Industrial Deals HPC Prime Day Prime Day Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Get 4 months of Amazon Music Unlimited for $0.99. Prime member exclusive. New subscribers only. Just $7.99/month after. Terms apply. New LG V35 ThinQ | $699.99. Save with Prime Exclusive Phones. Starting at $19.99 Grocery Handmade Prime Day modern furniture and decor Up to $50 off Home Services Up to 50% off Movies and TV shows for Prime members Up to 50% off Movies and TV shows for Prime members Up to 50% off Movies and TV shows for Prime members  Echo Devices Starting at $29.99 All-new Show Mode Charging Dock Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now



on February 4, 2017
I just want to start by saying that this is about the 12-disc DVD box set with Darth Vader on the front. It contains all six episodes of Star Wars as well as bonus features for each one.
While I believe this set was released in 2015, none of the 2011 Blu-Ray edits made it here. Yoda in The Phantom Menace remains a puppet, and Vader never yells "Nooo!" in Return of the Jedi. Personally, I was relieved.

The originals (IV, V, and VI) are in their 2004 remastered versions, but my favorite thing about this set is that, on the bonus discs, you get the original theatrical releases of the films. Now, I remember hearing a lot of complaints about the standalone DVD releases (not this one) with this feature saying that it was just the laserdisc version with letterbox format. I don't know if that is what is in this box set, but it looks like standard widescreen to me. No part of the screen seems to be cut off, and the video and sound quality are about as good as VHS if not a little better. No major flaws exist other than a slightly shaky screen that you will barely even notice. The contrast is fine. Everything looks good. The sound is a little muffled compared to the remastered versions, but that's a petty complaint as well.

I definitely think this set is definitely worth getting. It's great to own all of these wonderful movies and to see the original versions before all of the edits came in.

If you're thinking about it, I would say just get it.

P.S. Sorry, I'm not the best reviewer, photographer, or disc sorter. Lol. Just want to help. Hope this helps some of you make a decision. You won't regret it.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
899 people found this helpful
|2828 comments|Report abuse
on August 1, 2017
The quality of the 6 films vary, and I'm not really a "Star Wars" fan. But if you are a fan of "Star Wars," then this is the DVD set you want. I'm not going to go into the content of the films. If you are on this webpage, you probably already know the stories. You probably already have your opinions of which of the 6 films you like, and which ones you watch grudgingly to complete the marathon.

The point of my review is that if you are a "Star Wars" fan, this is the DVD set you want. Why? (A) You get all 6 films in one package. (A) "The Phantom Menace" (B) "Attack of the Clones" (C) "Revenge of the Sith" (D) "A New Hope" (E) "The Empire Strikes Back" (F) "Return of the Jedi" ALSO, AND EQUALLY IMPORTANT, you are given both the re-edited AND the original and unaltered original theatrical trilogy. Whichever version you prefer, you get it in this DVD set.

Quick comparing of the popular orders. (A) "Numerical Order" 1,2,3,4,5,6 This is a good choice. This order presents the events in logical order and gives you a well written story. Darth Vader's childhood, troubled teenage years, his fall to the dark side, his rise to power, his redemption and finally his death. The main disadvantage is that you have to accept a 20 + year step back in special effect time between 3 and 4. (Although 4 is often hailed as the best.) So this may not be an issue for you.

(B) "Production Order" 4,5,6,1,2,3 Some people like this. It has its logic. Some people consider 4,5,6 the question films and 1,2,3 the answer films. Also, this leads to cinematic continuity. The main disadvantage here is that you end in the middle of the story. (Especially when the end of Part 3 makes it look like a whole new chapter is beginning.)

(C) "Machete Order" 4,5,1,2,3,6 This approach tries to keep cinematic continuity in tact while at the same time putting "Return of the Jedi" last. While I prefer 'Numerical Order,' this approach has a special advantage. You get to see the hero's journey in 4 and 5. Then you go back and see the villain's path in 1,2, and 3 before the final showdown in 6. The one disadvantage here is that you end up with a 6 hour flashback in the middle of "Empire Strikes Back" and "Return of the Jedi."

So whether you prefer the older original films (of 4, 5,and 6) or the edited newer versions, you will find what you want in this package. As I said, I'm not the biggest fan of "Star Wars." But knowing the advantages and disadvantages of the 3 orders is probably the best idea. No one order is going to work for everyone. Numerical Order, Production Order, and Machete Order all work for different people.
40 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on January 19, 2018
Although it might be a very high quality fake, what I received seems a counterfeit product. Back cover looks like someone scanned and reprinted some shiny/reflective graphics with limited success. I did some research and bootlegs of this addition are rampant... google it. I see now that Amazon reviews and customer images are not helpful. Amazon’s algorithmic product matching results in a mix of reviews and pics from two different blu-ray releases 4 yrs apart, plus a smattering of DVD format and pictures of peoples kids, and fishing trips; all lumped together. Now that I’ve looked hard, I can’t find any evidence that 20th Century Fox released “Star Wars: The Complete Saga” on DVD, only on blu-ray in 2011 and 2015. Given the studio’s rerelease of the same material in a cheaper (and easier to copy) package, I don’t fell bad for them, but I feel bad for you. I don’t want you to waste 60 bucks. May the force be with you.

