Salon Beauty Best Books of the Month Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now SWMTVT18_gno



on May 24, 2015
The entire unpictured side is a warning label.
review image
71 people found this helpful
|33 comments|Report abuse
on July 13, 2016
absolutely love this thing! it's bigger than it looks on the photos.. took a long time to blow up (didn't have a pump).. but all my nephews and myself, were able to get on it.. the smallest is about 50 lbs, the biggest, 160 lbs.. we all stayed on.. it was a little hard at first, it's a balancing act for sure, but once I was able to show them to pull themselves up by the handles, they were able to ride it around the pool.. once it sinks into the water nicely, you can move on it with your feet and ride it around.. they treated it like a big horsey.. it was great!! They even jumped on it quite a bit, although, I did ask them to stop doing that.. I'm sure if it pops because of rough housing, it's your fault not the whale's.. we used it for 3 days straight, got a lot of action.. will update when it's been a few weeks to see if it's enduring. I actually ordered two on accident, and was going to return one, but seeing how much they love it, and how great it holds up.. I think I'll keep it.
review imagereview imagereview image
4 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on September 27, 2015
This whale did not disappoint and it's such a great value! I bought this for my friend's party as she is a huge killer whale fan. First and foremost - have an air pump handy! You may knock yourself out trying to use your own breath to inflate the whale. He (we've decided he's a boy and named him "Free Whaley") is great for adults - we've had very differently sized women ride Whaley (you sit on the whale tail) without falling over, however once you're on, it's kind of hard to move forward. I ended up kicking myself and Whaley into circles. He stay well inflated over the course of a girls' weekend.

He was also joined by some floating flamingos that hold drinks - all of these combined = instant pool fun.

I took one star away because on the entire right side are the instructions/safety warnings. I get that they need to be there but it's at least a foot tall and wide. Couldn't they at least put it on Whaley's underbelly? Just be sure that any photo opps are taking on his good side.
5 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on April 4, 2016
every water day is more fun with a whale! everyone is able to get on this and ride around or relax. I was surprised that it even held up to juping off the side of the pool and landing on it! good times were had by all!
I understand that the 1-5 star rating is to help both buyers and sellers. Here is a breakdown of how my 1-5 ratings are determined:
5-star rating that means that I truly love that product and it has features that put it above and beyond what would normally be expected, and it is something that “wowed” me and I am truly glad I purchased it and would purchase it again. Also I recommend it to everyone and anyone!

4-star ratings are items that do exactly as would be expected of the item, is of very good quality, but does not stand out significantly in any way unless I specifically state why it stands out. But all in all, this item is a solid item and is still highly recommended. It just didn’t have the wow factor that my 5 star ratings would have had.
3-star ratings are given on items because my feeling about the product is neutral. I do not consider it a negative, but it just did not wow me, or there is nothing of great significance.
1 or 2-star ratings are rarely given unless the item is completely worthless and not worth the money, and I am only giving that rating as a warning to others. Some items have received lower ratings because of the way they were made or put together, and it is getting that review because of the quality of the item, which is specifically described in my review. It has to be pretty bad to get these ratings from me!
One person found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on August 15, 2016
PROS: The whale has held up to rough play with 4 kids (ages 8-12) all summer. It’s legit. Only 2 or 3 kids can possibly ride at a time, so it becomes quite the rodeo watching them all try to get on at once. This float is challenging to mount and stay upright, which my kids found amusing.

CONS: This float is infinitely harder to blow up and deflate without a Quick-inflate valve than the other float we have and makes getting ready for the kids to go to the pool a workout, even with a pump.
review image
2 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on July 19, 2014
Kids love it. My cats fear it. I can now rightly claim I have a whale in the pool. What more is there in life?
12 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on October 24, 2016
This item is everything you would hope it to be. It's big, it's durable, It's affordable and it looks great "almost". The only problem is the 17"x13" warning label on the side. Intex must live if fear to do that to a product. I'm not saying don't do it but they could have put it on the underside of the whale instead of having it cut into the design like it dose. As a graphic designer, it just drives me crazy.
2 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on August 14, 2017
Sillikum has become a wonderful addition to our inflatable family in the pool. He gets along well with our inflatable duck as well as the banana. There was a minor incident involving our inflatable whale trainer, but she shouldn't have been wearing an inflatable ponytail. Also it turns out that people frown upon bringing an inflatable woman to a pool party. So I've been served inflatable divorce papers. The whole thing has really let the air out of our marriage, but my intimate relationship with the whale has never been better.
|0Comment|Report abuse
I purchased this floater as a form to shape chicken wire around to make a topiary frame for the garden. The floater is made of a heavy gauge of vinyl so bending the chicken wire around the shape was easy. Anyways, I was able to remove the frame without damaging the floater. And now it’s in our pool. The kids love it. Stable and easy to sit on. A good purchase.
|0Comment|Report abuse
on September 26, 2015
This thing is HUGE, much bigger than expected. I am impressed that it lasted through an entire summer of various rambunctious kids playing with it -- riding, punching, tossing, jumping on its back :). For the value, this whale pool toy cannot be beat. It has a super friendly face and looks exactly as pictured. The only negative is that the backside gets very hot, very fast in the sun. We try to keep it upside down when not using so the kids don't scorch themselves. Great purchase for the price & Highly recommend!
One person found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse