Truck Reviews Beauty Best Books of the Month Men's slip on sneakers nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc CMA Fest Fire TV Stick Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Shop by look Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon $0.99 rentals for Prime members $0.99 rentals for Prime members $0.99 rentals for Prime members  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now STL18_GNO

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
13,521
Taste of the Wild High Prairie Grain Free High Protein Real Meat Recipe Natural Dry Dog Food with Real Roasted Bison & Venison 30lb
Flavor Name: High Prairie Adult - Venison & Bison|Size: 30lb|Package Type: Standard Packaging|Change
Price:$48.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on August 1, 2015
Photo comparing kibble size of Puppy Formula and Canine Formula. I couldn't find this information anywhere so I ordered a bag of each to find out.
review image
802 people found this helpful
|44 comments|Report abuse
on February 27, 2018
Ignored the reviews about the this product being a fake considering we went through 3 full bags purchased from Amazon and our golden loved it. However this last bag we received our dog wouldn't eat, and I thought maybe his tastes are changing as he gets older who knows, and later decided to buy a bag from the local pet food express. He ate that IMMEDIATELY whereas with the Amazon version literally sat in his bowl all day. We compared the Amazon version vs store bought and lo and behold they are actually different sizes, color, and texture upon close inspection. This is the High Prairie Puppy version and the fake product was delivered via Amazon Prime Now. The real stuff is darker, smoother, slightly rounder and thinner. Left is from the store. Right is from Amazon.
review image
147 people found this helpful
|33 comments|Report abuse
on August 1, 2015
Photo comparing kibble size of Puppy Formula and Canine Formula. I couldn't find this information anywhere so I ordered a bag of each to find out.
review image
989 people found this helpful
|99 comments|Report abuse
on February 12, 2015
I have 2 eight week old shepherd puppies that I had been feeding puppy chow since 5 weeks old. They had started going through it like candy and seemed not to be getting the nutrients they needed. After researching and researching all the different brands out there, I was going to try the Blue Buffalo brand for puppies until I found The Taste Of The Wild. According to everything I read and ALL the youtube videos I watched, I seen it was even better than the Blue Buffalo ingredient wise, plus it was cheaper in price to my surprise. I decided to give it a try. I am glad I did. I know they advise not to just completely change the puppies diet completely at once but I wanted to see how they would react to one bowl. They were like little vacuum cleaners and seemed to not be able to eat it fast enough. THEY LOVED IT! They were standing in the bowl trying to eat it as fast as they could. Now with that being said, at their next feeding time, I gave them back the puppy chow brand. They sniffed it and refused to eat it. It sat there for 2 hours or so until they were finally hungry enough to eat I guess. On the next feeding, I mixed it half and half. This time they did like little kids do picking marshmallows out of their cereal, they picked out The Taste Of The Wild from the puppy chow. All that was left was a half bowl of Puppy Chow. Haha. So now I had to completely switch to the Taste Of The Wild because they refuse to eat the puppy chow. Doing this harsh quick switch did mess their tummies up for the first couple of days, it made their stool soft and runny, but now it is back to normal. Even though they have always been playful, they seem to have twice the energy now after only one week, and the feeding has essentially been cut in half. Like other people have said about it, it doesn't require as much, is absolutely true. They seem to be getting all the nutrients they need on half the amount previously fed with the puppy chow. They do not act like they are starving anymore at feeding time. They will not be one piece left after feeding either, they clean every piece that hits the floor. So my final thought is that Taste Of The Wild is an EXCELLENT product and I will definitely be buying it again in the future. I am also on a budget and took into consideration the cost factor and concluded this, even though it cost more up front than your cheaper brands, it actually comes out to be less per pound because of the feeding dosage. It will only require half as much of TOTW as something like puppy chow so buying 30 pounds of TOTW is like buying 60 pounds of puppy chow. Overall I give it 2 thumbs up and 5 stars. Give it a try and you won't be disappointed!
review image
299 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
on September 14, 2017
I usually don't take the time to write reviews, but I just want to make sure people are aware of possible issues. My dog has loved this food for the last 7 months. He absolutely loves feeding time. I even had to buy a bowl that slowed down his feeding speed so he wouldn't wolf it down. So I was a bit shocked when I started feeding him from this new 30lb bag that he took a few bites and walked away. Throughout the day he kept taking a few bites and then would just stop and drink water. This from a dog that usually would eat every last kibble and then lick to bowl for 2 mins the day before. Over the next few days, this continued.
I was worried he was sick and was about to take him to the vet. I did a bit of research and found a lot of complaints about the recent batches of Taste of the Wild Dog food on the Consumer Affairs website. A lot of the same symptoms I was seeing were discussed there, and all in the last month or two (Sept 2017). I crossed my fingers and hoped that it was just the dog food. I immediately visited my local pet store and bought another reputable dog food brand.
As soon as I filled his bowl with the new dog food, he was back to cleaning his bowl in no time at all. This is only day 1, but I'm hoping there was no permanent damage and that he'll continue to eat the new dog food without issue.
I have no idea what happened with the latest batch. I'm not sure if they made a change to the ingredients that didn't mix well with my dog or if there is a contaminant causing the issue. When it comes to my puppy, I'm not willing to take a chance and order this again. I've requested a refund. I'm not sure if I'll get it, and I really don't care if I do. I just want my dog to be healthy.
My aim is not to disparage Taste of the Wild, but I want others to know my experience. I'm hoping this is a one time occurrence for them, but I'll be looking elsewhere for my dog's food.
38 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on August 25, 2016
Our pug eats this food. He never has stomach issues, and is in great health. Excellent quality, and excellent price. I don't know much about dog food, but the dog seems to. He also sits on the dining room table sometimes like a big jerk, but I don't think that has anything to do with the food.
review image
81 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on September 28, 2015
Excellent dog food, just beware if buying from Amazon. I noticed the pieces of food in the bag were much larger than I had previously been getting from Big R. Didn't think much of it, but after giving dogs the food I received from Amazon both dogs started having diarrhea and vomiting during the day.

