Beauty Best Books of the Month Women's Block Sandals nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc The Carters Electronics Gift Guide Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon theaffairS4 theaffairS4 theaffairS4  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now STL18_GNO

Conair Fabric Defuzzer - Shaver; Battery Operated; White
Color: White|Style Name: Battery Operated|Change
Price:$11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on March 23, 2014
So I didn't think it through when I threw some dark shirts and sweaters in the wash with a couple of light towels. They came out with all those fuzzies. I ordered one of these based on the price and avg. customer review and I can see why this was rated so high. Takkes two AA batteries and is very comfortable to hold. Since it's so portable, I just sat on the couch to watch tv and shaved two shirts and a pair of cottony exercise pants while watching tv. I probably would have never worn these items (at least not outside the house!) again if it wasn't for this great little gadget.
review imagereview image
1,090 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on December 12, 2013
I've owned different shaver brands. One had the option of plugging into an outlet. Not one came close to how effective this one removes pilling. I could not believe how quickly the collection compartment filled.

A couple of tips:

. Because it removes more pilling than others, the collection compartment will fill rapidly, so keep an eye on it so pilling doesn't get jammed into the head.

. If it gets too full, with the collection compartment off, turn on the shaver over a waste basket, as there will be pilling that collects in the head, and a lot will fall out without having to use tweezers. Depending on how badly it has overfilled, you may still have to use tweezers to get everything out of the head.

. Occasionally, unscrew the head & remove pilling from the blades.

There were no directions regarding the settings, but when you turn the outer ring that controls the distance from the fabric, you will easily see when it moves which settings are which. The shortest mark puts the blades closest to the fabric.

I would change two things about this shaver:

. The collection compartment is much too small, so you will need to stop very often to empty it. I couldn't even do one sleeve of a sweater without having to empty the collection container several times.

. The collection container should be made of clear plastic so that you can see as it fills. If it were clear, you wouldn't have to stop & check on it so often.

GREAT Xmas gift. The giftee will love you for this one.
579 people found this helpful
|66 comments|Report abuse
on June 5, 2015
*Update 12/27/2017- This product still works great and have had zero issues with it. I also figured out you are able to take the protective cap off around it which makes it work a lot faster. The end cap that collects everything tends to clog up fast but as long as you employ it and give the inside a good clean it will last you a long time! *
Works amazing! Used this for my new couch that pilled about 4 months into having it, didn't take long to do and it works awesome. The couch looks brand new again, definitely recommend buying it.
review imagereview image
219 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
on July 30, 2014
When my cat left a leased sofa in tatters, I thought for sure I was going to lose my deposit for damages. However, I purchased the Conair CLS1 Fabric Shaver in hopes that I could shave down some of the loose threads and it worked much better than I ever imagined. The damage was fairly severe. Some threads were pulled out an inch or more. It looked like someone had taken a metal comb and shredded the fabric.

The Conair CLS1 Fabric Shaver requires 2 double A batteries and it makes a high pitched "whirring" sound but was not too loud (it WAS loud enough to scare the cat, which I felt he deserved). There are three settings that are indicated on the dial that will allow you three different levels of contact to the fabric. I started out on the longest setting for the longer threads and it took care of those nicely. On my second pass, I turned the dial to the lowest setting and after several passes I could not detect ANY scratches at all. This clothes shaver restored the appearance of the fabric completely. Both arms of the sofa were damaged along with some of the areas on the back. In all, it took about 25 minutes to restore the appearance of the entire sofa.

I am very pleased. For less than $20 I was able to save myself $300. One word of caution however, I was so happy with the results of the shaver that I decided to work on one of my old favorite blouses that I thought had too much fabric lint to be saved. I began working on it while it was on the hanger--DON'T DO THIS! It must be on a flat surface. A small piece of the fabric got caught in the shaver and now I have a HOLE where the lint used to be. So, now the blouse really IS toast! Its a shame too, because the shaver was really taking care of the lint on the blouse--it would have been restored to its original appearance as well.
389 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
on December 27, 2014
This is a great little defuzzer. I used it today on a thin pair of lounge pants, a thick wool pea coat, and an electric blanket. It worked for all of the fabric types.

