Industrial Deals HPC Prime Day Prime Day Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Get 4 months of Amazon Music Unlimited for $0.99. Prime member exclusive. New subscribers only. Just $7.99/month after. Terms apply. Starting at $19.99 Grocery Handmade Prime Day Up to $50 off Home Services $1.99 rentals for Prime members 1.99 rentals for Prime members 1.99 rentals for Prime members  Echo Devices Starting at $29.99 All-new Show Mode Charging Dock Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now Start your Baby Registry

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
14,150
Dr. Elsey's Cat Ultra Premium Clumping Cat Litter, 40 pound bag (Pack May Vary)
Size: 40 pound bag|Package Type: Standard Packaging|Change
Price:$17.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on September 6, 2016
Hands down the best pet related purchase I have ever made. For the first time in 10 years my house doesn't smell like cat poop.
Update: still love, but beware if your cat's paw is wet the litter can form what I can only describe as concrete on their paw. You can imagine the fun we had soaking, chiseling, and cutting it off her hair for days.
review image
536 people found this helpful
|66 comments|Report abuse
on June 27, 2016
My cat Sasha has been using this litter exclusively for about a year and a half now and I have no plans to ever use another litter. It's my first time living on my own with a pet, and I was concerned that my small apartment would smell like a litter box (as many do), and that I'd have to constantly move her box in and out of the shower or the patio to avoid a mess. She did not have any problems adjusting to this from her old litter, which was different in every way.

I use this in combination with my Litter Genie in the 1/2 bathroom which is right at my front door, and you wouldn't even know there was a litter box when you walked in. It's so clean that I don't even remove it when I have guests using that bathroom. It's also unscented, which is great and I'm sure is much better for a cat who is constantly cleaning her toes. The grains are very large so I only need to use one mat outside the box and the litter never gets tracked out of the bathroom. She still kicks it around sometimes, though!

I always purchase the larger bag, which is 40 lbs, and it usually last me 1.5 to 2 months. I am on my 11th bag since February 2015. I only dispose of the used litter when I'm opening a new bag. It clumps so well that I haven't ever had the feeling that I needed to clean out the box, so I will continue to top it off when it gets low until my bag runs out. I scoop each morning, but only because I want Sasha to have room. I've waited two days before and there is still no smell.

I only have one cat but I think that this litter would be great for multi-cat households. This is the first non-flushable litter that I've had and I was concerned that I'm too lazy for a non-flushable, but combined with the Litter Genie I spend about 20 seconds scooping each day, and another 10 minutes to clean out the box each time I buy a new bag. The hardest part is carrying the 40 lb bag from my front door to the bathroom, and the very heavy 2 weeks' worth of pee balls down to the outside dumpster.

The first time I emptied the Litter Genie I was so amazed that I had to show everyone I knew! I've included that image as part of the review.

The packaging is sometimes perfect and sometimes my box is falling apart as I drag it inside, but that honestly is most likely an issue with my post office. It ships quickly with Amazon Prime and the bag is heavy duty so even if the box is destroyed, I haven't had an issue with the litter spilling. One time my post office would not deliver it because they repeatedly stated they couldn't get in the building. I kept asking them to deliver it and they wouldn't, so eventually they shipped it back to Amazon and I received a full refund.
review image
552 people found this helpful
|55 comments|Report abuse
on May 27, 2017
It's true, it's not the same as it used to be. I've been using this litter from Amazon since the beginning of this year when I adopted a kitten. My kitten and I have had no problem with it until now. The most recent bag was delivered less than a month ago - it is dusty, sticks like glue, and does not control odor. I think it also caused my kitten to be extremely itchy, she has been scratching herself like crazy lately.

I bought a another bag of this same litter at Pet360 and compared it with the one from Amazon, they were almost entirely different from each other. The litter from Pet360 is of the same superb quality that I was used to. It is a shade darker than the one from Amazon, not dusty, clumps really well, not sticky, and controls odor.

I feel like this company is selling the good quality litter to the other stores and selling the subpar litter to Amazon customers to cut some costs. Amazon doesn't check on the quality of the products it's sending out due to the massive inventory / volume of sales and this particular product already has high ratings so this company can cut some costs and sell the bad quality litter through Amazon every now and then. If somebody noticed the bad quality, they can chuck it to being a "bad batch". Read through the comments, this is a trend.
679 people found this helpful
|2525 comments|Report abuse
on April 15, 2014
I've been using this litter for almost a year now, and decided to wait a long time to see how it performs before leaving a review. We have five adult cats and three very large custom-made litter boxes (made from the giant covered Rubbermaid totes, as three of our cats are 20+ pounds (and not fat, they are big breeds)). The cats range from 8 years old (two of them) to 12+. Litter and cleaning litter boxes is something I feel like I'm an expert in by now (having been an indoor cat owner for almost twenty-five years).

At first, after coming from almost a pure dust-based litter like Scoop-Away, this product was a blessing. I tried it, the corn/wheat based stuff, other synthetic types, and as I whittled down which litters were the best, this one, by far, was the absolute best when it came to odor, dust, tracking, and general enjoyment (I don't really say that with a straight face, as litter boxes are anything but enjoyable, but Precious Cat made the daily job far, far more enjoyable than before).

Three months ago I was finally ready to leave a glowing review, but then suddenly the litter that started arriving regularly from Amazon was the same bag, but the contents seem to have cheapened. This litter is now almost as dusty as the stuff I used to use, and this is a huge problem. The minimal tracking qualities of this litter has also shifted, and where I could do little easy spot cleanups daily as I cleaned the boxes, I now have to vacuum every other day as this stuff is all over the house (it's not pleasant to find it UNDER the fitted sheet on a bed, since the cats love to get on the bed before it gets made when we change the sheets/blankets).

The odor control is no longer 'control' but more like 'non-existent'. Typically, we don't have odor issues, as again, I clean these boxes daily without fail (and if I don't, someone else does... it has to happen daily with this many cats or it does become a problem). Lately though, it's getting unpleasant. Keep in mind, once per month, I completely change the litter out and scrub/wash the boxes thoroughly, so it's not any kind of build-up. We've always surprised visitors to our home who exclaim there's no way they'd ever know we had five cats because there's never been cat box odor before... this is no longer true.

I'm not sure what happened over the course of the last six months or so, but the quality of this litter is no better than the rest. I would absolutely LOVE to give four or five stars, but I'm now starting to shop for other brands. It doesn't help that Amazon has now pulled the product from their own shelves to investigate issues (though those issues might be packaging/delivery issues, of which I've never had a single problem) that customers are having.

If the mfg of this product reads this, please, please fix whatever you've done to Precious Cat litter and give me the quality product that I have been buying exclusively for almost a year. I hate having to shop for different litter, and the cats aren't very keen about it either.
3,156 people found this helpful
|5150+ comments|Report abuse
Top Contributor: Petson October 1, 2016
I know this stuff LOOKS like a cheap off-brand from the packaging, but long years of living my life as a miserable, lonely cat person with no romantic prospects has shown me that this stuff is amazing. It has the least dust of any litter I've used, it clumps like concrete, the litter pan remains fresher longer because when you scoop it you are getting more of the actual waste removed from the pan, none of the clumps has crumbled away to mix with the rest of the remaining litter, the clumps remain intact. Be advised, however, the 40 pound bag of this stuff weighs at least 63 pounds more than the 40 pound bag of Tidy Cat. It is the heaviest substance known to man.
review imagereview image
214 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on March 2, 2014
The problem: My cats have been using Fresh Step Extreme Odor Control Scoopable Cat Litter (scented or unscented) for a long, long, long time. The problem with that brand is the EXTREME dust problem that gets on everything inside the house due to the central air conditioning/heating system. And that problem has worsened over time as I have adopted more stray cats or cats that have lost their home. More cats using more cat litter boxes creates even more EXTREME dust problems. You can change out the central air filters all you want, but the dust is just too fine for the filters to catch all of that stuff. :(

The solution: Precious Cat Ultra Premium Clumping Cat Litter has solved the dust problem! I started switching over some cat litter boxes to Precious Cat Ultra Premium Clumping Cat Litter in December 2013 without any of my cat family objecting to the new cat litter. The dust problem is disappearing as my inventory of the other brand of cat litter is depleted. I am EXTREMELY pleased, and I am sure the cats are happier not having to breath the dust from the other brand. :)

I have read some reviews on Precious Cat Ultra Premium Clumping Cat Litter on this website that have suggested adding activated carbon to the cat litter to help with odor control. I second the suggestion, and have recently started adding a capful of Marineland Black Diamond Activated Carbon in the 40-ounce size container to a full bag of Precious Cat Ultra Premium Clumping Cat Litter. That seems to be about as much carbon that I see in the previous brand purchased, and the activated carbon is very effective in helping control slight odor over time that remains in the cat litter even after removal of clumped used litter.

It's nice when you're searching around on Amazon.com to see if there is a solution to a problem one is having. Precious Cat Ultra Premium Clumping Cat Litter has solved an EXTREME dust problem in my house. Another of life's problems solved.
review imagereview image
1,215 people found this helpful
|2323 comments|Report abuse
I used to love this kitty litter and used it for years. Not sure if they changed the formula, but it's awful now. I scoop 2-3 times a day and the urine is caked onto the bottom of the litter box, even though I have a good 3-4 inches deep of litter in there. It turns to a gooey, sticky, glue-like consistency and is nearly impossible to scrape off of the bottom and sides of the litter box. When I finally scrape all of the gooey clumps off, they break apart. Good clumping kitty litter should produce tight, dense little clumps that are easily scooped up. That's how I remembered this litter from a few years back. But I ordered it just last month and it was definitely not like this at all.
137 people found this helpful
|1010 comments|Report abuse
on December 18, 2017
I've been using this litter for quite sometime and have loved it but just recently noticed my cats tracking up my hardwood floors. I completely emptied all litter boxes and disinfected and filled with fresh litter to only find the tracking has not subsided. Horrible disappointment and not sure why the formula would change. I will be in search of another litter.
28 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on August 9, 2015
COME ON!!! STAY IN STOCK ALREADY!!! I BOUGHT SOME CRAP CAT LITTER CAUSE YOU ARE ALWAYS GOING OUT OF STOCK ON AMAZON. I JUST FOUND YOU ON WAL MART SO AMAZON IS LOSING BUSINESS BECAUSE YOU PUT WAL MART FIRST. NO ONE COMPARES TO THIS CAT LITTER, SO FIGURE OUT YOUR DISTRIBUTION IF YOU CARE ABOUT US AND STAY IN STOCK ON AMAZON.

Over 15 years using this for 20 cats, and I still can't find a better one anywhere! Until Precious Cat came to Amazon, it was pure MISERY going to PetSmart and buying 10-15 bags of the 40 lb. litter at a time. I had to beg my buddy to come over and get them from my car and carry them into the house. The day Dr. Elsey decided to come to Amazon AND offer Prime Members free shipping made my life SO MUCH easier!

PetSmart was barely carrying it anymore, so I had to try other litters. None of them compared to the clumping power and lack of smell this amazing litter offers--not one. The fu fu smelling litters aren't always safe for cats with recurring urinary tract infections and stones, and none of them clumped like Precious Cat.

I would say I tried the Cat Attract when this price went up to a ridiculous amount because they were probably short on supply. But with the 10 cats I have now (the others passed away mostly at 20 years old), they are all really great about using the litterbox. I found absolutely no difference and would not pay the higher price for Cat Attract.

I even trained my two mini pins to go in the same boxes as my cats--the boy and girl--and they go in them all the time! I have 9 boxes, some of which are large clothing containers you can store clothes in with the lid. I took the lid off and cut out a large opening in the front for my larger cats.

But I can't do without this litter and free shipping!!! You guys save me every day, and my cats are happy. I can't thank you enough!

I've added a few pics of some of my "kids" so you can see they are pretty content and happy (spoiled) cats :) My two smaller min pins go in the litterboxes you can see in the last picture.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
240 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on December 18, 2017
Price has skyrocketed and the quality has declined. :( Too bad, this used to be my favorite brand. It would be nice to live in a world where companies weren't constantly trying to cut corners wherever they can, and instead, focused on delivering a consistently high quality product.
47 people found this helpful
|33 comments|Report abuse