Looked through the reviews on Amazon and I am not alone. Several people are noticing side effects after feeding food ordered from Amazon. Not sure if the food is absorbing something in their warehouse. I went to Big R and purchased a new bag. The size is noticeably different. Take a look at the picture.
review image
1,213 people found this helpful
|3939 comments|Report abuse
on January 13, 2018
I think I may have gotten a bag bad.. my dog had the worst smelling gas that I've ever experienced, diarrhea, and vomited once as well. Got a refund through Amazon, threw the bag away, and got a bag from my local pet store for the same price. The bag from the pet store smelled fresher, has larger kibble pieces, and is a darker consistency than the bag I received from Amazon. Someone should seriously look into this as lately there are tons of similar reviews and I think it's Amazon's responsibility to contact Taste of the Wild or conduct an internal investigation of the recent acquisitions of the Taste of the Wild food... people's animals are getting sick and this shouldn't just be brushed off. Too many recent reviews all with the same symptoms. Please Amazon, take this seriously and do whatever is necessary to ensure no one else receives a bad batch of this food.
40 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
on July 26, 2017
I contacted the company after reading the bad reviews. We never had an issues, but I wanted to bring this to their attention and share what they said:

"Thank you for contacting us with your concerns. We are not experiencing any recalls with our products.

We do greatly value pet owners like yourself to serve as the sentinel in the field, so if there is a developing problem we learn of it. We have taken some hard hits from online postings and that is troubling.

We take every reported concern very seriously. We log reports into our system and investigate each one thoroughly. We do not have any product recalls and are not investigating any clusters of issues that appear to be connected.

We are committed to product safety and quality, and adhere to stringent food safety protocols. We constantly monitor and test our raw materials, production environment, processes and finished products. We have developed a comprehensive food safety system as outlined below.

Here are a few of the ways we ensure quality:
• On-Site Product Testing
• Mycotoxin Control
• Microbial Testing
• Water Purification
• Air Quality Control
• Test and Hold Program

Anyone with any questions needs to contact us directly, so if you learn about any ill pets please have them contact us at (800)342-4808. Despite our checking and double-checking, we have not been able to find anything amiss with any of our Taste of the Wild formulations.

I appreciate the time you have taken to contact our company."
20 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on July 1, 2017
This new bag of food gave my dog, a normally enthusiastic eater, digestive issues and she is now refusing to eat the food. My wife and I kept encouraging her to eat it, but she now completely refuses. She eats my other dog's foods and her treats with as much enthusiasm as ever. There is something seriously wrong with this batch. I have never seen my dog refuse any food. I don't have the means to have this food analyzed, but the combination of change in my dogs digestive health, her reluctance to eat only this particular food, and cumulative reports of other pet owners reporting the same symptoms, is enough evidence for me to stop feeding this to my hound immediately. I would like a full refund and recent QA reports and lab/inspection results so I can treat my animal appropriately.
30 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 628 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here