The defuzzer is easy to disassemble without any tools. Which is good because after my tests, there was fuzz everywhere (in front of the blades, behind the blades, on the outside, inside the receptacle, etc.) so I took it apart and gave it a good cleaning. I used a small brush that came with an electric razor I bought and it was very helpful to get in all the nooks and crannies. It would be nice if the defuzzer came with something like this.

Note that this is a small handheld battery operated defuzzer so it has some limitations. The electric blanket is probably a bit of a stretch for this little guy. It had significant large pilling (see before and after photos of cream blanket) so the container had to be emptied several times while defuzzing my 2' x 2' test area. If/when I decide to do the whole thing it will be very time consuming and maybe max out the defuzzer. If you are looking for something to defuzz a few jackets and sweaters, this should do the trick but for anything bigger than that you may be better served by a more heavy duty tool.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview image
292 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on August 15, 2015
Works great! I bought an antique chair and thought I would have to reupholster it, but I thought I would try the Conair shaver first. The results were awesome. It saved me money and time👌 The picture shows half of it done so you can see the difference.
review image
222 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on November 23, 2017
Okay, I don’t normally rave about things like this.

I bought this on a whim in last attempts to save my favorite duvet cover. The pills had gotten to the point where it was seriously uncomfortable to sleep with them getting all up in my leg space. I thought I was going to have to get a new duvet cover entirely.

Along came this lil baby.

Not only is my duvet cover basically brand new, but I have found a new hobby. I’m depilling everything. Sweatshirts, leggings, blankets, socks, anything that looks like it needs some love. It does the job quickly and leaves everything looking fresh.

Hi I’m obsessed. I can’t stop. I should send this back. I’ve started asking if my neighbors need anything depilled. I’m going to buy one of these for everyone in my life. Everyone needs to own this. Take it away from me.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview image
26 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on November 23, 2014
I'll keep this short because there are so many other great reviews. This thing is excellent. I just "repaired" 2 cashmere sweaters and one modal blend jersey top to like new condition. The waste compartment fills up quickly and will start clogging the blades if not emptied frequently. I will share one trick I found for emptying the area around the blades. Remove the waste compartment and hold the unit vertically over a garbage can while turning the defuzzer on. Blades will spin and the rest of the pills will fall out. Enjoy.
37 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
on January 14, 2017
UPDATE 4/14/17: Ugh. So I used this for a couple of items (the bag pictured, a shirt, a scarf), and then I put it away. Cut to 3 months late and I went to use it on our couches. It will start up by once put on an item, it stops spinning. I replaced the batteries with no success. I took apart the top, cleaned all of the excess lint away from the razors...no success. I don't recommend wasting your money on this. 👎🏼

Initial review 1/15/17: You guys. This fabric shaver/defuzzer is absolutely amazing! I bought a cute knit bag at a consignment shop a week ago, and I hated how pilled up it was. I specifically bought this fabric shaver to see if it could stand up to the job of removing the pills from the bag. Holy moly. The bag looks brand new! I'm so happy!
review image
16 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon March 9, 2017
This little defuzzer worked better than I dreamed it would. Very easy to use. Insert two AA batteries (not included) adjust the depth and defuzz your items. The top pops off so you can clean out the little balls you have shaved off ... simple.. easy to use and it works well.

I used it on my favorite blouse that after a couple of washing decided to get little balls all over it... then I tackled a major item, a pair of black sweat pants that were almost throw away pants as they were completely covered in fuzz balls. I tried tape and a fabric brush first and those didn't work at all. I tried a razor and that didnt work.. but when I tried this little defuzzer it went right to town. It did a really good job and though it took a while... I was able to do the entire pair of those balled up sweat pants (and this took some time to to do ) , and my blouse and still have enough power in the batteries to do touch ups ...

thumbs up from me...
review imagereview imagereview image
11 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse