Industrial Deals Beauty Textbooks Shop women's shoes nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. New LG V35 ThinQ | $699.99. Save with Prime Exclusive Phones. Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry modern furniture and decor Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now SWMTVT18_gno

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
11,221
Hoover Power Scrub Deluxe Carpet Washer FH50150
Style Name: Power Scrub Deluxe|Change
Price:$129.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on May 25, 2015
Awesome machine! Very much exceeded my expectations - comes with all the attachments that you could possibly need!

EASY SET-UP:
Just 2 philips screws that attach the handle. Everything else snaps easily in place.

SUPER EASY TO USE:
1st Water Tank - holds hot clean water. Also has a place for the cleaning solution to be poured in.
2nd Water Tank - picks up the dirty water. Machine shuts off automatically when you need to replace the water.

CLEANING DETERGENT:
Carpet Miracle by Sunny & Honey - This carpet cleaning solution is far superior to Hoover's (works better and smells great).
Carpet Miracle - Carpet Cleaner Solution: Hoover, Bissell, Rug Doctor, Kenmore, Carpet Express

BEST CLEANING INSTRUCTIONS:

STEP 1
Vacuum the entire area you plan to clean.

STEP 2
In "RINSE" mode go over the entire are you plan to clean.
This step makes the carpet damp. The cleaning solution works much better with a damp carpet.

STEP 3
In "WASH" mode work over one area of the room at a time.

STEP 4
Switch the nob to "RINSE" mode and go over the same area again.
- This activates the carpet solution to work further to remove stains and odors.
- It also sucks up the remaining carpet solution that was initially left behind.

STEP 5
- Allow the carpet to air dry / use a fan / open the windows.
- Vacuum the carpet after it is fully dry to pick up any loose dirt / loose carpet fibers.

In the attached photo, I cleaned carpet that was never cleaned since it was installed almost 10 years ago, in 2006.
Today, it looks as if it was just purchased and installed. The stains are gone and the carpet fibers feel like new once again.
review image
2,385 people found this helpful
|1212 comments|Report abuse
on August 4, 2016
I was hesitant to buy this product after reading some of the negative reviews. I am so happy I went ahead and bought this cleaner. I used this on some very dirt area rugs at my husband's business and the results were amazing. I read a lot of reviews about leaking and brushes not working and to be honest this is a machine that does require some care and clean up after each use. A carpet cleaner is never a piece of equipment you can use and just stick in the closet like you do the vacuum. When I am done using this machine I always take the time to empty and rinse all tanks. I then let them air dry on the counter or in the sink. I make sure the filter inside the dirty water tank isn't coated with thick grime or hair. I then take off the spin brushes and clean them thoroughly. I leave them to dry and rather than put them back on the machine I go ahead and store them in the attachment bag until I am ready to use it again. I have used this machine several times over the past month or so on some of the dirtiest carpets and never once had an issue with the performance.
review imagereview image
301 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on December 8, 2016
Before I start I will say that I purchased this carpet cleaner from Amazon Warehouse deals. With that being said when I received the carpet cleaner it was brand new, it looked like it had simply been returned because the previous customer did not want it, the bags that everything comes in were still sealed.

I have had this carpet cleaner since early October of 2015 and for the entire time I owned it I was pleased with it, that was up until this past week. It was used on a fairly regular basis, roughly 1-2 hours per month which I consider to be light to moderate usage. While using it this past week it started to make a funny sound and smelled like something was burning. My first step was to clean the entire machine really well as I had only ever cleaned the brushes and filter, nothing more. That did nothing to resolve the issue so I inspected it further and decided I would take it apart to see what I could find. Since it was purchased "used" and was well beyond any warranty it might have had I wasn't worried about that. Everything seemed ok while I was disassembling it, some of the screw heads were rusty but I figured that was pretty normal considering this item is designed to use water for cleaning and it's impossible to use it without occasional spills and/or dripping. I eventually reached the motor and upon pulling it out I was really shocked and disappointed. Apparently the motor is not water-proof which I would consider a necessity when the item is designed around cleaning with water. The base of the motor assembly is completely rusted and clogged with all manner of hair, pet fur, fabric, and other particles. Every time this carpet cleaner was ever used the carpet was vacuumed beforehand, though vacuuming alone won't pick up every single particle. On the other hand with its strong scrubbing brushes the carpet cleaner is able to pick up any hair left behind.