PS: if you’re looking for blu-ray Complete Saga, search for 2011 release. Looks like a book rather than a case and it’s hard to fake. Looking for DVD format, search 2006, it’s two box sets. Not so secret side note: you’ll find non-special edition theatrical releases of the original trilogy in the bonus material of the 2006 versions.
75 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
on June 3, 2017
Haven't watched them all yet, and have them on Blu-Ray, but wanted everyone to know that - YES - the 2nd disc of "A New Hope" is the actual 1977 release!

No "Episode IV - A New Hope" for the text scrawl
"Rebel" is not capitalized throughout the scrawl
No rocks in front of R2D2 when hiding from the sand people
No replacement of werewolf boy, etc. in the bar in Mos Eisley
No Jabba The Hutt just outside the spaceport

And yes
It's there
Han Shot First.
(Greedo didn't even shoot!)

If I had no other movies in this set, this would have been worth the purchase by itself.

Now for those who really care...
Yes, the image is grainy as it's a transfer from other media - it wasn't reprocessed, but that's the point!
The copyright is 1977 only for that video... no re-release dates at all.

Thought you'd like to know!

update: 7/8 - I apologize to Star Wars fans everywhere - In my excitement, I misspelled Greedo's name. It has been corrected. I also thought I'd let you know that I verified all three original films are in their original form on the bonus discs - Copyrights 1977, 1980, and 1983 respectively - nothing whatsoever noted for anything afterwards. (I watched the credits!)
48 people found this helpful
|33 comments|Report abuse
on September 15, 2017
The bonus material disc that corresponds with Episode 1 is defective - I can see physical imperfections right along the outside edge of the disc that seems to cause some surface distortion on the disc as well, appears to be a manufacturing defect. I can't get it to play in any players, be it a stand-alone DVD player or my desktop PC or laptop. Disappointing, but not a total deal-breaker for me, I had actually obtained the same exact bonus disc many years ago from the purchase of a set that included Episodes 1 and 2, seems to be identical, right down to the Darth Maul face screen printed on the disc surface. Just a little disappointing that "brand new factory sealed" doesn't work. However, no issues with any of the other discs in the set.
10 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on January 28, 2018
New factory sealed my left butt cheek! Sure there was some plastic on it. The case is warped, the art work was wet and crinkled, and the icing on top of the cake...... Half the disks have scratches!!! To say the least I was heart broken when I had spent $80 on this as a Christmas gift for my husband...
6 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on April 1, 2018
Has the original theatrical releases! Only problem is upscaling that to a larger tv does leave some grainyness. Wish they would have released a Blu Ray/remastered version with out the offending edited/additional sceems.... Unless I just got a bootleg copy by accident? If it is they did a decent job trying to make it look like the real deal package wise. I guess I should have know this deal seemed too good to be true. I hope the other version s are not as grainy as the original A New Hope was. If there are any other complaints I will be updating this. ;)
review image
2 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on May 6, 2018
The cheap plastic DVD case was smashed up and in pieces when it arrived, but... the discs are there.

I think the main let down here is that you would expect by now (2018) that something like this retailing for $50+ would be the highest quality possible. However, I was a little surprised to realized that things are digitally remastered as best as possible; the nature of the films (all six included here) themselves are interesting due to the fact that all were produced across four decades. So, this collection reflects this matter of fact.

I selected three stars because, while watching with a family member who had never seen these movies, an "UNABLE TO READ DISC" message appeared right at the climax/ending of the movie. And with this classic trilogy, one bad disc spoils it all... I later realized that this isn't entirely due to the DVDs, but possibly the player, and back to the simple fact that the older movies are not going to render with 100% quality..

Even still, the product did not measure up to overall expectations with regards to quality... I am revoking my originally poorer rating/review because the company DID reply to me and is in fact legitimate, something I was forced to call into question when trying to enjoy the products. I will end all this by reminding us that there are better quality options out there, and some, other than blu-ray, I believe.
One person found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on July 30, 2017
Can't go wrong with any Star Wars movie! Being blu-ray, the movies looked stunningly sharp and colorful. With spoofs, commentary, deleted scenes, and more, there are plenty of extra bonus features (3 discs worth)!

If you love Star Wars, this saga is perfect for you. Now, all the 6 original Star Wars movie are in one set, so you know right where to find them next time you want to watch a Star Wars marathon.
2 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on October 19, 2017
It was advertised as "New Factory Sealed" and I received a used set. It even looked like it was from a library previously according to the stickers plastered all over the discs. This was a birthday gift from someone so I am hugely disappointed in this. I am keeping my fingers crossed that all of the discs work properly. I don't have time to watch them all right now to be sure.
23 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse