner Solution: Hoover, Bissell, Rug Doctor, Kenmore, Carpet Express

BEST CLEANING INSTRUCTIONS:

STEP 1
Vacuum the entire area you plan to clean.

STEP 2
In "RINSE" mode go over the entire are you plan to clean.
This step makes the carpet damp. The cleaning solution works much better with a damp carpet.

STEP 3
In "WASH" mode work over one area of the room at a time.

STEP 4
Switch the nob to "RINSE" mode and go over the same area again.
- This activates the carpet solution to work further to remove stains and odors.
- It also sucks up the remaining carpet solution that was initially left behind.

STEP 5
- Allow the carpet to air dry / use a fan / open the windows.
- Vacuum the carpet after it is fully dry to pick up any loose dirt / loose carpet fibers.

In the attached photo, I cleaned carpet that was never cleaned since it was installed almost 10 years ago, in 2006.
Today, it looks as if it was just purchased and installed. The stains are gone and the carpet fibers feel like new once again.
review image
2,291 people found this helpful
|1212 comments|Report abuse
on December 8, 2016
Before I start I will say that I purchased this carpet cleaner from Amazon Warehouse deals. With that being said when I received the carpet cleaner it was brand new, it looked like it had simply been returned because the previous customer did not want it, the bags that everything comes in were still sealed.

I have had this carpet cleaner since early October of 2015 and for the entire time I owned it I was pleased with it, that was up until this past week. It was used on a fairly regular basis, roughly 1-2 hours per month which I consider to be light to moderate usage. While using it this past week it started to make a funny sound and smelled like something was burning. My first step was to clean the entire machine really well as I had only ever cleaned the brushes and filter, nothing more. That did nothing to resolve the issue so I inspected it further and decided I would take it apart to see what I could find. Since it was purchased "used" and was well beyond any warranty it might have had I wasn't worried about that. Everything seemed ok while I was disassembling it, some of the screw heads were rusty but I figured that was pretty normal considering this item is designed to use water for cleaning and it's impossible to use it without occasional spills and/or dripping. I eventually reached the motor and upon pulling it out I was really shocked and disappointed. Apparently the motor is not water-proof which I would consider a necessity when the item is designed around cleaning with water. The base of the motor assembly is completely rusted and clogged with all manner of hair, pet fur, fabric, and other particles. Every time this carpet cleaner was ever used the carpet was vacuumed beforehand, though vacuuming alone won't pick up every single particle. On the other hand with its strong scrubbing brushes the carpet cleaner is able to pick up any hair left behind.

I contemplated purchasing a replacement motor which runs $50-60 depending on the supplier but I have decided against that as no matter what I do the new motor will be doomed to fail and I'm unwilling to pay $50-60 annually for a carpet cleaner that sees very little use.

I can in no way advise that ANYONE purchase this carpet cleaner as it WILL fail, it's just a matter of time before it does. For the price I would expect this item to last several years at the very least and I have zero faith that it would last beyond 1-2 years.

I will be reaching out to Hoover to provide my feedback directly to them as I believe this to be a major flaw in the design of this product.
review imagereview image
716 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
Style Name: Power Scrub Deluxe|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
2016 UPDATES AT THE END.

This is a head-to-head review of three Hoover carpet cleaners that are currently featured on the comparison chart on on the product page:
 Hoover Power Scrub Deluxe Carpet Washer, FH50150
 Hoover SteamVac Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge, F5914-900
 Hoover MaxExtract 60 PressurePro Carpet Deep Cleaner, FH50220

We've had the SteamVac for about 5 years. It has done a good job of cleaning our carpets, which are kept dirty by three dogs. We reviewed the MaxExtract last year, and recently had a chance to compare those two against the PowerScrub. Here's how they compare.

CLEANING PERFORMANCE:
A three-way tie. I used Hoover Premium Pet Formula Carpet/Upholstery Detergent in all three machines, according to the instructions for each (premix for the SteamVac, separate compartments for the other two). We cleaned separate sections of big spots with each machine. To our eyes, they were equally clean when wet, and also when dry. All three units are loud, like every other carpet cleaner.

CLEANING CONVENIENCE:
The PowerScrub and the MaxExtract have a very nice feature: You add the detergent to a separate compartment from the hot water. A switch enables you to spray mixed detergent solution, or plain water. One complaint we had after using the SteamVac for several years is that the sections of carpet with the worst stains would sometimes get dirty again fast. These deeply stained areas got a lot of detergent sprayed on them during cleaning, and we believe the stains might come back due to detergent buildup in the carpet. With the newer PowerScrub and MaxExtract models, you can switch to plain water and rinse these areas (or your whole carpet!)

The SteamVac has a Clean Surge feature that applies extra solution to stains and heavy traffic areas. I never found this to work any better than a just passing over the area again the normal way.