I contemplated purchasing a replacement motor which runs $50-60 depending on the supplier but I have decided against that as no matter what I do the new motor will be doomed to fail and I'm unwilling to pay $50-60 annually for a carpet cleaner that sees very little use.

I can in no way advise that ANYONE purchase this carpet cleaner as it WILL fail, it's just a matter of time before it does. For the price I would expect this item to last several years at the very least and I have zero faith that it would last beyond 1-2 years.

I will be reaching out to Hoover to provide my feedback directly to them as I believe this to be a major flaw in the design of this product.
review imagereview image
847 people found this helpful
|44 comments|Report abuse
on February 14, 2016
This thing is prett darn good for not being industrial. When people complain they seem to forget that this unit is NOT expensive. If it last for a few good cleanings for accidents it pays for itself. To prolong its life take care of it! Clean it after each use. Also make sure you squeezed the trigger without the clean water tank on AFTER each use then run it with the brushes engaged for some time to dry the brush drive mechanism. Be sure to clean the tank filter and brushes after each use. This is not ideal but a small annoyance for a machine that does what it is suppose to. Also do not carry it by the handle. Use the carry handle that is marked as such. It really bothers me when people write a bad review for their own stupidity or laziness when they buy something inexpensive and expect it to perform like an industrial rental and last like one as well.

See my photos of how it saved our light carpet when our 18 month old puked up his green smoothie. I had to use a little elbow grease with the hand scrubber attachment but in the end it did a hell of a job with the addition of some heavy duty 409 carpet spot cleaner. Hope this review helps and doesn't set ridiculous expectations for an affordable home carpet cleaner. Cheers!
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
906 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
on December 1, 2015
The washer was easy to assemble, and it seemed it did a good job cleaning the carpet. That one time we used it. About 15 minutes into the second cleaning, the water tank started leaking all over the machine and the carpet. Yes, we followed instructions, we used tap water and Hoover shampoo that came in the box. See many other reviews that describe the same problem, and that I unfortunately ignored. The machine was under warranty, so it shouldn't be a big deal, right? Well, wrong.

We called Hoover and explained the problem. The customer service representative #1 (CSR1, for short), who made it sound like she's doing us a huge favor, promised to send a replacement tank within 3 to 5 business days. Two weeks went by, the water tank was nowhere to be found. So I called and talked to the customer service rep #2.
It turned out there was no record whatsoever of our conversation with CSR1. There was no order in the system, no tank on its way, absolutely nothing. Oh, and the part is back-ordered, so CSR2 promised it will be shipped in 2 weeks.
Lo and behold, a few more weeks go by, and the tank is not here. That's fine, it's time for me to have a conversation with CSR3! Good news, this time at least they have a record of our conversation and the order (thank you, CSR2). Bad news, the part is currently back-ordered. That can't be the case, I was specifically told it was going to be in the warehouse a few weeks ago. So quite some time on hold later, CSR3 comes back and says yay, the part IS, in fact, in stock, it's just we haven't shipped it to you yet. Why? Well who knows. They just didn't. But CSR3 PROMISED it would be shipped ASAP and we should have it within 3 to 5 business days. That was 2 weeks ago.

If you made it this far in reading this review, you can probably guess we never received the replacement tank. I understand the manufacturing process is not perfect. Mistakes happen. It's how the company deals with those mistakes that makes a difference between a good and bad business practice. Hoover failed miserably, and as far as I'm concerned not honoring its own warranty and blatantly lying to its customers is a dealbreaker. No more Hoovers for us. This machine is too expensive for a one time use.
248 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on August 15, 2015
Last time carpet was cleaned: At least a year.

Houehold Occupants: A 2 yr old chocolate milk junkie, a 6 yr old food spilling champion and a senior chihuahua who doesn't always make it to her doggie pad.

Shipping: Amazon is amazing as usual.

Packaging: Very well packed. All the pieces were there and intact.

Setup: Easy. Open the box, attach the handle, fill it up with water & solution, plug it in and start cleaning.

Filling: Easy. The openings on the water & solution tank make filling a breeze. No leaks so far. As for the tank size, I feel it's adequate. I believe I had to fill the water 4 times and used the entire sample solution bottle for my 10 x 12 living room.

Cleaning: Wow! That's what my wife said when she first saw the carpet after I finished. I felt it put down a lot of solution though so I went back over the area twice with just water which made the rinse option come in handy. The heated air feature is not a gimmick, I feel it helps the carpet dry faster. While this thing isn't a miracle worker, compared to what the carpets were before, it definitely cleans!

Emptying: Easy. The separate tanks and spout on the dirty water tank let you fluidly empty the tank when necessary.

Manueverability: Easy. Given its smaller size and larger wheels, I had no trouble pushing/pulling this thing around the living room. The cord was long enough to cover the entire room.

Upholstery cleaning: It cleaned our microfiber sofa! I was seriously considering replacing our current sofa with a leather one (still might) because this thing is a stain magnet. If I could find the guy who told me this was the best fabric for kids and pets...I digress. The spin brush worked ok for me although I mainly used the wide upholstery brush, scrubbing as I went. I can see why companies charge a lot extra to clean a sofa or chair; very time consuming. The only downside is I need to go back over the side I cleaned because I missed some spots as it is hard to tell when it's wet.

Storage: It's the size of a vacuum, so it fits right next to Shark Navigator in the closet. The accessories bag that holds the hose and upholstery attachments has a hook attached to it which allows you to hang it on the machine when you aren't using it.

Durability: Too soon to tell. I think most things can last a while if you take care of them (cleaning before storage, cleaning the brushes, not running it into walls/furniture etc.). Can't do much for manufacturing defects except hope Hoover stands behind their warranty.

Overall toughts: I was debating between this and the Bissell Big Green Machine. Both had great reviews and videos on YouTube, but at $127 I couldn't pass this machine up. I expected not to like it and carefully opened the packaging so it would be easier to return it to Amazon later, but as you have read above, I really like this little guy and I'm keeping it. It might or might not clean as well as the $400 Bissell, but I'm happy with it so that's all that matters to me. Thanks for reading and I hope my review helped you. Have a great day!
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
700 people found this helpful
|77 comments|Report abuse
on August 26, 2015
I just moved into a new house about four weeks ago and not long after I moved in I adopted an adult dog who was not fully potty trained. He had a couple accidents in the house and I never knew if I was REALLY cleaning the accidents or just the top of the carpet. I didn't have any stains, but I wanted to get this to really get down in the carpet to make sure the urine was completely gone. I went over my carpet with a black light (pet stains will glow bright neon yellow/green). I didn't find any of my own dog's so I guess I cleaned those well enough. Just out of curiosity I moved my furniture to check there too. Sure enough I found a urine spot, I had doubts the previous owners had the carpets "professionally" cleaned before we moved in anyway. So I knew this stain was pretty old, at three months (when the previous owners moved out). I thought I would try this Hoover on it anyway to see if it worked. IT DID! I'm so impressed! Although the urine wasn't visible to the naked eye, I included pictures with the black light where you can clearly see it. I went over it a couple times with the wash cycle then a couple times with the rinse, mostly just testing the thing out. I swear I almost died when I saw the urine was completely gone. I'm not at all worried about potty training the new dog now because if this thing can work on accidents that old it can probably do anything!
review imagereview image
528 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on January 26, 2017
Purchased FH50150 Sept. 2015, unit has had two issues that stand out I want other customers to know. One: bearings and shaft rust quickly within the turbine assembly, this will cause the brushes to no longer spin. Two: The plastic breaks where the (2) screw mounts the handle to the base... so the handle comes off.

If you buy this unit anyways... run the unit for several minutes after useing on the carpet. This should dry the inside the inside of turbine... and slow the rust from getting to the point of locking up.