HOW WET WERE THE CARPETS AFTER CLEANING:
The carpets were noticeably dryer with this MaxExtract model. If you live in a colder area, or a humid area, this could be a deciding factor for you. The MaxExtract carpet fully dried in about half the time that the SteamVac carpet took. The PowerScrub carpets seemed slightly dryer than the SteamVac, but not as dry as the MaxExtract.

HOW MUCH DETERGENT THEY USE:
An unexpected outcome was that the PowerScrub and MaxExtract use significantly more detergent than the SteamVac-my guess is 50-100% more. Even using the maximum recommended amount of detergent in the SteamVac, it uses less.

CLEAN WATER/DETERGENT TANK:
The MaxExtract and PowerScrub hot water and detergent tank is easier to fill because pre-mixing is not necessary. This is not a huge deal, but the MaxExtract and PowerScrub are clearly newer machines with nice refinements in this area.

DIRTY WATER TANK:
The PowerScrub wins big points for its redesigned dirty water tank. It has a plug that you open to pour out the dirty water. This is MUCH easier than the MaxExtract or the SteamVac, both of which require you to take off the lid to pour out the water. With the PowerScrub, you use the spout to pour out dirty water, then only take of the lid once at the end of the day to rinse the tank and sponge filter. When you clean a lot of carpets, this kind of refinement matters.

UPHOLSTERY CLEANING:
The SteamVac and the PowerScrub include a SpinScrub hand tool with a spinning brush. We found this tool to be nearly useless. It seems like a lot of the suction power that comes down the hose is used just to spin the brush, so there is less suction left to suck out the dirty water. We found the simple Carpet and Upholstery Tool included with all three machines worked much better.

SUMMARY:
SteamVac: Costs less to buy and use, but this is an older machine that does not have the refinements of the other two. Leaves carpets wetter, and may leave more detergent in the carpet unless you empty the detergent tank and fill it with water only.
MaxExtract: As its name suggests, leaves carpets drier than the other machines. Allows you to rinse with water.
PowerScrub: Easiest emptying of the dirty water tank, which is very nice. Allows you to rinse with water.

RECOMMENDATIONS:
If you are cost conscious, buy the SteamVac. If you want the easiest experience, buy the PowerScrub. If you want dryer carpets quicker, buy the MaxExtract. You will get clean carpets with all three machines.

2016 UPDATES:
First, the Power Scrub Deluxe Carpet Washer, FH50150 has been updated since we bought it about 10 years ago. The photos show a model that is very similar looking to ours, but with somewhat different details. The key points APPEAR to be the same, but I cannot tell because we have the old model, not the new one.

Second, I definitely prefer models with the RINSE feature at this point. This allows you to remove more detergent from your carpet by running across each section with plain water after washing.

Third, the chart supplied by hoover is WRONG on one detail: The MaxExtract 77 model clearly has a RINSE/WASH knob in the photos, but does not show a RINSE feature in the chart. The knob is grey, below the red round Hoover logo in the photos.

Finally, at this time (last week of December 2015) the price for the MaxExtract is just twenty more than the price of the other two (prices may change). At that price, I would recommend the MaxExtract 60 over the other two models.
5,030 people found this helpful
|5150+ comments|Report abuse
on February 14, 2016
This thing is prett darn good for not being industrial. When people complain they seem to forget that this unit is NOT expensive. If it last for a few good cleanings for accidents it pays for itself. To prolong its life take care of it! Clean it after each use. Also make sure you squeezed the trigger without the clean water tank on AFTER each use then run it with the brushes engaged for some time to dry the brush drive mechanism. Be sure to clean the tank filter and brushes after each use. This is not ideal but a small annoyance for a machine that does what it is suppose to. Also do not carry it by the handle. Use the carry handle that is marked as such. It really bothers me when people write a bad review for their own stupidity or laziness when they buy something inexpensive and expect it to perform like an industrial rental and last like one as well.

See my photos of how it saved our light carpet when our 18 month old puked up his green smoothie. I had to use a little elbow grease with the hand scrubber attachment but in the end it did a hell of a job with the addition of some heavy duty 409 carpet spot cleaner. Hope this review helps and doesn't set ridiculous expectations for an affordable home carpet cleaner. Cheers!
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
848 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on August 4, 2016
I was hesitant to buy this product after reading some of the negative reviews. I am so happy I went ahead and bought this cleaner. I used this on some very dirt area rugs at my husband's business and the results were amazing. I read a lot of reviews about leaking and brushes not working and to be honest this is a machine that does require some care and clean up after each use. A carpet cleaner is never a piece of equipment you can use and just stick in the closet like you do the vacuum. When I am done using this machine I always take the time to empty and rinse all tanks. I then let them air dry on the counter or in the sink. I make sure the filter inside the dirty water tank isn't coated with thick grime or hair. I then take off the spin brushes and clean them thoroughly. I leave them to dry and rather than put them back on the machine I go ahead and store them in the attachment bag until I am ready to use it again. I have used this machine several times over the past month or so on some of the dirtiest carpets and never once had an issue with the performance.
review imagereview image
234 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on April 26, 2017
Just like other reviews, the tank leaks. After using it twice it started leaking extremely fast. It leaks when I put it in rinse mode. It was completely empty after 3 minutes. So I took off the tank and took a look to make sure I attached it right and everything was secure. Everything looked fine so I gave it a try and it continued leaking. Set up a return with Amazon and got a replacement. The next one leaked immediately and would not suck the water up every time. If I turned it off and tried to suck the water up it would sometimes work. So I gave up and returned it and will look into purchasing a different brand. It's very frustrating these companies know there is a problem and do not try to fix it. I love that there is a sticker that says not to return to the store and to call them. I think not. That is to save the company money because it cost them more if you return it. Plus I've read plenty of reviews that Hoover is a nightmare to work with. I'll always let Amazon handle the problem. Their customer service is excellent. All I have to do is set up a return on my door step.
67 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on August 26, 2015
I just moved into a new house about four weeks ago and not long after I moved in I adopted an adult dog who was not fully potty trained. He had a couple accidents in the house and I never knew if I was REALLY cleaning the accidents or just the top of the carpet. I didn't have any stains, but I wanted to get this to really get down in the carpet to make sure the urine was completely gone. I went over my carpet with a black light (pet stains will glow bright neon yellow/green). I didn't find any of my own dog's so I guess I cleaned those well enough. Just out of curiosity I moved my furniture to check there too. Sure enough I found a urine spot, I had doubts the previous owners had the carpets "professionally" cleaned before we moved in anyway. So I knew this stain was pretty old, at three months (when the previous owners moved out). I thought I would try this Hoover on it anyway to see if it worked. IT DID! I'm so impressed! Although the urine wasn't visible to the naked eye, I included pictures with the black light where you can clearly see it. I went over it a couple times with the wash cycle then a couple times with the rinse, mostly just testing the thing out. I swear I almost died when I saw the urine was completely gone. I'm not at all worried about potty training the new dog now because if this thing can work on accidents that old it can probably do anything!
review imagereview image
506 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on August 15, 2015
Last time carpet was cleaned: At least a year.

Houehold Occupants: A 2 yr old chocolate milk junkie, a 6 yr old food spilling champion and a senior chihuahua who doesn't always make it to her doggie pad.

Shipping: Amazon is amazing as usual.

Packaging: Very well packed. All the pieces were there and intact.

Setup: Easy. Open the box, attach the handle, fill it up with water & solution, plug it in and start cleaning.

Filling: Easy. The openings on the water & solution tank make filling a breeze. No leaks so far. As for the tank size, I feel it's adequate. I believe I had to fill the water 4 times and used the entire sample solution bottle for my 10 x 12 living room.

Cleaning: Wow! That's what my wife said when she first saw the carpet after I finished. I felt it put down a lot of solution though so I went back over the area twice with just water which made the rinse option come in handy. The heated air feature is not a gimmick, I feel it helps the carpet dry faster. While this thing isn't a miracle worker, compared to what the carpets were before, it definitely cleans!

Emptying: Easy. The separate tanks and spout on the dirty water tank let you fluidly empty the tank when necessary.

Manueverability: Easy. Given its smaller size and larger wheels, I had no trouble pushing/pulling this thing around the living room. The cord was long enough to cover the entire room.

Upholstery cleaning: It cleaned our microfiber sofa! I was seriously considering replacing our current sofa with a leather one (still might) because this thing is a stain magnet. If I could find the guy who told me this was the best fabric for kids and pets...I digress. The spin brush worked ok for me although I mainly used the wide upholstery brush, scrubbing as I went. I can see why companies charge a lot extra to clean a sofa or chair; very time consuming. The only downside is I need to go back over the side I cleaned because I missed some spots as it is hard to tell when it's wet.

Storage: It's the size of a vacuum, so it fits right next to Shark Navigator in the closet. The accessories bag that holds the hose and upholstery attachments has a hook attached to it which allows you to hang it on the machine when you aren't using it.

Durability: Too soon to tell. I think most things can last a while if you take care of them (cleaning before storage, cleaning the brushes, not running it into walls/furniture etc.). Can't do much for manufacturing defects except hope Hoover stands behind their warranty.

Overall toughts: I was debating between this and the Bissell Big Green Machine. Both had great reviews and videos on YouTube, but at $127 I couldn't pass this machine up. I expected not to like it and carefully opened the packaging so it would be easier to return it to Amazon later, but as you have read above, I really like this little guy and I'm keeping it. It might or might not clean as well as the $400 Bissell, but I'm happy with it so that's all that matters to me. Thanks for reading and I hope my review helped you. Have a great day!
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
660 people found this helpful
|77 comments|Report abuse