Good Luck
27 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on June 2, 2016
I bought a Rug Doctor spot cleaner for $130 and it leaked everywhere. The dirty water tank left stains all over our carpet and i was trying to clean the stains out with the spot cleaner, but it ended up leaving more stains than it was worth, so I had to throw it out. I ended up renting those rug Doctors from a grocery store which did the job, but left our carpet soaking wet for four to five hours. This beautiful product on the other hand, which I have named Karen, is the best. Do you see any stains on this carpet? Because I don't. You know why? Because Karen can clean it like nobody's business. I love Karen. Assembly was easy, the heads work great. Carpets are dry within the hour. I would consider leaving my so for this machine.
review imagereview imagereview image
85 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on March 29, 2016
Having owned a Bissell for 10 years, it finally crashed, and the search to replace was on. Visited Costco and they had another Bissell, but after looking it over, just wasn’t impressed with the changes made on the newest model. An internet search gave two choices – Hoover or Bissell. Hoover had the top 4 models, and after seeing what Bissell was selling, went for Hoover. Guess what, Hoover has a dozen different models. After reading a 100+ reviews on various models, I Chose the FH50150 (#3 on the list). And could not be happier.
Pro’s: Easy assembly. Each tank slips-in, or locks in-place without having to force it – just take your time; access to tanks – excellent. No belt drive for brushes and they clean better than a roller bar since they scrub in multiple directions. Waste water container is separate. Rinse option – big plus. No hoses or attachments connected, only connect when needed – this too is a big plus as attachments get in the way when cleaning the carpet. Dis-assembly for cleaning is easy.
Con’s: Power cord too short, could use another 5 feet, 10 feet would be better. Cleaner mix is preset.
Having used multiple machines, degrees in cleaning carpet are all about the same on the surface. However, brushes scrub deeper, in multiple directions, and fluff up the pile better; this also loosens the fibers better for cleaning and allows more water to be sucked out – which reduces drying time. You can feel the difference when walking barefoot on the carpet – softer.
If you haven’t cleaned your carpet in years and its really bad – call a professional Steam cleaner, or you will be there all day just to clean. This is not to say that the Hoover can’t do the job, but it is made to maintain, and if used regularly will keep carpet clean and fresh – will never need to call Stanley again.
First time Carpet Cleaning techniques: First, pre-vacuum Slowly and in multiple directions. A good vacuum will pull up all the hair, dust, loose dirt, and open the carpet fibers for cleaning – if done correctly you won’t muck-up the carpet cleaner brushes with hair and loose fiber when you wash carpet. Second, use boiling hot water, pour into fill tank (it can take it), select rinse only, apply water while pushing slowly forward and then apply water while slowly pulling back over the same area. Slow is the key. One tank will do an 8 x 8 area, and take about 3-5 minutes. After initial rinse – repeat entire process with the second pass in a different direction. This loosens the fibers, gets out a ton of dirt, and prepares the fibers for cleaning. Next, add cleaner to tank (don’t fill to top). Continue using boiling hot water. Select wash and First apply while pushing slowly. Note: when pulling, the vacuum will suck up the soapy water as soon as you put it down, you need to give the soap an opportunity to get in there and clean. Then continue applying wash while pulling back over same area – you can pull back a little faster. After fill tank is empty, go over area again. This allows brushes to work fibers and remove excess water, you can also do this step a little faster. Move on to next section of carpet and repeat till room is washed. If you have light colored carpets, may want to do this whole wash process twice.
Now its time to rinse the Carpet. First, empty out any cleaner in the fill tank, the selector may leak a little. Next, fill with Boiling hot water. Select rinse, and apply water while Pulling back only, and do this slowly. Then push forward over the same area to suck up any remaining water and dirt, Do Not Apply Water. Continue. If you are getting a lot of suds in the waste bucket, may need to rinse area again – recommend rinse area twice. After final rinsing, here is a technique. Do another rinse, only this time add about 2 tbl spoons of Downy fabric softener to the water (can use cold, but recommend hot). Use the same rinse technique and apply – this can go a little faster. Leaves a clean fresh smell. Allow carpet to dry, then vacuum. You will notice carpet is significantly softer.
Average bedroom takes about an hour, living rooms about 3-4. If you have established dirt paths in your carpet, go over area 4-5 times, and always overlap. Don’t be discouraged after a dozen passes and you are still sucking up dirty water, it’s just the way it is. The key is Hot Water, and go slow.
If dirt comes back around old stains after a couple of weeks, most likely too much soap was used and not rinsed out. Hot water rinse with the machine will usually take care of it, this also works well for new pet stains. Have had good success Using Platinum Plus for pets for cleaning stains. If you have a lot of pets, mixing a ¼ to ½ cup of vinegar in the final rinse works. However, it takes a while for the vinegar to evaporate, especially in humid regions, and this may affect the carpet, and this may strip out anti-stain in the carpet – test first. For stains that won’t come out – a weak bleach solution – suggest “Clorox Cleanup”, sprayed on the area and lightly scrubbed in with a wet rag works well. Allow to sit for a minute, use the hot water rinse and go over about 3 times. Repeat until stain is gone – also, overspray around stain to “Blend out” the bleaching process or you will have a white spot (do a little at a time and you will be all right).
Last words on the Hoover. Dis-assembly for cleaning is simple and easy. Wash everything, be sure to clean black filter screen in waste water tank, allow all to dry, assemble and put away. If vacuum isn’t working while in use, dump waste water and try again. Sometimes just taking waste water tank off and re-seating does the trick. If water is too sudsy, will cause yellow float in waste water tank to stop suction – dump out water and rinse lid, or turn off, allow float to drop, and turn back on.
70 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse